Suzuki SX4 steps into the dark side for UK special edition

The Suzuki SX4 is a nice urban runabout that has done pretty well in the Klang Valley since its launch in 2007. Its funky pseudo SUV looks attracts those who are adventurous enough to look beyond the usual Japanese B-segment sedan and those who like the Swift but find it too small. Being an affordable CBU from Japan car with good agility and a stylish cabin helps too.

There are quite a few white examples running around, but here’s how an SX4 will look like in an all black scheme. This is a Special Edition for the UK market badged SZ-L. To contrast the black, the roof rails, front grille, alloy wheels and front and rear skid plates are in Gunmetal. Less cuddly and more sinister (slightly). Inside, there’s a new Alcantara trim in light grey while the leather steering gets Gunmetal stitching. No image of the cabin released though.

The SZ-L comes with a 118 hp 1.6-litre Euro 5 engine with manual transmission. Suzuki claims 0-100 km/h in 10.7 seconds and 16.1 km/l combined fuel economy for their facelifted Euro spec SX4. Our market gets the pre-facelift model with a 110 hp/150 Nm M16A engine and a 4-speed auto. It’s priced at RM89,988 OTR with insurance.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• shawal on Sep 17, 2010 at 4:23 am

slow news day….

• Chris on Sep 17, 2010 at 10:51 am

Why is it that we always get the auto version only? Or the sales figure really is that big a difference that they deemed that it’s not feasible to bring in manual stick shift cars anymore?

I can’t decide whether I should blame the traffic jam or blame all those “duit kopi” license…

• The Loner on Sep 19, 2010 at 9:17 pm

Frankly speaking, here wants to follow US and Japan. Those distributors will always says manual is not feasible due to “low demand”.

If you ask more they will say extreme negative things to you. I have been facing these from these people before.

• nabill on Sep 17, 2010 at 10:58 am

i tink bcos most eurpopeans are jus obbssesed with fuel consumption and co2 levels , so a manual obviously gives beter fuel returns , UK jams are even worse than here somore….

• feisal on Sep 17, 2010 at 3:37 pm

That’s the result of a higher fuel price, VAT and fuel tax. People there are more concious of their fuel consumptions.

• BSLee on Sep 18, 2010 at 9:06 am

But if you are staying outside cities, it should be ok…petrol is expensive remember.

• The Loner on Sep 19, 2010 at 9:18 pm

Remember one thing, manual transmission gearbox has the cheapest maintenance cost among automatic transmission and CVT gearboxes.