Suzuki Swift with 1.2-litre engine launched in India

Maruti Suzuki has launched a new Swift variant with a 1.2-litre petrol engine which complies to the stricter Bharat Stage IV standard. BS-IV, which is India’s equivalent to Euro 4, will come into force this April.

The new K-series engine, with a power output of 84 bhp and 113 Nm replaces the old 1.3-litre engine with 87 bhp and 111 Nm. Maruti Suzuki claims better refinement and fuel consumption of 17.9 km/l, 2 km/l better than the old 1.3. As a comparison, the M15A 1.5-litre Swift sold in Malaysia has 101 bhp and 133 Nm.

But many Swift buyers are turning to diesel. Maruti introduced the Swift with Fiat’s 1.3-litre Multijet diesel engine (common rail turbo with 75 bhp and 190 Nm) back in 2007 and it has been selling well ever since. Despite increased competition, Maruti sold 10,900 Swifts in December 2009, the model’s highest monthly sales since its debut back in May 2005.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• littlefire on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:21 pm

Even India need EURO 4 cars on the road, what & where our standart going?

They even have turbo diesel engine~!

• Peter on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:23 pm

Not bad….If this car comes to Malaysia, hopefully there's more competition between the national cars and other sub budget cars …….

• hmm... on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:52 pm

i'm not really in favour for any cars below the 1.5 litre capacity.

• got keyless system?..

• squawk on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Wait… we look down on India but they have Euro 4 standard?

• v only hv euro2 diesel grade in malaysia….

i m sorry for tat…..

• Cruze on Jan 19, 2010 at 8:03 pm

Bring in diesel Swifts here!

• 1 st

• blackbox on Jan 19, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Even India can use Multijet diesel engine. Why Malaysia still cannot use?

• Wow Euro 4? We back home need to consider that thing too….. I think we really need to open up the green technology and let more player into the market… greener enviro, healthier people, more productive, better life, happier etc

• kimi_ on Jan 19, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Because malaysia protect PROTON which do not has diesel engine!!!!!!!!!

• anti_mie on Aug 12, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Its not about proton lah..u butthead.
      Its aboutgovement policy not to impliment EURO 3,4 or what so ever.
      They must explain to rakyat.

• my name is on Jan 19, 2010 at 9:48 pm

ya… ya… kimi_…

everything in malaysia has to do with Proton… what a narrow thinking…

We see cars that being sold at India… But, does that mean their purchase power on car is better?

last time, proton did sell Proton diesel… The wira… remember?

But, the sale is not encouranging… so… wht's the point selling it? malaysian are not into diesel so much… my opinion…

• h said,

January 19, 2010 @ 12:03 pm

1 st

———————————————-

time and time again, what's so great about being "1 st"?

h memang "orang bodoh"

• Euro4 in India! and Malaysia is still 2 generation behind India. WTF! Are the cabinet ministers still sleeping or what? Talk so much about green technology. Even the fuel standard also cannot get it right. Cukup besar kemaluan kerajaan BN ini.

• azrai on Jan 19, 2010 at 10:28 pm

If is it proton people will say "1.2 underpower maa…" :-) Do you know in japan, Toyota belta a.k.a. Dugong Vios only has 1.0l and 1.3l engine only? Underpower?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 19, 2010 at 10:37 pm

new swift coming out next year

• kodok on Jan 19, 2010 at 10:51 pm

india already goin euro 4…and here we are in m'sia still stuck with euro 2 quality fuel!!

• theking on Jan 19, 2010 at 11:23 pm

Not becoz of Proton our car not Euro4 compliant but just becoz we all want

subsidized/cheaper petrol and diesel!

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 19, 2010 at 11:55 pm

my name is said,

January 19, 2010 @ 1:48 pm

ya… ya… kimi_…

everything in malaysia has to do with Proton… what a narrow thinking…

We see cars that being sold at India… But, does that mean their purchase power on car is better?

last time, proton did sell Proton diesel… The wira… remember?

But, the sale is not encouranging… so… wht’s the point selling it? malaysian are not into diesel so much… my opinion…

—-

Of course. Unless you have been living under a coconut shell, I suppose you don't know a time before proton.

I have driven the Wira diesel (ex-Company car). Horrid car. If you make such a horrible product, people still want to buy? I think you need to learn a bit of history before you comment on these issues…. do you know how much road tax was for the Wira Diesel??? And you wonder why no one bought it?

If you have driven the newer diesels, I tell you you wont touch a petrol car.

I see plenty of Kangoos diesels on the road. Sadly only in commercial trim only. Plenty of cars out there, sadly we don't have the fuel to run them.

• wow..1.2diesel equivalent to 1.3 petrol power output.

wonder hw nice if possible to make its appearance in M'sia. =)

• Imagine what if new foreign diesel cars suddenly flood the auto market in Malaysia? Diesel powered cars are known to be cheaper to run (litre/km) for instance. That is one point that consumers are attracted to.

Our national car company (and other car companies that are unprepared) )will be caught with their pants down…..their sales would be nose dive….

• Keith Duckworth on Jan 20, 2010 at 12:15 am

Is the Maruti Euro-4 refer to the petrol or diesel ? I am confused

• dejavu on Jan 20, 2010 at 12:42 am

Really shameful for those calling the shots in Boleh-land.

While others r getting cleaner fuel n more practical n better fc diesel vehicles, we're still raging war 4 subsidies n outdated policy benchmarks n thikings.

• Baron on Jan 20, 2010 at 12:58 am

h said,

January 19, 2010 @ 12:03 pm

1 st

———————————————-

time and time again, what’s so great about being “1 st”?

h memang “orang bodoh”

it will turn to animal thinking level when this kind of people doesn't know the word 1st mean. Moron.

• squawk on Jan 20, 2010 at 1:06 am

It seems every notable developing country is 'greener' than we are (even with our so-called new NAP).

• altimate (Member) on Jan 20, 2010 at 1:34 am

squawk,

"Wait… we look down on India but they have Euro 4 standard?"

We are not looking down on India.. they are one of the emerging economic giants… only you are.. don't blanket your opinion on others larr..

It's quite surprising that swift body can accomodate such a small engine and can even outperform the 1.3L in FC.. interesting

• Does anyone know how much the price of diesel EU4/Bharat Stage IV standard in India?

• theanswer on Jan 20, 2010 at 1:49 am

Wait… we look down on India but they have Euro 4 standard?

who look down? some of us didnt know that india(or pakistan) is far advance from us in terms of technology. they create more engineers or IT experts compared to msia. the reason some of us(not me) look down on them because the living standard is from poor to rich is way too different. they even have nuclear missile fyi.

• my name is on Jan 20, 2010 at 2:05 am

@4g63…

I didnt know that last time we have different tax for diesel engine… my bad…

but, does malaysian masses ready to accept diesel engine? this is something to be figured out…

and why is that, when one start to drive diesel engine will never back to petrol?

Elightenment needed…

• This car will bring sale impact to our national car…

I think mostly will not bring it as it will have big impact to proton…

• I don't think Malaysians like diesel engines, we prefer petrol engines.

• Dr. M on Jan 20, 2010 at 6:25 am

Proton Gen.2 CPS is still better.

• tokmoh on Jan 20, 2010 at 7:08 am

my name is said,

January 19, 2010 @ 6:05 pm

@4g63…

but, does malaysian masses ready to accept diesel engine? this is something to be figured out…

and why is that, when one start to drive diesel engine will never back to petrol?

Elightenment needed…

>>> diesel has better fc, less co2, cheaper maintenance (general assumption)… Dat's abt it.

Pretty handy if u want to save money.

• my name is said,

'and why is that, when one start to drive diesel engine will never back to petrol?

Elightenment needed…'

Take the new BMW 740D: 306hp, 600Nm @ 1500rpm, 0-100km/h in 6.3s, electronically limited to 250km/h (would be able to go faster), EURO6

Guess the comsumption of this luxury car: 6.9l diesel / 100km or 14,49km per liter.

By comparison the old Maruti Suzuki 1.3: 6.29l petrol / 100km or 15.9km per liter.

But the Suzuki Swift has 219hp less than the 740D… ;)

• hmm… said,

January 19, 2010 @ 11:52 am

i’m not really in favour for any cars below the 1.5 litre capacity.

……………

im like ur statement

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 20, 2010 at 4:36 pm

my name is said,

@4g63…

Elightenment needed…

—–

Oh yeah we are…definately.

Diesels on average gives 20% more efficiency than a petrol car, and this is due to the higher energy content of diesel (denser – more carbon molecules in its hydrocharbon chain). On top of this, modern diesels are turbocharged, "fixing" the problem of low rpm torque on N/A cars, not reving so high means saving fuel…. and better breathing efficiency from the turbocharger nets saves you for fuel.

Its not rare to see a diesel go well over 1000kms on 50L

Like I said, go drive a modern diesel and you'd realise what the entire country is missing. I travel to europe frequently and the french makes some of the best diesels in the world.

In europe, Hybrids are not taken foot in the market due to the popularity and efficiency of diesels.

Don't compare our old diesel trucks and lorries. The new diesels are so refined, if I sat you in a new modern diesel car, you wont know the difference….accept that mountain of torque at 1500rpm.

Why has it not taken off? yes, the fuel is one thing, the other is discriminatory road taxation, even now, the Kangoo 1.5D is getting something like >$500 in road tax (commercial plates – since TCM didn't bring in the diesel in the normal Kangoo)

Elightened? I hope so.

• per litre diesel indian pay ~RM2.40(Delhi) ~RM2.65(Mumbai)..

per litre petrol indian pay RM3.28(Delhi) ~RM3.58(Mumbai)…….each state diff price

"It is to be mentioned that currently petrol costs Rs. 44.63 a litre in Delhi and Rs. 48.76 in Mumbai, whereas diesel costs Rs. 32.87 in Delhi and Rs. 36.07 in Mumbai."

http://www.wheelsunplugged.com/ViewNews.aspx?news…

http://www.business-standard.com/india/news/petro…

• The Royal Proton Bas on Jan 20, 2010 at 5:52 pm

better than proton savvy

• MADBOY on Jan 20, 2010 at 6:47 pm

Dr. M said,

January 19, 2010 @ 10:25 pm

——-

pls lah, no more this kind of statement.

——-

the reason we are not getting euro 4 diesel is becouse our diesel is being subsidised. Then again, are we willing to pay for unsubsidised euro 4 fuel?

• The Royal Proton Bas on Jan 20, 2010 at 8:36 pm

MADBOY said,

January 20, 2010 @ 10:47 am

Dr. M said,

——-

——-

the reason we are not getting euro 4 diesel is becouse our diesel is being subsidised. Then again, are we willing to pay for unsubsidised euro 4 fuel?

———————–

with our car prices so crazily priced. we should be subsidised even more. i've done some rough calculation, through the profits raked in by the government through import duties of imported cars in a year. it is more than enough to subsidise petrol for 16 years at least if the international price of petrol were to not rise.

• funny on Jan 20, 2010 at 10:07 pm

Dr. M said,

——-

——-

———————-

yes we're prepare to pay for unsubsidised euro 4 fuel price, if the car is not taxed 300%.

if we need to free float the fuel price, lets free float the car price too.

if you buy vios at RM40000, the additional rm30000 that you save can let u pump fuel at any price, rm3/liter is not a problem.

you all with subsidised mentality will not prosper.

without tongkat you cannot even compete with indon. hah, cina and india is out of your league already.

• New Car Prices India on Jan 20, 2010 at 10:29 pm

Thats really great news.

• funny on Jan 21, 2010 at 1:41 am

with our car prices so crazily priced. we should be subsidised even more. i’ve done some rough calculation, through the profits raked in by the government through import duties of imported cars in a year. it is more than enough to subsidise petrol for 16 years at least if the international price of petrol were to not rise.

————————————————

if no car tax, how can gomen afford so many nissan x-trail, and toyota fortuner?

why jabatan kesihatan need x-trail ?? why kastam need toyota fortuner???

why police inspector need to drive waja CPS during working hour??

why everyone took the money and spend and then after working hour, all drive cheap,old wira/motorcycle back home??

is this a communist country?

• squawk on Jan 21, 2010 at 2:23 am

altimate & theanswer, know sarcasm when it hits you in the face. :-)

A lot of people bash India & China but don't realize that we or even rest of the world will be kowtow-ing to them. E.g. China's version of Khazanah has US$ 200 billion to invest in foreign markets. They can basically buy up countries which is why US politicians are making so much noise about Wall St being colonized.

• AnakSarawak on Jan 21, 2010 at 3:37 am

Always wonder why aaa? M'sian very very scared of diesel or what?The tech is now very advanced indeed.But we M'sian always shun diesel engines…..or is it the "g"….wanted it to stay that way….haiiyaaa….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:40 am

funny said,

January 20, 2010 @ 5:41 pm

with our car prices so crazily priced. we should be subsidised even more. i’ve done some rough calculation, through the profits raked in by the government through import duties of imported cars in a year. it is more than enough to subsidise petrol for 16 years at least if the international price of petrol were to not rise.

————————————————

if no car tax, how can gomen afford so many nissan x-trail, and toyota fortuner?

why jabatan kesihatan need x-trail ?? why kastam need toyota fortuner???

why police inspector need to drive waja CPS during working hour??

why everyone took the money and spend and then after working hour, all drive cheap,old wira/motorcycle back home??

is this a communist country?

——————————–

lol….more like fascist

• eldie on Jan 21, 2010 at 7:40 pm

Bring in the car to Malaysia. Sure will sell especially east Malaysia. Pricing must be reasonable….lah. Gomen lower down tax please