Rolls-Royce sets up official presence in Malaysia

Rolls-Royce has re-established an official presence in Malaysia, appointing Quill Motorcars Sdn Bhd as its authorised dealer. Quill Motorcars will set up a showroom and service facility that will be called Rolls-Royce Motor Cars Kuala Lumpur. It will share the same building as Quill’s BMW dealership in Section 14, Petaling Jaya.

“The new dealership re-establishes an official Rolls-Royce retail and aftersales presence in Malaysia, signifying the company’s confidence in the market. With both the Rolls Royce Phantom family and the new Ghost, we are able to offer the pinnacle in luxury motoring to Malaysians,” said Rolls-Royce Motor Cars regional director for Asia Pacific, Colin Kelly.

Quill Motorcars aims to sell between eight and 10 units a year, which shouldn’t be too hard if you count in the royal families. Rolls Royce, which has 18 dealerships in Asia including Malaysia, forecasts Asian sales to triple this year to 450 vehicles with the introduction of the more affordable Ghost, if any Roller can be described as affordable.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• dotdot on Jan 23, 2010 at 7:35 pm

Affordable? hahaha

• chimeraEM on Jan 23, 2010 at 7:58 pm

affordable to sum, to drool by many;)

• chuakz on Jan 23, 2010 at 8:08 pm

finally RR is back to M'sia after so many yrs….

• Mysticmind on Jan 23, 2010 at 8:12 pm

yaaaaa.. AP fast money somemore!

hurrah!..

• reefdee on Jan 23, 2010 at 8:33 pm

Whats the damage @ price tag on the Ghost?

• nabill on Jan 23, 2010 at 9:43 pm

royals ONLY…i tink the entire MPs,politicians,and who ever is linked to the G can afford one…smart of RR to set up operations here , thy know thy got ALOT of potential buyers !

and if u cannot afford , well , there are plenty of jet engines out there to steal and sale !

back to the car , its achingly gorgeous…the oly car with presence that others cant match

• Jumbsuck on Jan 23, 2010 at 9:53 pm

"It will share the same building as Quill’s BMW dealership in Section 14, Petaling Jaya."

Better still, share it with MACC, LHDN office too. Talk about catching the big fish crooks.

• JULIAN_LEE on Jan 23, 2010 at 10:00 pm

BMW better

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 23, 2010 at 10:26 pm

wah,…open in PJ?lol

• kuku stim on Jan 23, 2010 at 10:30 pm

It's going to cost RM1.9 mil up to about RM2.4 mil.

Sounds like the price of a nice house in KL right?

But with a house, you can pay over 30 years.

Would be nice if you can get a 30 year loan for a car… (but what's the point?)

• kimi_ on Jan 23, 2010 at 10:51 pm

I TOT FROM NAZA

• kancil_driver on Jan 23, 2010 at 10:54 pm

become ghost also cannot afford Ghost….

• Gajen on Jan 23, 2010 at 11:05 pm

i dont fancy RR…id rather take the new xj

• santa cruz boy on Jan 23, 2010 at 11:10 pm

well this cars value will not depreciate and in 30 or 40 years time the value may only increase additionally , my 1956 roll royce is still in mint perfect condition and the market value is still about rm820000 so this one is for those who can afford 5mil-10mil houses in damansara heights and bukit tunku and hartamas and country homes , this is the kind of car they neeed in their driveway .

btw paul , is the engine and gearbox still supplied by BMW ? if yes then it will be wise for them to have the showroom att the same ;location for those who have a bigger budget than a 760Li , service centre and all there so more like a 1 stop centre

• mitlanevo on Jan 23, 2010 at 11:45 pm

lol~

• lol… royals only…

• pelams on Jan 24, 2010 at 12:02 am

ive never seen a RR in mlysia..

• Ferruccio on Jan 24, 2010 at 12:26 am

santa cruz boy said,

January 23, 2010 @ 3:10 pm

..well this cars value will not depreciate..

you might think about rephrasing that. ALL cars depreciate even the RR and like all cars most will be lost in the 1st year.

Cars(be it RR or any other brand) only appreciate when it becomes a collectible like your 1956 classic RR.

Bentley has a showroom in KL and their resale values in the market will more or less reflect what RR are up against.

• @santa cruz boy: yes, the engine is a brand new 6.6L V12 twin turbo engine(siblings of the 6.0L V12 in 760Li) made by BMW and an 8-speed gearbox..both are made in Germany but assembled in RR's Goodwood plant in UK..

@pelams: i've seen one and it's superb~

• mystvearn on Jan 24, 2010 at 1:01 am

Aim to sell 10 a year. So how much profit dealer makes to sell in order to break even?

I know from a fact that Merc official dealer in Kelantan needs to sell 4-8 cars/month just to break even per month.

So, sell 1 RR, can last 40 days?

• Ouill Motorcars?? who is Quill?

• BeemerFreak on Jan 24, 2010 at 3:21 am

RRs traditionally are hideosly ugly from the outside but exquisite in the inside barring te new Ghost which is good at both. Saw the Ghost on the road in Singapore for LTA(singapore punya Puspakom) test run, man it makes the 7-series look small, too bad i dont have the pictures.

And like Danny said, the royalties and people like Lim Kok Thay will be looking at one, so 20 units might even be possile for one year, all be it all on the ghost.

• redwings on Jan 24, 2010 at 3:28 am

just saw i heading pj from kl-seremban highway… Maybe heading to sec14 showroom..

• Amin GmbH on Jan 24, 2010 at 3:31 am

PJ Section 14 meh… so close with Naza n Nissan. Is it lovey dovey or assuming a big score cruising frm 1 show room to another?

• Not bad, Malaysia has new rep means RR believes our economy has bright future.

Bring more variety to the roads but these cars are also huge.

• Alpha on Jan 24, 2010 at 4:29 am

cool!!now all Malaysian can own a Rolls-Royce!!Oh,JOY!!!

• Late me become a Gov on Jan 24, 2010 at 4:40 am

the car was good but the tex was bad buy one of this = give one of this to idiot GOV..and one idiot of our own.

• the fighter on Jan 24, 2010 at 5:00 am

kancil_driver said,

January 23, 2010 @ 2:54 pm

become ghost also cannot afford Ghost….

hahaha …u re rite bro

• laser on Jan 24, 2010 at 5:33 am

err… doesnt the screen looks sheepishly like the idrive taken from the 3 series… not to mention those 8 assignable buttons!!! it's all so bmw… but it is a bmw isnt it

• whatever on Jan 24, 2010 at 5:42 am

Wow what's the aftersales service target/month? 500k?

• Anonymous on Jan 24, 2010 at 6:06 am

'..more affordable Ghost'… still million Ringgit..

Agong use Bentley, but today I saw some RR from royals with police escort.

Scary to drive this car in this unsafe country. Even Singaporean Ferrari get chased and robbed somewhere in Johor.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 24, 2010 at 7:21 am

i guess all the great and corrupted will be in one of this. btw isnt quill like a singapore company? how they get AP's?

• chaku on Jan 24, 2010 at 7:41 am

JULIAN_LEE said,

January 23, 2010 @ 2:00 pm

BMW better

————————————————————–

RR is BMW subsidiary isn't it?

• Ferruccio on Jan 24, 2010 at 8:42 am

Agree with laser,

There minor hints of BMW.

I've sat in the Bentley CGT and the interior does look more original and definitely English despite the fact the they're owned by VW with VW engineering underneath

• Redzuan on Jan 24, 2010 at 9:23 am

Now I can cancel my Vios order and book this one instead :)

• frossonice on Jan 24, 2010 at 10:44 am

When you start comparing RR with Bimmer or Jag, people know you're not that bright.

Move on, kids.

• saw one unit of Phantom parked in Port Klang port… ready to be shipped out… damn big wey…

• fique D on Jan 24, 2010 at 2:49 pm

hehehe maybe state gov will hv this as official car…

the one n only legal kereta hantu…

• fique D on Jan 24, 2010 at 2:52 pm

heheeh affordable…? wow we will see alot of hantu otr..

nice joke rr…

• mintori on Jan 24, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Its really luxurious car with comfortable interior…

• PAUL!! GO AND TEST DRIVE ONE AND GIVE US THE REVIEW OF IT!! HEHEHEHHEHEHEHEH!!! =DDD

• Ha Gnih on Jan 24, 2010 at 8:12 pm

hafta pool money for another 10 years to buy one HANTU. Yeah. At the age of 40. MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHA

• Zargus on Jan 24, 2010 at 8:29 pm

Know why it was call Ghost….because the price is damn scary :D ….heard that one on BFM

• ezralimm on Jan 24, 2010 at 10:03 pm

Wow.

Owned by anyone other than royalty, this car would be _the_ definition for the word "compensating".

Dare I say they may have an even smaller phallus more fragile ego than the makers of the Burj Dubai.

• Top of the class.

Owning an RR means you have made it to the top of the class.

Going to the petrol pump is equivalent to our monthly HOUSING insalment.

In Malaysia, we can pronounce it as GOSSSSS. ha ha ha

• wheeler on Jan 24, 2010 at 11:54 pm

rolls royce is for lame ppl. so does porche. lame car

• kopi-man on Jan 25, 2010 at 1:35 am

It is not RR to setup operation here, it is the people in charge already got some link and contact to sell some of their OWN staff here, so they got RR la. You think without making those deal ahead, the company will go look for RR? The next will see all Royals-Agung in RR.

• Maserati on Jan 25, 2010 at 1:45 am

My ex-boss of one of the biggest banks in m'sia has a Rolls royce.

It is so so huge that its length is about two kancils put together.

• hiruma kecil (Member) on Jan 25, 2010 at 2:21 am

afraid… how if one day i drive my car and then suddenly got accident with this car.. not afraid coz the injurt, but afraid for what s will happen if the ghost owner ask me to pay him cost to repair the car.. holy scared…

• dream on rakyat…

• @Maserati: have u really seen one RR in real?…haha..it's even longer than 3 kancils put together..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:05 am

khir toyo getting one

• chew ban (Member) on Jan 25, 2010 at 4:34 pm

it will remain ghost, could not be seen on the road

• The Royal Academy of on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:42 pm

lol…ghost menyeramkam

• afkar (Member) on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:53 pm

wait until im old,no longer passionate to drive,n rather watching tv en route to the office,i will get one..haha :)

anyway,this is good purcahse what,see,even get free umbrella..n a special place for it..haha,funny,i took my eyes closer to the screen wondering what the stick is until i found the word umbrell beneath it..

• funny on Jan 25, 2010 at 8:32 pm

i dun think ppl driving RR need to hold umbrella themselves :P

oh, for the chauffeur to use for their boss!

• u cant compare Merc & BMW with RR & Bentley la.. totally different class n prestige….

i was working in dubai for the past 2 years and seen many RR and Bentley on the road n shopping mall… absolutely gorgeous!!!

• Those of us who cant afford the real RR now you can get Geely version of RR what !

• I just went this afternoon to Quill 9 to have a look at the ghost and i was rudely handled by a chinese lady who inquired where was i from and that i cant look at the car because there is a press conference.. Is that how they treat people…? quill should just stick to construction.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 27, 2010 at 7:51 am

bkk said,

January 26, 2010 @ 1:57 pm

Those of us who cant afford the real RR now you can get Geely version of RR what !

——————

yea the Englon haha

• Ferruccio on Jan 28, 2010 at 2:08 am

ian, I'm sure you would be treated with significantly more dignity at Bentley KL regardless whether you are actually buying a car or not.

Some inexperienced staff tend to forget that they represent the company brand and so how they behave represents the quality of the brand.

Does not matter if one is a sales consultant or the tea lady. ALL involved in a car showroom should understand this. Lexus I think is a good example. I'm most impressed by the quality security guards. You actually expect them to be stern and unfriendly but I was surprised that they seem to behave as if they concious that they represent the Lexus business.

• prodetailer on Feb 27, 2010 at 10:05 pm

i saw this car at terengganu.number plat is t** .so shiny car and look no have any swirl mark and light scracthes on his paint.