Knight Rider Movie

firebird.jpg

As an automobile-loving freak even from young age, I always made it a point to catch the show Knight Rider on TV. Knight Rider was the typical crime-fighting series, and surrounds FLAG (Foundation for Law and Government) agent Michael Knight and his car/partner KITT (Knight Industries Two Thousand).

Forget about the guy. Let’s talk about the car. KITT was a modified Pontiac Firebird Trans Am. A very sarcastic one at that. I used to love it’s stupid one-liners. The car was fictionally powered by a turbine engine, had a body that was resistant to most weapons and could accelerate to speeds up to 480km/h. The car could even smell, using olfactory sensors mounted on his front bumper. You could say KITT’s most famous feature was the line of red LED lights on the front bumper which lit up from left to right. Alot of people have put such LED lights on their cars. KITT’s total construction cost was about USD 11,400,000 as estimated in 1982.

firebird2.jpg

For Knight Rider fans out there, here’s some good news. Knight Rider is going to be resurrected in big screen format. A Knight Rider movie is in the works and production will start next year. Of course, Michael Knight will be played by someone else and not the original actor David Hasselhoff, but William Daniels, the original voice actor for KITT could make a comeback. Though I wonder if they will still use the old Pontiac Firebird Trans Am. There has been several updates to the Firebird, and here’s one of the newer models shown above.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• i'm run (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 7:47 am

Hurm….

• chris (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 8:17 am

o.o Again?How about Air wolf? LoL! =D

• HatukNgkau (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 8:18 am

Used to be my favourite when i was younger… But now, if i were to made to watch it again, it feels so cheesy n fake… Lol… Nice car anyway…

• clark_kent (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 8:33 am

So are those the huge olfactory nostrils this time? LoL…..

• nazuaf (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 8:39 am

Better use the original Pontiac la if they want to retain the originality of the show. Give it some post-millenium updates and upgrades. The sequels (Knight Rider 2000 and Team Knight Rider) lacks the originality….

• notorpkcuf (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 9:48 am

The theme song was bit#chin!!! :P

• tbcheese (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 1:05 pm

i remember the cheesy CGA animation of kitt's display. When tracking someone its a colourful stick figure moving around : )

• eric (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 1:54 pm

hahaa.. but hollywood always (well, most of the time..) make films that in the end, loses that spark or ermm.. how shd i put it.. the "original feel" of the show..

like when we first saw that show when we were kiddies, we went like "wow!, that car is SOOOOOO cool.. i want one someday.."

now when we see these shows, even with all the special CGI effects and all together, we just don't have that sense of awe and surprise.. you get what i'm saying? :P

but still, wanna give it a try la.. hehe

• shaif (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 4:21 pm

New KITT in Knight Rider movie need some cool features like invisible mode, Gattling gun, missiles, flares to be as the same level as James Bond's car. But I highly doubt they will do this as ogin KITT only talk and talk, like old lady.

• Paul Tan on May 10, 2006 at 5:16 pm

the theme song's still around, thanks to punjabi mc's beware of the boys

• HMMaster (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 5:48 pm

the new firebird have bigger "nose" maybe better sensing? xD

• pycazu (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 5:50 pm

Woh! My all time favourite on those good old time. I love to see the interaction between Michael and KITT, amused enough. Can't stand to watch the movie la. :) But, probably the passion may gone after watching it. Movie just harming the original taste of a good dramas, usually…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 6:27 pm

P1 also imitate by introduced black "Proton Knight" by using Iswara Aeroback car apart from individual motorist intalled the one line red light! Now the craze may come back again! Do Proton will introduce Savvy Knight? Let waite and see.

• motorhead (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 7:51 pm

KITT should be a tough car, why they want to use a cabriolet this time?? Stupid la.. Cabriolets have no roof… kena tembak then how?? I dislike cabriolet.. Not suitable for Malaysia climate… hot and rain all the time…

ps: Savvy knight wud be good, i think savvy's bullet proof!!!..

• Paul Tan on May 10, 2006 at 8:42 pm

eh. they're not using the new car. i just showed the new model for your information only.

• dranoel (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 9:06 pm

If the film producers just continue on with the talking car thingy only, don't even need to mod a car. Just use the Honda Civic for Europe. :) May not always give you the right answer though…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 10:28 pm

Joe Ooi said,

May 10, 2006 @ 10:27 am

P1 also imitate by introduced black “Proton Knight” by using Iswara Aeroback car apart from individual motorist intalled the one line red light! Now the craze may come back again! Do Proton will introduce Savvy Knight? Let waite and see.

Dear Joe…

you are good man I almost pinpoint this story of "Proton Knight"..and Mr Paul you might to attached also the P1 version of KITT.

p/s Proton's car interest rate going up from 4.1% to 4.3% starting next week..another good reason to opt for another make.

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 11:10 pm

Man, used to love that show as a kid. Still remember the funniest thing the car could do was jump unbelievably high lol. Firebird Trans Ams are some of the favourite cars in the States to modify. Some are extremely fast!

• mystvearn (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 11:41 pm

OMG, the new KITT has a big nose LOL. I think they should make a movie about Airwolf vs KITT. That would be great.

• scudracer (Member) on May 11, 2006 at 1:10 am

Who's the new Michael Knight? I think David Hasselhoff can still cut it. KITT has a whiny voice though. Garth and KARR were a good combo … hope they make a return. What was Garth's truck? Goliath? They musn't forget the truck with the Knight Chess Piece in it. Maybe add a big helicopter as well. Michael Knight now should have a big support team.

One thing I can't understand in the TV series was … KITT was bulletproof, chainsaw proof, etc. but a bunch of ghetto chop shop guys could 'modify' it into a convertible. And it converted from coupe to T-top to full convertible. Insane!

• tbcheese (Member) on May 11, 2006 at 1:15 am

I want MacGuyver, Airwolf and A-Team

• marmitecrab (Member) on May 11, 2006 at 1:40 am

I still remember the first episode like it was yesterday. I especially loved the part where Devon (Michael's boss) hits the bonnet with a hammer and there was not even a scratch and he went on to explain it had something to do with molecular bonding or something like that. It was so cool and I thought it was all real (hey, I was a kid then).

FYI, Astro is showing reruns on Star TV at 10am every weekday mornings for those of you who have the time to catch it. I catch it sometimes and I still love it. Especially the part where Michael hits the Turbo Boost button and the car flies through the air and over objects. Woohoo!

Btw, since we are talking about bringing back old shows, how about Automan? Loved the neon-stripped Lamborghini Countach, especially when it made 90 degree turns.

• paradoxx (Member) on May 11, 2006 at 2:15 am

kitt was fireproof.. bulletproof.. chainsaw proof.. idiot proof.. etc etc.. but remember it aint water proof…. i remember one episode where it drowned in a lil pond… "micheal help!… michael… michhhaaeeelll hheeellp!" hahaaa

but yea.. i had a feeling this was coming back… since we're gonna get miami vice the movie soon… I'd like to see the A-team in the movies.. that show was just hillarious.. unfortunately i heard Mr-T's suffering from parkinson's now…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 11, 2006 at 2:15 am

Paul Tan – "eh. they’re not using the new car. i just showed the new model for your information only."

Paul can you explain in greater detail not using new car but new model only.

My understanding is new car is definitely new model (except P1 Iswara, Wira, Waja, etc) but new model may not be new car (second hand) and new model can be new car as well! Quite confuse with your statement.

Strictly interprete your statement, they use new model but second hand car! Is that what you mean? So this movie definitely will be very "leceh" lol!

• acbc (Member) on May 11, 2006 at 2:19 am

Definately on my A List!

• Moses (Member) on May 11, 2006 at 4:36 am

ahah..used to digg that show too…what next..Transformers the movie? :p

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 11, 2006 at 7:58 am

Can it be Lotus Knight?

• kenfresh (Member) on May 11, 2006 at 11:48 am

When I was young, I got the chance to visit Hollywood's Universal Studios, and I sat in Kitt before. The car actually chats you up, but of course now we know it's not really the car lah. Being young and naive, I was the biggest fan. Couldnt sleep that night hehe.

But today, given a choice, I'd choose many others cars than this. The pontiac was a legend then, but today it's just dated. It's just so amazing how cars have evolved.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on May 11, 2006 at 5:34 pm

dear kenfresh and Paul…

this is your blog suppose to be..discussing about the car evolutions…new technology…all the happy time we have within this industry..from your kid time and grow older knew new things ..sharing…and learning..just remember

LIFE IS A LEARNING PROCESS…..

just take out the sick car manufacturer..it brings none of us any good, they are not learning, they never treat their customer any good..if this blog will be "P1 fREE" I am sure all those seconds we spend discussing and reading about it will be a very well spend time of our life.

keep it up…I love my time to be well spend…but 20 years of suffercations..is enough.cheers..

• menj (Member) on May 11, 2006 at 9:37 pm

Oh yeah, I love this series. It'll be great if it makes a comeback.

– MENJ

• Maverick Driver (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 1:14 am

I wonder if the Americans would plan put another car instead of just the Pontiac. Suggestions like the Chrysler ME four-twelve, or the Corvette C7? :P

-Maverick

• Din (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 2:35 am

I have always been a die-hard fan of the show. K.I.T.T. was great stuff. But since 2003, they always kept saying a new KR movie was coming out 'next year'. It's been 4 years since. Heck, even Initial D – The Movie was done on time!

• goingberserk (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 3:43 am

KR making a comeback. Great maybe KITT will be of flaming red in colour and the girls in Baywatch will be in too. but please lah please lah DONT GET DAVID HASSELHOFF back lah .. Please lah … His curly hair style .. is like a furball. !! Cat can choked on it…. Get 'The Rock' as David, The Master Jedi as Devon. the bikini girls on baywatch as the Devon secretaries….

Whoaaaa. U willl get a hit !!!

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 7:11 am

Wonder if Knight Rider would make a comeback?? I think it may be best to leave a good show alone than to ruin it by making a movie that may or may not potentially suck. Let good memories be good memories.

BTW going off topic, The Transformers movie should be coming out next year. It should look pretty good considering how great CGI tech has been coming along.

• assimo (Member) on May 12, 2006 at 10:26 pm

wow..!!really my dream car when i was young..but still have thats feeling until now..huhu…i'm not only love to see the action in drama,but more love to KITT technologies..its about the future.Just imagine in 1982,they can imagine that kind of technology.It is not impossible future car will communicate with its owner and some of car know already have it.And ofcourse the red running lights on KITT front bumper its a trade mark.I put one on my prelude (my own handmade use LED ) and its looks COOL..may be looks childish..but hey..its make my car public head turner,even at roadblock the policeman said..wahh..Knight Rider…hehe..But Mr Paul,actually the running lights at KITT its not LED,its using a bulb light signal bulb.The complete set of it can buy from Lectric Enterprises • 5905 Sprucepine Dr Winston-Salem, NC 27105 , and its also complete with sound…wooo..wooo.wooo…

• Hey… Ive been looking everywhere for what the light is on KITTs bumper… If you could, I would LOVE to see a picture of your car and the light… :D it would make my day!! I LOVE KITT and Knight Rider!! :D:D

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 1:29 am

one more thing you forgot to mention, TURBO BOOST man. Knight rider kick *ss with this function. It does not only make the car more faster in a sudden, even better the TURBO BOOST button made it hopping trough obstacle.. hahaha

• assimo (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 5:44 pm

Turbo Boost just a fiction,hehe…A car masterminded by computer, that is capable of 0-60 mph in 2 seconds (with booster assistance); that covers a standing quarter of a mile in 4.286 seconds, at a terminal speed of 300 mph; that brakes from 70-0 mph in 14 ft (with the assistance of retractable side fins); that has a turning circle of 2 ft (with rocket assistance); that has a surveillance scanner (which can detect anything happening anywhere) in its nose; and that runs on a hitherto-unheard-of engine — Knight Industries' turbojet with modified afterburners…cooollll…But who said we cannot have its replica,Mark Custom Kits Florida is one of the private company that will built your car turn to KITT..(if you own a Pontiac laa..hehe)..BTW,last year Mr Hasselhoff came to visit KITT replica at Australia and that replica is the first Right Hand Drive version..hmm…and the cost to own it its about RM 250 to RM 300 depend on accessories…wow..damn pretty!!!

• Jawn (Member) on May 22, 2006 at 6:58 pm

hehe i remember when i was young..i adored Kitt…even bought a replica Kitt car from Matchbox or Hotwheels :P Few years back..our local TV channel started showing reruns of Knight Rider…the earlier episodes when Knight Rider was running on a tught budget.. For the stunts..i notice they actually 'sarung' a Kitt lookalike shell that…during the turboboost jump… we can actually see the body shell hanging n it looks like a cheap old rusted american car inside hahahahaha very funny… i couldn't believe myself i was being fooled when i was a kid….

But as the show progresses…Kitt has been upgraded with a much more hi-end tech…last i saw was..Kitt have a few wind deflector to stop from Hi-speed… a wing will pop out from each door and one on the roof…hhehee kewl…