New Citroen DS3 premium hatchback unveiled!

Citroen DS3

Citroen has unveiled the new DS3, a hatchback that Citroen wants to give a premium positioning. Think MINI and you’ll understand what I mean. It’s for buyers who have seen past the need for a large car and more metal to offer premium features and a premium image.

The DS line of cars will feature three models and this is the first: the DS3. It measures 3,950mm long, 1,710mm wide and 1,450mm tall. This makes it similiar in size to the new MINI Clubman, though the DS3 is slightly larger in every dimension.

Citroen DS3

Typical of Citroen, the exterior styling details are a little quirky, such as the shark-fin B-pillar. The DS3 is fully customisable in term of trim level, even the colour of the wheels, fabric, gearknob, exterior trim, and even the ‘floating roof’ is customisable – you can have it in either black, white, blue or red, to contrast it with the main body colour.

A choice of 5 engines are available – the 90hp and 110hp HDi diesels with DPFS flitres, and three petrol engines – the VTi 95, VTi 120 and the turbocharged THP 150. Only manuals are available for now, either 5-speed or 6-speed depending on the engine specified.

Look after the jump for a photo gallery of the new DS3.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=448]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• stephenstreets on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:28 pm

Black definitely looks better!!

• MyDear on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:35 pm

The "shark fin" is not suitable for white color .. but ..who cares .. :D

• SUJAC on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:35 pm

nice!! difference perspective

• moha774 on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:51 pm

wAA… Very Impressive.. I'm drooling..

• Muzill on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:51 pm

Wow. What a cool car although a bit bulky

• Wow! The new Citroen looks absolutely sleek and sexy!

• the grey 1 demmn nice..

• initial R on Aug 26, 2009 at 7:34 pm

shishh…. My wife want it as her birthday present. What is the retail price ?.

• badboy on Aug 26, 2009 at 7:35 pm

MyDear said,

August 26, 2009 @ 10:35 am

The “shark fin” is not suitable for white color .. but ..who cares ..

—————————————————————

When the car moving forward, the shark will look like moving the other direction..gostan

• Different! but looks beautiful!

• azrai on Aug 26, 2009 at 7:44 pm

African bull frog inspired. no wonder there put pretty ladies to kiss the frog to become a prince?

• Wak Rempit on Aug 26, 2009 at 8:04 pm

Good to see Citroen is not bound to the current design languange, I mean the audi like slanted eye look.

Personally the car is kinda nice, wonder how much it will cost when it reaches malaysian shore?

• french is back……

• Black Dog on Aug 26, 2009 at 8:50 pm

I bet you some artist will draw a shark on the body when he gets his hand on one. Great for Chinese Sharkfin's restaurant ad?

• This is wrong wrong wrong! This ain't no DS! Please call it anything but a DS…Arghh!!

• CARing on Aug 26, 2009 at 10:09 pm

This is mini muscle car….

like it..

• d 1.4 turbocharged is getting popular nowadays among compact car…

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 26, 2009 at 10:44 pm

Citroen has been of late churning out pretty nice looking cars starting from the C4 "Dancing Transformer" and the recently lanched C5.

Even the cutesy C1 is quite good looking in the flesh.

• sexy

• aksMs on Aug 26, 2009 at 11:09 pm

I'm kinda lost. Which part of the car suppose to be from DS? Nice looking Citroen. But a DS? I'm not sure about that!

• BRAZBUZ on Aug 26, 2009 at 11:59 pm

much stylo than MINI…

• lambov12 on Aug 27, 2009 at 1:11 am

nice … cute … and small…

• c14man on Aug 27, 2009 at 2:04 am

hope someone can bring in Citroen cars and make it cheaper, like what Naza did to Peugeot…

• Automotive Jury on Aug 27, 2009 at 2:06 am

GT Concept when go into production?..hehe

• mystvearn on Aug 27, 2009 at 2:36 am

I really like to seet the interior photo of the rear view of that car. It looks like it has good visibility

• paparazi (Member) on Aug 27, 2009 at 5:10 am

Impressive! towards futuristic. very kan ah~

• white with black will be nice. shark fin gives a touch of "quirkyness" to differentiate it from other cars.

i'll take this over the mini, if reliability aint an issue.

• the car front-side looks not great in white colour, others is o.k for me….but i won't buy this kind of minicar, urghhh~

• barca on Aug 27, 2009 at 5:22 pm

citroen has broke away from the spirit of original DS and the results to me…well, it seems to me that the new DS has lost its unique charms (elogated form) compared to its predecessor.

looks like a tough sell for citroen.

• lchan on Aug 27, 2009 at 5:39 pm

now that is a very beautiful car.

• farid on Aug 27, 2009 at 6:04 pm

'The shark fin is going the other direction'…

ready to bite tail gaters?..hihihi…I like the body in white..it brings up the strong and funky design line..

• keane on Aug 27, 2009 at 6:10 pm

hm…need to work harder after this, more harder than usual…what a car if i can buy this one.

• mingyuyu on Aug 27, 2009 at 10:51 pm

wow, what the price in Malaysia? 150k?

• better DS than BS..

• techboy_88 on Aug 30, 2009 at 6:52 pm

i like the meter instruments & i'm SO GLAD to see a temperature gauge which some car makers no longer offer in their cars. at least citroen knows the importance of a visible temperature gauge for drivers. :D