2012 Lexus GS prototype spotted testing on the ‘Ring

It’s about time for Lexus’ E-Class and 5-Series fighter to be updated, and we’ve already seen the future of the Lexus GS in the form of the recently showcased Lexus LF-Gh hybrid concept.

Now we see the production version being tested on the mother of all test grounds – the Nurburgring. The next generation GS is still very heavily disguised but we can see similarities to the LF-Gh hybrid concept preview car, such as the horizontal LED daytime running lights integrated into the lower edge of the headlamps.

There’s also not much to be seen at the rear but we get to see bait of the LED tail lamps lighting up here while the car is braking.

The current GS has a 2,850mm wheelbase, and this is expected to be retained with the new generation car. The new car will supposedly be slightly wider though – 1,870mm versus the current generation’s 1,821mm width.

Look after the jump to check out the rest of the spypix along with the previously published image gallery of the LF-Gf hybrid concept.

Spyshots licensed from SB-MEDIEN.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2384]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2144]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 13, 2011 at 7:41 pm

Its DFugly!

• the back side looks great to me…the front and side view..so-so la…

btw must cost a fortune..kaching$$$

• freeze on Jul 13, 2011 at 7:47 pm

I thought this was a Hyundai.

• 110ss on Jul 13, 2011 at 8:37 pm

my eye got problem?? i feel it’s rear so similar to hyundai fluidic design & front grille is so Audi big mouth…

• Kambing Gurun on Jul 13, 2011 at 8:42 pm

Ugly front grille

• jl@ipl on Jul 22, 2011 at 6:55 pm

Agree!

The front grill look like the “predator” having constipation!

• 2nd pic.macam saga FL wif day time running LED

i expect my comment to be thumbed down now

• I sapot u.. I did got the feeling of Proton Saga for the front.

It’s like some gals u see on street, the backside “wahhhhh nice!”, when turn around.. vomit…

I expect my comment to be thumbed down as well. XD

• looks like saga because of the cover la guys..see properly before comment lol

• Absolute Beauty, Sonata & Optima can bit the dust.
    I believe the actual car will looks even better than the artist illustration.
    Lauch it fast before those korean low life try to copy again.

• Paul Tan on Jul 13, 2011 at 9:45 pm

What an interesting comparison.

It had better considering the GS is a 300k-400k car while sonata and optima are 140k-180k

• kulkul on Jul 13, 2011 at 9:37 pm

persona R should be like this. wake up proton!

• Jimmy on Jul 13, 2011 at 9:59 pm

Oh no, it is ugly.
    Trying hard looking for identity.

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on Jul 13, 2011 at 10:53 pm

nice….

• mfahd_88 on Jul 13, 2011 at 11:11 pm

hey, i figured it out the meaning of LF-Gh
    Lexus FuGly-Hideous

• umpgambang on Jul 13, 2011 at 11:15 pm

The Spyshot’s car shape does not looks as good as the concept. Looks like Lexus find hard to produce as the concept’s complicated shape. May bring bigger drawback when more spy pic is out soon.

• Paul Tan on Jul 14, 2011 at 12:13 am

Lexus normally tones down the production version significantly, like the futuristic concept hatchback that eventually became the Lexus CT 200h.

• Carl Wong on Jul 14, 2011 at 12:14 am

Beautiful.

• T4VR-Ralph on Jul 14, 2011 at 12:20 am

nice car, like it
    but
    James May is not gonna like it tho..

• looks like e60 to me
    i prefer they use the same old design cue
    it’s ok already, no need to change it

• Melon on Jul 14, 2011 at 6:21 am

Anyone realised that there is no side mirrors on the concept pictures? But the test car has the side mirrors on.

• xavier lert on Jul 14, 2011 at 8:10 am

wow no need side mirror…

• turbojin on Jul 14, 2011 at 9:08 am

yup..it looks the outgoing BMW E60..

• turbojin on Jul 14, 2011 at 9:16 am

hmmm..its looks like outgoing BMW E60,
    so,BMW, Audi, Mercedes, watchout for kick on ass from Lexus…kudos Japanese!

* Proton – copy and paste ( Proton Inspira )

* Lexus – copy and modified..

• Nicky on Jul 14, 2011 at 12:01 pm

Hey, proton modified Lancer’s cooling system. and FYI, copy is like china cars, rebadge is what Proton (Inspira), Peugeot (4007), Citroen (C-Crosser), Subaru (Justy) and some other big names do. :)

• Ash Menon on Jul 14, 2011 at 10:24 am

I think they realised what an extremely acquired taste the concept car would be, and thus toned it down for production.

• Same wheel base should be a very clear sign of same platform. Just normal Toyota. Squeeze every drop of milk out of the coconut! Look at current Corolla, then Passo/Boon/Myvi, and I bet the upcoming Camry, etc, all based on outgoing model. Cost saving during the hardship Toyota?

• zaff1984 on Jul 14, 2011 at 11:27 am

I never like current GS design… but this one I still dont know to like it or not, the front it looks weird… rear look good… the side profile looks like previous 5-series…

• Nicky on Jul 14, 2011 at 12:05 pm

The rear reminds me of Hyundai Sonata, the front resembles the FT-86. The side indicated me a sense of E60, The front light regain my memories of Audi. Which part is Lexus again? Ouh yah! the emblems. :D

• Expatriate VN on Jul 14, 2011 at 12:17 pm

Ugly grill design! Look like “big mouth” lori sampah ready to receive rubbish.

• Offcoz i know Lexus is BMW range.
    Then again Why Not ! They r people comparing Kia Sportage with Audi Q5 & Peugeot RCZ with Pagani Zonda .
    How to made people notice there r lot’s of Garbage arround ? Answer : Make a bigger one, so everybody noticed, n stop littering !
    Unless is ??????? ??????!

• front looks like megatron when he transform to that ugly garbage truck…hahah

• James May was right about prototypes testing at the Nurburgring in a recent episode of Top Gear.

Why bother about handling and lap times that would just end up making the car stiffer and uncomfy on real roads, especially for a luxury Lexus sedan like this?

Just pray that they could make it handle a bit better without compromising the ride quality.

• kamaji on Jul 14, 2011 at 5:02 pm

cant really imagine a good car can hv such a bad look.

• Paul, Futuristic design may not be practical in real life usage or even meeting safety regulation.
    But i think CT 200h is still a gorgeous car.
    Nothing for the Ying Yang Flag country can come close.

• Jonathan Lim on Jul 14, 2011 at 6:00 pm

Wah! E60 5 Series alike! From Japan…

• I hate the front grille. The side looks plain. It should have more lines. The rear looks alright even though it reminds me of Audi.

• aiman on Jul 14, 2011 at 7:09 pm

when arts meet technology

• modesto_hann on Jul 14, 2011 at 9:29 pm

the output from the essence extracted from both previous version of Audi A4 and BMW 5 series E60. recycling is good, but not in car design. or has lexus just moved to China?

• focus tdci on Jul 15, 2011 at 1:41 am

if a cylon were a car, this is how it would look like. By your command!

• Super White on Jul 15, 2011 at 4:25 pm

“Lexus’ E-Class and 5-Series”

Shouldn’t it be Mercedes E-Class?

• It’s too much and over look!

• LEXUS == THE KING OF COPY CAT OF EUROPEAN CARS TECHNOLOGY”

BETTER TO BUY EUROPEAN THIS JAPANESE CRAPPY AND FUGLY

FURTHERMORE ANY IMPORTS FROM JAPAN NOWADAYS HAD A URANIUM RADIATION PROBLEM CAUSE BY FUKUSHIMA PLANT LEAKAGE SUCH THAT THIS RADIATION SHALL ONLY HAS HALF THE RADIATION COUNT IN 25 YEARS OR MORE YEARS LATER IF LEFT UNDETECTED OR CONTROLLED .

AVOID !!!

• Charlotte on Jul 25, 2011 at 11:59 am

hi hi…just got my car yesterday, cbu from Japan. Can I do radiation test in malaysia?