700 horsepower Hayabusa tips scales in Dynojet Horsepower Challenge

hayabusa.jpg

DynoJet manufactures motorcycle dynamometers, or dynos as they’re more commonly known as around these parts. There are a few types of dynos, but the kind that measures power at the wheels are called chassis dynos. Chassis dynos measure horsepower and torque produced when a vehicle’s wheels spin its dyno rollers.

DynoJet organised the first Dynojet Horsepower Challenge for motorcycles in March this year. Sometime late last year I was contemplating for a short while the purchase of a used Kawasaki ZZR1100 which made 150 horsepower. That never happened. The ZZR1100/ZX11 held the title of fastest production bike for nearly a decade. The idea of 150 horses on something that light was pretty much bordering madness for me, but wait till you hear what the winner of the dyno competition was making. A mind-blowing 701.32 horsepower. Yup, the winning bike, a Suzuki Hayabusa was runing on methanol and had a custom NRL turbocharger bolted on to it’s 1.3 litre engine which made 160 horsepower in stock form at 10,000rpm.

The owner of the winning Hayabusa also clinched the second place spot with his other Hayabusa which made 606 horsepower at the wheel. From the scoreboard, you can tell that turbocharging a Hayabusa is likely the most popular and effective way to create mega horsepower on a bike. Two other turbocharged Hayabusas made 559.02hp and 445.16hp each.

Anyway, I’ve put a little video after the jump. It’s a recording of a turbocharged Suzuki Hayabusa. Not the same 700 horsepower monster, but an entertaining watch nevertheless.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• vitara_jlx (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 12:03 pm

omg 700bhp! on two wheels ! the guy on the silver busa , has real "busak" balls … wheelie almost on every gear change . pure madness ! knees shake just watching the gear changes :)

• eric (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 3:45 pm

i'm going bonkers. 300+km/h on something that weighs so little.. one small little bump on the road and it's to the stars and heavens for one. :P

but still, a great achievement. next they'll be trying to place a jet engine into one since it's kinda the craze now.. they even have jet engines on go karts. zzzzz..

the sheer exhilaration in the accelaration would be orgasmic!! :D

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 4:05 pm

er eric.

They already made a Jet powered road going bike. That was many many years ago and Jay Leno has one that he rides frequently.

Paul, you might want to put up a link to that as well….

As per 700hp, the original Hayabusa is mad enough as it is, let along a turbo charged one. I've seen turbo bike in action before with even more power, but those were drag bikes. Dont think you can get 700hp to stick on the road.

• Tracks (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 4:39 pm

Wow, do wheelies at over 200kph is truly sensational. If the speedo is correct, it was doing well over 220mph. Is that possible. Cross wind should have killed that fellow.

• KY (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 5:22 pm

completely ridiculous machine, it's all fun and game until you have to take a bend. hehe

• FarinaRacer (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 5:32 pm

laju tu..

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 5:36 pm

mak oi.. can u all see how quick the accelaration was?.. few seconds only can reach top speed.. huyoo… like rocket la… sport cars oso not like that.. wheely some more.. the rider was truly a pro, but straight road okla.. GP racer lagi pro..

thx paul for bikes review… i was waiting something like this.. but didnt they try kawasaki new monster model this year.. ZX-14… 1400cc… ZZR 1100cc only.. now ZX-14 is kawasaki's most powerful bike…. i think Dynojet belum test ZX-14…

• silverfish (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 6:20 pm

I have my doubts that it was in MPH. A bike doing in excess of 200 mph would have been seriously difficult not to mention dangerous. The speedo looks like it has another set of smaller numbers in the inner circle. Could THAT be in MPH while the outer circle is KMH.

About the jet engined bike, yes there is, and yes Jay Leno has one. It is called the Y2K and it is powered by a jet engine out of a helicopter.

• edwin2 (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 6:49 pm

Paul,

why did you not buy the bike ??

Well, since I left KL for my hometown, I have drop the idea for the superbike, I was in fact planning for the superbike while I work in KL, stuck in the jam is killing me, and superbike was the only alternative for me back then, but I have a job offer in my hometown and I left KL since, 15 years already.

BUT should I ever need to work again in KL, superbike is my choice.

• BOYRACER (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 7:59 pm

omg,that thing is doing at least 230mph+.if u see carefully at the speedometer,even when the needle stops the rpm needle is still going.

• iwandani (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 8:34 pm

silverfish said,

"The speedo looks like it has another set of smaller numbers in the inner circle. Could THAT be in MPH while the outer circle is KMH."

Actually, it's the other way around. The outer circle is i mph while the inner circle is km/h.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 8:59 pm

i alwayz dream to own a superbike.. but unfortunately superbikes oso victimize by our NAP… our superbikes in msia r overpriced.. wheres superbikes r very affordable in many countries.. org tak pandang pun our motor cub here.. the famous ZX-10R is around RM40k in US, but here in msia can reach RM70k.. sigh.

ps:I admire superbikes owners.. salute u.. spend so much money for ur passion toward bikes… i am not at that stage yet..

• altruis (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 9:16 pm

Actually the smaller inside meter is in KMH and the big one is MPH. If you look closely, the related number to the big outside 70 is a small 110 on the inside.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 9:38 pm

yeah altruis, its true.. looks like some of us here still cant believe their eyes.. this motor sure can fly, but with wings la… 240mph+ / 386kmp+ in 25 seconds… a Ferrari oso can't catch up..

• szw (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 9:45 pm

so powerful oso useless lar.

once crash , u'll left nth.

kamikazi .

• damion (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 9:49 pm

about the first video…

were they doing a mock-up of the previous stig but on bikes? :D

turbocharged hayabusas are the killers…

getting a normal hayabusa is also one of my dreams… if that were likely to come true because hayabusas are rather limited in m`sia…

• kancildriver (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 10:01 pm

it doesnt look very fast. dunno whether the road lines are too long or what. anyway i'm wondering how the system works. the speed sensor is attached to rear wheel is it? i always have impression that speed sensor is always on front wheel. anyone care to explain?

• aesthari (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 10:03 pm

Coolness! the Hayabusa is my dream bike, been wanting one ever since I got my riding license, been riding illegally for 10 years before that hehe. 700hp on a bike is just pure madness! The rider must have lots of guts and skill to attempt this. I agree with motorhead, even superbikes are being affected by NAP here, a typical superbike costs a fortune; even used ones cost about RM30k and above, depending on make and displacement. And then there's the road tax, a year's road tax for my old 750 is RM400+, before i stopped riding it 2 years ago, that's about the same amount for my car's road tax. Even the maintenance is expensive, so I really admire those who can sustain and enjoy their hobby of superbiking.

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 10:55 pm

Too fast and too furious..

• Jay (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 12:20 am

Hey Paul, i've seen those videos before. This is definitely the "Hayabusa" from Hell !…..i think easily it reached the max speed about close to 400 km/h….that's definitely more than 230 mp/h as i see the rpm revving to 11000. Sometimes it's just the excitement ….. do or die mission! Life is short ! Hayabusa the machine from Hell ! I wish i could afford 1 !

• bikerwannabe (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 12:23 am

I've ridden (not owned – unfortunately) a ZZR1100, ZZR1200, CBR1100XX and Hayabusa. 200+kmh on a stock bike is not a problem on any of the above bikes, and these are sub 200hp machine – stock. Even the latest ZX14, which is possibly the most powerful bike in its class, is only a tad below 200hp, stock. So, I'm not surprise if a turbo-ed version can do the above speeds. Having said that, the speedo are usually not accurate and could be as much as 10% off. Still, that's abt 200mph/322kmh… madness …

• viceice (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 12:51 am

Tracks: Newton's 2nd Law.

The rate of change of the momentum of a body is directly proportional to the net force acting on it, and the direction of the change in momentum takes place in the direction of the net force.

So unless the wind is able to act on the bike with enough force to overcome the 700hp engine (think tropical storm strenght), the bike will keep going stright.

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 12:53 am

Fuh… I believe I can fly…. oh my… Hayabusa… best superbike ever! dream of owning it some day later… riding a bike like that need some guts though…

• synchro_k (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 1:42 am

Fuyoo banyak busaa wooo…what happens if you put NOS in it? err being 140kmh on a bike also feels like hell (mind the apollo helmet choking my throat, and that was when i was younger and a little stupid…hehehe). I've never imagined doing 300kmh on a bike…..fuhhhhh…….mmMMmm….3-4 hours boleh reach my kampung in KB. :P

• Celicazz (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 3:37 am

I wish they have a crumple zone up front…

• Celicazz (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 3:39 am

I wish they had…and also a reverse gear…and wings….and roll cage….and…whatever….donno what to say la…

• jeanloo (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 4:14 am

I had a used stock ZZR 250 (6 years old) and i had record a top speed of 210 km/h on the Penang Bridge. Going 180 km/h on even an entry touring sport like the ZZR 250 is a brezze….. The Y2K is not a practical bike, too heavy to do a cornering and if you stuck in a jam, your exhaust can actually melt the bumper of the wira behind you. But it will be fun imaging an ah beng try to tail gate you……..

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 6:49 am

err….what's the exact speed limit for Superbike or Class B motrobike on our road anyway?

• viceice (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 8:31 am

Same as for car… tho i've never been ticketed before (touchwood)…

• Chapree Da Grande (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 9:19 am

If I die doing that on a turbo-charged Hayabusa, I'll die a happy person.

• silverfish (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 4:46 pm

viceice said,

"So unless the wind is able to act on the bike with enough force to overcome the 700hp engine (think tropical storm strenght), the bike will keep going stright."

That's taking thing in too simple a way. Those 700bhp has to be put onto the road via tyres which have a finite amount of grip. A tug of war team was enough to stop a Merc CL65 AMG which has 700+ foot pounds of torque. You don't need a tropical storm. Plus, at 200+mph, even in some supercars you start to feel that it is getting really really harsh and jumpy.

So a little crosswind can put the driver in some serious trouble (refer to forces acting on different directions, not necessarily opposite). All the wind has to do is unsettle the bike or the rider, put them off balance.

• Tracks (Member) on Aug 09, 2006 at 4:48 pm

"viceice said,

Tracks: Newton’s 2nd Law.

The rate of change of the momentum of a body is directly proportional to the net force acting on it, and the direction of the change in momentum takes place in the direction of the net force.

So unless the wind is able to act on the bike with enough force to overcome the 700hp engine (think tropical storm strenght), the bike will keep going stright."

Hmm, thanks for trying to teach me the laws of physics. Have you really seen anyone else trying to do a speed record on a superbike before other than the video above. It does not take a tropical storm to blow you away on a bike in reality.

One guy was trying to do a speed record and he could only managed 209mph due to crosswind. You could really see the rider struggling under those condition whereby the bike would wobble from left to right. The rider commented that the bike could go faster but it was unsafe to do so due the difficulty in holding the bike straight. This was shown on TV or Astro recently on a Guinness Records program. Therefore, check your facts before trying to be rocket scientist.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 12:23 am

may be Veyron can catch this bike from hell.. can send the rider to hell oso..or heaven…

• viceice (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 4:45 am

Tracks:

Think about your rude ourburst and think about what i said. I said that unless the wind strong enough, the bike will go stright. So obviously the wind in your case was strong enough.

• Tracks (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 4:50 pm

"viceice said,

August 9, 2006 @ 8:45 pm

Tracks:

Think about your rude ourburst and think about what i said. I said that unless the wind strong enough, the bike will go stright. So obviously the wind in your case was strong enough."

viceice,

Still have learn the mistakes that you have made. Either you have a problem reading or something even worse is wrong with you. You quoted "So unless the wind is able to act on the bike with enough force to overcome the 700hp engine (think tropical storm strenght), the bike will keep going stright.". Notice the words in bracket that you wrote. Almost anything be moving or stationary are affected by the winds generated in tropical storm and that's why hear news about it when it's over. However, all it takes is just a mild crosswind from the side to blow you of track while running at high speed. Notice that in certain stretches along the highway there are warning of crosswind. There are there for a simple reason. Ask any superbiker for more info.

One more thing, if you consider me rude, try making more ridiculous comment anywhere else and I am preety sure you would get plenty of feedback. I was wrong before but along the way we learned to be a little bit smarter after every mistakes done. But somehow, I am not seeing it yet from you.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 7:28 pm

huh.. i never go more than 200mph on a bike, but one thing i know at that speed wind is a very2 crucial factor.. furthermore the rider was on one wheel at the speed more than 140mph.. any slight mild cross wind could send the rider straight to hell.. we dont need a tropical storm for a misfortune in that kind of speed test… the rider was a daredevil….