Proton Savvy Automatic

A short piece of news, yet would mean a lot to those eyeing the Proton Savvy but have been turned off by the lack of an automatic version. The Proton Savvy’s automatic transmission variant will begin production this month. Can’t wait to test drive it to get a feel of how the Malaysian-ized Renault Quickshift 5 feels like.

Just to re-cap on what the Renault Quickshift 5 automated manual gearbox is, let me quote my original blog post on the quickshift gearbox.

The automatic variant of the Proton Savvy will be using something new which Proton likes to call a Automated-Manual Transmission, or Proton AMT for short. This gearbox is basically the Renault Quickshift5 gearbox, which is available in the Renault Clio. After all, the Proton Savvy was loosely based on the Clio.

Left: Gear position indicator on the Savvy meter panel. In the manual version that space is blank. Right: The Clio’s Quickshift gear lever.

For more details on how this type of automated manual transmission works, read my previous blog entry on the Renault Quickshift 5.

Source: The Edge Daily

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cameljoe on Sep 09, 2005 at 12:13 am

I've tested the manual, pretty good in the power transfer. The shift was a little sticky and the gates where too close together, very easy to get in the wrong gear. Will test this, but roughly when is it available, since the production kicks in like this week? Could this be a winner for Proton?

• apa kaler available..?

• napps on Sep 09, 2005 at 12:16 am

i already had a test drive in shah alam about a month ago. the transmission is smooth, but i think lacks the punchiness of the manual

• napps on Sep 09, 2005 at 12:19 am

according to proton at an analysts' briefing in kuantan 1 month ago, another two new colours would be made available: silver and green. the green is a shade darker than the one on myvi. personally, i think the metallic silver looks nice.

• cloudz on Sep 09, 2005 at 12:33 am

omg..soon myvi will be beaten on street by these gay auto manual gear box..darn~~

• hfrshah on Sep 09, 2005 at 12:33 am

hmm, the Proton-ised Renault gearbox used in the Waja 1.8 didnt work out too well, it would be interesting to find out how this one turns out.. hope its good.. all the best, Proton

• Johnny Boy on Sep 09, 2005 at 12:35 am

why so stupid, we r talking about a superb Renault technology, instead u guys r talking about the color availability………

no wonder mcm pasar malam…

open up guys, we r talking about finest F1 tech in a price below RM45k, dont discuss about the color…..s

• napps on Sep 09, 2005 at 12:46 am

WTF IS WRONG WITH ASKING ABOUT COLOUR? THIS IS A FREE COUNTRY, WE CAN DAMNED WELL ASK ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT COLOUR OR ANYTHING ELSE AS WE DAMNED WELL PLEASE, THANK YOU VERY MUCH! YOU ARE MORE THAN WELCOME TO DO SO TOO AND WE WILL NOT STOOP AS LOW AS YOU DID BY RIDICULING YOUR QUESTIONS, MY MOST LEARNED JOHNNY BOY!

• hfrshah on Sep 09, 2005 at 12:52 am

you asked for it Johnny Boy, enjoy..

• karheng on Sep 09, 2005 at 1:19 am

napps: as free as this country is, it isn't as free as you think.. =P

Nevertheless, asking the color is fine, as it has got something to do with the main topic, just a little digressed.

I feel that the automated manual comes with lesser punch than the normal manual because it might consist of more components and parts which has similarities to the auto gearbox. I'm not a big fan of clutchless manuals simply because you don't get the joy of releasing a clutch as you please, which helps control the overall drivability of the car. I've driven the MR-S which consists of one like this, tho may not be similar, which I found a bit of a turn off.

However, I do see Proton doing well with this, as Malaysians like to be….well….unique.

=)

• aksMS on Sep 09, 2005 at 1:40 am

Is it similar to Citroen C3's Senso Drive?

• napps on Sep 09, 2005 at 1:56 am

karheng: point noted. but we still won't be ISA'ed for asking about a car's colour availability now isn't it? ;-)

i do agree with karheng, clutchless manual transmission seems missing a bit of the 'ummpphh' factor, to paraphrase teh boh (hehehe)…but then again, if i own an auto savvy, i would get used to it, i guess…

• rafreez on Sep 09, 2005 at 2:08 am

As I told you guy earlier…be ppositive, have confidense in potong. I think they r going all out and will be best world class manufacturer…I hope the this auto gear box will be superb and enhance potong quality….go POTONG….by the way, Johnny boy, color is important thats y f1 cars all have great design and colours.

• dear napps,

do you update your savvy ownership experience? at autoworld maybe?

;-)

• E-Nabill on Sep 09, 2005 at 3:09 am

i jus hope thy get the gear ratios right , n hopefully its jerk free….bt sounds very tempting i mus say…

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 09, 2005 at 3:24 am

Ooh….FINALLY GOD DAMN IT!

Damn too bad I already booked a Myvi hehe. Urgently need a car to go to college. I hate LRT's and Friend's car is well.. He's a god-forsaken scary driver.

I hope this AMT doesn't give troubles though.. ESP in MRR2 , where even a single faulty car will jam up the whole highway. Good luck to Proton indeed.

• Mivec Gti on Sep 09, 2005 at 3:34 am

—-> Dream Car

• Mivec Gti on Sep 09, 2005 at 3:36 am

best selling car of the years…… proton satria Gti with petronas E01 engine ,

Renault Quickshift5 gearbox, sunroof , recaro seat , …

• Marmitecrab on Sep 09, 2005 at 4:07 am

I think you all are too free. I also think this forum should be for owners of the models being discussed. I mean, what would a non-owner of the Savvy know anything at all about the car to discuss it in this forum.

Like I said, tak han mou yeh chou…

• I saw the Savvy with apple green body color this morning in Juru Auto-City Branch. Is it the "strategy" savvy purposely painted with this sort of color to make it "Myvi" look-alike. :)

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 09, 2005 at 5:55 am

People who tested it should be eligible too . Get my drift?

Good day.

• michly on Sep 09, 2005 at 6:12 am

no matter how izzit .. i wont buy savvy lah .. its just too small for my size , im 6'2 in height.. damn .. so blardy small.. i push till behind , back seat no need to sit liau.. and i hit my head if sit behind. Gosh .. did Potong do a survey before design any car? ? ?

• Jason on Sep 09, 2005 at 7:09 am

(Sorry Off Topic) You are really right la, eRis-Aeir4s , just one damn car break down, jam whole highway. I hate MRR2!

• armandd on Sep 09, 2005 at 7:14 am

yes, i agree. the rear headroom of this car is very limited. i cannot sit up straight at the back lorr…

• karheng on Sep 09, 2005 at 7:59 am

armandd…that's why sometimes it's not all plain sailing to be tall. I'm 5'6 and enjoying every bit of it…except the part where I have to look up to taller people…or looking like a hobbit among tall people…

Nevertheless, this isn't a forum Marmitecrab. This is what you call a comment list. This is probably one of the latest issues in the local car industry and being aware is good. Being well informed is even better. Kudos to Paul who delivers great news almost daily. It's not easy to do such a thing.

Rafrezz: Proton to be a world class car manufacturer? If they stop coining designs and ideas from other manufacturers, then I will agree that they are moving somewhere. In fact, my view on this is that Proton's agreement with Renault during the Mahaleel era just took them back to square one, when Proton started out with Mitsu. The difference? Proton tries to redo the whole design of their latest cars, however based loosely on the old Renault models.

I think that Proton still has a long way more to go. Hopefully, they'll be profiting rather than seeing red. Naza is starting to go the same way, as they have already invested RM1 billion in a new production plant.

Perodua has already exposed Proton's weaknesses in more ways than one. That's why many people curse Proton. I feel that if Naza continues to improve, Perodua might even get a run for their money.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 09, 2005 at 3:34 pm

Very true indeed. Too much ignorance , and Naza'll snatch every Perodua customer away.

Just hoping that Perodua will deliver my car soon. (It's a whole three months today. =/

• Johnny Boy on Sep 09, 2005 at 5:00 pm

Napps, kah kah kah, if the color is right, i think u will even buy the kereta lembu…….

Sori dude, i'm a class above u…….

BTW – its a free country with everything have to pay…….stupid u…

• ah lim on Sep 09, 2005 at 5:18 pm

go proton…… go….. do not hear stupid comment from others people….. they just know how to comment but they never know how to produce cars…. no action talk only(NATO)….. stupid dam dam…… want to buy import cars? ahaks ahaks ahks….. better cq your wallet first….. i think better we compare savvy with ferrari…… they never merdeka their mind……. MERDEKA(7X)

• dando on Sep 09, 2005 at 5:35 pm

michly said,

September 8, 2005 @ 10:12 pm

no matter how izzit .. i wont buy savvy lah .. its just too small for my size , im 6′2 in height.. damn .. so blardy small.. i push till behind , back seat no need to sit liau.. and i hit my head if sit behind. Gosh .. did Potong do a survey before design any car? ? ?

—>> michly, at 6' 2", u r allready taller than the average joes. i think even if u get into honda jazz also, u will be facing the same problem! how bout topless cars? hehe

• Johnny Boy on Sep 09, 2005 at 6:17 pm

I dont know who shud get the credit for introducing it in Msia…..P1 or Renault ?

The toggle gear stick reminds me of my old Impreza WRX, but longer and a mere more expensive car it is than Savvy.

I definitely buy one for my weekend's tyre bashing and sideways training…….

BTW, the gear ratio can be easily tuned to get the max of your driving……

Lots of exciting tihings to come, but if u dont like it, well the car is not targeted for u, so live on, there will alwiz another car for u….:)

• kimberlycun on Sep 09, 2005 at 6:24 pm

it's still a bloody damn ugly car..

• belacans on Sep 09, 2005 at 6:46 pm

i need to replace my 8yo wira 1.5 sedan for city driving only. could this be it? we'll see….

• kaki bola on Sep 09, 2005 at 6:54 pm

kimberlycun

• rainbow7j on Sep 09, 2005 at 7:26 pm

looking at the news report about the financial situation at proton, it is no doubt that our national car maker is in some deep shit ……

for all the potong bashing business, it is very painful to see it goes downhill with all these problems…. it is after all, owned by all of malaysians…..

haizzzz

ok back to AMT topic, it is said the gear shift is done thru electronic sensor control ? I have serious doubt about the impact of the road condition(so many hidden danger, pot holes ….all sizes of road bumps) in malaysia to the precise sensor system in the gear box.

In my opinion if possible I will stick to manual ….

• Johnny Boy on Sep 09, 2005 at 7:26 pm

Belacans, i think this is the perfect car for town driving + some spills and thrills for torque which is provided by the car ( dont expect too much from a 1.2 engine k ).

overall it is a balance car and can suit dual needs of drivers:

– eg. scenario

– husband wants to buy MT car for pick up/less fuel consp. & wife wants an AT since not verse with manual/afraid will stuck at hill.

– son wants some weekends huha/racing & dad wants an AT to ease during traffic jam…..

So in most cars purchase decision, this will afeect and consumers end up having 2 cars to suit both needs. So now, introducing AMT will be very practical.

Some from the car tester, the journey from Gombak to Kota Bharu only consume RM 30.00, wow that a huge savings……

• Johnny Boy on Sep 09, 2005 at 7:34 pm

rainbow7j,

dont worry, it is a common practice for GLC now. It is a common accounting practice for giving some allowance for doubtful debts. In this case, the new Proton management will want to zerorize the dd and start fresh with the company. If u look at the fin statement, it is still healthy. I anticipate that the next quarter fin performance, P1 will show a tremendous and superb results.

As for the electronic sensor thingy, dont worry, i dont think the engineer in P1 is that lousy to ingore this.

• HANG JEBAT on Sep 09, 2005 at 8:11 pm

alamak.. terlambat la, too busy.. Yo Paul!!! thanx!!!! keep up the good work!!! hope the green one is nice so i will dub mine as The Green Hornet… hehe… & for Proton, please don't play play ahh… hope you built this one nice & dandy..

• napps on Sep 10, 2005 at 12:01 am

"Napps, kah kah kah, if the color is right, i think u will even buy the kereta lembu…….

Sori dude, i’m a class above u…….

BTW – its a free country with everything have to pay…….stupid u…"

JOHNNY BOY, I AM IMPRESSED YOU ARE RATHER KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT CARS. IT WOULD BE A LOT BETTER IF YOU COULD REFRAIN FROM MAKING CHILDISH CHEAP-SHOT COMMENTS LIKE THIS.

• gogochaiyo on Sep 10, 2005 at 1:19 am

Yo johnny boy.. i know you're somehow related to p1.

Stop defending p1 because nobody says it is really that faulty.

Hey.. stop attacking people also because this is an auto forum after all.

If i'm on your side of the field, i'd play safe

• Paul,

have proton explain on the below , on the Q1 earning ?

But what about the higher allowance for doubtful debts? What doubtful debts are these?

• HumanSanzz on Sep 10, 2005 at 2:29 am

To:eRis-Aeir4s

I also hope that u will get your car ASAP but to those who didn't pay the 'extra money' errrr may be it will be a longer delay compared to those who paid.Coz my father's friend keep helping others pplz to potong jalan so that can get their car faster.Muahaha.I dunno may be p2 will sacrifice and skip all the tests on the cars so that more cars can be produced.

• Stingray on Sep 10, 2005 at 3:03 am

The green is catchy, can't wait to see a silver one. Think they should have given ppl more colour options earlier on :)

• Hans 'Ti&Atilde on Sep 10, 2005 at 4:23 am

the huge gear knob cud be used as a narcissistic tool for hollow souls. perhaps kimberlycun can try it out herself and gives us a frank review.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 10, 2005 at 5:13 am

DOnt know the feel yet? ANybody know the driving conditions? Smooth or Jark..or else?? ANybody had tried it, let me more the feeling.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 10, 2005 at 5:14 am

Sorry TYPO!!.,,,,Let me know more….about the feels!

• harry on Sep 10, 2005 at 5:16 am

auto or no auto savvy is still ugly. how to sell a car like that. only those ah beng will buy that kind of car. if only ah beng bought cars from proton.. how to succeed?

next come SRM… aiyaaaa die la proton…

• honourMe on Sep 10, 2005 at 7:11 am

attn to blog owner. i noticed that ppl tend to leave offensive and nonsense comments especially blog like this that doesnt require user login. My suggestion is allow only registered user to leave comment.

• E-Nabill on Sep 10, 2005 at 1:13 pm

honourMe , its always like this , after few comments,some ppl sudenly start bashing this n that…its becoming mental already…thr r two or 3 guys actually,u all know who thy r,always talk crap n way off topic,always political…real idiots…thy get chance to be free,n thy misuse it…pity paul !

• I personally think Savvy could be the last of its kind from Proton.

After the removal of T.Mahaleel, Proton will morph into something else, the soon to be appointed CEO will surely have his/her own way of doing things and I suspect it will reverse certain things laid out by T.Mahaleel.

T.Mahaleel once said Proton need not be a mass market car producer to be profitable (BMW/Merc is not producing mass market cars but they are profitable). Agree or not but that man believes in what he said and that is what he strived to achieve from day one.

Look at Gen2, bad interior for sure but most people like the ride and handling. Savvy's handling is even better, and the build quality has also improved compared to Gen2.

One foreign auto magazine even wrote, he taught T.Mahaleel was joking when he (Mahaleel) said Proton is going to be BMW of Asia. But after he test drove Gen2, he realised that Mahaleel wasn't joking, but he was serious! Although Gen2 is lacking in all aspects compared to the revered BMW, but he can see the direction Proton is (or rather 'was') heading.

But now T.Mahaleel is no longer in charge, Proton has lost its charismatic leader, new one will be appointed, new objective will be mapped, old plans may be thrown to the trash bin and a new blueprint will be drawn, to the better or bad is remain to be seen.

Good luck Proton.

• FiveElements on Sep 11, 2005 at 12:32 am

PROTON must aim for a bigger market. Just Malaysia alone is not enuf.

Quality and design must improve to survive in the automobile industry. PROTON must be run by someone experience and i believe the local is still abit green.

I think PROTOn should look overseas to get someone capable enuf to run it. I'm sure they are wealthy enuf to get the right person to do the job.

• According to last Q financial Report, Ptoron is burning "cash". Which means their earning not even able to cover their expenses. If Proton continue with this mode, they will go bankrupt in 2007. :(

• Design is getting urglier , more urglier , more & the urgliest.i ever seen.

• Johnny Boy on Sep 12, 2005 at 8:20 pm

Yo gogochaiyo,

Sori, i'm not related to P1 nor P2, but merely analysing their performance since i hold some substantial amount of stocks in their company.

I think my problem is, i tend to see the beautiful thing in everything and always look on the positive side of a situation.

BTW, i have a deep passion in automotive, n would like to share the knowledge with u guys. Eventhough i believe in freedom of speech, but something are better left unspoken……

yehaaa…..

• Johnny Boy on Sep 12, 2005 at 8:35 pm

Yo Dog the wan,

Test drove the car last weekend, it handles well, the power distribution is smooth, gear change is swift, and the car is very intelligent.

Its a whole new phenomena and i think u guys just try it…..if u get the opportunity…..

I dont want to comment on the looks as per harry coz it is so objective, rmbr beauty is in the eye of the beholder……..

• alansm on Sep 12, 2005 at 9:53 pm

Yah Quickshift5 / AMT is a very good idea if one know how to handle a Manual gearshift.

Problem with people who prefer automatic is bcos they cannot work out when to change gear

or which gear to change. Sure they will kelam-kabut using AMT too. But for those who prefer manual shift like me, it will be great. (If I am in a Clio!! ) Savvy looks out of place on the road. Look like space ship from japanese anime:)

• Johnny Boy on Sep 12, 2005 at 11:05 pm

In in an Renault's AMT, if u kelam-kabut also, the intelligent gearbox will take charge once u overrev and will shift to auto to prevent damage to your gearbox, not like the ordinary sequential gearbox.

But i do hope the Savvy AMT will have a sport and economy mode, minyak makin mahal looooo……

• Will this thing only come with AMT or will there be the 'traditional' automatic transmission?

• albagmane on Sep 23, 2005 at 7:35 pm

i would think IF proton launches this type of car (built tougher than you think) in years before, this may change my perception on proton. Many people die because of these Cola-tin cars as they are really lack of safety.

IF proton can analyze the market demand well, this may also change my perception on proton. So that it wont produce such ridiculous cars like Juara or Arena. These cars doesnt suit the Malaysian taste at all!

Besides that, i think proton may make lots of losses because of these ridiculous acts, definitely brings great risk but no returns to the company. Shame on proton!

• anyone wanna buy savvy hi..hi.. my one comes next week … love proton…20th anniversary…congratessss..anyone wanna buy this car without downpayment.. just contact my dealer.. hi..hi the comel gal.. MIss June from skudai 012-7479011..or me irma 017-7063247

• I personally think that Proton now aged 20 still producing those cars which is out of shape like savvy may sometimes disapointed us…By my experiance currently driving a Waja facing many problems with the car…1st the power window..the 4 doors power window spoilt because of the manufacturing default thats uses plastic to hold the heavy glass that makes it crack oftenly, once crack the glass will fall & coth of repair will be about 300++

2ndly is about the door handles..now on the road almost every Waja u see will sure have a black door handle which mean this handle is so fragile thats could break easily…

3rdly is about the Automatic Gear Box…from Wira to Waja and coming soon other models having many problems with the Gear box.. Believe it or not…the respond of Proton gear box is very slow which mean when u accelerate to overtake.. u could on hear the accelerating sounds instead of power… My Waja gear box starts giving me problem as it is not smooth when changing gears…so it cost me about 500++ to service it……but after a month the problem arises again..so after many thoughts I decided to change to Avanza which i believe is better in its VVT-i engine…

Lastly, i believe Gen 2 also has got many problems such as engine failure for the 1st batch….having difficluties to start the vehicle… rear seat is not comfortable because of the low roof.