2nd Proton BLM Stage-by-Stage Teaser Demo

Proton BLM 11 January 2008

Proton had their second stage-by-stage build up teaser for the new Proton Saga replacement, codenamed the Proton BLM last night at Cineleisure Mutiara Damansara. I actually got there late and it was all over, so here are the photos I snapped of the end result of the 2nd night of the build-up activity.

We have already seen a new teaser chassis with a complete roof frame instead of the roofless chassis on the first night, so this 2nd “stage” of teaser might not be very new to us. Proton has added one of the car’s four doors and front fenders and the rest of the roof to the demo car. On the last night of the build up which is on the 17th, we will most probably see the car get front and rear bumpers, the rest of its doors and interior trim.

More photos after the jump, with a total of 8 in this post.

Related Proton BLM Buildup Teaser Posts:

Related Proton BLM Posts:

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• KTK-L (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 5:52 pm

the back part is like the nissan latio

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 6:17 pm

The “erection” so visible in 3, 4 & 5th pictures. Still no sign of date for official launch!

• Paul Tan on Jan 12, 2008 at 6:26 pm

BigFish: It will be launched on the 18. [Source] Now you have your sign. Stop creating faults out of thin air. The erection is called a parking brake lever, stop making this blog an 18SX blog. You are definititely not showing good behaviour because I had to edit lots of stuff (the usual blind this, blind that) from one of your posts that I’ve approved today, so your moderation will be extended to 3 weeks instead of 2.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 6:34 pm

yah…bigfish…Proton gonna lauch it at 18 of january 2008!!

Paul,
    have you tried driving persona??how much difference can you feel between GEN2 and persona?

anyone own or test driven the persona??how it feels compared to gen2?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 6:36 pm

Can’t wait to see the final product.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 6:47 pm

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 7:07 pm

dont wory “ejeculate” on the 18th

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 7:11 pm

sorry paul ,,,
    please delete if

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 7:15 pm

im looking foward too,
    3/4 rear is nice,
    really want to see its stance its from front 3/4

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 8:06 pm

imagine if proton was hand made, this is how long it will take. probably 10 cars a year

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 8:09 pm

*cont,

there will be no argument on quality issue, everything is fit properly

• naikmotoje (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 8:58 pm

looks good and promising…
    i actually plan to buy my first car by the end of this year.

this BLM is in my list… hehe

• moha774 (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 9:22 pm

sorry to tell that, the New Saga brochure has been leaked and circulated in the net…. go look for it…. what I can say is… the end product looks very promising… for this price range….

• moha774 (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 9:25 pm

and yes it will still be called Saga….

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 9:30 pm

so where its leaked

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 9:30 pm

moreover..the interior is cool..

• moha774 (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 9:43 pm

I dont think it appropriate to disclose it here…. but you can search for it in one of proton cars club…. hope you understand…

• Smallfish (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 9:45 pm

The car looks taller, thus the stability during cornering would be questionable.
    Looking forward to test drive to find out the actual condition.

• blunt (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 9:53 pm

smallfish..

there were many so called taller car around …i.e kenari, atoz, kembara….

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:07 pm

overall its look sturdy, in appearence,

• transformer (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:12 pm

Would be fun to see few turn tuttle! Its really too high!

Car designed to be taller would degrade it stability as center gravity is high… Anyone notice that Altis are not as sharp as its predecessor!

Should opt Honda design language…. First, Oddysey go LOW! Now Stream are lower!

• Wilfred (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:14 pm

pls. share out the comments over the enginer performance once the group members able to get a hand on it…lets share it out to benchmark…

• KuchingMali (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:20 pm

I was there that night. I thought it would be a major buid-up but they only put up a door and roof. They even shouted “Proton Boleh!!” three times after the buid-up. Hope Proton can really make it this time.

• Liam Lim (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:30 pm

I went 2 search at proton car club & google but could’nt get 2 see brochure. Hope someone can give the address

• loquitor (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:42 pm

i want brochure. loq@yahoo dot com. feel free to mel me :)

• loquitor (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:44 pm

hrm… after 5 secs google. i found brochur. brochur pengurusan jenazah kat singapore. ape daaa. nk BLM. paultan… help ur readers plzzz! heheh.

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:57 pm

In my entire life, I’ve never seen a car being photographed like that before!
    Oh my, hahaha….
    Anyway, let’s keep hunting for that brochure.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 12:10 am

Good that the launch date is confirm at 18 Jan 08. But to peek at the car for me is kinda unnecessary. Even if inside is Ferrari, I won’t go to peek as well.

Just waite for another week and go to showroom to see the actual car.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 12:54 am

transformer,
    the car is practically empty. for sure it looks higher now. the springs are designed to carry a lot more weight. have you ever seen a car with the engine removed? its nose is practically pointing skyward.

considering protons ability to tune good handling cars, i have no doubt in my mind that it will definitely be class leading again in terms of handling. hopefully, there will be less problems with this car as compared to past protons. but of course, all new cars from all manufacturers have problems, its up to proton to ensure that their customer service works 110% to keep customers happy.

• fairozee (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 1:06 am

i dont like the interior… maybe coz I.m not keen with savvy interior… yes.. everything looks like savvy except the aircond vent.. they change the shape to round shape… the radio panel also looks a bit different. But I can’t tell much from one interior pic.

• enginerd_2008 (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 1:24 am

whoooa… i think one day this BLM owner can become mechanic laa… :) they can do by themself by referring this picture:) just plug n play:) i hope so :)

paul..you are very very diligent la… always update the picture for us.. thanks aa.

• StingRayINC (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 1:55 am

BLM is forking ugly maaan…….

• jeanloo (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 2:06 am

Wah…..the car is so nice, really nice, i really mean it. Front like Camry, Back like mercedes. Too bad i just bought the merdeka saga……

• jeanloo (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 2:07 am

Check it out here
    http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n137/mohdhaizi/Proton%20BLM/4da0d412.jpg

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 2:21 am

Hi Everyone!

Just wanna update and remind that the BLM engine uses DRIVE BY WIRE SYSTEM…so when u guys test it later, dun be ‘shy’ with the throttle. With the new mapping and IAFM, Its a fun, powerful and responsive car to drive.

Cheers!

• loquitor (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 2:24 am

hehe. finally. i can see and read da brochur and oso can touch my laptop screen. what can i say… i wanna buy lor becoz of its exterior. interior i dont mind lor. mcm laki skang tgk muka pompuan cantik pun da ckp. heheh!

• fairozee (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 2:30 am

loquitor… would please email me the brochure?

it’s [email protected]

thanks

• Siva (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 2:31 am

Brochure:
    http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/218/2008protonsagabrochure0rk5.jpg
    http://img179.imageshack.us/img179/163/2008protonsagabrochure0nn7.jpg

• cc (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 3:02 am

thanks siva… loos nice on Brochure.. susa sket nk baca… thanks alot..

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 3:33 am

thanks siva….ur da man!!!u talk less..but give us the important news and show us the most important thing we wanna all this while…thanks again man!!

• sunsilk (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 3:58 am

wow..thanks for siva brochure…finally can c how irs interior looks like..not bad…simple as well…bt the torque output din improved?

• spidermutu (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 4:04 am

BigFish said,
    January 12, 2008 @ 6:17 pm

The “erection” so visible in 3, 4 & 5th pictures. Still no sign of date for official launch!
    —————————————————————–
    If you notice there’s no seat installed,but since you like the parking brake so much you can sit on it….hehe..

• wong (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 4:17 am

Thanks Siva….simple looking sedan,not bad…but not for the ‘sporty looking’ fan…

• neurra (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 4:39 am

wow.. looking at those links from the previous posters.. i reckon this car will sell well.. especially those fresh families

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 8:30 am

Once again I want to thank Paul Tan for updating us and Siva with the brochure.

I think BigFish will always be the same. Don’t think he will change and learn. In his previous post on this BLM stage by stage teaser demo, after given warning by Paul, he apologized. Then, later he was taking about “buntut semut keranga api” and “lawn mover engine” and now about the parking / hand brake lever. SORRY KONON BUT KEEP REPEATING THOSE NONSENSE THINGS! That’s why he doesn’t feel sorry about what he said about me “cocky parrot”. At least this parrot (me, as you said), know how to thank people / for others!

Well, back to NEW SAGA. We have 5 days to go to really see and feel this SAGA. Only until all of us see and feel the real end product, we can give more solid comments based on facts and judge it.

• nbs55 (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 9:17 am

wow, it look very nice car from front and rear..very pretty car..hebat P1..this became hot car this year…i want to get one..

• aksMs (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 9:39 am

I think front look of this new SAGA is more ‘GARANG’ than Gen2 and Persona. Soon, with creative exterior mods, this car might look better than TRD Vios. Theo Chin, anything for us?

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 10:23 am

Thanks for posting the brochure pic.

It does look rly decent for the price. Im sure it has aesthetic modding potential. Although i like the conservative styling cues. Not too boxlike, not too flying saucer-ish, not too dugong-ish.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 10:33 am

Once again I wanted to thank Paul Tan for updating us with new Proton Saga’s stage by stage teaser demo and to Siva for the brochure.

I think BigFish will always be the same and will never change. Last time he did apologized to us and he said he will learn and things like that. Then again he said about the “buntut semut keranga api” and “lawn mover engine” of this new Saga and now about the parking / hand brake lever. Erection? SORRY KONON BUT STILL REPEAT THE SAME MISTAKES / ERRORS / RUMOURS / NONSENSE / SPECULATIONS etc. Please don’t repeat again BigFish by putting some rubbish (including X Rated) in Paul’s blog.

OK, back to this new Saga. Still have 5 days to go till the car is launch. So, we will give better solid comments and judge it.

Happy motoring to everyone.

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 11:14 am

cant wait to see the real car……..

• loquitor (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 11:18 am

The smell of your skin lingers on me now

You’re probably on your flight back to your hometown

I need some shelter of my own protection baby

Be with myself and center clearity

Peace surenity

I hope you know, I hope you know

That this has nothing do with you

It’s personal myslef and I

We got some straighten’ out to do

And im gonna miss you like a child misses their blanket

But I gotta get a move on with my life

It’s time to be a big boy now

• msmar_453 (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 12:22 pm

Nice briefing about BLM on NST- CBT today!
    Yea, a bit tall for Saga but who cares?

• moha774 (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 12:31 pm

So Paul… I think you dont need to update the BLM assembling process anymore.. since the brochure has been leaked (so called called corporate secrecy)… but, anyway still relevant for those who wants to know about it’s technicalities… personally think, the future does looks bright for Proton… which claims the body uses high tensile steel and stronger than their current Gen-2 and Persona…as read in Berita Minggu today…

• moha774 (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 12:34 pm

oops sorry it should be CBT of NST…. too much weekend news paper reading… got confused…hehehe

• KTK-L (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 12:39 pm

the new steering wheel look more nicer…the radio pamel suk….

• zidane (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 12:40 pm

i kinda like it….

a step forward for malaysia….

Proton can only get better….

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 12:43 pm

With Siva’s link on the BLM aka Saga brochure, we can see the whole picture for Saga from the comfort of our laptop/PC with the punch of keyboard.

Why bother line under hot sun to peek-here-and-there yet can’t see much about the car?

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 12:53 pm

Look at Siva’s link on brochure, Saga front grill is really “Audi-ish”! Ho, ho, ho, ho, ………. continental front look lor ……..

• Paul Tan on Jan 13, 2008 at 2:10 pm

BigFish: that is because leaked brochures and photos taken insite holding yards are ILLEGAL as it is considered publishing copyrighted material without authorisation (brochure) and trespassing on private property (holding yards)

i can only publish these build up teasers. because of the large amount of traffic i have, have to play by the law.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 4:51 pm

And now this is going to be a peoples’ car for Malaysian.
    Reviewing at the car i contemplate, it’s just now after years of indiscretion and nonsense, that Proton has eventually realized and got back to the basic to answering the majority’s quest.

I strongly believe that this is the car that will catapult the viability of Proton survivability ..well at least in Malaysia. This is the kind of car that they should emphasize on developing and innovating at the first place instead of messing excessively with those bloody Savvy, Satria, Arena lumberjack ? or what so ever.

I predict and 99 % confident that this car will bring a big jumbo sales to Proton and it might claim back the reign that it has lost to P2 sonce couple of years ago. Syed Zainal has delivered what he vowed.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 5:20 pm

neo, savvy got its portion in market though not as large as saga,

jumbuck is definitely not for malaysian,
    i think if really proton car want to go cheap commercial, lite ‘van’ this saga could be minimally developed into combi, but still feasibility should well studied,

series models ,variant ,facelift making automotive world ‘alive’ and vibrant,
    ,,,,,unless its a dull boring, non crative, piece of auto maker,

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 5:31 pm

if you look at the rear where the boot latch to be clicked in, the horizontal piece acts like a ‘c’ channel beam which also add some rigidity in response to impact if one

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 5:35 pm

some say tall, well actually its a european small compact sedan in form,

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 7:02 pm

Just now went to Jaya Jusco Equine Park Seri Kembangan. There are Hyundai new models on display.

1. The all new 2008 Hyundai Accent 1.4L look very similar to new Saga, especially the front grill Audi-ish design and the rear lamp.

2. The all new 2008 Hyundai Elantra 2.0L look like very spacious and some part look like Civic, especially head lamp with “bigger bug eye”. RM 93K, who is interested.

Anyway, Paul why you don’t blog these 2 new models, it look elegant and value for monies. Sorry for out of topic.

OK now talk about copyright, as a layman, what I know to publish any copyright material you shall obtain consent from the owner irrespective of whether it is inside private property and/or leaked brochures.

Tresspassing is another separate issue @ enter private property without owner consent.

Anyway the brochure shall be register with the Intellectual Property Right at Level 32, Dayabumi only they can claim to their copyright.

Any lawyer here to give better/legal advice?

• Paul Tan on Jan 13, 2008 at 7:07 pm

I did not even know there was a new Hyundai launched.

• deepthroat (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 7:10 pm

copyright

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 7:57 pm

“series models ,variant ,facelift making automotive world ‘alive’ and vibrant,
    ,,,,,unless its a dull boring, non crative, piece of auto maker,”

Yes at certain measure, that’s true but there’s one auto maker which was too obsess about excessively coming up with several nonsense models, variants and face-lifts which had persistently disarrayed peoples’ quests and hopes on local automotive industry by neglecting their basic and fundamental model.

You got to emphasize and build up a strong stance for the basic model to be established in the market foremost before venturing and messing too EXCESSIVELY with other variants.

See how Toyota uphold their Corolla, Honda with their Civic, Nissan with their Sunny or now favorably known as Sentra, Volkswagen with their Beetle and Golf. Those juggernauts are far more ‘alive’ and ‘vibrant’ yet still stick hard to their basic brand and keep on innovating them day by day to align with the time.

But that one piece of auto maker has ‘neglected’ their basic significant model for more than 15 years with out any laudable innovation and improvement yet obsess to ‘overly’ venture into something else with the objective to ‘show-off’ and make the Malaysian automotive more alive and vibrant ?!. And believe me, that kind of characteristic is what has put the tiger almost suicidal by trying to show-off to the world that it can stand tall with out its feet on the ground at the very edge of cliff.
    Luckily it has realized and on the ground it stands at last. The decision to retain the ‘Saga’ name is applaudable in my point of view.

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 8:06 pm

new blm smart n simple……….but for kaki modified sure u can see after few days own this car, mesti semua tukar like MYVY hahahahhaha!!!

• eVilsin (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 8:59 pm

To Bigfish:
    Jaya Jusco Equine Park is not in Seri Kembangan, it’s on the way to Seri Kembangan.It’s still located in Equine Park, Puchong.

• ECOTEC FamilyII (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 10:15 pm

bro……thanks for the broacher…….. its really looking good with handsome interior yet simple……syabas proton

• szw (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 10:27 pm

whens the next update coming ?

• jzkzlz (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 10:33 pm

SAGA internal shot.
    http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/2161/10012008076yr2.jpg
    get the link from other forum site.

• thecrash (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 11:54 pm

Jaya Jusco Equine Park, Pusat Bandar Putra Permai, 43300 Seri Kembangan hehehehe

• shamel (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 12:14 am

Dear paul,

Elantra mere Rm93,888 just launch last week, whereas Accent quite sometime, maybe over a month or so, 1.4M and 1.6A. Pretty cheap.

• eVilsin (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 4:39 am

thecrash said,
    Jaya Jusco Equine Park, Pusat Bandar Putra Permai, 43300 Seri Kembangan heheheh

my bad, lost my bearing.

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 6:34 am

jzkzlz said,
    January 13, 2008 @ 10:33 pm

SAGA internal shot.
    —————————

What the….? this dash really doesn’t make the car. Didn’t expect it to be too minimalist. I would expect something of the myvi or picanto, the least. This? not for that kind of exterior design. It’s really an anti-climax…even the merdeka saga is nicer, so dissapointing……..

• schdmitz (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 8:13 am

i already saw 20 units of BLM parking in the Kuching port…….they parked the car facing the other side…….

• wheregotcar (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 9:44 am

wong said,
    January 13, 2008 @ 4:17 am

Thanks Siva….simple looking sedan,not bad…but not for the ’sporty looking’ fan…

i heard they come in 3 range of models..
    1. Medium line – up to rm39,999
    2. Base lne
    3. N-line – from rm33,999 ?? (not sure what the N stands for)

anyway, the N-line supposedly to cater for car-modification enthuthiast. the bumper is unpainted, and i heard there’s no radio (but speakers r installed) so one can easily modify the BLM to suit their taste. infact i remember a few months back somebody already did a photoshop of the car.. not bad

• fastd (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 9:55 am

To nobodyatuk,

What did u expect bro? This is Base Line Model aka People’s Car… But, seem like the radio not customade type… So, for a/v system i think depend on our ‘pocket’ how to upgrade it….

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 10:07 am

The interior looks like Rover 45, British influence ah?

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 10:19 am

hmm, refer to the brochure, why no rear door power windows? is it very expensive to hv power windows? my goodness……..

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 10:22 am

tec96248,

Haiyah what do you expect bro? This is Base Line Model, not some sort of Proton Brabus lah…

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 10:23 am

viva and myvi still can sell then…. at least got 4 power windows, abs, ebd, dual srs airbag on the market……..will see it about it whether is a myvi or viva killer? hahahaha.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 10:25 am

Maybe its an optional? Myvi is more expensive than the BLM lah…Bro…

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 10:45 am

of course myvi is more expensive since it’s a hatchback. savvy also more expensive than blm. but then power window not really expensive right? just got a little disappointment. hv to consider again whether this can be my third car or not……..

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 12:13 pm

depend on quality….myvi compact but now this car is best seller in Malaysia….blm new born so hop proton can give the best sales after service n mutu keunggulan is important for BLM!!!

• mohdjiman (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 12:14 pm

because myvi is hatchback then it’s expensive…ohh!!!!note note!

• theking (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 12:20 pm

Maybe Paul will be busy with BLM media preview today.

• blunt (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 12:36 pm

tec9…

Kembara Aero dont have rear power window also and the price is closed to 60K

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 1:08 pm

i prefer non-powered window ver. easy to maintain ;)

• nbs55 (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 1:10 pm

reality…p2 & naza car too expensive for msia ppl compare p1..so we must support p2 for their job now..great proton..

• king (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 1:41 pm

nbs55 said,
    January 14, 2008 @ 1:10 pm

reality…p2 & naza car too expensive for msia ppl compare p1..so we must support p2 for their job now..great proton..

contradicting urself?

• adunadun (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 1:53 pm

Hello Proton engineer!!
    is the steering adjustable? up/down ?

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 2:16 pm

blunt said,
    January 14, 2008 @ 12:36 pm

==true……..my job site got about 20 numbers of kembara, very funny same spec but some have,some don’t, i also don’t know why. after all is a AWD.
    anyway, this blm at least hv all power windows, since viva 850 onwards hv all power windows.

farghmee said,
    January 14, 2008 @ 1:08 pm

i prefer non-powered window ver. easy to maintain

==what to maintain for a power window? unless it spoilt but usually can last for years. hahaha…….proton famous power window, were u indicating?

• king (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 2:35 pm

tec96248 said,
    January 14, 2008 @ 10:19 am

hmm, refer to the brochure, why no rear door power windows? is it very expensive to hv power windows? my goodness……..

wat for need power window at rear? rear passanger paying tol for you? big mpvs eg. naza ria can’t even open rear window

• freeze (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 2:58 pm

Heres the interesting difference I see from Iswara – based on that brochure

1. Maximum speed 160 and 155 for auto (Iswara is rated at 163 but can go beyond that)
    2. 0 – 100 Acceleration is slower (manual)
    3. Smaller fuel tank
    4. Higher turning radius
    5. Heavier, Higher, Wider, but not longer (Sedan)
    6. More power than 1.5, but slighty less torque than 1.5

In my opinion, if the price difference between N-Line and M-Line is about RM3000+, then the N-Line is better value for money since the only missing features are:
    1. alarm
    2. keyless entry
    3. front power windows
    4. full wheel caps (no alloy for m-Line)
    5. painted bumpers

There might be other features in M-line, but if its just this then, I dont see the point in gettig the M-line other than for the colour. It even comes with power steering!!

When they say keyless entry remote…does it mean the normal remote control or the other thing like in Nissan Latio?

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 3:05 pm

wonder what’s the tag line this time

maybe it’s “My first Proton after my first Proton (kereta kebal)”

• viknes6971 (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 3:08 pm

i saw the quater built car yest at cineleisure..
    haha, not bad. looks nice…
    the sales man said the 1.3 campro engine has been upgraded with some new air intake system ang things…
    i realise lots of people comparing myvi and viva with this car..
    i am driving a myvi…. myvi is ok car and this saga for me looks like an ok car too… as we expect to much for car at this price range….
    but if u really compare myvi n this car, think this car has lil bit more advantage than myvi… especially the boot space which is really an issue for myvi… but up tp people.. diff person got diff point of view. this saga can be a good a practical car for average earning people….

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 3:17 pm

Haiyah wait until the model is launched then see whether got power window or not. Will be viewing the unit at the launch time.

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 3:25 pm

cheap today proton!!
    saga aeroback RM26,999 offer CD PLAYER+POWER STEERING+POWER WINDOW+REVERSE SENSOR+DOOR VISOR+BODY SKIRTING……much more than this u want with dis price!!! heheheheh….

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 3:26 pm

mohdjiman said,
    January 14, 2008 @ 12:14 pm

because myvi is hatchback then it’s expensive…ohh!!!!note note!
    ———————————————————-

I thought Proton BLM has 70mm more of steel at the back so it should be more expensive.

• wong (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 3:51 pm

farghmee said,

January 14, 2008 @ 1:08 pm

i prefer non-powered window ver. easy to maintain
    ——————————————————————-
    How to maintain power windows? !!

• mohdjiman (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 4:01 pm

more steel more cheaper maybe…muhahahaha!!i have no issue with power window or any other terms of ‘power’ because this car is Base Line Model…with a affordable price.additional power like power steering,power window, airbag, abs, powerful engine,big boots is like a bonus to me…what else i want? if i want more than this,kumpul duit beli BMW…got all you want. peace!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 4:01 pm

wong

Yes I agree, how to mantain a power window ah?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 4:02 pm

All Volkswagen cars got power windows what.

Volkswagen = People’s car

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 4:16 pm

Power windowless (Open but can’t closed)? Or Powerless Window (Closed but can’t open)? Need maintaining? Yes, replacement.

• razzack04 (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 5:19 pm

Hello kawan,

No power window for rear seats, so budak2 sitting in the back seat cannot play around with the window. Require for front seat on driver side only… to pay tol. Also, less mechanical part, less weight, less problem.

• Infinitt (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 5:27 pm

budak besar tak main window so better jugak ini tak ada power. lagipun kalau polis tahan dia suruh driver yang buka window…mungkin..lainlah kalau ada awek2 cun duduk belakang hehe..

• Infinitt (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 5:29 pm

tapinya i suka interior dia..smart and simple.

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 5:32 pm

hohoho~
    what i mean by “maintain” was easy to dealt with ;)
    *some people believe if u slam the door with the window of power-window half way down, the motor could easily break due to vibration. i think the same too.
    *w/o power window, i dun need to think of replacing one if it is broken.
    *children won’t play with that button (unless it has window lock like in gen2 Auto HL)
    *on sunny day, during balik kampung, may be it is easier to put cloth between the glass(window) with non-power window?
    PEACE~:)

• wong (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 5:38 pm

mohdjiman said,

January 14, 2008 @ 4:01 pm
    what else i want? if i want more than this,kumpul duit beli BMW…got all you want. peace!
    ——————————————————————
    This car if can’t afford will Bring More Worries because the maintenance cost really Banyak Makan Wang…!!….happy driving…

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 5:56 pm

Small yet ample space,
    Sedatelay designed with solid tidy figure,and frontal design is no over do yet the gesture is trendy,
    wheel arch enhance the car stance though its relatively smaller than its brother,

interior is covetional non playful, reflect its exterior, enough to give a good feeling

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 5:57 pm

Still talking power window, if low quality there is no different whether got power window or not, still have to open window to pay tol.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 7:45 pm

cheap today proton!!
    saga aeroback RM26,999 offer CD PLAYER+POWER STEERING+POWER WINDOW+REVERSE SENSOR+DOOR VISOR+BODY SKIRTING……much more than this u want with dis price!!! heheheheh…

===========================================

aiyoyo janganla compare dengan technology 20 tahun…..

• misspurple (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 9:20 pm

hi evry1,
    i’m new here..
    it’s relieving that i hav had so much of info abt BLM from tis site n frm inside informer…
    tis is goin to be my 1st car, happy tht i’ve waited 3 yrs b4 getting one…
    now that i’m goin to get tis BLM, my frens who were so impatient to own a car are so jealous of me coz,im goin to get a affordable n more ‘power’ from their Myvi 1.0.
    heheheeh…thanks to proton!!! job well done!!

• tembadau (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 11:32 pm

me 2 misspurple, dis also my 1st car (BLM), i like the mountain blue color

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 12:19 am

its no more fun waiting this baby born since leaked pic n brochure is everywhere on the net…just hope 18 jan will come faster….can’t wait to touch n see it…g luck blm

• misspurple (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 12:50 am

lucky for u tembadau!!
    i’m stil confuse to choose….
    hehe so much colour…evrything looks nice…
    but no purple colour!!!
    heheh
    but still i want to wait until its launced…mybe then i can choose which colour will suit my baju kurung to school evry day!!
    cant wait to feel it…

• bash (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 1:07 am

i’ve also interested to buy this car..solid white look nice but better wait first to see wheter the high line will be produce or not..

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 3:11 am

misspurple said,
    January 14, 2008 @ 9:20 pm

hi evry1,
    i’m new here..
    it’s relieving that i hav had so much of info abt BLM from tis site n frm inside informer…
    now that i’m goin to get tis BLM, my frens who were so impatient to own a car are so jealous of me coz,im goin to get a affordable n more ‘power’ from their Myvi 1.0.

—————————————————————

Hi miss purple,congrat for the first car…by the way my name is Benjo and ur asl plz.hihihihi

• nicolas (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 3:17 am

the rear windows argument is funny, in Europe most entry level cars don’t have electric rear windows.

Just check the VW (people car) web site:
    electric rear windows are is not even an option on the Polo E (£7,690, about RM50K)
    http://www.volkswagen.co.uk/new_cars/polo/options

the car is very basic, no air-con, no esp, only two airbags… by the way the optional air-con cost (£880.00, RM5600). but who needs an air-con when you have electric front windows?

• shaif (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 8:20 am

Quick produce Saga R3 complete with interior makeover and some sylish bodyskirt. I might buy this one over Waja ‘taxi’…

• Realeyes (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 8:32 am

I was thinking about the high line too, with dual airbags, abs, fully powered window..etc. But the price will be about the same as Myvi.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 8:56 am

Fuel consumption is 6 liter per 100KM and 6.3 liter per 100KM for manual and auto respectively with constant speed of 90KM/h.

This is according on the news today.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 9:35 am

So, around 12 sen per Km for Campro 1.3L. Not bad the low FC level since the Campro 1.6L is known as “fuel drinker”.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 9:39 am

Just curios, the car have doors, but the glass portion on top they call it window!

For building, they term it as “door c/w with glazing partition”.

Any one has answer to this?

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 11:46 am

BigFish said,
    January 15, 2008 @ 9:39 am

Just curios, the car have doors, but the glass portion on top they call it window!

For building, they term it as “door c/w with glazing partition”.

Any one has answer to this?

—————————————-

common la.. think twice! that term is used by architect and for building purpose only. not for vehicle. the name is so long to describe for door window. it also longer if u translate to other language too. car manufacturer dont want to trouble their car buyer to show that part with that term. do all car manufacturers use that term for their door? name me the car brand which use this term if u can.

anyway, i cant wait to test drive the car especially the feeling of IAFM!! aarrgghh!!

• GTI (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 12:33 pm

my sister said..

proton already preview the complete BLM at proton Jalan Ampang…
    correct me if i’m wrong

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 12:52 pm

king said,
    January 14, 2008 @ 2:35 pm

wat for need power window at rear? rear passanger paying tol for you? big mpvs eg. naza ria can’t even open rear window

==naza ria rear having sliding door, dude. r u saying car having power window just for the sake of paying tol??? my goodness……….

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 12:54 pm

nicolas said,
    January 15, 2008 @ 3:17 am

==wrong comparison. different living standards, different climate.

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 1:09 pm

aircond penting time ujan.
    kalu x switch on aircon time ujan while driving, cermin depan jd gelap.
    apabila cermin gelap, susah le nk drive..

• misspurple (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 2:07 pm

farghmee said,
    January 15, 2008 @ 1:09 pm

aircond penting time ujan.
    kalu x switch on aircon time ujan while driving, cermin depan jd gelap.
    apabila cermin gelap, susah le nk drive…

========================

i agree….though air cond is for comfortness during the hot n sunny day but it is also for safety purpose during the rainy days since the heavy rain can make the road less visible…
    car’s have met accidents due to this factors…
    so better bear in mind!!
    don’t mind spending a little juz for safety sake!!!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 3:10 pm

Cermin gelap = Free tinting mah…

• Q-CAR (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 4:37 pm

to adunadun,

the steering wheel is adjustable for height.

• anj97 (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 7:04 pm

proton designers are bunch of idiots.can the rakyat.because of this proton many ppl suffer and even toyota price has been hicked up to protect proton.The former PM was very smart,and took the rakyat for good ride.useless material used yet the proton is still expensive.The worst car design should go to GEN 2 and Persona AKA GEN 2 Extension.

• gonggok (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 7:05 pm

Get out anj97 – we don’t need any of your racist crap in here. We’re car lovers – full stop.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 7:13 pm

I agree with StingRayINC.Its ugly F car.Proton never designed any of their models with great passion for automobile.The GEN 2 design is the worst.What the forking design is that?Nissan had similar or rather better model on their Datsun 120y coupe.Very rare in malaysia.that was back in 1977.Gen 2 designed in 2004.This bloody proton should close shop.They survive because of the fool bumis support them.99% ppl who buy proton is bumis.

————————————————————–

Another schoolboy racist blind basher.Go out before paul delete ur comment.
    This is a famous car blog, Dont create unhealthy situation here!!!!

• ganz (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 7:36 pm

hahaha.. i love reading comments eps when associates with Proton..

from the design of the car… up to involvement of Bumiputra..so.. what next..

yes … thank for calling me FOOL…so what.. do i use UR money to buy my car..

my money.. my choice :D

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 7:57 pm

my money.. my choice

————————————————————–

we dont care bout ur money or ur car choice, racist retard go away, this is a car blog.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 8:04 pm

To anj97. PLEASE STOP USING THE “F” WORD. YOU HAVE NO RESPECT TO MR. PAUL TAN’s BLOG AND TO OTHERS TOO!!!!!!!

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 8:28 pm

To anj97. Since you talked like that, means you are very good in designing cars. Lets design one for us.

If Proton Gen2 is the worst in design, why in Thailand there are people who bought the car? Proton gave them money to buy or forced them to buy? THE ANSWER IS: THAILAND PEOPLE SAW AND TRIED THE CAR, THAT’S WHY THEY BOOKED / BOUGHT THE CAR. However, we have to see in long term performance of Proton in Thailand market not forgetting China too.

Some other people were complaining why Thailand got the Gen.2 facelift model than Malaysian. Seen Proton is entering Thailand which is new market for them, and it was so coincident that the Bangkok Motor Show also at that time and Proton is ready with the Gen.2 facelifted model with Campro CPS. That’s why it was a good marketing strategy. Why show them old products when Proton got improved version especially motor show. Other marques such as Mercedes Benz, BMW, Honda and Toyota also doing the same thing. Try to dick out where got every time the car manufacturers give their own people new products first.

• megatron (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 8:59 pm

my money.. my choice

————————————————————–

we dont care bout ur money or ur car choice, racist retard go away, this is a car blog.

————————————————-
    Benjo,
    Just ignore him, let him bark, bile dia letih menyalak, dia akan stop

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 9:03 pm

Paragraph 3. Typing mistake. Seen Proton is entering…. SHOULD BE READ AS
    Since Proton is entering…..

Sorry for that.

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 9:32 pm

fastd said,
    January 14, 2008 @ 9:55 am

To nobodyatuk,

What did u expect bro? This is Base Line Model aka People’s Car…
    ——————
    Haven’t they heard of ‘Industrial design’? It just take a little bit of creativity to create a nice dash and interior to suit the exterior. I know, maybe one of their strategy, leave it be until the next face/interior lift.

Anymore of the latest images, Paul?, never will have the chance to see the actual car until it reach here, if it ever gets here, what a pity.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 9:49 pm

The Gen-2 is a better looking car compared to Vios and City. And please stop using the F word.

• nbs55 (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 10:05 pm

anj97 said,
    January 15, 2008 @ 7:04 pm

proton designers are bunch of idiots.can the rakyat.because of this proton many ppl suffer and even toyota price has been hicked up to protect proton.The former PM was very smart,and took the rakyat for good ride.useless material used yet the proton is still expensive.The worst car design should go to GEN 2 and Persona AKA GEN 2 Extension

——————-
    sape kata gen2 design tak cantik, rasanya lbh cantik dr latio, spectra 5 n jap car..sambung butt lbh baik dr tukar jenama mcm p2 n naza tu…

• bash (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 10:23 pm

agree..gen-2 is better than looking car than vios,latio and city..especially city..even proton doing a good job with persona as it is gen2 sedan unlike city..

• enginerd_2008 (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 10:56 pm

bash said,

January 15, 2008 @ 10:23 pm

agree..gen-2 is better than looking car than vios,latio and city..especially city..even proton doing a good job with persona as it is gen2 sedan unlike city..
    —————————————
    in my point of view, Gen 2 look attractive and stylish design…so, i agree with mr.bash :)
    for anj97….could you please design a model by using any software available in internet and post your drawing here? maybe some expert in CAD or aeronautic in this blog can give their comment or mark for you:)
    ok?

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 11:15 pm

Huh gen-2 n persona design is not good looking…you must be blind…ooo i forget ur the blind basher and more worst a racist retard so u must be blind…gen2 is not selling well because to many faulty parts and have many quality issues plus some bad ergonomic factor, but to say it was a bad looking, i think you r blind.Persona is selling well rite now hope its continues..Latio and new vios is so ugly compare to this BLM… even not seeing the real product yet but from all the leaked pic i would sat it was truly a beauty for a BASE LINE MODEL..please this blog is about automotive industry not a racist or political blog…so please go away…respect this blog owners and all the bloggers ok

• misspurple (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 11:16 pm

MisterBenjo said,
    January 15, 2008 @ 3:11 am

misspurple said,
    January 14, 2008 @ 9:20 pm

hi evry1,
    i’m new here..

—————————————————————

Hi miss purple,congrat for the first car…by the way my name is Benjo and ur asl plz.hihihihi

=======================

hi mr.Benjo..
    YM me at [email protected]

• ash3r (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 11:23 pm

mr benjo… u r working at vads rite? hahaha i worked there once and cabut lari od :P
    this BLM, forsure i’ll book next month! cant wait for my 3rd month payslip… adoiii

• zzua (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 11:28 pm

benjo got a gf..

cant wait to explore blm’s full potential.. klu ada kelemahan pun kita kne accept positively, basher or defender, proton ada diri kita semua. good luck to us all.

proton.. roll out

• bash (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 11:43 pm

zzua said,

January 15, 2008 @ 11:28 pm

benjo got a gf..

cant wait to explore blm’s full potential.. klu ada kelemahan pun kita kne accept positively, basher or defender, proton ada diri kita semua. good luck to us all.

proton.. roll out

• bash (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 11:46 pm

enginerd_2008 said,

January 15, 2008 @ 10:56 pm

bash said,

—————————————
    in my point of view, Gen 2 look attractive and stylish design…so, i agree with mr.bash :)
    for anj97….could you please design a model by using any software available in internet and post your drawing here? maybe some expert in CAD or aeronautic in this blog can give their comment or mark for you:)
    ok?
    …

right now, i never heard any complaint about persona quality but still, its too early to talk about that..hopefully there is no quality issue rise from persona.. i just want to wait for gen-2 facelift…

• mejaneujoe (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 12:18 am

gen2 and mazda3, i think gen2 was launched first.. correct me if i’m wrong.(maybe mazda3 was launched way earlier in Japan) but the designs are very similar..Nevertheless, there is nothing Absolutely NOthing wrong with gen2 design.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 12:45 am

ash3r said,

January 15, 2008 @ 11:23 pm

mr benjo… u r working at vads rite? hahaha i worked there once and cabut lari od
    this BLM, forsure i’ll book next month! cant wait for my 3rd month payslip… adoiii

————————————————————-

hehehe yeah i used to wrk at vads..but i also sudah cabut lah…..
    hey guys do give us a review if u got ur the BLM

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 1:08 am

Only jokingly ask for asl then i got a girl email address already…what a great blog…Paul should do a gathering.

• king (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 3:07 am

tec96248 said,
    January 15, 2008 @ 12:52 pm

==naza ria rear having sliding door, dude. r u saying car having power window just for the sake of paying tol??? my goodness……….

tec96248 said,
    January 14, 2008 @ 10:19 am

hmm, refer to the brochure, why no rear door power windows? is it very expensive to hv power windows?

i am not talking about powered door but power window. that was what you were saying earlier. anyway the point is nobody buys a car on the basis of whether a car has rear door power window or not. maybe you do, but this is a BASE LINE MODEL and there are so many other much more important things to look at like the engine, transmission, interior, design, space, price etc. rather than just rear power window.

• king (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 3:09 am

if you mention no power steering then it is a different matter altogether

• king (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 3:18 am

bash said,

agree with you. some ppl are cock-eyed. so dun blame them.

• king (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 3:21 am

if gen2 got city’s engine,transmission, interior & a toyota badge, it will be top seller in malaysia

• bash (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 3:43 am

king said,

January 16, 2008 @ 3:21 am

if gen2 got city’s engine,transmission, interior & a toyota badge, it will be top seller in malaysia

yup..agree with you..even with proton badge and good price plus good quality..will be top seller not even in malaysia but can give a decent sell volume in china too…

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:24 am

now bookings is over 4500….

• thecrash (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:25 am

basher still basher… ini sudah murah la… my wira 1.3 aeroback also dont have rear power window.. lagi mahal harga dari BLM.. tapi semua ok jer. Now ada Neo 1.6 terus takde rear door.. lagi ok…

So sape taknak beli, diam-diam sudah la..

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:41 am

thecrash said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 8:25 am

basher still basher… ini sudah murah la… my wira 1.3 aeroback also dont have rear power window.. lagi mahal harga dari BLM.. tapi semua ok jer. Now ada Neo 1.6 terus takde rear door.. lagi ok…

——————————————–
    -ya… bila proton buat bumbung rendah(gen.2) diorang komplen…
    buat bumbung tinggi(saga BLM) diorang komplen… %@#@&*..

• tembadau (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:49 am

thecrash said,

——————————————-
    I agree wit u bro.other yg blah blah pot pet pot pet complaint pesal proton better buka blog lain.

• tembadau (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 9:03 am

thecrash said,

——————————————–
    -ya… bila proton buat bumbung rendah(gen.2) diorang komplen…
    buat bumbung tinggi(saga BLM) diorang komplen… %@#@&*..

—————————
    Maybe they want yang proton without bumbung kot :P

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 9:09 am

hmm…..it seems a lot don’t know how to differentiate a complaint and a question. and don’t even know how to upgrade and move forward. my goodness, so many slow learners. bashing others as basher by comparing those last millenium history..and all the rubbish talk non related to the car. it seems a lot don’t know how to enjoy with a car… sigh………..

• tembadau (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 9:15 am

misspurple said,

January 15, 2008 @ 12:50 am

lucky for u tembadau!!
    i’m stil confuse to choose….
    hehe so much colour…evrything looks nice…
    but no purple colour!!!
    heheh
    but still i want to wait until its launced…mybe then i can choose which colour will suit my baju kurung to school evry day!!
    cant wait to feel it…
    ————————————————-
    wah cikgu misspurple, 4 u i think better choose green or solid white

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 9:16 am

king said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 3:07 am

–i know, naza ria don’t hv power window because of sliding door. i know is a base line model, so is not cheap model. baseline model doesn’t mean everything have to be cheap, since m-line will hv driver’s airbag. hmm……..

• waimak (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 9:29 am

So when is Perdana Replacement Model coming?? We the not-so-young customer are looking forward to this….

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 9:32 am

king said,

yar, taste is subjective lar. Some ppl like some ppl dont like. That’s their personal taste. What’s important is that there is enough genuine market interest to make the product saleable. Think Renault Kangoo – the benjo car. Talk about being cock eyed! That ugly (IMO) mini MPV actually has buyers! a niche market… but still has buyers.

• Neutral (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 9:41 am

Bravo PROTON!

Latest infor, as of Jan14, 2008 the booking is 4650unit!

My personal view of P1. Eventhough P1 quality not better then Toyota or Honda but we’re about the same par with them since currently Toyota/Honda parts are being manufactured by the same vendors of P1.

I would prefer P1 rather then Korean cars since i had very bad experience with my previous car which was KIA spectra H-Line. Too much technical problems then i could imagine. Power window failure at 10K km, transmission jammed at 45K km, root spot weld peelled off causing severe metal friction sound, absorber leakage and door easily dent. Even the P1 Iswara door are stronger. I could accept that every car got it own defects/flaws but not as much as i’ve got with my KIA. The biggest problem is the trade in value… value dropped ~RM30K just after 2yrs!!!!

Now i’m driving Waja . It has been 2 1/2yr and no sign of window failure. Please note that, i dont open my door to pay the tol or to use my proximity card at my condo! I could buy Vios or Honda City at that time but Waja just the right price and worth buying.

I’m looking forward to book BLM for my mom. I’ve tested drive the BLM and my view… very practical and same par in term of quality with d great Persona. Best choice for family.

• scottloeb (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 9:51 am

Fancy design requires fancy engineering (tooling, materials, time, equipment, process) and that equal to cost = money. To engineered a basic car that sells at basic price with high cost , it doesn’t sounds right isn’t it? Even if your CATIA (CAD software develop by IBM & Aircraft maker widely use in Aircraft & Automotive design – industry standard) is V5 it still doesn’t make sense as parts still need to undergo the same process and tooling. Why reinvent the wheel? Use easier parts, more common, less electronic/minimal control and low cost is your answer (also equal to low maintenance). Comprendre?

• vorchex (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 11:08 am

i’ve also booked this BLM for my first car! yayy!! yeah, i know nothing bout cars. but i know it’s quite cheap and it’s big. i want the big boots :) i just hope the salesman won’t cheat me. he promised me that i’ll get this car early, means i dont have to join the long waiting list. else, dating him is just a waste let’s form a BLMclub ! hehe

• hsbc (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 11:44 am

this saga(really cant wait to try it3 new 1.3 campro+IAFM) hopefully will tapau those myvi(viva definitely) with its addiotional spacious boot-shame on any P2 cars(why they never invented a car with a boot)?

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 12:00 pm

anj97 said,
    January 15, 2008 @ 6:59 pm

I agree with StingRayINC.Its ugly F car.Proton never designed any of their models with great passion for automobile.The GEN 2 design is the worst.What the forking design is that?
    —————
    Design is subjecitve, eventhough I can’t conclusively prove or disprove your your statement, but you are entitle to your opinion. Definitely this is “handicap match” for me if I use dirty word.

Anyway, are you giving personal opinion or salesman for other makes come in as “agent provocateur” by fire a salvo to start a fire?

Anyway, there are no less blind defender with “cocky parrot” mouth who are unable to distingusih between “the football player vs. spectator” aka, manufacturer vs. consumers. Examples: –
    ——————-

1. To anj97. Since you talked like that, means you are very good in designing cars. Lets design one for us.

2. for anj97….could you please design a model by using any software available in internet and post your drawing here? maybe some expert in CAD or aeronautic in this blog can give their comment or mark for you:)
    ok?
    …

3. i’m using Gen2 for almost 3 years.. and suddenly somebody call me idiot…if She (Mrs Anjali @anj97) so Genius.. then open up HER own company and manufacture HER own car..

etc, etc, etc, …….

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 12:08 pm

Anyway, it is just another 2 days to waite for the 18th Jan launch. For the Malaysian consumers, it is a “big deal”, then see how bashers and defenders “fire” it up!

For me, 18th Jan 08 mark the end of irritating stone age model but new Milo tin on the wheel (i.e. condemn the car but with due respect to consumers who purchase it due to limited budget) being market in Malaysia. Good luck that finally we can see one of the junk moving metal discontinue in our market. Hope this BLM come with at least minimum safety feature by today standard.

Life is precious!

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 12:56 pm

hsbc said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 11:44 am

this saga(really cant wait to try it3 new 1.3 campro+IAFM) hopefully will tapau those myvi(viva definitely) with its addiotional spacious boot-shame on any P2 cars(why they never invented a car with a boot)?

–without a boot also can sell like hotcakes in the market, what for need a boot? if can’t sell with a boot that’s really a shame. afterall, if the quality no good, that will definitely will tapau whatever car it is. boy, u know or not? hahahaha.

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 1:08 pm

tec96248 said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 12:56 pm

–without a boot also can sell like hotcakes in the market, what for need a boot? if can’t sell with a boot that’s really a shame. afterall, if the quality no good, that will definitely will tapau whatever car it is. boy, u know or not? hahahaha.
    ———————————————-
    -but if they copy from other company and said they are make that products is more shame..

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 1:22 pm

chap_de_x said,
    January 15, 2008 @ 11:15 pm

Huh gen-2 n persona design is not good looking…you must be blind…ooo i forget ur the blind basher and more worst a racist retard so u must be blind…gen2 is not selling well because to many faulty parts and have many quality issues plus some bad ergonomic factor, but to say it was a bad looking, i think you r blind.Persona is selling well rite now hope its continues..Latio and new vios is so ugly compare to this BLM… even not seeing the real product yet but from all the leaked pic i would sat it was truly a beauty for a BASE LINE MODEL..please this blog is about automotive industry not a racist or political blog…so please go away…respect this blog owners and all the bloggers ok
    —————————————————————-

Yes, I agree your opinion. But then Gen-2 is the second in-house designed car from Proton so must have some quality problems lah because not everyone is perfect mah, especially for those amateur designers…

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 1:23 pm

ezralimm said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 9:32 am

king said,

yar, taste is subjective lar. Some ppl like some ppl dont like. That’s their personal taste. What’s important is that there is enough genuine market interest to make the product saleable. Think Renault Kangoo – the benjo car. Talk about being cock eyed! That ugly (IMO) mini MPV actually has buyers! a niche market… but still has buyers.

–looks is very subjective, agreed that gen2 looks better than vios, city and latio. but then gen2 is a bigger car compared to those. afterall, most of the time a driver will be inside the car, so interior looks are very important too my point of view. does gen2 or persona interior looks better than vios, city or latio? hmm………

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 1:27 pm

I think Proton’s design team is the Pininfarina/Bertone of the far east. Just imagine, they managed to combine the traditional Malay design cues with some Europeaness in it, wasn’t that wonderful?

This is just my frank opinion.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 1:34 pm

pengawas said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 1:08 pm

-but if they copy from other company and said they are make that products is more shame..

==agreed, copying without approval is a shame but not a rebagded cars. somehow is worst than shame if can’t outside a rebagded cars.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 1:44 pm

MyviKiller said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 1:27 pm

I think Proton’s design team is the Pininfarina/Bertone of the far east. Just imagine, they managed to combine the traditional Malay design cues with some Europeaness in it, wasn’t that wonderful?
    —————-
    Last time when P1 design Savvy and Satria Neo, they are “Peninkepala” design team that don’t know what the market want.

What Malay design cues, the “wau bulan” front grill for Gen-2? And you mean Gen-2 rebadge to Europstar with “pranching lion” logo that look Europeaness?

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 1:50 pm

pengawas said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 1:08 pm

————
    P2 and Naza are rebadging other makes with improvement. It is not copy. P1 previously and current products line up also either rebadge, or copy (the Perdana’s front grill that copy from Alfa Romeo). The upcoming BLM (Saga) also copy with front grill very “Audi-ish”!

Is it a shame by both rebadging and copying? I think not if they do it with improvement and good quality.

Only those who rebadge and/or copy but deny it or come with crap low quality is a real shame.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 1:52 pm

tec96248 said,

without a boot also can sell like hotcakes in the market, what for need a boot? if can’t sell with a boot that’s really a shame. afterall, if the quality no good, that will definitely will tapau whatever car it is. boy, u know or not? hahahaha.
    ———–

Well said, the selling point is good quality with design that meet market demand.

• kaizou (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 2:10 pm

BigFish said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 12:08 pm

Anyway, it is just another 2 days to waite for the 18th Jan launch. For the Malaysian consumers, it is a “big deal”, then see how bashers and defenders “fire” it up!

For me, 18th Jan 08 mark the end of irritating stone age model but new Milo tin on the wheel (i.e. condemn the car but with due respect to consumers who purchase it due to limited budget) being market in Malaysia. Good luck that finally we can see one of the junk moving metal discontinue in our market. Hope this BLM come with at least minimum safety feature by today standard.

Life is precious!
    ———————————————–

Agree with u on the tin milo. Maybe somebody need to doublecheck on both the P1 and P2 product. to make it simple. drive MYVI and BLM. ram into each other laa. so both bash + defend puas hati. lets see who’s kiok already.

I’m suggesting BIGFISH drive MYVI and MYVIKLLER drive BLM.
    at least on of them/both already quite from this forum :D.

waiiitt…BIGFISH wanna drive oversea cars only i think. u can think of any car with same segment so that u satisfied.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 3:26 pm

Agree with u on the tin milo. Maybe somebody need to doublecheck on both the P1 and P2 product. to make it simple. drive MYVI and BLM. ram into each other laa. so both bash + defend puas hati. lets see who’s kiok already.

waiiitt…BIGFISH wanna drive oversea cars only i think. u can think of any car with same segment so that u satisfied.
    —————————————————————-

Ooay, I’m always wanted to drive cars from Proton lahh bro…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 3:27 pm

But that doesn’t mean that I’m biased ok?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 3:28 pm

—————————————————————-

Ooay I’m always wanted to drive cars from Proton lah Bro…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 3:33 pm

Last time when P1 design Savvy and Satria Neo, they are “Peninkepala” design team that don’t know what the market want.

What Malay design cues, the “wau bulan” front grill for Gen-2? And you mean Gen-2 rebadge to Europstar with “pranching lion” logo that look Europeaness?
    —————————————————————-

That’s why most Italian cars have pening-ed our kepala in terms of quality. Anyway, what I meant was the overall car design, not just the “pranching” or “prancing” (whatever it is) lion.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 3:36 pm

—————————————————————-

Ooay Bro, I like Proton cars ok?

• blunt (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 3:38 pm

tec96248 said,

without a boot also can sell like hotcakes in the market, what for need a boot? if can’t sell with a boot that’s really a shame. afterall, if the quality no good, that will definitely will tapau whatever car it is. boy, u know or not? hahahaha.
    ———–

Well said, the selling point is good quality with design that meet market demand.

..Lets be frank..most of the people bought P2 car thinking that they actually bought a Toyota or Daihatsu..no doubt about that. If and only if, they secretly put the P2 badge on BLM..i’m sure BLM will received a damn good response..BUT if they put with NAZ.. badge, again we can hear soo many nasty critic . see, how strong the power of the badge is..!!!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 3:39 pm

—————————————————————-

Ooay Bro, I like Proton cars ok???

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 3:48 pm

Why P1 never participate any big motorshow?? I think P1 should do that to be more competitive, more xposure with latest design technology, more innovative concept, establish brand and increase confident level to fight with
    competitor…being more aggrsive.

• king (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 4:05 pm

blunt said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 3:38 pm

..Lets be frank..most of the people bought P2 car thinking that they actually bought a Toyota or Daihatsu..no doubt about that. If and only if, they secretly put the P2 badge on BLM..i’m sure BLM will received a damn good response..BUT if they put with NAZ.. badge, again we can hear soo many nasty critic . see, how strong the power of the badge is..!!!

_________

thats right…don’t pretend. the main selling point was that p2 is “toyota”. last time kenari got no airbag or abs also sold like hotcake at a ridiculously high price.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 5:24 pm

Walau, anj97 rly caused a stir. I’ll tell u sumthin: I’ve used a CAD program before, n I can tell that if u want to design a carburetor, it’ll take a minimum of 3 days if u rly, rly focus n study a lot on how to use the software. That’s oni the carburetor. Today all use fuel inject, I dun wan to imagine how much more complicated it is…..

What most ppl see is other cars got this and that, while Proton dun have them. What ppl HARDLY see is the work to make the features last (prototype n testing), n imagine doin it urself.

That said, I hv to say, unker Chips Yap is absolutely correct abt Msians: we are a bunch of spoilt brats. Indians (in India) are joyful gettin their Tata Nano, bt Msians? Oredi given a/c, front pw, got 1 airbag, got pretensioner seat belts, got 7 colours to choose etcetc still wanna bash it mercilessly. That must’ve been due to personal reasons, eh? And stop giving excuses of how “Bcuz I’m an ex-Proton owner, I’ve been changing pw 234580275 times in 2 months, this lah, that lah,” n always the rhetoric “In US/Japan/wherever, Toyota XX is $??? oni,”

The grass may be greener on the other side, but “hujan batu di negeri sendiri” is always lebih baik. Migrating just so u can get a cheap Toyota or BMW is more childish than sucking your thumb. U dun like how the real world throws its dice at u, change ur position. Even billionaire Donald Trump once made a very famous quote: “LIFE’S NEVER FAIR”. U gotta deal wit it, or u can choose to stay poor n stupid all ur life.

Benjo, u soo lucky!! Btw, wat does “vads” stand for? Yea, mayb Paul shud make a gatherin, heheh. I oso wan to b able to b more in touch wit some ppl here, esp The Unicons, u readin this? Perhaps I shud start rollin the dice, so Unicons, u can mail me at tokmoh(underscore)2000az(at)yahoo(dot)co(dot)uk

Cheers n happy motoring

• proton GL (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 5:33 pm

2008 exciting year,
    engine updates,
    saga 2008
    gen 2 facelift
    waja 1.6 cps
    mpv (under development)

personally this is year proton excites me,

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 5:43 pm

car_key99 said,

January 16, 2008 @ 3:48 pm

Why P1 never participate any big motorshow?? I think P1 should do that to be more competitive, more xposure with latest design technology, more innovative concept, establish brand and increase confident level to fight with
    ——————————
    >>>To be in a big motorshow, I suppose as u said, they’ll need to present such technologies etcetc, which is wat they either lack or bcuz they’re just not in such a position wit all these local issues like their financial status, brand perception (wat comes to mind when one mentions Proton? Yeap, dat’s rite. Their pw sux), unable to sell their old models.

That said, I’ve always commended Syed Zainal n his team for fixing all the messes the old management left them. Things hv changed, n since Rome isn’t built in one nite, unless one observes n keep up-to-date wit Proton, they’ll still think Proton is a bunch of bumiputra crook.

Even then, Lotus hv been doin some work for Proton’s future benefit like the Gen2 EVE hybrid, the Lotus APX MPV concept which is rumoured to be what Proton’s 2009 MPV be based on.

Another issue wit attending big motorshow is ppl’s perception. Look at Bangkok motorshow, they unveil the Gen2 FL wit Campro CPS, do our ppl say “Wow, gud job!! The CPS+VIM is finally rdy for end-users (customers like u n me)!!” or they’d go “Celaka Proton, kera kat hutan Thailand tu lagi berharga drp ank sendri kat Msia ni la!! Tu a, Proton tu xleh harap blablabla…….”? I guess wen it comes to opening up our ppl’s mind, I’m clueless lor……

• shamel (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 5:44 pm

furthermore juz imagine if we didnt have P1 20 yrs ago.
    most malaysians wont be able to but cars at all…
    at least p1 had helped us by keeping the roads bz. n had done so much for the country including boosting our economy n providing job opportunities.

SORRY my dear sister: l beg to differ. Proton existence though bring some good/advantages BUT also not without pitfalls. Seemingly the latter more than the former.

Thai’s government opted for different route-NOW their auto industry is the kingdom DARLING; our auto industry now somewhat ailing. Hope we can restore our position again.

If we not no Proton/Perodua or even Naza, we not we’ll getting cheaper Japanese brands, at least on par with the Thais.

Since, Proton is here, what we can do is support it if they deserved.

AGREE, Koreans’ car (KIA SPectra) one of the lousiest product, incomparable with Proton perhaps due to the fact-assemble by NAZA. My friend ownership experience with Spectra less than 6 months 10 time send to service centers to rectify the problems. Unsought until they discovered: faulty electrical wiring, after few months after that. Let alone th FC of Koreans’ generally much higher than Japanese counterparts.

I hope Proton Saga tally will increase further. BUT never compromise with QUALITY like my cousin and friend’s Honda Civic 2.0. For very first month got power window problem.

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 5:44 pm

P2 and Naza are rebadging other makes with improvement. It is not copy. P1 previously and current products line up also either rebadge, or copy (the Perdana’s front grill that copy from Alfa Romeo). The upcoming BLM (Saga) also copy with front grill very “Audi-ish”!

Is it a shame by both rebadging and copying? I think not if they do it with improvement and good quality.

Only those who rebadge and/or copy but deny it or come with crap low quality is a real shame.
    —————————————–
    -wrong.. those who is rebadging, copying and modifying by change the front and rear looks, selling at higher price and declared as a national car is really shame….

• shamel (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 5:49 pm

If we not no Proton/Perodua or even Naza, we not we’ll getting cheaper Japanese brands, at least on par with the Thais.

SHOULD READ AS:

If we have no Proton/Perodua or even Naza, we’ll getting cheaper Japanese brands, at least on par with the Thais. Imagine we got MEC instead of cheap japanese brand like Panasonic, SONY, SHARP etc, are you willing to boycot these Japanese brands for MEC (malaysian own brand)?

SO do the auto industry.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 5:53 pm

Another thing, when I say “change ur position”, I mean the position of “life”, not the “geographical physical” position. Hopefully that should knock into some ppl’s head real strong…..

• proton GL (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 7:15 pm

overall body width for SAGA 2008 is exactly simmilar the WIRA ,which id say ‘reasonable’

• proton GL (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 7:18 pm

overall body width for SAGA 2008 is exactly simmilar of the WIRA’s ,which id say ‘reasonable’

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 7:21 pm

pengawas said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 5:44 pm

-wrong.. those who is rebadging, copying and modifying by change the front and rear looks, selling at higher price and declared as a national car is really shame….

==dude, proton also go through that period before when it first started. if u r seeing such a way, u r saying all the national cars are shameful. pity……….

• king (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 7:48 pm

pengawas said,

can’t agree more.

just to add on….also rebadging n pretending to be something they are not ( toyota). really shameful

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:00 pm

tokmoh said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 5:24 pm

==agreed that building a car have never been easy especially alone, that’s why so many professionals needed. agreed that a model of a car can’t please everyone, that’s why they have many models and specifications line up. even many brands. agreed that “life’s never fair”, can’t agreed with u or this chips yap, malaysian are not all spoilt brats but there is some, even to the rest of the world. donald trump also like to spoil himself. if we don’t spoilt ourselves, don’t ask for or demand more, we will never improve our life, samething to the products, they will never improve, or having new products. e.g. demand to a better, efficient and cleaner green engine. tata nano launched also wanted to capture the market for the motorcyclist to upgrade to a car, just like our early days kancil. will u still to the old saga for 20 years the same way until now?? it’s all depends on how u look at it and how we work it out or deal with it. …………

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:01 pm

car_key99 said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 3:48 pm
    ——————————————————————-
    Well, since you said NEVER. Let me named two only for your information. Sydney Auto Show 2007 and Bangkok Auto Show 2007. Proton showed their latest Gen.2 facelited model with Campro CPS 1.6 engine besides the Savvy. Remember? Have you read and listen news? Don’t just shooting blindly. Get you facts right, ok bro?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:01 pm

tokmoh said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 5:24 pm

Walau, anj97 rly caused a stir. I’ll tell u sumthin: I’ve used a CAD program before, n I can tell that if u want to design a carburetor, it’ll take a minimum of 3 days if u rly, rly focus n study a lot on how to use the software. That’s oni the carburetor. Today all use fuel inject, I dun wan to imagine how much more complicated it is…..

What most ppl see is other cars got this and that, while Proton dun have them. What ppl HARDLY see is the work to make the features last (prototype n testing), n imagine doin it urself.

That said, I hv to say, unker Chips Yap is absolutely correct abt Msians: we are a bunch of spoilt brats. Indians (in India) are joyful gettin their Tata Nano, bt Msians? Oredi given a/c, front pw, got 1 airbag, got pretensioner seat belts, got 7 colours to choose etcetc still wanna bash it mercilessly. That must’ve been due to personal reasons, eh? And stop giving excuses of how “Bcuz I’m an ex-Proton owner, I’ve been changing pw 234580275 times in 2 months, this lah, that lah,” n always the rhetoric “In US/Japan/wherever, Toyota XX is $??? oni,”

The grass may be greener on the other side, but “hujan batu di negeri sendiri” is always lebih baik. Migrating just so u can get a cheap Toyota or BMW is more childish than sucking your thumb. U dun like how the real world throws its dice at u, change ur position. Even billionaire Donald Trump once made a very famous quote: “LIFE’S NEVER FAIR”. U gotta deal wit it, or u can choose to stay poor n stupid all ur life.

Benjo, u soo lucky!! Btw, wat does “vads” stand for? Yea, mayb Paul shud make a gatherin, heheh. I oso wan to b able to b more in touch wit some ppl here, esp The Unicons, u readin this? Perhaps I shud start rollin the dice, so Unicons, u can mail me at tokmoh(underscore)2000az(at)yahoo(dot)co(dot)uk

Cheers n happy motoring
    —————————————————————-

Wow, I support you!!!

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:21 pm

shamel said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 5:44 pm

==just imagine, 20 years ago most of the buyers can buy foreign makes and has many foreign manufacturers in malaysia. now most of the buyer only can buy local makes and many jobless because the foreign manufacturers are closing down one by one, even the dealers……..and their going to our neighbouring countries. “at least p1 had helped us by keeping the roads bz. n had done so much for the country including boosting our economy n providing job opportunities.” how true it is, debatable.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:27 pm

Well, I read your post tokmoh. Yes. I agree with you. Oh ya, last time Perodua cars also no airbag(s) and so on…. but nobody say milo tin and so on. Why Proton? They criticize it until now even though Proton proved their car much better than those models rebadged from Mitsubishi, thier own designed Waja and Gen.2?

Perodua cars do have much lesser problems than Proton but that doesn’t mean this new Saga (older models such as Savvy, Satria Neo and Persona) still having BIG PROBLEMS such as the qualities and still weak in their cars chassis and frame. Why still compare old Waja and Gen.2 models? We much look what is now. Anyway, I don’t mean Proton is good enough. If we are car fans, of course we want every car manufacturers to do better and not give bloody nonsense comments or at first those people say bashing Proton so that can do well. Then when Proton is doing a bit better, those people start to cursing (curse) back Proton by saying how well they can do lah, how many cars they can sell lah with this type of design and so on.

Happy motoring, especially to you tokmoh. I’ll e-mail you once I got time. Promise.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:29 pm

king said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 7:48 pm

pengawas said,

can’t agree more.

just to add on….also rebadging n pretending to be something they are not ( toyota). really shameful

==P1 or P2, rebadging or not, our PM consider it both as national car. what shame r u talking about? our PM went to both cars launching ceremonies, u hv problems with that??? hmm………sigh…

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 8:49 pm

The Unicons said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 8:27 pm

==last time is history, anyway kancil bang my car, everything still ok. my old wira bang it, broken grill, light and bumper. believe it or not? might be the case people say milo tin and so on. won’t be surprise that time because most of the cars were proton on the road. soon u might see a lot comments on perodua since they are more on the roads. i m still thinking having this blm or persona as my third car. just love cars, the fun of it.

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 9:00 pm

hi, some of u i already send full picture exterior and interior of blm….pls check yr mail, thanks.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 9:12 pm

To tec96248. That’s what I wanted to point out. That was last time, those Saga, Wira, Perdana, Satria, Tiara, Juara and all its variants. Waja much better but still not strong enough as tested in EuroNCAP. I’ve seen Gen.2 crash test, so much better than Waja. Further improvements have been done on Savvy, Satria Neo, Persona and new Saga. However, some people still got the same perception by looking back all those old models? Especially the Waja by pasting the link Waja in EuroNCAP and the one Jeremy Clarkson Top Gear comment!!

So, do you think this is fair for Proton by people who always look at the past models and bashing like hell?

Even there was people who said the new Saga look like Hyundai Accent 2008. The grill and rear light. I’ve seen, where got the same. Totally different. This guy just like saying Proton always copies from others, not creative yet copy and come out with lousy quality products.

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 9:14 pm

tec96248 said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 8:29 pm

==P1 or P2, rebadging or not, our PM consider it both as national car. what shame r u talking about? our PM went to both cars launching ceremonies, u hv problems with that??? hmm………sigh…
    ————————-
    -no..no.. i’m talking about nz…

• misspurple (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 9:59 pm

nuajon said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 9:00 pm

hi, some of u i already send full picture exterior and interior of blm….pls check yr mail, thanks.

=============
    bro, can u pls send me those email too???

evryday i log in excitedly to read the latest comments on BLM…..
    it is jus so frustrating to read some of the ‘not so nice remarks’ by some people abt BLM n P1..hmmmm

whatever they say…..i’m still getting it!! and i can’t wait to read paul’s review on BLM tis friday!! i trust his judgment n lat us all wait n see…

• misspurple (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 10:03 pm

hi…
    juz wanna say thanks to all of the bloggers who dropped in to say hi to me the other day!!!
    i do agree that paul should do a gathering..let us all meet n talk more on cars!!

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 10:03 pm

pls send mail to me yr private e-mail send to [email protected]

thank you…

• king (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 3:38 am

pengawas said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 9:14 pm

tec96248 said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 8:29 pm

————————-
    -no..no.. i’m talking about nz…

there is no difference between p2 n naza in what they do…only they rebadge different cars

• shamel (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 3:47 am

Dear All Paultanians:

I never intend to buy Proton in my life except Neo if they had better (more economical engine). BUT lately, I must say kudos to many forummers especially Paul itself, Sifu, Prem, MyVikiller, Nuojau, Ms Purple et al (some extent BigFish but he obviously targeting p1-quite unhappy) as you guys made me excited about viewing new SAGA.

This is very clear attempt from P1 to unseat (or reclaim their seat back) from p2. If P1 successful I’m very happy too for my country though I still prefer P1 partner with VW, Honda or Toyota.

SiFu my dream- proton will have MPV like new Stream/Wish category with 50MPG or 60MPG for commonrail turbodiesel. No point having fresh design inside out but too costly and risky to produce.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 9:46 am

king said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 3:38 am

there is no difference between p2 n naza in what they do…only they rebadge different cars

==do u know the difference of total rebagded and redesigned looks?? r u having problems with rebagded cars?? proton was rebagded when it first started, europestar was rebagded of proton gen2. most important is to be manufactured or local assembled in malaysia, which can be exported also just like myvi as sirion in indonesia. even major players like GM, toyota are doing so. doesn’t matter whether it is toyota, honda, nissan, naza, p1 or p2 etc, as long as it is made in malaysia; it will create jobs to us. unless u were more a brand lover than cars lover………..agree?

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 11:26 am

The Unicons said

Well, since you said NEVER. Let me named two only for your information. Sydney Auto Show 2007 and Bangkok Auto Show 2007. Proton showed their latest Gen.2 facelited model with Campro CPS 1.6 engine besides the Savvy. Remember? Have you read and listen news? Don’t just shooting blindly. Get you facts right, ok bro?
    ——————
    Is that a big motorshows 5star category?? U must be kidding..hahaha.
    Have u been any motorshow or not??? just shooting blindly.

• Realeyes (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:08 pm

car_key99,

Since P1 is not going to sell their cars in America, what is the point to participate in Detroit Motor Show? Even in Europe their market is limited to UK, so Geneva Auto Show is also pointless, so is Tokyo MS. It is better to participate in Motor Shows where the intended target market were.ie Bankok or Australia.

• razzack04 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:43 pm

Hi guys,

Can’t wait to see the new SAGA. I’m working for a company that supply alloy wheels. I’ve also worked in companies that produced metal & plastic parts. What we supply to proton,P2 & Naza use the same people,method,material & quality standard as the parts supplied to Toyota,Honda & exported to germany. They’re the same. Naza & P2 are run by people who use to run proton. So not much difference, it’s just that most people can’t seem to see beyond the badge.

• vorchex (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 12:49 pm

the salesman said proton’s sending the BLM to the showrooms today. so u can see the BLM tonite. proton near my apartment in puchong closes at 10 pm. u dont have to wait till tomorrow :)

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:49 pm

Realeyes are u blind eyes?? Do you think motorshow just for selling a car….
    oh very sad….its ok if u dont know.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 1:53 pm

Car_key99, you think 5-Star is the highest rating? People got 7-Star already. Even the Latio rated as 6-Star in JNCAP compared to EuroNCAO only 5-Star, which is the highest.

Who cares about 5 Star or not, even cars like Audi, Mercedes, BMW, Toyota, Honda, Mazda, Volkwagen, Lexus and many those marques were there. So you think that were small scale motor show?

• Realeyes (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 2:03 pm

car_key99 said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 1:49 pm

Realeyes are u blind eyes?? Do you think motorshow just for selling a car….
    oh very sad….its ok if u dont know.

=What is the point of showing your cars without wanting to sell them?

• zzua (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 2:10 pm

..sempat ke nak pasang the remaining parts tu.. ada pic baru tak ?

• king (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 2:15 pm

tec96248 said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 9:46 am

king said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 3:38 am

==do u know the difference of total rebagded and redesigned looks?? r u having problems with rebagded cars?? proton was rebagded when it first started, europestar was rebagded of proton gen2. most important is to be manufactured or local assembled in malaysia, which can be exported also just like myvi as sirion in indonesia. even major players like GM, toyota are doing so. doesn’t matter whether it is toyota, honda, nissan, naza, p1 or p2 etc, as long as it is made in malaysia; it will create jobs to us. unless u were more a brand lover than cars lover………..agree

_____

I think u are the one that is confused. local assemble or CKD cars are not rebranded. YOU BETTER KNOW the difference b4 talking. rebranding means rebadging. Check your english.

1.) Redesign? I bet p2 & naza need a 500 personnel R&D team to redesign. what redesign u tell me? engine? suspension? redesign the term vvt-i to dvvt? it is only minor cosmetic changes.

2.) Proton used to rebadge too last time. They had to keep on paying royalty to mitsu.But look at BLM today…which foreign model is it based on?

3.) Brand lover? Quite the contrary. If a particular company keep coming out with new tactics to cheat consumers of course you will hate that brand too, right? Unless u enjoy being cheated/ are easy to be cheated.
    I used to hate proton last time when they forced consumers to take full accessories at ultra inflated prices. Today P1 shows sincerely their efford to improve and make better value for money cars for consumers.

4.) Brand lover or not its not up to you to decide but your actions already show that u love p2 no matter how ridiculously high price are their models. U pay for the artificial intangible “toyota” badge in a p2 model.

5.) can’t wait for this car to kill overpriced tiny viva. surely you’ll see a price reduction for viva very soon.

cheers

• misspurple (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 4:07 pm

dear king n tec96248… cant stand the heat between u guys….
    funny actually when ur talking abt terms of english in here….
    since im an english teacher, i have lots of dictionaries..
    i dont mind to lend it to u guys if tht could help to cool urselves up!!!
    hehehehe

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 4:41 pm

Realeyes said
    What is the point of showing your cars without wanting to sell them?
    ———————
    Oh like thats ka. I thought the purpose of motorshow is to promote our capabilities, specialities with new techonologies and to study future market segment by compete with other car makers at the same time we can compare and improve our weakness…..ooo now i realize i miss understand la…motorshow is just to sell our car onlyyy…

• razzack04 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:07 pm

I agree with car_key99. If the sole purpose of car show is to sell cars, then it will be just a big car sale. Don’t need to display concept cars or tune-up vehicles. Just drive one from the shoe room to the car show.

• Realeyes (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:31 pm

I know what were you 2 guys talking about, you dont have to tell me that. I was talking in compound of P1 financial capabilities. Just to travel halfway aroud the globe and to join “5 star” Motor Show where you have no solid background in surrounding area is financially not wise especially for P1.

Suddenly an average Joe come to you and said, Oo, I like this Pear Sonna, where can I get it? Uhm, you have to move to Malaysia dude!

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:49 pm

Realeyes

Dont be so serious it just a discussion….

4u pls visit this web site. u gone a luv it.
    www.youtube.com/watch?v=HT2w8p6erus&feature=related
    FUNNIEST COMMERCIAL EVER!

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 7:49 pm

king said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 2:15 pm

I think u are the one that is confused. local assemble or CKD cars are not rebranded. YOU BETTER KNOW the difference b4 talking. rebranding means rebadging. Check your english.

==i believe u have difficulties to understand the whole paragraph of english. PLEASE READ AGAIN CAREFULLY, afterall this is about car not english language, dude.

1.) Redesign? I bet p2 & naza need a 500 personnel R&D team to redesign. what redesign u tell me? engine? suspension? redesign the term vvt-i to dvvt? it is only minor cosmetic changes.

==can u prove that p2 and naza whether they have incorporated their own design or not even a minor things, example, suspension? u work with them before P2 and naza? do u need to design it even by changing the tail or head lights? do it need to be designed again even changes on the logo? please ask those who are into this trade. anyway, no point arguing with u if u don’t understand it.

2.) Proton used to rebadge too last time. They had to keep on paying royalty to mitsu.But look at BLM today…which foreign model is it based on?

==hmm……..when did i say blm is foreign model based? u have mistaken someone else.

3.) Brand lover? Quite the contrary. If a particular company keep coming out with new tactics to cheat consumers of course you will hate that brand too, right? Unless u enjoy being cheated/ are easy to be cheated.
    I used to hate proton last time when they forced consumers to take full accessories at ultra inflated prices. Today P1 shows sincerely their efford to improve and make better value for money cars for consumers.

==i don’t know how u have this impression of the company is cheating the consumers and why to hate the brand…….i never hate the brand even if it does fail me few times, because i just love cars.
    the product on sales are such way, if u like it u buy it, if don’t like it don’t buy. have u ever tried to request on the accessories which don’t want to be included? maybe longer waiting period? is not about cheating the consumers, because the consumers are smart and they are willing to pay for it. afterall most of the consumers demand more accessories.

4.) Brand lover or not its not up to you to decide but your actions already show that u love p2 no matter how ridiculously high price are their models. U pay for the artificial intangible “toyota” badge in a p2 model.

==hmm……..u have mistaken again. i didn’t mention or telling u that i love p2 only. or it is “toyota” in p2 model……my goodness. high price of their models-subjective……. hey! i did mention i m considering to buy blm or persona as my third car and i love cars.

5.) can’t wait for this car to kill overpriced tiny viva. surely you’ll see a price reduction for viva very soon.

==agreed, so much local parts still not selling cheap.

==by the way, don’t simply accuse me before understanding it, after all automotives and transportations is part of my bread and butter, so does P1, P2 and others……

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:00 pm

misspurple said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 4:07 pm

it is so nice of u. thank you, i hv quite a numbers of dictionaries too. afterall i m just using simple english for easy understanding. it is still difficult? maybe i didn’t look into the grammars since it is car blog. i m thinking hv the blm with genetic silver.

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 11:00 pm

blm friend

http://www.mahindrarenault.com/logan/index.htm

Renault Logan

• Realeyes (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 8:24 am

Don’t worry carkey, I’m fun loving too! ;) peace!

• wheregotcar (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 8:34 am

anyone got first hand view of the cars?

one of my family member already booked it and now seriously thinking which color to pick. any suggestions?

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 8:46 am

nuajon

renult logan and blm is totaly different…..blm looks better than that.

• zidane (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 8:56 am

I think black looks nice.

put 15 inch rims and lower…..

:D

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 3:31 pm

dear car_key

sure our BLM is much better than Logan

“”Can Proton produce something that is baseline yet still looks stylish? Something that when you look at it, you may think that the owner could have afforded something else but decided to buy the BLM instead because of its value of money. Basically not something that you are forced to buy because of price alone. If Proton manages to achieve this with the Proton BLM, it will have a huge one up over cars like the Renault Logan.

just for my opinion…i want one!!!