Maruti Suzuki Swift Dzire sedan unveiled in India

Maruti_Suzuki_Swift_Dzire_Sedan

The Maruti Suzuki Swift Dzire sedan has been unveiled in India, and comes with a choice of either a 1.3 litre SOHC petrol engine or a 1.3 litre Multijet DOHC common rail intercooled turbodiesel engine.

The petrol engine produces 87 bhp at 6,000rpm and 113Nm of torque at 4,500rpm, while the oil burner makes 75 horses and 190Nm of torque at 2,000rpm. Both petrol and diesel variants are available only with a 5-speed manual gearbox.

Dimension-wise the Swift Dzire sedan is longer than the Swift hatchback of course, but keeps the same wheelbase of 2390mm. The following table lists the differences between the two dimension-wise.

Swift Swift Dzire
Length 3695mm 4160mm
Height 1510mm 1530mm
Width 1690mm 1690mm
Wheelbase 2390mm 2390mm

Boot space varies between 440 litres and 464 litres depending on trim level. The larger boot space value is available on the Lxi, Ldi, Vxi and Vdi trims, probably because of the slimmer tyre profile (165/80R14 versus 185/70R14) which means the spare tyre does not take as much space in the boot.

Safety features include ABS brakes, EBD, and dual front SRS airbags, which Maruti Suzuki claims are safety features that are not usually seen in this segment. Not all trim levels have them though. Spec level is relatively high, with some variants getting automatic climate control.

More photos after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ENZO (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 5:31 am

erm…..
    it look not so nice coz it is not 协调
    (front a bit too round&low,rear a bit too square&tall).
    like attaching 2 different car 2gather.

ABOVE ARE ALL MY PERSONAL OPINION,NO OFFENSE.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 5:36 am

This car should have a run with our new proton saga. i hope someone does a comparision soon. basically it the cheapest and most economical car for a small family. Can anybody could give a figure on how much maruti will cost if its sold here?

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 5:53 am

yucks~~

• chaku/maru (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 5:59 am

i know it meant to be practical by having extra boot space,but this is too ugly…disproportionate!

• azrai (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 6:51 am

Somehow it looks like a distort Swift. Hei DRB-Hicom, CKDed it in Pekan. Now. just to make more choices. This will definately truly SAGA rival in India one day.

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 7:33 am

Yea its ugly & unproportionate. But in small-cars & bikes dominated India, where a 3-box sedan is considered a premium thing, this Swift DZiRe may make an impact there the same way its hatchback sibling did. The 1.3L turbodiesel engine has good torque figures, and the boot space and equipment levels are good. So, another serious competitor for Proton has already emerged before they even enter the Indian market.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 7:47 am

yucks really ugly….i dont know what swift owner will feel after they see this car.

• abtm (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 8:05 am

ugly, but should make a good taxi

• Taro_gonzalez (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 8:09 am

eww..
    I’m not sure about others..
    but if ever ride proton savvy (40k cheaper)
    then u get inside swift..practically almost no difference in size
    with this butt job..hmm..its like ruining the the whole thing
    no offense :)

• farghmee (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 8:18 am

exterior: U G L Y period

• King Samurai (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 8:50 am

Its like another photoshop chopping job done to the swift.. Since Honda City the ‘sedanized’ Jazz made the debut other automakers do the same.Seems that only City & Latio sedanizing make sense..others not.

• theanswer (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 8:57 am

It might be an ugly car. But did u guys ever heard r&d? it cost a lot u know to design and develop a new look n model. so..just let the suzuki people do their job, they know what is best to them, especially in cost saving method and the car will be sold in india..i bet it will be a hit.

• jehutyz (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 9:04 am

When the first time i saw this car, the design really not match. As like what they said like a photoshop car. Attaching 2 car to 1. The front part is not match with rear. Hahah the first pic look like Saga.

• lolipop88 (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 9:12 am

looks ok for me.. u guys fell unproportionate coz Swift was borne to be hatchback, and it sudden pop up model will make our view distorted… Assume this is new car, i’m sure some one will say..”wow look so nice.. sure compete to Tata..blah…”

• kjryth (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 9:13 am

worst butt job… whose the plastic surgeon???

• BW (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 9:21 am

One word, YUCKS!!!! Looks so ugly… I think Swift is not suitable with sedan design… I think they should try Kancil sedan

• BW (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 9:22 am

It looks like someone took another car’s butt and sambung it with swift’s head…

• nyawere (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 9:35 am

I agree will everyone…!! YUCKS..!!! The saga is anytime better. I think even the 1.3lter engine spec SAGA is better…! Anyway, if this is what Suzuki is offering in India, then I think Proton has a very good chance of making it there. The only problem with Proton is that they do not have enuff numbers to match those of Suzuki, thus making them slightly more expensive. Other that that, their OK..!

• farmcow (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 9:37 am

haha…its more like a latio sedan’s butt

• hamster (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 9:37 am

wow..JAPs goin SAGA..?? wat a bad move…i might stil wanna consider if ppl gon giv tat car to me 4 free (look wise)..however it might stil handles good like da Savvy..might wanna test drive b4 makin any cal bout it..but it sure is ugly..

• daze (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 9:43 am

just doesnt fit the swift concept in sedan.
    should try make it like a station wagon. elongated swift.
    at least streamlines can be kept.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 9:48 am

Good quality car by Maruti Suzuki. TurboDiesel engine gives the distance. Once you rectify the super fugly front and rear overhang issue, you get a decent car, actually.

Maybe Saga killer too..

• hyundai (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 9:57 am

The interior seems as cramped as swift hatch… The butt looks like the old Elantra and ugly Vios…

• Charger (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 9:58 am

The rear looks so Elantra-ish.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 10:06 am

Actually for a hatchback-based sedan, it’s alright. Yes it’s not in the best proportion, but a slightly better effort than Latio, City and previous generation 1 of Focus Sedan.

There’s also the Fiesta based sedan for India, that looks weird too.

This car is designed for India market where such body style is more favourable, and it’s the “compact exterior, spacious interior” car that sells in India. Must be economical and with diesel too.

• sxe10r (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 10:11 am

no bad thaey have a 1.3 TDI !! … but bolehland got Saga already … no way

• xenith (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 11:08 am

It justs looks weird…

• waimak (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 11:31 am

Too bad, we’ve seen Swift hatch first and not this sedan. Otherwise, it wont feel and look that akward. Now who’s got the worst taste??

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 11:56 am

One ugly mother. On that note, good job to Proton in successfully converting the Gen.2 to a nice looking sedan. They have succeeded where Toyota, Honda and Suzuki have all failed. Imagine that!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 12:30 pm

i wonder if suzuki bring in here..haha..anybody want to buy??if proton can put put diesel engine in saga than sell it to other country..sure will be like a hot cake…anyway..paul,you still dont have any chance to test drive new waja cps@gen2 cps yet?

• Realeyes (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 2:06 pm

Ugly and dispropotionate! Looks like another car stuck behind a swift.

• nmh (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 2:17 pm

Its ugly but at least india enjoy cheaper mutant swift rather than paying 70k for one in malaysia

• DtG (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 2:25 pm

lolipop88 said,

March 27, 2008 @ 9:12 am

looks ok for me.. u guys fell unproportionate coz Swift was borne to be hatchback, and it sudden pop up model will make our view distorted… Assume this is new car, i’m sure some one will say..”wow look so nice.. sure compete to Tata..blah…”

ONLY THE STUPIDEST OF AUTOMOTIVE DESIGNERS would design a sedan so disporportionate like that from scratch… the c-pillar especially, so cut-and-paste…

• DtG (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 2:26 pm

and who would think such a steep a-pillar for a sedan actually looks good? come on…. they bloody destroyed the swift’s reputation in terms of design (which i actually like alot)….

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 2:27 pm

To say its ugly is an understatement …coz its way too….errgh..no words!..due to its rear and freakin off proportion!… doesnt match the smart lookin front…mm..I totally agree with you guys about how hideous the car looks!..so Theophilus and Kevin …come on!..this is your chance to show your strut!!..how do you guys think it should look like….

• marvel (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 2:28 pm

tHe CuLpRit said,
    March 27, 2008 @ 11:56 am
    On that note, good job to Proton in successfully converting the Gen.2 to a nice looking sedan.
    ============================================
    Have to agree with that,at first I thought Persona is just an extended Gen2,yes it’s good looking,most cars with spacious interior ended looking awkward if not ugly like vios,city,myvi,latio and new saga…just my opinion…

• nmh (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 2:33 pm

Please stay away from Malaysia

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 2:48 pm

1.3 campro iafm has 10hp extra,

• freeze (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 3:06 pm

I disagree with all of you guys. Its not unbearably ugly. Its acceptable. Its even sleeker than the Saga. But it may be a little more bulky looking at the rear. But I can bet (It wont happen) if this car comes to Malaysia say priced between 40 – 45K, definitely create trouble for saga or Myvi.

Imagine if this is the Myvi Sedan and priced slightly cheaper than current MyVi, All malaysians will go for it. It may not look too good, but everything is there, just like the myvi.

• car_craze (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 3:07 pm

The belt line is too high just to catch the highlights of the front fender of the donor Swift. It is made more unbalanced due the high ground clearence body required for Indian roads. Just look gap between the tires and the wheel arch.

• tepung_cap_sauh (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 6:22 pm

found after interview at mils, pulau indah…

http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g211/mnarisha/Image074.jpg
    http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g211/mnarisha/Image073.jpg

• tepung_cap_sauh (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 6:39 pm

i have already find a different rear lamp of suzuki swift at pulau indah after i go back my interview from MILS… i think its a new swift kot…

• Mr.me (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 7:01 pm

errr…..The design reminds me of Indian made car name Premier Padmini,the one they used in most Bollywood movies……Horrible…..Dizzgusting!!!

• cecibo (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 9:44 pm

MisterBenjo said,

March 27, 2008 @ 7:47 am

yucks really ugly….i dont know what swift owner will feel after they see this car.

————————————————-

yup, it’s ugly just like persona

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 10:27 pm

ugliest compact to sedan transformation =_=”

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 28, 2008 at 1:12 am

King Samurai said,
    March 27, 2008 @ 8:50 am

Its like another photoshop chopping job done to the swift.. Since Honda City the ’sedanized’ Jazz made the debut other automakers do the same.Seems that only City & Latio sedanizing make sense..others not.
    —————————————————————-

Eh Bro, you have forgotten our Saga lah…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 28, 2008 at 1:16 am

freeze said,
    March 27, 2008 @ 3:06 pm

I disagree with all of you guys. Its not unbearably ugly. Its acceptable. Its even sleeker than the Saga. But it may be a little more bulky looking at the rear. But I can bet (It wont happen) if this car comes to Malaysia say priced between 40 – 45K, definitely create trouble for saga or Myvi.

Imagine if this is the Myvi Sedan and priced slightly cheaper than current MyVi, All malaysians will go for it. It may not look too good, but everything is there, just like the myvi.
    —————————————————————-

Yeap, totally agree.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 28, 2008 at 1:21 am

Lelong mini Nissan Teana, MADE IN INDIA!!!
    Shakh Rukh Khan or Aishwarya edition also available!!!
    Very limited one!!!

Korek Korek Korek!!!

• chap_de_x (Member) on Mar 28, 2008 at 2:25 am

erkss the ugliest extension job i ever see (b4 this is new vios and city)….like most of you said its not connected with the front and the rear geometry….but interior is cool from that view….this is very cost cutting measured…feel it not done properly…even new Saga and persona is better…dont bring it here coz so many eye sore car already on the road..(new vios, city, latio, rush yukss.)just my 2 cent

• thomas4688 (Member) on Mar 28, 2008 at 10:49 am

This car is like a small sedan, which is ugly and looks like Nissan Teana behind.

• chiphang1 (Member) on Mar 28, 2008 at 11:15 am

I believe it’s cheap and practical. Never mind the shape.How much has been “paying” for our Proton? If not for that we will be driving a better car .
    Unlike some ,still have to drive a kancil . anyone knows how much it cost in India.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 28, 2008 at 12:34 pm

At least the new Vios looks more decent than this.

• altimate (Member) on Mar 29, 2008 at 12:48 pm

“At least the new Vios looks more decent than this. – MyvKiller”

Are you sure ?.. gimme a break… that’s one of the ugliest creatures roaming Msian streets at the moment.. this Swift sedan may well add itself to the list… if it becomes available here.

• hypermount (Member) on Mar 29, 2008 at 3:17 pm

One ugly mother. On that note, good job to Proton in successfully converting the Gen.2 to a nice looking sedan. They have succeeded where Toyota, Honda and Suzuki have all failed. Imagine that!

——————————————————————

No, proton’s being just lucky..cos their design was already superb from beginning…with just a minor buttjob and it turned out to be a much much greater looker than other nippon cars.

• szw (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 10:37 pm

it look so out…

• gizmoghost (Member) on Apr 09, 2008 at 2:21 pm

I don’t think it is ugly. Infact it looks good. And it is more practical for a guy wanting to graduate to a bigger car.

• Zakir on Apr 17, 2009 at 12:18 am

i want to know how much US Doller

• krishna on Aug 08, 2009 at 3:19 am

The car looks really nice in flesh. the pics are not even near to the car in life.. its really cute… forget about swift hatchback and think of this as a new car

• vinod on Feb 01, 2010 at 1:10 am

you are absolutely right krishna and gizmo…the car looks more beautiful and cute in real…i have noticed that..maybe the car does not have a photo face(ha ha)… exactly like the others who have given bad comment about dzire.. they may even will not like their own photos…i bet they have not seen dzire in real…and yes the color of the car also gives it a different look..

• EB16.4 on Jun 15, 2011 at 2:11 pm

funny you indians. i bet you’ll even say Changan ERA or even Naza Sutera is great looking too. ooh wait, i forgot… you’re guys are in India….

haha…what the hell you morons… even riding an elephant to commute daily in the kampung areas is still considered (im not going to say ok or good, being considered is mediocre enough) by your country standards. pity you guys. woi. we have kapchais lah here in kampung. its a great transportation tool….ooh you’ll understand once you start to migrate here and work in our estates!!!

• give me SAGA BLM anytime over this mutant