Goodyear Duraplus lasts up to 100,000km?

Goodyear DuraplusThe new Goodyear DuraPlus was launched recently in Malaysia and the company claims it is able to achieve mileage as much as 100,000km. That sounds like really good news for the budget-conscious consumer who just want to buy something, fit it on and forget about it for the next few years.

The 100,000km figure was obtained during Goodyear’s tests on company tracks in France and Luxembourg, as well as open roads in Thailand. According to Goodyear, 100,000km is a good estimate and the tyres actually lasted even longer during the tests. The tests were conducted using 185/65R14 tyres.

The key behind the durability of the DuraPlus is what they call TredLife Technology, which actually consists of a few key design features that enables the tyre to last longer. A wide face cavity leads to increased footprint and more wearable rubber in contact with the road. A higher land to sea ratio tread depth allows for more wearable rubber.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=390]
Click thumbnails above for enlarged images

The tyre also uses a carbon-based tread compound so the tire has a higher resistance to frictional wear, contributing to the tire’s long tread life and also increased mileage due to the lower rolling resistance. A new carcass design incorporating a stronger fabric that provides less resistance to tire rotation, leading to improved fuel efficiency. The tread pattern is asymmetric, placing more rubber on the outside shoulder of the tire, resulting in increased grip during cornering.

11 sizes are available in Malaysia, for 13 inch to 15 inch wheels. The Duraplus replaces the Goodyear GT3 in the Malaysian line-up.

Goodyear Tyre Sizes

DuraPlus Price List

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 4G63T dsm on Jul 22, 2009 at 1:08 pm

We used to term these as "hockey pucks". Great life, but hard as nails, and just as bad when it comes to "performance".

But then, what do I know, I go through a set every 3 months (usually 5000-6000k total KMs with 2 or 3 track days) You can blame soft rubber, aggresive driving and aggressive allignment settings for that.

• aiyaa no bigger than 15" ah? mine's 16" oo..

• oh, forgot to say this, good morning Paul!

• fearsome on Jul 22, 2009 at 2:31 pm

Paul,

good morning. can you please give the recommended retail price list as well?

You effort in smartwheels.com is very much encouraging. Keep up the good work.

• zimmer on Jul 22, 2009 at 2:33 pm

Aiyoohhh, 1996 Dunlop tyre till now. Mine 2001 tyre still have 60% the tread but the rubber become hard and crack all arround, but my mileage below than 40K. I guest mosh doesn't use a brake at all and wrap the tyre after drive the car and park in covered parking lot.

• Paul Tan on Jul 22, 2009 at 2:59 pm

Thanks!

I am working to get the RRP list from Goodyear, stay tuned.

• BONGCS on Jul 22, 2009 at 3:04 pm

Paul. morning…no price list for GY tyres ? :)

• Great… but I doubt this tyre actually brakes well!

• Littlefire on Jul 22, 2009 at 3:11 pm

It all come's to the driver on whether he know how to take care his car and also driving behavior…

If you like to do hard braking, going off road, traveling on worst road, drifting or hard cornering and heavy loading.. Also will cut short ur tire life…

So in the end, come to the driver behavior, if you always check ur car alignment, rotate the tires and drive carefully. I think the tire can last for a few years.

If you travel a lot like me from Penang to KL, tear & wear will also faster.

Besides that, check ur tire spec first before buying it as some of them may not last long especially those performance tire as they are design for performance not for long run, due to better grip…

• Littlefire on Jul 22, 2009 at 3:14 pm

Tire are not suppose to last longer than 5 years due to rubber… Rubber will crack and it will explode when high temperature or heavy loading… Some more we are in hot and wet country…

I still remember those old days tire which can last quite long… GT radial also can last around 4-5 years, but last time have a bad experience… Explode when driving on highway..

• brutus on Jul 22, 2009 at 4:19 pm

usually long lasting tires are not comfortable in terms of NVH. remember the days of Silverstone Firefox? claiming 70,000km, it was like riding on a inflated tyre at 40psi even at 28psi.

hope GY can muster something way better than Silverstone did.

• ford_ton (Member) on Jul 22, 2009 at 5:02 pm

Good morning Paul.

Tyre life will be much affected by alignment and not compound or tyre construction itself. I come to this conclusion on experience after 20 plus years of car ownership. Most self proclaimed 'alignment specialist' who takes the car out for a test drive after setting it up on the alignment jig will adjust the toe in/out by the roadside using 'feel' to correct the steering angle and drift. This will throw the previously setting on the jig way out of specification. The steering will feel light or overly assisted in case of power steering.

Wandering, aquaplanning and brake pull to either side will be the most usual side effects caused by these inappopriate technique applied.No wonder theres a lot of accidents on the road caused by this.

In my case I always insist on a no test drive alignment. You will find the steering a bit off centered but you'll live with it. Steering will feel nicely weighted and the car handling will be much better controlled and predictable not to mention evenly worn tyre and guess what a longet tyre life.

Well.. That's my 2 sen worth of experience.

Paul. Please run an article on the correct alignment technique and technical aspects of car maintenence for the benefit of your loyal followers. Malaysian roads will be a safer place to travel.

• Paul Tan on Jul 22, 2009 at 5:03 pm

Good suggestion, ford_ton.

• valandil on Jul 22, 2009 at 5:21 pm

Yes, tyre wear and tear depends on the correct tyre pressure as well. Also on the driving style of the driver, eg acceleration and cornering and loadings of the car.

I think the standard life span of a tyre is about 2-4 years from the time of manufacture, if not mistaken. Longer than that, the rubber will become hard and will not provide anymore grip that is required.

• Paul Tan on Jul 22, 2009 at 6:09 pm

I've added the RRP to the story.

• Tiadaid on Jul 22, 2009 at 6:21 pm

They just released this? Damn, I just replaced all my tyres two weeks ago! For the 4th time in 5 years! I just don't understand why, even with all the alignment and balancing I've done on the car, the car still eats up the rubber!

• my stock 1996 dunlop has already clocked 150K woh.. ! outstation travel + local drive. the tyre is from my wira to my dad toyota LE woo heheheh

• Tire life on Jul 22, 2009 at 7:37 pm

Unless you're a taxi or transport comany 100,000 km will last you 5 years (20,000 per year average person). Tire has a life expectancy of 4 years maximum… what's the point here? Unless you want to compromise on your own safety by stretching the tire life to 5 years or more..Rubber fatigue and can cause tire to excessive wear without you releasing it. (I know it the hard way when I use the spare tire with lots of treads.) Just another gimmick by Goodyear?

• Is this considered to be higher or lowered specs compared to the NCT5. What about the tyre that is equiped for the City, can't seem to recall the name right now.

• Paul, what is the speed limit of this tyre. Most tyres are V which is good for 240km. Have not seen T or H in a long time.

• Mosh, 1996 or 2006. If 1996, you must have a death wish, just a 14 year old tyre.

• xavier lert on Jul 23, 2009 at 1:44 am

no lo profile tyre…..?? 17inch?…..i change from Michelin PP (civic 2.0 stock) to Pzero rosso to Brige adrenaline RE001 in 2 years!!!…..maybe this can stop my prob (if they have 17 inch…)

• dunlop sp 10 (made in indon) is also long millage tyre

after 40000km suprisingly the tread is still thick, as if the groove is still deep.

quiet as well,

probally it easily go for another 30000k (onother one ne haf ye)

• Leseid Obrut on Jul 23, 2009 at 6:41 am

Cool…I'll give it a try when it comes out… =D

• ignas on Jul 23, 2009 at 9:34 am

wondering what is the noise level for these during the drive.

• Rubber on Jul 23, 2009 at 9:59 am

100 000 km is good but by then (average 4-5 yrs)

the ride would be rough = rubber compound hardened

due to our local weather + road conditions.

Tested in Thailand for km's only ,but not duration.

• CocoBear on Jul 23, 2009 at 10:42 am

I will consider Duraplus.. Can anyone care to explain the readings? For example 176/70 R13 82H. I am lazy to google it. Haiz..

• Paul Tan on Jul 23, 2009 at 1:03 pm

@cfa T is 190km/h while H is 210km/h

• Charger on Jul 23, 2009 at 7:37 pm

First 70k km, the treads still there. The follow 30k km, you are getting a free slick tyres. :D

• Alvin on Jul 25, 2009 at 11:40 pm

RM140 for 185/60/R14

• Oo..man.. No 155/70 R12 for my kancil..:(

• hondaism on Aug 02, 2009 at 11:56 pm

I replaced new set after 35,000km, after just one and a half year. The threads is there, just nearing the indicator, however the compound is already rock hard. Nearly caused me an accident due to losing traction. Dry day.

So, lesson learn for me is that: thread amount is not everything! The rubber must still be soft, otherwise grip is gone.

I wonder just how this new GY manages rubber hardening….

• Hi Paul,

Nice work there. Hope to see more write-ups on tyres, etc. in the near future. Thanks.

• shirley on Aug 24, 2009 at 3:57 am

why no 175/65/R14 size?

• JKucing on Dec 12, 2009 at 3:51 am

anyone try tis tyre already?

• anson on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:41 pm

I just change the tyre Goodyear duraplus R13 today cost me RM130. It’s expensive or normal price??

• Changed to 4pcs Duraplus 165/55R14 end Dec 2010
    The front tyre last for only about 38k km… not even reach 50k km…
    Only the rear tyre look like can reach 100k km…

The OE tyre that came with the car, Sime if I’m not mistaken, last for 50k km for front tyre! Only that it has lesser grip.

But Duraplus performance is much better that OE tyre. Especially in wet/heavy rain.

Got to sacrifice milage for performace i guess… hhhmmmm…..

Michelin price gap is too far for me to test….