2012 Chevrolet Aveo – with pictures and details

We previously had a clue to the new Aveo’s design with the helped of 3D patent renderings that were leaked a few months ago. Chevrolet has now released full details of the car and images to go along with it. The new Aveo is bigger in size than the previous model. A redesigned front end has been worked into the equation along with a new bumper and hidden rear door handles.

Structurally, the Aveo uses a tight body frame integral (BFI) structure offering more rigidity. Inside, the Aveo is said to contain multiple storage space that is coupled with quality materials used in the interior.

Under the hood, customers will have the option of petrol or diesel engines. This is made out of a 70hp and 86hp 1.2 litre, a 100hp 1.4 litre as well as a 115hp 1.6 litre. The diesel engine will consist of a 75hp 1.3 litre engine or a slightly uprated 95hp version, both of which will come with automatic start-stop technology.

Power will be transferred to the road via a 5 or 6-speed manual, with an option of a 6 speed automatic as well. It will also feature safety such as ABS, Electronic power steering (EPS) and Electronic stability control (ESC). Chevrolet will launch the Aveo hatchback and the sedan variant some time in mid-2011. It will also make an appearance at the Paris Motor Show this year.

Look after the jump for high res pictures.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1488]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Nice looking car…the front looked great

• nabill on Sep 11, 2010 at 5:26 pm

good looks,nice design,wont sell here,will be obsolete in 1 yrs time like curent model,end of story !

• theanswer on Sep 11, 2010 at 6:52 pm

chevy should revised their price..its more expensive than other korean brand here..tho the brand is american..but the car is korean.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 11, 2010 at 7:39 pm

What would make this model obsolete?

• Jonesy on Sep 11, 2010 at 5:30 pm

Lawsuit from Mitsubishi! That front end is all Mitsu! Looks more like what the next Colt should look like

• bystander on Sep 11, 2010 at 8:00 pm

actually oso bits of cruze to be fair…but the logo really looks awkward the way it’s put btw the upper & lower grille.

• dexter on Sep 11, 2010 at 10:08 pm

mitsubish also copy volvo s40. everyone is a freaking copycat!

• nebula87 on Sep 11, 2010 at 5:34 pm

A Mitsubishi Lancer-wanabe?
    It’s too compact to have dat look…

• bystander on Sep 11, 2010 at 5:40 pm

wow, this is actually much better than myvi, even the new coming one i bet…how come other model evolved so much with each generation but we r still getting shitty k car with more n more premium prices….

• not sure whether I like it or not.. the design look good but if the pricing here around RM70K like last model, I would go for other brands..

• djomaha on Sep 11, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Wonder how much it’ll cost

• potatomasala on Sep 11, 2010 at 6:16 pm

huh,r u guys sure this model is not in production yet,coz i saw a SG plate,yellow colour,at seremban PD highway this morning……and its the same chevy aveo

• Jimmy on Sep 11, 2010 at 6:39 pm

Tried to be shark-nosed but kalah kepada Lancer.

• Even a car this size has ESC (ESP), why most of 2.0 liter cars here don’t have it. One have to go for the high spec 2.4 for it.

• theanswer on Sep 11, 2010 at 6:54 pm

u think msian model will have esp? urmm..i dont think so..

• potatomasala on Sep 11, 2010 at 7:19 pm

what about honda’s VSA for civic 2.0…..

i think u need to do a bit more research before jumping into conclusion ; )

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_stability_control

• Srotong on Sep 12, 2010 at 1:32 pm

that’s because most of those car have it but with different name…Honda (VSA) Toyota (VSC) Nissan (VDC) and banyak lagi…

• Rhys Millen on Sep 11, 2010 at 7:30 pm

Hexagonal grill ?

• alytheman on Sep 11, 2010 at 7:46 pm

looks like the GM’s from transfORmer

• J@CK LIM on Sep 11, 2010 at 7:51 pm

why every design goes around VW? !!!
    Ishh… 3-door does make the sales for malaysian …
    5-door hatch back will do the job …
    XD

• J@CK LIM on Sep 11, 2010 at 7:52 pm

i mean 3-door doesn’t make the sales …

• taufic on Sep 11, 2010 at 7:58 pm

holy cow
    the front reminds me of sirocco

• namerku on Sep 11, 2010 at 8:01 pm

front like Chey Cruze

• shawal on Sep 11, 2010 at 8:41 pm

It’ll be easier for drug addicts to steal the light bulbs of the headlamps and tail lamps, after they pretty much stole all the bee-sting antennas around….

Overall, looks like a nice car to own…

• Chris on Sep 11, 2010 at 10:38 pm

How the hell do you open the rear door? Where’s the handle? Rendering fail or do you open it like the RX-8?

• Paul Tan on Sep 11, 2010 at 11:02 pm

You open it like an Alfa 147.

• Srotong on Sep 12, 2010 at 12:22 am

if you look carefully…there’s some kind of flap is the black area near rear fender.. that is the the door handle…RX8 also use the same concept..but I think Alfa is the pioneer..

• andrewk on Sep 12, 2010 at 7:03 am

No, the RX8 doesn’t use the same concept. The suicide (rear) door handle is hidden when both doors are closed and is located on the inside of the door. You can only open the suicide doors when the front door is open.

• hazri on Sep 11, 2010 at 11:04 pm

i’m lil bit curious…this new Aveo is similar to Chevy Beat?

http://www.chevrolet.co.in/content_data/AP/IN/en/GBPIN/001/beat-model.html

• Paul Tan on Sep 11, 2010 at 11:26 pm

The Aveo is a B-segment car, same class as the Hyundai Getz. The Chevrolet Beat is a smaller A-segment car, in the same class as the Hyundai i10. It replaces the Chevrolet Spark (the car which the Chery QQ ripped off).

• hazri on Sep 12, 2010 at 6:51 am

thanks Paul…means this new Aveo is bigger than Beat,..has similar design too..but both are cute … i saw a lot of Beat while i was in india..those painted with Green apple are very very nice

• I checked out the new Chevy Spark with those hidden frame mounted rear door handles.
    It really feels awkward to use.

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Sep 12, 2010 at 7:35 am

the rear three quarters look exactly like the new spark/beat

• tianshi on Sep 12, 2010 at 10:48 am

is this a proton lancer? oh god i can’t believe chevy puts up such a similar face

it’s destined to doom and it will always be for this sad chevy

• Lim Kopi on Sep 13, 2010 at 12:13 am

I like how it tries very hard to copy Alfa 147s rear door opener, and yet leave the front badge HANGING IN MID AIR :0

• lightning mcqueen on Sep 14, 2010 at 7:38 am

thats happened when they copycating lots of other models, i bet they couldnt t the emblem at the middle is due to limited opening for the radiator grille. Lower, they will hit the plate no mounting, so no choice, they ended up with hanging emblem… Some called hungry ghost design

• wahedenator on Sep 13, 2010 at 12:31 am

the front looks like lancer but compress a lil’ bit
    lol

• chico on Sep 13, 2010 at 1:01 pm

SO IT LOOKS DAMN GOOD. BUY OR NOT TO BUY…BUY IT IF THE PRICE IS RIGHT. DON’T BUY IF IF U’RE TOO CONCERNED ABOUT THE RESALE VALUE N THE NITTY GRITTY STUFF LIKE THE FRONT END COPIES MITSU’S NOSE N BLA…BLA..BLA….THIS GM LATEST BABY IS A GLOBAL MODEL. IT’S AMERICAN’S PRODUCED IN KOREA. JUST LIKE A HONDA’S PRODUCED IN AYER KEROH MELAKA (CRV THAT IS). IT’S SO ADVANCED IN MANY ASPECTS. WHY SETTLE FOR OUTDATED JAP MODELS WITH 4 SPEED N A LIST OF OTHER DEFICIENCIES WHEN U HV OTHER BETTER CHOICES??? JAP’S T AND H BRANDS ARE TAKING ADVANTAGE OF MALAYSIA’S GLUED MINDSET. THEY PRICE THEIR CARS RIDICULOUSLY HIGH WITH MANY ADVANCED FEATURES STRIPPED OFF COZ THEY KNOW MALAYSIANS ARE LOYAL ENVIES OF T & H. WHAT FOOLS HV WE BECOME….WAKE UP MALAYSIANS!!!

• Ash Menon on Sep 13, 2010 at 1:53 pm

This idea of hidden rear door handles is nifty. How well does it work in real life?

Overall nicely done, but the top-rear spoiler should angle slightly upwards. It’s a little too bald like this.

Only thing I’d say is the front reminds me of the Cruze, but while the design similarity is good, it looks like it’s pretending to be a big car in the front…

• JonLing on Sep 13, 2010 at 3:30 pm

The look doesn’t attract me. For me, the most beautiful Aveo is still the one which was designed by ItalDesign. It’s the first generation pre-facelifted version I guess. I think everything looked way more cohesive than the versions come after that, including this new look.

• looks like baby scirocco in the front…..@.@
    anybody feel the same like me?

• eh i thought segment c and above only can apply 5 lug?

• shazwan shukor on Sep 20, 2010 at 2:17 am

euwwww… kinda looks ugly to mee..previous design looks way better.

• victor on Sep 21, 2010 at 8:35 am

You’ve got to be kidding me. I hate it. They took a fantastic looking concept Aveo RS and completely uglified it.

It looks like they changed it just for change sake. And they did it WRONG!

• Geoffrey on May 20, 2014 at 5:19 pm

The movement is the heart, or engine, of any watch. The crown in fake Frank Muller watches does not have engravings on them while one shall find an engraved crown in any replica wristwatch. The purpose of fitting a filter to it is the fact that while drinking, water undergoes a filtering process and is then passed to the sipper.