New Lancer Evo X FQ-400 with 525Nm of torque!

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X FQ-400

Mitsubishi Motors UK has finally added the FQ-400 to its Lancer Evolution X range. The Lancer Evolution X FQ-400’s 2.0 litre engine puts out 403 horsepower at 6,500rpm and 525Nm of torque from just 3,500rpm, and it gets up to 100km/h in a scorching fast estimated 3.8 seconds.

So what’s changed in the engine department to allow it to produce the higher power and torque? Well firstly motorsport specification high-flow fuel injectors have been fitted, along with a new turbocharger that features low-friction bearings, a high temperature turbine and a strengthened thrust bearing to increase response and reduce turbo lag.

A better intercooler has also been fitted, and the exhaust system now has a 3 inch diameter high flow stainless steel pipe which exits in the middle of the rear bumper. The ECU has been reprogrammed to take advantage of all the new hardware and this took over 500 hours of development time.

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X FQ-400

The Evo X also has some aesthetic changes on the outside. Wheels are 18 inch 9-spoke lightweight alloys wrapped with Toyo Proxes R1R tyres. There is a new vented bonnet and a new lightweight composite front bumper with carbon fibre elements. The Bilstein shock and Eibach spring suspension’s ride height has been dropped by 30mm at the front. The rear bumper has also been restyled with a carbon fiber diffuser, and in the middle of the diffuser you will find the central exit exhaust tailpipe.

Like the previous top of the line FQ-360, the car comes with a manual as it is likely the 6-speed twin clutch SST cannot take the high torque that the FQ-400 puts out. The FQ-300 and FQ-330 have SST models though, with the FQ-330 SST only just recently added as the original line-up only specified SST on the FQ-300.

Mitsubishi UK unveils new range of FQ cars for the Evolution X

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Gajen on May 28, 2009 at 11:41 am

cool…but if i had the money and had to spend it on a japanese car then i wont get this…prefer gtr..

speaking of which…i wonder how does this compete with the gtr…hhmmm

• Calvin De La Rosa on May 28, 2009 at 1:47 pm

OMG..! 0 to 100 in 3.8sec?? That's faster than Porsche 997 Carrera S with the traction control off! What's the kerb weight of this beast, Paul?

• CocoBear on May 28, 2009 at 1:50 pm

Speaking of which…yesterday in our local news on tv, I saw a police Evo being used to pursuit 2 bandits in Skyline. They got them red-handed?

• Luqman on May 28, 2009 at 2:13 pm

403hp out of a 2.0 engine ? Not bad, only 47hp less than Audi's Sport Quattro from 1984 (450hp)…

• chain on May 28, 2009 at 3:47 pm

wow,nice engine…and the front looks aggressive..yet wat's the price..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on May 28, 2009 at 4:23 pm

[quote comment="241633"]cool…but if i had the money and had to spend it on a japanese car then i wont get this…prefer gtr..

speaking of which…i wonder how does this compete with the gtr…hhmmm[/quote]

gtr costs a lot more than any evo and they're both in an entirely different class, segment and price wise.

• Jaybond on May 28, 2009 at 4:43 pm

On a more tight roads, the older generation GT-Rs (and probably the R35 as well), wouldn't stood a chance against the Evo X.

• theanswer on May 28, 2009 at 5:12 pm

[quote comment="241682"]On a more tight roads, the older generation GT-Rs (and probably the R35 as well), wouldn't stood a chance against the Evo X.[/quote]

even evo 8 can push lambo til it skid… as performance car..thumbs up for evo..even from evo 1, the car is well known for it's performance..from 2.0 engine the car can even compete with ferrari 360. but…forget abt the comfort ;p

• Whitefox on May 28, 2009 at 6:01 pm

Wow…. don't know grey imported can find this car or not if Have $$$$

No need modification already a scary beast.

price still unknow?

• awg1031 on May 28, 2009 at 8:39 pm

uhhhh,i really want these evo's…..will try to get evo7 second hand.

• Wak Rempit on May 28, 2009 at 10:55 pm

I prefer Evo X compare with 7,8 and 9, this one has retained back its aggresiveness in term of looks not to mention performance.

Evo 7 – 9 looks was way too soft for the badge they carry… eventhough they still performs like a beast.

Got a hard on every time i see the standard X…

But for this particular FQ-400, it just make me cum…. :P

• mitlanevo on May 29, 2009 at 12:55 am

[quote comment="241654"]Speaking of which…yesterday in our local news on tv, I saw a police Evo being used to pursuit 2 bandits in Skyline. They got them red-handed?[/quote]

got any youtube link?

• mitlanevo on May 29, 2009 at 1:04 am

guys, i'm a diehard fan of Evo ever since Evo 6 TM Edition. no doubt the Evo X FQ-400 is a beast, just like any other previous FQ-400….

but i think it is really unfair if compare with GT-R. a rally breed sedan compete with a top class supercar? doesn't make any sense……

anyway, Evo will be always cool, a true supercar bashing sedan……

hopefully they will come out with a better SST for this mighty killer machine…

P/S: Impreza fans, please don't cry……

• NutzeyWagen on May 29, 2009 at 1:38 am

[quote comment="241672"][quote comment="241633"]cool…but if i had the money and had to spend it on a japanese car then i wont get this…prefer gtr..

gtr costs a lot more than any evo and they're both in an entirely different class, segment and price wise.[/quote]

Comparing apples to oranges again??? They never learn, do they? Haiz…!

On a tight twisty road, the Evo would certainly beat the hell out of many a true-blue sports car, come rain or shine! It's not called rally-bred for no reason, does it? CIAO!

• mystvearn on May 29, 2009 at 2:13 am

wonder what the fuel consumption is on this thing…

• [quote comment="241792"][quote comment="241672"][quote comment="241633"]cool…but if i had the money and had to spend it on a japanese car then i wont get this…prefer gtr..

gtr costs a lot more than any evo and they're both in an entirely different class, segment and price wise.[/quote]

Comparing apples to oranges again??? They never learn, do they? Haiz…!

On a tight twisty road, the Evo would certainly beat the hell out of many a true-blue sports car, come rain or shine! It's not called rally-bred for no reason, does it? CIAO![/quote]

That principle of should not comparing 'apples with orange' also apply to people.

• Cool man! i mean what a car!! although i never really like evo before this but this kuruma makes me really impress about evo… i mean stock evo la…i wonder how much this cost??? But FQ-400 vs R35….sry la bro…touge or straight highway the gtr will beat evo laa…if both is stock laa…but evo is a very lightweight car … i drove my friend's evo 7{mod one laa} produce 500++hp….wow!! it was so light and so easy to control….4wd car are easy to control …..one time i race my prelude 340 hp VS my friend evo….sure laa my lude lose laa….hahahahaha….anyway thumbs up for mitsu for producing a marvelous car!!!

• god damn, 400 hp out of a 2 liter engine. thats like 200 hp per liter!

• damn … 400bhp from an engine which is slightly 30% bigger than our coke 1.5L bottle .

this is almost insane , but to chunk out so much of power, do expect a damn lot of turbo lag .

• Wisdom on May 29, 2009 at 11:58 pm

When will they make a comeback on WRC? I didn't care if it have torque comparable to a lorry but still loosing WRC.

Evo belongs to WRC's podium and thats what they suppose aim.

• phas3r on May 30, 2009 at 12:09 am

the evo 8 fq400 kept up with lambo murcielago in top gear, so dont rule out evo x fq 400 against gt-r..even if it lose the gap wont be much. 0-60mph 3.8s, gtr also around there..

• Maximillian on May 30, 2009 at 8:18 am

ZOMG~!!! Another FQ400… Lamborghinis are now shivering in one corner – cuz some Japanese is able to catch an Italian for breakfast.. :p

I was hoping that Mitsubishi would make another FQ400 again – they really did.

• raybrig85 on May 31, 2009 at 6:32 am

wonder how this beast perform coz the previous fq 400 can follow murcie in test track

• [quote comment="241703"]Wow…. don't know grey imported can find this car or not if Have $$$$

No need modification already a scary beast.

price still unknow?[/quote]

Expected price is near 59,990 pounds sterling.

• ayman on Aug 19, 2009 at 4:40 am

it's my lovely car, 2.0 engine make most of the super cars taking it in their account. it is my dream car

• wonder when it will come to malaysia????

• jeorjiaa (Member) on Nov 21, 2009 at 6:45 am

gtr maybe faster then evo x but evo x's handling is better than gtr's :)

• kaki rembat on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:20 am

i've driven one of these beast, and what i can say, this car is really a superblicious, chick attracting beast..at any time, whenever u pressed hard on the throttle, the power just came spontaneously, but yet, climbing a supermarket parking ramp etc, u will feel the lag coming in, before the engine churns out its max power. the paddle shifter is responsive, though its quite confusing when people hardly can differentiate the speed they are in, by determining the engine sound, and the car speed itself, then u realise that u are in a wrong gear. the turbine is much "quieter" rather than its siblings from the 4G's range, which is much noiser, but hey, who cares, 400 unleashed ponnies under your hood!

• iqbal on Mar 28, 2011 at 12:45 pm

paul, can i get this beast here in msia?