Lamborghini Aventador revealed: 700 hp V12, rich with CF

The Lamborghini Aventador LP 700-4 has been revealed. This Murciélago successor is set to be the new benchmark in the supercar world thanks to a new engine and gearbox combo and innovative carbon fibre monocoque construction. If you’re wondering, Aventador was the name of a bull that entered into battle in October 1993 at the Saragossa Arena, earning the ‘Trofeo de la Peña La Madroñera’ for its outstanding courage.

What’s under the dramatic skin of the Aventador is outstanding as well. There’s a completely new engine that’s ‘extremely powerful and high-revving’ but compact and lightweight at 235 kg. The 6.5-litre V12 pushes out 700 horses at 8,250 rpm, while maximum torque is 690 Nm at 5,500 rpm. Lambo says that the torque curve is ‘extremely well-rounded’ with ‘bull-like pulling power in every situation’. Acoustics is of course a main selling point as well.

Its partner in crime is the new 7-speed ISR transmission, designed for “the world’s most emotional gearshift feel”. Shift times for this single clutch ‘box are quick – 40% faster than the Gallardo’s e.gear and almost 50% less than a dual-clutch unit, says Lambo – thanks to the Independent Shifting Rod. Apparently, ISR has smaller dimensions than a manual gearbox. We’ve covered this new V12 and ISR transmission before – click here to read more.

Power is laid down on the tarmac via permanent all-wheel drive. A self-blocking rear differential together with a front differential electronically controlled by ESP contribute to dynamic handling. The Drive Select Mode System lets the driver choose vehicle characteristics (engine, transmission, differential, steering and dynamic control) from three settings – Strada (road), Sport and Corsa (track). Pushrod spring and damper suspension inspired by F1 and carbon ceramic brakes are in each corner.

The Aventador has a full monocoque made from carbon fibre, meaning that the entire occupant cell, with tub and roof, is one single physical component. This benefits rigidity, handling and safety. The entire CF monocoque weighs only 147.5 kg. Together with the front and rear aluminium frames, it weighs only 229.5 kg and torsional stiffness is an amazing 35,000 Nm per degree.

With all these weight trimming, Lambo’s new hero tips the scales at only 1,575 kg, which is really impressive. So with 700 horses pulling the weight of a Camry 2.0 plus me in it, 0-100 km/h acceleration is done in just 2.9 seconds. Push on and you’ll reach 350 km/h. Lambo points out that while performance and power is up by 8%, fuel consumption and CO2 emissions are down by around 20% from the Murciélago.

The 4.78 m long, 2.26 m wide and 1.136 m tall (or rather short) Aventador continues the tradition introduced by the Countach by having upward opening doors. For more flash, opt for the transparent engine bonnet to show off that work of art, which we bet most buyers will.

The cabin is dominated by that high and wide centre tunnel, which has a red switch cover to enclose the start button. Switch aside, it looks very Audi. The instruments are presented on a TFT-LCD screen, while a second screen is dedicated to the standard-fit multimedia and navigation system. The cockpit looks quite technical for a Lamborghini.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1998]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tokmoh on Mar 01, 2011 at 12:28 pm

Someone could told me that is a blend copy of latest Lotus concept car.

Proton please sue VW for our copyright!

• scoobylution on Mar 01, 2011 at 2:08 pm

before this vw copy emas..now they copy lotus..vw looks like have a big crush on proton and lotus

• Razor on Mar 01, 2011 at 2:11 pm

plz laa to design something production kena ada concept beforehand and concept are design for years.. wayyyy before lotus intro us the 5 models last year..

• Razor on Mar 01, 2011 at 2:45 pm

and the 5 lotus doesnt even have a REAL interior yet.. most of the pics u saw when released last year were RENDERINGS. STILL FAR away from production..so far away..if it even makes into production.

As i said, the overambitious Dany Bahar will bankrupt Lotus and proton with it, I will laugh my ass off when that day comes

• scoobylution on Mar 01, 2011 at 3:13 pm

how you can predict the future? use fortune teller ah?

• Razor on Mar 02, 2011 at 12:19 am

using logical and common sense. Have u read international news about dany bahar? Professional elsewhere critics his foolish overambitious move with lotus

• Tok bomoh,

Could you please do NOT TAINT this Italian masterpiece (and the thread) with Tanjung Malim 1980’s milo technology.

• comrade on Mar 01, 2011 at 8:08 pm

this bull for a very successful man….lotus is a ‘poor man’ lambo…

• Seriously on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:50 pm

Stealing designs has been around for ages. It’s nothing new. Get over it.

• Aventador vs Huayra…..

Bring it on! :)

• normal_user on Mar 01, 2011 at 12:35 pm

One word. Wow.
    *speechless*

• tyang on Mar 01, 2011 at 12:39 pm

Fuhhh *sweats*

• AhBeng on Mar 01, 2011 at 12:41 pm

is awesome in all angle la! but the aircond vent really a bit sad la..

• Jared on Mar 01, 2011 at 12:44 pm

Speechless! Bull-Like! 2.9 seconds to reach 100km/h… even our EVO10 cant smell the bulls arse! LOL

• Though it may look a little like reventon, but it’s still a beast… and welcome back red… the bull is seeing red again…

• clutch basah on Mar 01, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Wow! that is pornography

• CamPor on Mar 01, 2011 at 12:51 pm

wow…wonderfull…

• Nizam80 on Mar 01, 2011 at 12:55 pm

Everything about this car is breathtaking. But, the air-con vents look a bit conventional/tame, don’t you think? Just my opinion.

• This is what we call BIG BOY TOY… Masculine, Sharp, and Modern Design…fuh~~~~

• waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah….

• MCdog on Mar 01, 2011 at 12:57 pm

hai…MYR fast fast appreciate please!

• moha3774 on Mar 01, 2011 at 1:01 pm

wow…VW group already have the dual-clutch and now ISR…

• MAGNIFICO!!!!!! Everything looks very very good and sexy. The downside is that the design wise is not really new. But who cares, I want one!

• One word… phenomennal.

• dartz on Mar 01, 2011 at 1:28 pm

damn…the bull is going to kill the horse!

• Icecold on Mar 01, 2011 at 2:07 pm

Fuhhh double damn…I always admire Lambo more than the horse. Lambo design and ques are always fascinating, masculine the sense of power from the design it self just mesmerizing. Only the fortunate ones could grab one of this bull.

• Seriously on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:58 pm

the horse is already dead :P

• Mamee on Mar 01, 2011 at 1:35 pm

WOW !!!

• gunigugu on Mar 01, 2011 at 1:47 pm

hmm..no rev counter?

• wajaR3 on Mar 01, 2011 at 4:17 pm

there is a rev counter. u can choose to show it in numbers (in pic GIRI/mins) or put it in main console and hav the speedo in numbers.

• wajaR3 on Mar 01, 2011 at 4:18 pm

see pic is shows GIRI/MINs~

• drMpower on Mar 01, 2011 at 1:47 pm

i guess everybody at Sant’ Agata was very busy with the exterior
    and the engine part which gets massive power output
    that they totally forgot about the air con vents
    they easily look like coming straight from any of the British Leyland models

is this not the one with the new carbo-tanium stuff?

• conselfa on Mar 02, 2011 at 12:51 am

who cares bro….there are hundred things in this car to be admired, an aircond vent design did not turn us down. hahaha

• the front air intakes still same as previous models…wish they could have done some ‘facelift’

• venven81 on Mar 01, 2011 at 1:53 pm

i could stare at the side profile for hours! damn! freaking stunning. is it in production already?

• shawal on Mar 01, 2011 at 2:03 pm

…a worthy replacement to the Murcielago….
    I can’t wait to hear how it sounds….at 8250rpm!

• qozh moreno on Mar 01, 2011 at 2:13 pm

droolllllll….
    i want one….

• BMW-More Problem on Mar 01, 2011 at 2:20 pm

Why the interior looks close to an LF-A.
    The meter also like LF-A

Hmmmm

• carkrazy on Mar 01, 2011 at 3:21 pm

Except the tach in this Lambo doesn’t seem motorised and move side to side like in the LF-A, I don’t think.

• Lamborghini fan on Mar 01, 2011 at 3:08 pm

this got murcielago bat wings or not?

• libralcl on Mar 01, 2011 at 3:16 pm

This is sick……but kinda Reventon alike.

• johndol on Mar 01, 2011 at 3:23 pm

now this is a MASTERPIECE!!!

• Edward on Mar 01, 2011 at 4:15 pm

I like that they took the reventon design, mix a bit of gallardo in it, added a 700hp engine and more colour choices than the reventon. Essentially, thus us the best lambo in looks and statistics ever for me, simply AWESOME!!

Interior looks luxurious, although not “lambo” enough :) i think that this is one worthy replacer of the murc, looks more bad-ass and confident. Can’t wait to see the reviews about it, especially top gear’s!

• amonrei on Mar 01, 2011 at 4:53 pm

That’s just pure poster material. Plus sex. :O

• gaman on Mar 01, 2011 at 5:06 pm

i’ll swap my gf for that!

• Meena on Mar 01, 2011 at 5:12 pm

Exteriors are superb!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• startrek on Mar 01, 2011 at 7:12 pm

you’re a BEAUTYYYYYY!!!! super sharp side view!!!

*but doesnt really look all new to me….hmmm

• Lem0n on Mar 01, 2011 at 7:25 pm

I didn’t see any gear knob…. Is it like Aston Martin using switch/buttons to change gear (to park or reverse)? Or only use the flappy paddle gearbox will do?

• BeemerFreak on Mar 01, 2011 at 8:17 pm

previous semi-auto lambos also no gear stick. Both Gallardo and Murcielago did not have them

• Carl Wong on Mar 01, 2011 at 7:48 pm

THE MONSTER!!!

• brianjgtc on Mar 01, 2011 at 8:58 pm

Mr Stefan Winkelman has made this success, this lambo you cannot say this is vw copy from lotus or proton…is actually has a styling cue based on sesto elemento and reventon…that is the design study look for this Aventador…

• It does looks like a bird from front end…..parrot perhaps….lol….

• very Reventonish!

• skiborne on Mar 01, 2011 at 11:10 pm

that knob on centre console looks like it belonged to Audi, the latter owns Lambo right?

• Siggy on Mar 01, 2011 at 11:43 pm

Porn on wheels ;)

• Who’s know VW copy Proton yea?since Proton is not famous as VW in America,Europe,China and India…if you ask 10 billion of them i think only one of them could answer u haha

• Seriously on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:00 pm

Anyone notice the Aventador sitting on a rock in the middle of the ocean in the video? HAHA hilarious… overly dramatic.

• Fuyiopo on Mar 11, 2011 at 7:37 am

Lamborghini just never fails to impress me!

• go die la who claim that new lambo copycat from proton stupid lotus company..moron