Mercedes GP Petronas Formula One Team official renderings

We picked up these renderings of the Mercedes GP Formula 1 car complete with Petronas livery from the Brawn GP official website (Brawn GP is the 2009 Constructors Champion, bought by Daimler and renamed as Mercedes GP). We’ll have to wait for pre-season testing in February to see the car for real, but here’s a teaser of how it could look.

The based colour is silver (of course) but there are streaks of Petronas green to break the monotony – previously BMW Sauber didn’t allow any of it on its car. The Petronas name is prominently displayed on the rear wing, front wing and side pods; the latter location has ‘Malaysia’ below the brand, just like on the BMW. There’s also a Petronas Syntium logo on the engine cover. Other sponsors such as Henri Lloyd, MIG and Graham are carried over from Brawn GP.

Look out for one more picture and downloadable hi-res files after the jump.

UPDATE: It’s official! Mercedes GP has unveiled latest signing Michael Schumacher at its Brackley HQ. About the condition of his neck, the seven-time champ has this to say: “It wasn’t OK in the summer, but it’s had the time to heal completely, there is no further issue with the neck – 100%,” he told BBC.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=698]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• taboogen on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:07 am

cool… really proud to be malaysian

• cool…. better than previously with sauber team. malaysia boleh

• pulge on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:07 am

The green streak is back!

• taboogen on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:07 am

cool.. more proud to be malaysian

• aki_zz on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:08 am

hope this is an early impression, not the final one…

• oomph on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:10 am

Way to go Petronas..

Possibly 2010 winning team!

• initial R on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:18 am

Finally, The Petronas green streak are back on F1 car.

• w_lighter (Member) on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:18 am

wow.. petronas logo takes up alot of space actually. i think the most amount all. just to show how much money they invested in this

• proud of the nation.. go petronas

• haha.. yea.. they lost their green with bmw.. now they can keep the green with more moolah maybe..

• initial R on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:31 am

hehehe…. Now i can see the rainbow behind the cloud that cover F1…. look exciting even BMW, Toyota & Renault not around. Still we can see the Lagend, the Hero, the Rookie & the Joker on F1 track next year. Full of joy but a bit less excitement.

• cant wait to watch a post race intview with schumi wearing a PETRONAS cap…. Way to go PETRONAS…..

Just imagine a PETRONAS Syntium ad featuring schumi, in malaysia. NICE.

• giggs on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:37 am

wowww!!go petronas!!go!!…proud to be Malaysian!! =)

• sifu wong on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:37 am

proud? go sponsor other team not our own team , waste so much money! some more petronas sale drop, next year want to increase petro price !! rubbish …shame!

• daemon on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:37 am

next season will be very interesting with 3 world champs and a lot of championship winning drivers fighting against each other… cant wait for the first test to see who has the better package.. Petronas did a good job in getting this deal with Merc….

• nadzri m yusof on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:38 am

Who know's in future petronas will buy mercedes share …..

• bmpower on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:51 am

This team got new name!

no more silver arrow. but

GREEN ARROW!

• nudin on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:55 am

oh dear..u are amazing..wonder how the foreign spell

sure matching..big team plus big sponsor..mean to be

• the question is,is the benefit from the sponsorship justify the petronas involvement?

• tansri on Dec 24, 2009 at 4:11 am

wow..now f1 even more interesting!

• ariff on Dec 24, 2009 at 4:15 am

that car is beautiful, the best looking F1 car ever

• Tiadaid on Dec 24, 2009 at 4:15 am

syah said,

December 23, 2009 @ 8:00 pm

the question is,is the benefit from the sponsorship justify the petronas involvement?

—————-

It's more beneficial than giving the money to the "Rakyat" to waste away buying unnecessary stuff…at least the world knows Malaysia through PETRONAS.

• this is cool man.. i will go to sepang again next year!.. proud to be malaysian.

• mafiq on Dec 24, 2009 at 4:57 am

I love to see petronas on the front grid! I wonder how many people will go to sepang next year!

@shah I dont think malaysians can say anything to petronas about how to use their money. they give more than RM50billion yearly to the government (for the last few years) and most of their profits comes from international business, not local.

this is their business strategy, not wasting money.

• RH PumpkinKing on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:05 am

The green color looks strange.. any better color ?

• fikri adli on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:06 am

really cool! awesome yaw!

but, if it was malaysian team. Im really proud of it

keep it up petronas

• I agree with naem

Shuey will definitely make cameo appearance in Syntium TV adverts and prints some more..

Going in the right direction eh Petronas.

• if only it was 1Malaysia and not LotusF1… imagine 4 F1 racing cars with the 'Malaysian' word on it… if only…

then will have the fastest and the slowest F1 cars with the 'Malaysia' word on it.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:27 am

this car looks gay

• Gajen on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:38 am

this design is nice

• henry on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:46 am

Alex yoong, eat it man!!

• Maserati on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:47 am

Somehow the green color does not go well with the silver grey Mercedes color..

• San Peng Road on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:01 am

Super!!!!!!!!

• superwoman on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:11 am

From what Schumacher said, he been contacted in November. I am sure Ross used that as a bargain cheap to deal with Petronas.

I think Petronas must be thinking…mmh….Alex Yoong Flower F1 team, and Schumacher Merc Team…its easy to decide.

I will sure make it to Sepang before Schumi hangs it up again! Last chance baby, last chance to catch up Schumacher!

• skiborne on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:35 am

why the heck a typical apek (if he is) like sifu wong really2 look down or being pessimistic towards malaysia's capability, gosh pack your bags and leave for singapore lah, lesser malays what, thats exactly what u like dont u? be proud of malaysia man! u guys' level of loyalty towards malaysia are worth questioned for…

• no eye see on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:36 am

Lotus F1 Racing is run by the 1Malaysia F1 Team, a partnership between the Malaysian Government and a consortium of Malaysian entrepreneurs such as Proton (who owns Lotus Cars), Sepang International Circuit (SIC), AirAsia, Naza Motors, the Motorsports Association of Malaysia and Automobile Association of Malaysia. The Malaysian Government, has, however emphasized that the government itself is not going to invest in the team and that the Malaysian government’s investment is only through Proton. The project is part of the 1Malaysia initiative, intended to promote unity amongst Malaysians.

from wikipedia…

• Tiadaid on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:43 am

no eye see said,

December 23, 2009 @ 10:36 pm

Lotus F1 Racing is run by the 1Malaysia F1 Team, a partnership between the Malaysian Government and a consortium of Malaysian entrepreneurs such as Proton (who owns Lotus Cars), Sepang International Circuit (SIC), AirAsia, Naza Motors, the Motorsports Association of Malaysia and Automobile Association of Malaysia. The Malaysian Government, has, however emphasized that the government itself is not going to invest in the team and that the Malaysian government’s investment is only through Proton. The project is part of the 1Malaysia initiative, intended to promote unity amongst Malaysians.

from wikipedia

————————–

Wikipedia's not the most reliable source for you to quote on…

• albagmane on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:59 am

2010 seems to be a great year for F1!

• Haziqov on Dec 24, 2009 at 7:26 am

Michael Shumacher will wear his racing suit with PETRONAS on it! WOHOOO!~

• Anonymous on Dec 24, 2009 at 7:49 am

Go Merc! Go! Conquer the front grid!!! My Schumey is back!!

Ek,, Lotus, please avoide last grid..

• Wow, exciting year for 2010. Jom lets go to Sepang next year.

• koozold on Dec 24, 2009 at 9:07 am

Shumi spend too much lately??? no money and come back to race??? any idea??

• m08 (Member) on Dec 24, 2009 at 9:19 am

koozold said,

December 24, 2009 @ 1:07 am

Shumi spend too much lately??? no money and come back to race??? any idea??

it's not about money, it's all about the spirit. Once a racer, always a racer!

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 24, 2009 at 9:57 am

I don't like the idea money is being pumped to F1 (when it could be done for other useful things). But, Petronas already paid RM 270 Billion to the previous administration (during ex-PM Badawi time) and RM 100 Billion (during ex-PM Mahathir). With that money, the government should be able to finance a lot of civil and infrastructure project (theoretically).

I'm always fascinated by Petronas cause it's mostly run by professionals and not by politicians.

In this case, Petronas can make more money by pumping it on the winning team, then I'll secondate! (Merc)

Why pumped it on some cheap second airliner and a "ashamed" guy whom overall never won even a single match?

Petronas has developed a fine engine for some China car maker (which Proton previously egoistically refused to use it in their cars). I personally believe Petronas could develop its own car in the near future and become our next most promising local car manufacturer.

• yaahoos on Dec 24, 2009 at 12:19 pm

i would love to see Lotus beat this petronas team.. lol… how interestingg

• mystvearn on Dec 24, 2009 at 2:16 pm

Nice green colour streak line. Unlike the striking highlighter colour of Brawn

• Im amazed!? petronas declined the proposal of giving sponsorship to lotus and they took Mercedes. its like petronas knew schumacher will b joining the team. a very good marketing point here for petronas. fishy things goin on! lool but i dont care! its good to see schumacher is finally drvng non-ferrari car this time. =D

• ahmadi on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:03 pm

i still remember Schumi give rm30 million donor to tsunami victim….

• kanasai on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:15 pm

good looking car. and good to have Shumi in it :)

• kanasai on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:16 pm

good looking car, and of course good to have schumi in it :)

• Cool!!! Does this mean that from today we'll see Petronas engine oils at all Merc show rooms in the world?

I think, for my E-class next service I'll insist using Petronas Syntium….. NOT!!!

• silver on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:30 pm

i didnt really like schumi from the start since he was with ferrari.. but now.. it's different!! i think i just start liking him and definitely will support him for the whole season! :)

• kodok on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:34 pm

green+silver is not always a good combi…but wat de heck,at least they were not as ugly as lotus F1 cars!

• 1Malaysia on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:41 pm

It mean Petronas not confident with 1MF1T so they choose Mecedes

• Speed Racer on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:45 pm

SYOH:

I totally agree with you man…This is one great stunt by Petronas…they could gain huge benefits on this…surely!

as to Mr. Ashamed…you should be proud…look at the big picture..

All the best to both Malaysian F1 Team…MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!

• Expect to see another new mix of lubricant from this partnership. Petronas 1 maybe? since already had Mobil 1; blend it and sell below Rm200 for 4 litre, i don't mind to try it… =D

• azrai on Dec 24, 2009 at 7:15 pm

The next Primax 95 ad will feature Schumacher. :-) So the F1 Mercs use 95 Primax?

• azrai on Dec 24, 2009 at 7:33 pm

Even http://www.harakahdaily.net/v2/index.php?option=c… comments.

• 1malaysia on Dec 24, 2009 at 7:34 pm

now malaysia, a 3rd world country, out of sudden has two F1 team nx yr. pecah rekod! unbelievable !!

melaysia boleh!!!

• Grinner Wolf on Dec 24, 2009 at 7:50 pm

I've used all sorts of lubes. The best for me is Syntium.

Now that PETRONAS is tied up with the Silver Arrows, the endorsement of PETRONAS lubes, particular Syntium lubes, is clear.

If it's good enough to be used in Mercs, then it's really good enough for just about any car out there…

Way to go, PETRONAS!

• Grinner Wolf on Dec 24, 2009 at 7:53 pm

My next car will be silver with PETRONAS green streaks!

Super cool…

:)

• fairus on Dec 24, 2009 at 8:13 pm

the green strike petronas returnnnn…

• madimat on Dec 24, 2009 at 8:47 pm

SYOH wrote :

…Petronas has developed a fine engine for some China car maker (which Proton previously egoistically refused to use it in their cars). I personally believe Petronas could develop its own car in the near future and become our next most promising local car manufacturer…

I'm fully agree with Mr SYOH. But making car is not one of PETRONAS' core business I supposed. Anyway as long as F1 racing is all about the combination of aerodynamics + IT/softwares + lubricants + teamworks + human spirit = podium finishes; I truly believe that will fit well with PETRONAS capabilities and their global branding business strategies.

way to go PETRONAS! all the best for the 2010 season and beyond, and really excited to see 2 Malaysian sponsored title contenders.

..now, what the politicians (including all those kedai kopi politicians – cakap banyak contribute tarakk..) do best is to stay away from this F1 thing. Give us some real chance to enjoy this event …. its just a couple of years before 2012 anyway huh huh.

• Rakyat on Dec 24, 2009 at 9:22 pm

azrai said,

December 24, 2009 @ 11:33 am

——————————————————-

""masih lagi bergantung enjin luar iaitu enjin Lotus dari Itali"

Hahaha lotus italy? hahhaahha bodoh btul org PAS ni…

• redxdevil on Dec 24, 2009 at 10:30 pm

azrai said,

December 24, 2009 @ 11:33 am

——————————————————-

“”masih lagi bergantung enjin luar iaitu enjin Lotus dari Itali”

Hahaha lotus italy? hahhaahha bodoh btul org PAS ni…

———————————

nak sokong pas masuk lumba kereta lembu la. haha.. they know nothing

• azrai on Dec 24, 2009 at 10:52 pm

It is not orang PAS. only harakahdaily took from Angkasanuri blog. Let's find who is this Italian lotus Angkasanuri anyway. :-)

• azrai on Dec 24, 2009 at 10:57 pm

Here is the angkasanuri blog. http://angkasanuri.blogspot.com/ ok

• azrai on Dec 24, 2009 at 11:01 pm

http://hasbullah.pit.my/2009/11/apa-kejadahnya-pa… This is quite true right.

• now i just realised, silver is good match with green.. nice

• Jaybond on Dec 25, 2009 at 1:06 am

Ah come on , this is JUST A SPONSORSHIP. Any big sponsors can do that. People around the world will still regard this team as a German team, engineered by the Anglo-German team. For sure Petronas will get massive exposure. But don't get over excited, just because you are the main sponsor. Unless, if it's involving a Malaysian team that maybe achieved something you can be proud of – then it's more justified to say, ok, I'm proud to be Malaysian.Stay calm man..

• MADBOY on Dec 25, 2009 at 1:33 am

SY0H said,

December 24, 2009 @ 1:57 am

Petronas has developed a fine engine for some China car maker (which Proton previously egoistically refused to use it in their cars). I personally believe Petronas could develop its own car in the near future and become our next most promising local car manufacturer.

———–

The engine was way to expensive for Proton and Proton does not has the economic of scale and the Chinese has it.

That why Proton decided not to use it. It is a high performace engine, 2000 cc. Proton does not sell a 2000 cc car in great volume to justify the purchase.

• kimi_ sux on Dec 25, 2009 at 2:16 am

azrai said,

December 24, 2009 @ 2:52 pm

It is not orang PAS. only harakahdaily took from Angkasanuri blog. Let’s find who is this Italian lotus Angkasanuri anyway. :-)

===

memang org pas pun.. Tgk la hasbullah pit tu.. yg aku tak tahan ada komen dapat satu bodoh tu

—–

berbalik pada topik. GOGOGOGO PETRONAS! i'm gonna get a merc soon..

• kimi_ sux on Dec 25, 2009 at 2:31 am

Jaybond said,

December 24, 2009 @ 5:06 pm

Ah come on , this is JUST A SPONSORSHIP. Any big sponsors can do that. People around the world will still regard this team as a German team, engineered by the Anglo-German team. For sure Petronas will get massive exposure. But don’t get over excited, just because you are the main sponsor. Unless, if it’s involving a Malaysian team that maybe achieved something you can be proud of – then it’s more justified to say, ok, I’m proud to be Malaysian.Stay calm man..

====

its up to each of us when they should said they are proud to be malaysian. For me, since beginning of petronas involvement in F1, i was already proud of them.

• holy shit on Dec 25, 2009 at 3:31 am

'nex year will be our year' that sound more like liverpool fan lol. come on malaysia. jarno trulli accident in first race than fairuz fauzy replaces him and do well.that i will b really proud.

• initial R on Dec 25, 2009 at 3:55 am

kimi_ sux said,

December 24, 2009 @ 6:16 pm

azrai said,

December 24, 2009 @ 2:52 pm

It is not orang PAS. only harakahdaily took from Angkasanuri blog. Let’s find who is this Italian lotus Angkasanuri anyway. :-)

===

memang org pas pun.. Tgk la hasbullah pit tu.. yg aku tak tahan ada komen dapat satu bodoh tu

————————————————

Kesian….. itulah masalah org kat malaysia. Bercakap mengikut hati, Mendengar dari khabar angin, ilmu dituntut dari orang yang berakal sempit & cetek. Bertindak mengikut nafsu…. bila dah salah, cuba meletakkan kesalahan pada orang lain…..

• MBX Boy on Dec 25, 2009 at 4:24 am

FYI, Petronas overseas operation now closing to 40 countries you know. Taking billions of dollars from outside and bringing into Malaysia. This sponsorship is all about business and branding, and of course it profits Petronas. How come Shell sponsoring Ferrari for so long, u don't say anything? And is Shell so stupid to become sponsor in F1 for so long and at the same time making loss? To those people writing negative comments, think and research first before u type la.

• blabla on Dec 25, 2009 at 6:40 am

the reason why they didnt support the local one malaysia team by lotus is because petronas is concentrating on good investment

• petmos on Dec 25, 2009 at 8:49 am

That why Proton decided not to use it. It is a high performace engine, 2000 cc. Proton does not sell a 2000 cc car in great volume to justify the purchase

nk gne enjin luar jugak ke??bkn ke ngn enjin tu proton leh produce SUV ke???huhuhuu

• Ohlala on Dec 25, 2009 at 1:53 pm

Alex Yoong has received world recognition people, he can say what he wants to say.

http://www.f1fanatic.co.uk/2008/05/30/the-bottom-…

• petronasworkerkaya on Dec 25, 2009 at 5:45 pm

petronas workers going to get a full year bonus if this team wins

if your gaji is 3000

then you get 36000 when the bonus comes at the 2 quarter if 2010 (lets say june 2010). kaya la. aku nk keje dgn petronas la mcm ni.

tension la. mcm mana la nk dpt keje dgn petronas ni ye. kalau sape2 yg ada contact yg tak payah undergo interview dan confirm dpt keje. bole bg tau saya ye. thanks

• emmeth on Dec 25, 2009 at 7:46 pm

petronasworkerkaya, u aint gonna get even a sniff of any job in the oilandgas with that kinda factless statement LOL better luck in those gossip magazines.

back to the topic, good luck petronas. nice livery. cant wait for the upcoming season to start.

• lencongan on Dec 25, 2009 at 8:07 pm

petronasworkerkaya said,

December 25, 2009 @ 9:45 am

petronas workers going to get a full year bonus if this team wins

if your gaji is 3000

then you get 36000 when the bonus comes at the 2 quarter if 2010 (lets say june 2010). kaya la. aku nk keje dgn petronas la mcm ni.

tension la. mcm mana la nk dpt keje dgn petronas ni ye. kalau sape2 yg ada contact yg tak payah undergo interview dan confirm dpt keje. bole bg tau saya ye. thanks

……………………………………………………………….

hadoi…

bukan senang nk senang abg.

• Mohd Saiful Ameri on Dec 25, 2009 at 11:17 pm

last time i support mclaren team and Sauber team (coz of petronas involment).. so coming this 2010.. surely i will support Mercedes GP PETRONAS team, then secondly will be malaysian owned, 1M Lotus team…

so after this, i think the singaporean will follow malaysian approach in F1 sport.. come over to sepang and make it history in 2010 as the most highest viewer to watch the race….

:-)

• Potong on Dec 26, 2009 at 1:09 am

Should they know Shumi will be driving for Mercedes, don't u think all the big players like Shell, Exxon & Chevron will be dying to get a grip on the deal? Lotus F1 is not even an issue here… Think la bro!! Brilliant move Petronas.

• More Petronas Stickers….YEahhhh

• xptmsb07_09 (Member) on Dec 26, 2009 at 6:21 pm

http://hasbullah.pit.my/2009/11/apa-kejadahnya-pa… This is quite true right.

——————————————————————————-

Apa Kejadahnya Pasukan Lotus guna Enjin Cosworth?

hahaha… senjak bila keta lotus guna enjin lotus.. hahahah 20-30thn lepas??.. heheheh… campro?? agak2 la org pas.. kalau guna campro n menang.. masti korg xde isu nak kutuk lotus n proton.. hehehe.. kini campro di pandang duniaaaa(lagu)…. heheheh tolong la buka minda n banyak membaca sebelum megutuk isu sesuatu… nk buat enjin sendiri boleh no pblm.. but take time la.. buat enjin bukan mcm buat keropok lekor…

• awesome stuff.. malaysia's name is everywhere.. now, more than ever am i proud to be a malaysian. good to partnership, merc, brawn, schuey.. should be interesting to watch. hopefully though merc prices will drop in msia, if that makes any sense with this.. LolZ

• ggteroq on Dec 27, 2009 at 7:16 am

To petronasworkerkaya,

fresh graduate starting for petronas is 3.5k

basic 3.5k lol

:D

• milos on Dec 27, 2009 at 9:08 pm

People bash proton not because they want it to improve, it is a cry of their own weakness for;-

i) not working hard enough to be able to own more expensive car,

ii) showing that they are smart and others are stupid,

iii) lack of parental upbringing in manners and decency in speaking.

Even a child will know how to differentiate between a positive criticism and outright spewing of slurs.

• Grinner Wolf on Dec 28, 2009 at 6:46 pm

Milos, I own two "more expensive than Proton" cars. I'm wondering, my two cars could have been cheaper if Proton didn't need so much protection from competition.

It's been two decades. Still, Proton needs this kind of protection?

I think the rakyat should not be burdened like this for very long.

Can you imagine what it would have been like if PETRONAS were allowed to function with protection from competition in downstream retail? Lubes would be far more expensive for vehicle owners and PETRONAS.

• Grinner Wolf on Dec 28, 2009 at 6:53 pm

Oops, tertekan submit, somehow…

Anyway, PETRONAS would not have been able get very far with its lubes if it had to rely on domestic market protection.

Speaking of upbringing, since you brought it up, I wonder if this is the kind of upbringing Proton should have received – the kind that PETRONAS had of "if you can't swim, then you sink".

It's been more than two decades. It's about time Proton sarted standing fully on its feet instead of standing with crutches that continue to burden the rakyat.

I know it's not easy. I sincerely hope that Proton is doing something in earnest about achieve this feat. If not, sampai bila?

• Phil Phillips on Feb 17, 2010 at 7:46 pm

Please can you tell me an address which I can write to to try & get Michael Schumaker's autograph? I wonder if I should send to Mercedes at Stuttgart or to Brackley in England