New Toyota Camry exposed by Canadian buyer’s guide!

The new Toyota Camry will be officially launched simultaneously in four locations across the US on August 23, but it has already been exposed, thanks to a French language Canadian car buyer’s guide. The mag scans reveal familiar evolutionary design and a redesigned dashboard. Info gained from the mag are as follows:

The North American Camry starts with a 2.5-litre four-cylinder with 171 PS and 226 Nm of torque, good for 0-100 km/h in 9.8 seconds, before reaching a top speed of 190 km/h.

A step up is the Hybrid, which sees an electric motor paired to a 2.4-litre petrol engine. The combined output is 190 PS and 270 Nm. 0-100 km/h in done in 8.9 seconds and top speed is 200 clicks. The headline fuel consumption figure is 5.7 litres per 100 km.

There has to be a big V6, and its a 3.5-litre unit with 272 PS and 335 Nm of torque. This range topper does the century sprint in just 7.2 seconds and has a top speed of 220 km/h. There will be three trim levels – LE, SE and XLE.

The full scan of the double page spread is after the jump, as well as an official Toyota teaser of the rear end, which wasn’t shown in the mag. Might be useful if you can read French!

Click to enlarge image

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• cam.shaft on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:37 am

everything looks normal…

//cam.shaft

• sagatron on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:51 am

should rename it as toyota civic!!!!hoyeahhhhh…

• GNNBACCB on Aug 12, 2011 at 4:07 pm

toyota enlarged new honda civic??? bloody cibai!!!

• OMG…Current H.Civic looked nicer than this. The interior look dull…really boring..macam new Myvi interior…

• looking-good on Aug 12, 2011 at 5:26 pm

oh my oh my japanese..

the new civic and now this camry…

r they really dun give a shit about the Korean or they r just out of juice??

• Lolx i don know wat is this…Forte ke?Civic ke?Altis ke or even the Passat CC to mix together!!!so Japanese do you guys have any idea?seriously btw 90’s and 2000 Honda and Toyota are so beautiful but now they just looks like lousy alien!

• first..
    and it looks like a honda

• Marco on Aug 17, 2011 at 4:21 pm

looks like a honda? Maybe it will be called toyota camry accord?

• Cheng on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:54 am

too sporty for the uncles (potential buyers)… but it might be the replacement for the latest civic. cheers.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:55 am

Bland design! Look like shrink Altis.

• Hafidz Moro on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:55 am

woooo! that interior looks cool and packs with gadgets..the front face, especially that headlamp and grille looks really Civic..and the rear lamp too over pronounce..maybe these are meant for North American market? :)

• cool ? confirm this fella uncle. Faster go to your nearest toyota showroom !

• rapidshifter on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:56 am

looks more refine and sleek… malaysian version will start at 2.0 i reckon

• taboogen on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:56 am

hermm do i see FD2 mugen front end

• effectz on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:56 am

huh.. this is bigger Altis~

• new camry? i saw a Forte 0.o

• amirad on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:01 am

sigh! now the new camry looks like a bigger version of current altis 2.0. Interior looks sporty though.

• uncle chong on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:06 am

Stupid & weird design by Toyota…
    still can’t beat Korean design….
    From now on…i will only buy korean product…bye2 Japang…

• uncle chong, i think this car suits your uncle status la. Don’t try to act young. ok uncle ?

• But this uncle can’t afford Camry,no choice lo… have to stick with cheap korean car.

• Phillip Zak on Aug 13, 2011 at 12:31 am

At 143k for the Sonata ..compared to the camry .. korean cars ain’t cheap anymore…

• japan or korea….all made in china

• g4eights on Aug 13, 2011 at 3:22 pm

this remind me of Armageddon when the russian guy trying to fix the equipment,
        Lev Andropov: It’s stuck, yes?
        Watts: Back off! You don’t know the components!
        Lev Andropov: [annoyed] Components. American components, Russian Components, ALL MADE IN TAIWAN!

• torsionbeans on Aug 12, 2011 at 2:00 pm

i rather buy a second hand BMUU…

• Can’t afford japanese car just say so la uncle…..too bad you can’t afford this uncle car..

• For those ppl who commented that the next Civic is similar to a larger version of the current City on the other thread, well it looks like Toyota is doing the same on the next Altis; Ooops ! I mean Camry. Well don’t be too sad, maybe we can look forward to the next Accord & Teana.

• Jimmy on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:11 am

Super………UGLY.
    Who designed the exterior and interior? Resign lah you.

• TallPan on Aug 12, 2011 at 2:56 pm

lol looks like 10 uncles were deeply offended by your comment and td-ed u

i hav to agree with all comments… even the T fanboys are quiet haha…. can’t blame them, what a complete joke, this design!

don’t know which one is a bigger letdown, this toyota Camry (which will surely hav more ‘uncle’ finishings/add-ons for asian market), or the new honda Civic -.-

• A step up is the Hybrid, which sees an electric motor paired to a 2.4-litre petrol engine. The combined output is 190 PS and 270 Nm. 0-100 km/h in done in 8.9 seconds and top speed is 200 clicks. The headline fuel consumption figure is 5.7 litres per 100 km.

——————————————————————————————————————–

a 520D generates more torque and better FC….no wonder they (aurion is the euro camry) cannot beat those euro torquey but frugal exec diesel sedan in europe (mondeo tdci, 508 hdi, beemer, seat tdi, passat tdi)

• pls do check your fact !!! LOL …
      aurion is a camry sold in AUSTRALIA??
      no camry is sold in Europe !
      D segment of toyota at europe is AVENSIS!!!

• Kudos! No complain.. Too bad its not in same sagment as civic

• loveit on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:13 am

yawn…nothing interesting

• hahaha design lebih kurg macam honda accord lama euro version…

• dick10 on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:25 am

OMG…looks like an elongated dugong

• viknesh on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:30 am

If Honda malaysia could bring in the Euro Accord, i could say bye bye to this new Camry. The Euro Accord looks way much nicer than the malaysian accord.
    Hope Honda malaysia is listening this this.

• alldisc on Aug 13, 2011 at 9:23 am

euro accord looks nicer coz it is smaller because to european – space is not everything.

asian market is different, including malaysia. big cars means better image and higher self-esteem. which explains why Honda Malaysia brought in the JDM Honda Accord Inspire to Malaysia instead of the standard Japanese Accord which is similar in size to Camry/Mazda 6/Teana/Sonata

• sorry to interrupt but top speed in 200 clicks, isn’t tat a little long???

• MoFaz on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:17 pm

yeah.. u have to click 200 times :)

accident rate among senior citizen in japan is high. this car is for those uncles, if given more speed many more would accidently accelerate and sleep while driving because of boringness of this car.

• teelim on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:39 am

Seems like Toyota is not following the current trend of downsizing engines and bolting on a turbo/supercharger like what most European car manufacturers are doing.

Not a good sign

• the thing with turbo and supercharging is reliability takes a beating..ugly they might be, but toyota is abt reliabilty and low cost of ownership..plus great build quality..

• alldisc on Aug 13, 2011 at 9:29 am

i believe euro emission requirement is even stricter than japan. thats the reason why manufacturers are going for forced induction.

VW however found that the total cost and challenge of producing turbocharged small engines cars are a little overwhelming and they may revert to engines without turbocharger in the next generation polo/golf and other models in their stable (audi, skoda, seat) except for perhaps, high performance cars or turbodiesel engines.

• Donkey Kong on Aug 13, 2011 at 10:29 pm

Toyota? Great build quality??? Heck, a Teana easily makes the Camry feel like a cheap third-world trash!

• Great build quality? Uncle?

• One word UGLY and nothing to shout about . Is Toyota sure that this is the 2012 Camry or an outdated design with old engine ?.This looks more like an Altis with an interior of a Honda City. Seriously Toyota and other Japanese automaker is out in the automobile industries list !!. 2.5 ? 2.4 ? 3.5 ? Rubbish big capacity engine with high fuel consumption !!, Come on downsides the engine an equipped it with a turbo charger !!

• Honda Power on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:49 am

OMG! Now Toyota has copied Honda’s design. The new Camry’s headlights is copied from the present generation Honda Civic and part of its tail lights is inspired by the present Honda Accord’s tail lights. Has Toyota run out of design ideas until it has to take design cues from its arch rival, the mighty Honda? Honda The Power Of Dreams. Please dream on Toyota!

• vincent on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:52 am

So are we still getting the 4 speeder junk or Toyota just moved up to 5 speeder when the rest are at least a 6 speeder?
    Guess there are uncles that will still going for Camry, thinking that Toyota is the best car in the world… hahhha. I believe these uncles are getting less and less because Malaysians started to realize they are paying too much for a overpriced car.

• insperut on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:58 am

design is OK
    but korean is doing BETTER la

• F.O.C on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:58 am

Dear readers, this is American Camry and is differ from our local Camry. Is like our current Camry is bulky while American is “a bit” sporty. So until we see our Australian Aurion then only we know how the design! Anyway I look at this American Camry like “Honey I think I shrink my Lexus” hehe…..

• blue-traveler on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:02 pm

from a far, it really looks like civic. Just wondering when will a hybrid ver. of camry come to malaysia market.

• Agreed, looks like a bigger version of Altis.

Too sporty for the likes of uncles who made the biggest share of current Camry owners.

• toyota use conservative design u all say this is for uncles, boring etc

now they change to sporty design u all say this is not suitable for uncles, bigger version of altis

• jalan54 on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:30 pm

Is still ugly, what happen to the designer in Japan? If they can’t do a better design, hire other people lar. Oh, I forgot, Japanse cannot fire their employee, maybe that is the reason why.

Engine vise, 2.4 hybrid make more sense, also, wonder why they still don’t want to turbo charge or super charge it since a lot of auto makers moving toward this direction. Yeah, I forgot again, Japanese don’t like to follow… :P

• How come so much of anti-Toyota comments in this blog for a Toyota car.
    The big portion of potential buyers for Camry are not in this blog. By giving a lousy and immaterial comments, its not going to affect the bottom line of Toyota profits.
    If you are happy with Korean products, its ok, no need to “hentam” others.
    Each of the person who commented here will one day become an uncle. Then what is wrong with a car to cater for the uncles.
    Try to own a Camry first before giving a comment.

I am sure many of the commentors here don’t even own a Hyundai/Kia but just by looking at the outlook of the car….you are giving an impression that Camry is lousy.

Commentors like Honda Power,vincent,Well,dick10……own a Camry first before you comment or just shut the f*** off.

• i bet a lot of those used to be toyota/honda fanboys.now they jump ship to hyundai/kia

in few years time see them go over to china makers

• Unforgiven on Aug 12, 2011 at 1:53 pm

Mostly are Proton level, not easy to get a Camry due to the price in M’sia…

• this is a free speech place, where everyone can make own comments and feeling, but i believe non of them tell Toyota support to F off like u. We just dont like Camry, so whats wrong with it? It will be the same Camry supporter dont like Sonata and they probably asked to wait till u own a sonata? Tell people to F off like like asking people to go back home land, and that is becoz of u such people, that dont accept public criticism or opinion that is the most disappointing one.

• why must own a camry only can comment on camry?
      then paultan.org f**ked already lo.. cuz most of the car in this website i never owned before..

• blue-traveler on Aug 12, 2011 at 2:56 pm

I do own a current 2.4l camry. And used to drive the very 1st gen. Altis. My dad drive the camry now everyday. Like it. My mom love her civic and i love my E. but now waiting for delivery of 523. So I can safely say carmy drive is not bad, even good for city drive or weekend family day. But petrol l/km wise, my current old e-class is better then the current carmy. That a side, so, john; now I do have the right to say, from the pic post here, from afar, it really look like a big civic.

• Jimmy on Aug 12, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Fortunately you didn’t use the word ALL.
      Again, is Camry really that refined, plush and luxurious?
      Come on lah.
      I refuse to buy Camry although I can buy a few, one go.

• vincent on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:14 pm

John: i owned a civic before, my family owned toyota, honda and nissan before, we have moved on to safer conti car. The more i know about cars, the more i felt i was rip off by jap cars, sorry that i won’t buy jap made cars anymore, cuz korean car r as good as jap made these days, just that they are more solid and more sincere with their offerings.

• carlito on Aug 13, 2011 at 5:12 pm

is your fathers name Toyoda? if not, go f**ck yourself.

• I don’t understand why ppl keep referring to toyota camry owners as ‘uncles’, i know ppl as young as 28 years old bought a camry, a 30 year old sold his BMW for a camry. In fact this person test drive teana and accord and went for the camry. I think its the resale value, lower maintenance cost ( compare to a BM) and as long as the brand fetch a better resale value ppl will still go for camry even if they are not happy with the way it looks or gadgets that’s lacking compare to other cars especially the sonata.

• my take is this

if the japanese car kaisha wont buckle up, people will say sayonara. then they’ll say “annyeonghaseyo”

south korean car companies are working really hard to gain the market share (just like how samsung took the helm over sony in the electronics sector in a matter of years)

• Lotus Concepts Production Dream on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:36 pm

Looks better if it follows Lexus GS styling. It feels like a civic or forte upgraded class, not good.

• jolly_idiot on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:37 pm

Downgrading it class? Design seems doesn’t bring the luxury feel as current.

• 2.5L have 179HP for se variant…
    6 speed is standard for camry above 2.5
    and malaysia will be getting 2.5 also !

• I_Want_Your_Nookie on Aug 12, 2011 at 1:08 pm

This is the car for those of u who love the current civic!!!!coz well………..they look,identical

• hahaha…this is a blatant copy of the FD civic’s front!!!!

toy ota oh toy ota!!! have u run out of ideas already? maybe you should hire the much more superior korean or european designers. don’t be stingy!!!

• Ah Beng2 on Aug 12, 2011 at 1:56 pm

OMG….Japanese car count down officially started..(provided other can keep up also)..

• Maserati on Aug 12, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Awesome car!

Korean cars on the rise? Nah,still along way to go .A car with good looks doesnt mean excellent driving pleasure.

Go google Hyundai Avante Vs Honda City ,checkout the review video on youtube.Then you will understand what I mean.Even a so called awesomely designed Avante can lose to the Honda City which is about 2 years old now.

Japanese build cars with passion and soul,Korean build cars with good outlook but lack and good driving pleasure.

So people,pls dont be fooled by good looks.Doesnt mean a hot girl will have good attitude right? You guys got so much to learn..haih

• Fuyoo.. u are hardcore japs fan. maybe u are Japanese or maybe al least u got japs dna in your blood. or just maybe.. dna from bastard japs who raped your grandmother at ww2.
      Happy Merdeka Malaysian. GTH Japs… History still remains.. and still hurts….

• Phillip Zak on Aug 13, 2011 at 12:43 am

ugleeee wife ?

• RedBeanBun on Aug 13, 2011 at 1:51 am

you want to ride a hot girl or a girl with attitude? :)

• David D on Aug 13, 2011 at 2:41 pm

Absolute bullshit. Just because i drive a Korean car, means i’m an uneducated person? Gosh Maserati, grow up, and not be stuck in the world of ‘anti-Korean’ mentality. FYI, i may be dissappointed with the new Camry’s design, but at least, the interior is something way more upmarket, something the Camry should’ve been from the XV40 version. Mind you, i have an Innova at home, and it’s fits what it sets out to do:- space at it’s very best.

Different cars, different motives, all great. That’s what i feel for all cars out there.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 12, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Too many poor bashers out there, how many of them can afford the car?

• Chances are non of them. Most probably they can only afford a korean junk.

• kamaji on Aug 12, 2011 at 5:35 pm

I just wonder what exactly is your point….whether can only afford kapcai or S-class hv equal rights in giving comment.

• Most of the bashers are korean car salesman, coz who the hell would hate jap car & its user so much. It doesnt matter korean car or jap car, 1 thing I seriously dont like is korean car salesman, keep bashing jap car and its user… Dont forget, they could be ur future customer… low moral value, shame on u korean car salesman…

• David D on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:36 pm

Excuse me? I own a Korean car, and i’m a restaurant manager, so your comments are simple sweeping. The reason why i bought a Korean car was because of the value for every single ringgit i’m paying for it, and not because of a bloody badge. I know, i could’ve afforded a Vios, but, it’s alot more expensive compared to what i’m driving now.

Shame on you, for coming to such a sweeping conclusion!! Now eat your words!!

• Gajen on Aug 13, 2011 at 1:59 am

Value for every single ringgit…….I really wish I could believe you buddy. I really do. I own both jap and korean cars, and I absolutely doubt your words.

• Marco on Aug 17, 2011 at 4:25 pm

what are your service/spare sparts expenditures like? figures would really help….

• korean car salesman on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:11 pm

Our boss ask us to hantam T/H kao kao, if not our bonus will be cut, so you tell us what to do lah.
        Sincerely,
        korean car salesman

• TallPan on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:46 pm

what bs u talking about, salesman, morals, shame, who can afford car this car?
        it’s very plain to see…

if the new jap car looks ugly, ppl will surely say the car looks ugly… (which, at the moment, most jap cars are, unfortunately)
        if the new jap car looks nice, ppl will surely say it’s nice… (too bad there are none, at the moment)

if the new korean car looks nice, ppl will say the car looks nice… (which, at the moment, is very common)
        if the new korean car looks ugly, ppl will say the car looks ugly… (but srsly tell me if there’s an ugly korean car newly launched here pls)

• bloody arrogant bastard!!

who are you to say that the poor have to right to comment?

go back and ask your parents to teach you some manners 1st b4 coming back here boy! you are not welcomed here!!!

you are probably rich by using corrupted ways or by sucking out of your parents bank account…..as the hardworking rich that i know never looks down on the poor.

• MAZDA6 on Aug 13, 2011 at 12:25 pm

I can AFFORD this crap but doesn’t mean i’m buying this SHIT

• OMG…look like altis shape…T design going backward…so sad…

• Razor on Aug 12, 2011 at 2:39 pm

Hey i kinda like the design..if it were a C-Segment competing with Civic,Forte and the likes..
    but this is a camry for god sake..Its looks too sportish for the target market? Or perhaps toyota is aiming for more younger market… IF this was an Altis replacement i would be really happy. But i need to see the car in real life to do it justice.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 12, 2011 at 2:49 pm

A step up is the Hybrid, which sees an electric motor paired to a 2.4-litre petrol engine. The combined output is 190 PS and 270 Nm. 0-100 km/h in done in 8.9 seconds and top speed is 200 clicks. The headline fuel consumption figure is 5.7 litres per 100 km.

———————————

I like and can afford Camry. But do Malaysia will get the above Hybrid specs, come with no excise & import tax like Honda Insight. With such scenario, this Camry price may be below RM 150K, which is a good bargain.

With fuel consumption at 5.7 itres x RM 1.90 = RM 10.83/100 km, it is just around 11 sen per km, better fuel consumption than MyVi!

Ole, ole …….. crap whatever the sore loser poor bashers as they like, but the “Uncles” out there get to enjoy this car both in comfort, safety, latest tech and save fuel $$$$$$$.

• shawal on Aug 12, 2011 at 2:52 pm

basicly , they took the old model’s clay and sharpened the edges with sand paper…
    You can’t expect much when your tools are all over the pacific ocean….

• viknesh on Aug 12, 2011 at 3:14 pm

No matter what is said and done. This model will sell like hot cake or shall i say “kacang panas”

• ben yap on Aug 12, 2011 at 3:16 pm

top speed too low for 2.4 and 2.5 and even the 3.5.

i was looking at a much better numbers.

• preisleistungsverhaelnis on Aug 13, 2011 at 6:20 am

this isn’t sportscar or supercar and doesn’t developed to be one. If it’s TRD version then yes, it is indeed too slow. some more most highways in the world put a speed limit around 110 and 130 km/h

• ahlong on Aug 12, 2011 at 3:28 pm

Really sad to see this….my 16 years of driving….i owned 6 Hondas car, 3 civic, 3 accord, i tried Toyota Camry in 2008 and i like to say this model is great(Cos it is Toyota Aurion in Australia), but bcos of some minor problems, i change to accord again. With the current competition with Korean cars, i think Japan car designer is sleeping. With the current design and coming Toyota Camry design, how can u compete with Korean car!!! The Hyundai Sonata now is so popular, and the coming KIA optima…wow…i like it so so much. But bcos it is a Korea brand thats hold me back. Still Japanese car design really disappoint alot of Japs car lovers with the stupid, old fashion, lousy power… WAKE UP HONDA AND TOYOTA!!!! I am changing car every 2-3 years, but this time really borther me, i will not consider coming Camry, and hoping for future Accord will be better. Orelse, KIA optima is really great in terms of all aspect except the brand.

• hanifhamzah on Aug 12, 2011 at 3:28 pm

looks a bit smaller than the current version…

• Rave gill on Aug 12, 2011 at 3:31 pm

THIS LOOK SUPER UGLY !!!!!! I RATHER BUY THE CURRENT ACCORD THAN THIS BECAUSE IT LOOKS BETTER >

• Sportier Camry. More buyer will embrace this sedan if Toyota can offer similar traits of Asianized Camry.

• zaff1984 on Aug 12, 2011 at 3:43 pm

I look it more like bigger Altis instead of Civic. Im sure I will look good on real world compared to look in magazine… edgy rear light… i think i like it.

• VOLVO LOVER on Aug 12, 2011 at 3:49 pm

buy bmw better

• Luckly apple is not making cars, else there will be more law case

• Expatriate VN on Aug 13, 2011 at 9:25 am

Luckily Proton is not making computers, else Bodohland will force Apple to sell IPad2 starting from RM 4,500 for entry level.

• Esbedon Esbebet on Aug 12, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Ok this is might be the USA Camry. But anyway, to comment on the design, I don’t know.. where’s the focal point? I mean, it doesn’t have any interesting let alone outstanding angle to view. All is just too plain. Look at front, nothing much to see, side also the same. It’s like, when someone’s asked to draw a car, it will definitely look like this. It’s a basic car design. Not more, not less = boring.

I just hope Toyota can do wonder for our version of Camry though. If not, then it’s high time for the Koreans! Kudos to them for not afraid in designing fresh new ideas and outstanding cars. Even Proton is doing a good job for their concepts.

• autojohndoe on Aug 12, 2011 at 4:30 pm

FACE-OFF…

New Camry become Civic
    New Civic become Altis…

• Mask Ryder on Aug 12, 2011 at 4:31 pm

Very Lifely & Energetic US Camry.

But i think our Camry will be base on Avalon as we targeting executive market due to hefty tax & duty.

• Kiddo on Aug 12, 2011 at 4:35 pm

I still think that we should keep the comments to ourselves until we see the real car, in real life and our very own Asian Pacific version.

I never really quite liked the current Camry when it was first launched as it looked plain in the official photos but the real car looks quite ok for me.

So yeah, wait for the official reveal.

• REDUAN on Aug 12, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Design is outdated. Nothing interesting. Hyundai Sonata have better design than this. However, its still Toyota. People will buy because it is Toyota.

• malaysian spec camry will be this instead, imo

http://hphotos-snc7.fbcdn.net/287562_10150354387802316_778977315_9828305_5774402_o.jpg

http://hphotos-sjc1.fbcdn.net/286400_10150354387892316_778977315_9828306_3638435_o.jpg

• Scion headlights?

• arcana on Aug 13, 2011 at 12:38 am

that looks like the 1 that asians will most likely receive
      seems to be the tail lamps went backwards to the previous gen camry, the 1 with the E46 copy cat lights.

• tycoon88 on Aug 12, 2011 at 5:13 pm

In the past 5 years, I have owned a Honda, Toyota and now Nissan. Because I travel way more than the average joe (I’m talking abt almost 5000 kms per mth), I need to use a car with the lowest maintenance cost. But sadly this is not found in the Nissan. Spare parts cost are even higher than Honda, and the service interval is 7000 kms on semi-synthetic oil in order to qualify for warranty!

Based on my experience, Toyota has the lowest maintenance btw the 3 brands. Even use semi-synthetic oil, they allow service interval of 10000 kms to qualify for warranty. For Honda, the procedure even more strict. Even if u use Semi-synthetic Oil, they still want u service every 5000 kms to qualify for warranty…oh! & wait for the RM98/= per piece of NGK irridium spark plug kill u when it’s due for a change (x4)!

In short, I will be geting this new camry when it reaches malaysian shores! Nissan maintenance cost, I beh tahan oredi liow!

• vincent on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:24 pm

Tycoon88: dont u know toyota priced is d highest compare to honda n nissan? U hv paid at least a few k more before u send ur car in for maintenance. Ur car will hv d best resale too, cuz u spent more on cash and interest when u purchase ur car,:)

• Kumar on Aug 13, 2011 at 2:08 am

You got to be glad you didnt consider koreans. If you did, you have to sell your car to maintain your car!

• sadasd on Aug 13, 2011 at 7:49 am

u driving vios?

• accord rear lamp style

• awg1031 on Aug 12, 2011 at 5:36 pm

there is too much of Altis look-a-like..the current Camry is way way better..

• Supertram on Aug 12, 2011 at 5:58 pm

Kinda remind me of Accord Euro abit too.. But interrior seem nice.. Camry is slowly pulling away from “uncle” looks .

• Apa nih? Like my Altis… Higher expectations on Honda…. Honda having an off day.

• Looking forward to buy the new CAMRY but after looking at it is a BIG NO NO…..haizzz…LEXUS IS250 here i come!!!!!!!

• Disappointed with the design

• The current Camry is a re-shaped, re-designed, re-sized alternative of the Flagship LS460, as the Camry is the Flagship Sedan from Toyota, bulky, looks large and dominant on the road, vip-style carrier.. As for this NEW camry, it has fallen off the chart!

It does not look dominant, its quite dull, and it has the current Altis design to it.. More of a civic grade car than an accord.

• chris on Aug 12, 2011 at 6:20 pm

new civic?

• ALEXLEE on Aug 12, 2011 at 6:26 pm

OMG…HONDA and Toyota were fucking each other so that this Camry is born…

• price for korean cars are almost the same as the japs. their standard i can say on par with japs & continental. i rather pay rm160k+- for 2.4 sonata than this ugly camry. to japanese car fans, you’re guys are blind. pls dislike me you bunch if toyota freak!!!!

• Kumar on Aug 13, 2011 at 2:04 am

Weird….I still see more camry than sonata on the road. Can please explain?

• korean car salesman on Aug 14, 2011 at 10:29 am

You see more Camry on the road, but everybody see more korean car salesman on the forum…you know why…..because we are very free, sales is low.
        Sincerely,
        korean car salesman

• hmm so you make all these conclusion based on a few pix, without actually seeing the car, test driving it? wow!

• clutch basah on Aug 13, 2011 at 12:30 pm

My company provide a car for my daily ride and it was a brand new Korean. After several months the quality and ride already deteriorates, rattling dashboard and knocking sounds somewhere in the car . If you wanna to spend 160k for that crap go ahead its your money.

• The rear light design look like copy from current honda accord.

• The design is not elegant at all…. its sporty lol~
    the interior wise, meh
    doesnt even have that luxurious look like in the prev gen.

C’mon toyota! this is what you can offer these days?

• ilovecamry on Aug 12, 2011 at 8:53 pm

i own a 2006 2.0e camry. not bad to drive, and pretty easy to maintain. but over some times, car industry changes, with korean made getting better quality, more innovative and price competitive, camry does face a fierce competition from cars of the same segment. true from my heart, i am getting bored with camry, my next car will be sonata….

• dannyl77 on Aug 12, 2011 at 9:08 pm

I think the Design is Not Bad…. if it was Altis replacement or Civic replacement ….
    But Not Camry la…. Mistaken identity ke…. Tak EXecutive Langsung….

• mirror mirror on Aug 12, 2011 at 9:18 pm

There seems to be a general decline in the quality of Japanese cars designs, seriously this deserve a clinical study, their new products can’t stir your emotion anymore.

• Simon Ng on Aug 12, 2011 at 9:41 pm

A lot of comments about “uncle” car. Too bad that I drive a 26 years of Mercedes. Probably my car is older than some of the readers here.

I supposed this make me more uncle than uncle.

Nonetheless, this Camry does look sportier than the previous model. Guess what? It will still sell. Toyota salesman will still get their bonus, the board of directors will be giving each other high five with their fat pay checks. For some forum readers here, will still continue to say it is an uncle car.

I wonder who gets the last laugh.

• Phillip Zak on Aug 13, 2011 at 1:00 am

don’t be too certain .. many people used to think the Jazz was a hit seller and that the new one would also sell… but was rejected by the market for being overly expensive.

• u won’t get the last laugh. coz u r too old, probably u r already dead. dead as an uncle is.

• Simon Sez on Aug 12, 2011 at 9:52 pm

It looks more like a face lifted version. Nothing much to comment, but then again, it will be very popular soon, I would like to see Asian version in real life soon.

• transformer on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:04 pm

wished those engine comes with Direct Injection like VW/Audi TFSI….
    (tired of VVT-i already…. even Dual VVT-i are old tech……)

but i guess T&H will continue to use their current tech for at least one gen before introducing DI….. DI better fuel economy, more power and lesser impact on enviroment too….

• Victor Lee on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:17 pm

civic front, accord back LOL

• Jimmy on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:23 pm

There is really nothing to shout about driving a Camry/Accord/Sonata. We know our own social and financial status. We may not need cars to ‘lift up’ our status or make us ‘look rich’.
    Just think about it:
    1) A drives a Camry bought with 3-year loan and his wife drives a Vios
    2) B bought his Civic with cash equal to his one-month income. (his wife drives another Civic bought with Cash, and he has a Golf as spare car, also bought with cash) — you only see him coming out from a Civic.
    3) C drives a Camry on 9-year loan, his wife drives an Accord on 9-year loan also.
    The most important thing about car is safety feature (proven one, not cheating one), not the fuel consumption la, maintainence fee la, gadgets la.
    We are now commenting on the design and aesthetics of this American Camry, this may help Toyota to relook at the work of his design team. I am sure Toyota would like to hear true sincere comments rather than ‘ampu-bodek’ ones because of hidden agenda. We can critisize or complement, but make sure the comments are sincere, not blind bashing.

• keluangman on Aug 13, 2011 at 12:00 am

Woh…buy cash civic? he must have millions in his kitty. I can think more and better ways to invest 260k than splurge on depreciating asset…

• sadasd on Aug 13, 2011 at 7:48 am

who are u here to lecture us? why would u say we are blind bashing?

you’re a professor in car design or wat?

• alahai on Aug 13, 2011 at 5:11 pm

He was just telling us he can afford buy a car with 3yr loan or just cash buy off…
        nanti pegawai income-tax datang depan pintu,baru tau aaaa…… ntah ntah tak pernah bayar langsung income tax,baru la dia beli CASH….

• Expatriate VN on Aug 13, 2011 at 11:33 am

“We may not need cars to ‘lift up’ our status or make us ‘look rich’.”

Car is one of the symbol of high status in this ever kiasu society. The luxury car like Merz, BMW, highend or D segment car are always perceived as belong well-heels big boy toy.

For those 20s Ah Beng driving Saga or MyVi, I think 50s makcik also tak layan, but if you are uncle 50s driving Merz or BMW or sport car, sexy 20s girl is part of Ferrari sport car “accessory”! You get the point, don’t post crappy comments.

Camry like Accord, Teana, etc is perceived as entry level “luxury” D segment on the Malaysian road.

• this is the american version of camry.. as usual, they always get ugly ass cars… the same goes with the current camry…. jdm version of 2012 camry looks much better than this… looks more like a sporty version of toyota crown….. wait for it…im not a toyota salesman.. i cant even afford the cheapest toyota..haha..

• Honda Power on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:54 pm

Part of thhe new Camry’s dashboard where the air-con vent is located looks like my Honda City i-VTEC’s dashboard. Toyota is really running out of design ideas. This new Camry looks more like a large version of Honda Civic now. New Camry: Front head lamps copied from Honda Civic, part of tail lamps copied from Honda Accord, part of dashboard where the air-con vent is located copied from Honda City. Aaaargh! Aiyo Toyota, now you copy from your arch rival, Honda? Shame on you! Maybe copy is too harsh a word, shall I rephrase that to inspire? Wait a minute, Proton Inspira also got inspiration from Honda Inspire? Pity Honda, looks like many car manufacturers take design cues from its cars. Example: Forte’s front head lamps (inspired by Civic), Chevrolet Cruze’s front ( a bit inspired by Accord) and its tail lights (really a copycat of Civic’s tail lights), Hyundai Sonata’s grey colour front grille (copied City’s front grille right down to its grey colour). I am glad I am driving an original car, not a copycat car!

• BeemerFreak on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:29 pm

Thats personal. It should be written in your diary not here.

• pacifictuna on Aug 13, 2011 at 3:50 am

the 1st generation City is a very lovely car. your optimus faced City is just a average Joe…
      you see them ‘inspired’ by Honda just because you seems like a H-fan. Not us though… Citroen always come up with brilliant original designs but does it sell well here? There are many factors, not just ‘inspired’ looks…..

• kelas sebelah on Aug 13, 2011 at 7:57 am

so Porsche Cayenne copied Honda CrossTour????

• Everything oso copy honda lo ,including 4tyres,steering,brakes……Honda is not the ultimate car maker in the world la.come out of the cave that u live in

• Expatriate VN on Aug 13, 2011 at 11:21 am

Honda Power also copied 1st “Honda” from Honda car, and 2nd “Power” from Power Ranger! Since he is from copy-cat DNA, his comment is full of copy and paste! Maybe he drink to much kopi!

He clamed he is glad because he is driving original car – jaguh kampong ori car is kereta lembu namanya. No wonder his mind is stupid full of cow dung.

• current sonata in malaysia, the grille is chrome colour. not grey. Kalau buta jangan drive.
      go play your ps3.

• whatz car on Aug 13, 2011 at 8:46 pm

Honda city grille copy Alphard, civic lamp copy subaru, Honda Insight whole car look copy toyota Prius, Accord dashboard copy BM 5series, Honda freed sliding door copy estima power door, Honda website copy Toyota website design,
      What lah Honda ….

• amingo on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:17 pm

when it come to design..asian no match with european.. no wonder KIA hire european to design their cars. toyota n honda just playing inside the box…

• Only those who own camrys knows best what it had offered, good looks and low maintanance. The new camry is not catered for the asian market, so we have to wait until UMW reveal to us, just like the current model which is quite different from US. Until now the sales of Camry still outperform accord transformers. I will still go for Japanese cars instead of Koreans because of poor resale value………

• Second hand market still bad for korean made cars. Yes u can probably save 10k n get some extra gadgets when u buy a Korean car but the after service cost n resale value will kill u. Yup it doesn’t matter now, buying it to keep bla bla. But after 5 years u will be sick of it n one visit to the second hand dealer will make u cry unless money is not an issue for u la.

• amatku17 on Aug 13, 2011 at 4:23 am

Is it true this car spec can run on 87 octane petrol? see first picture! So, it definitely compatible with ron 95? Can someone explain?

• aprilcoco on Aug 13, 2011 at 7:10 am

Hard to change something already class leading. The past Toyota camrys are well engineered, because, i suspect they were engineered as lexus first and then shared platforms with camry, with similar platform codes. I had a camry hybrid, but they copy and paste from the old model to this new one!!! even 0-100 times, output is the same. Battery is not li – ion too, i suspect. At 190hp, it had the fuel consumption of VIOS but the acceleration nearly like a V6. Too bad they didn’t improve that one…

• Nabill on Aug 13, 2011 at 8:52 am

I heard it’s gonna be named Toyota Zzz…!

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Aug 13, 2011 at 9:23 am

One statement i dun agree with(~…..~.) 5.7 litre per 100km? 2.4 liter wont be that fuel save, unless hybrid engine!!! Anyway, the new camry look better than new upcoming Civic. next gen Civic is suck!!

• For wat i can say….the current Accord’s look can out-win this new camry….the current teana is better look than the new camry…..design and price wise, Toyota and Honda still losing out to Mazda as I can say….Mazda look MUCH better than Toyota and Honda…look at the current Mazda 2 vs. current VIOS and City, current Mazda3 vs new upcoming Civic and current DVVTi Altis, Mazda6 vs current n upcoming Camry n Accord….totally NO MATCH for Mazda compare with Toyota and Honda…..currently 2 WORSE looking car in Jap counterparts….DONT EVER compare between Hyundai Avante/KIA Forte/Cruze or wateva C-segment with D-segment……is way 2 different classes…..
    while I still say, best designs are still Continentals….then, Korean and then Ford Fiesta itself…..and some of Japanese…like Mazda…..while worse ever design is Toyota n Honda…even a Persona/Gen-2/Satria Neo’s looks are way better than current Dugong VIOS….

I had a KIA Forte, love it very much, while lots of ppl admiring it as they wish 2 own 1…(juz only of stupid mentality of resale value holds them back)……most of them sat in my Forte and were very very impressed….. so far, no bad words from them except of resale value…who cares?? i nt going 2 sell the car even for next 10 yrs…..the very 1st car i owned and loved….

well, in the end…this Camry looks sucks…really SUCKS!!!! even engine oso cnt outperform current Sonata/Optima’s engine…(2.4L vs 2.4L or 2.0L vs 2.0L, as Sonata/Optima does nt hv V6 3.xL engines)….but in term of comfort….i really can’t comment…..

• front view look alike current gen 8 civic

• i blame the radiation fallout!

• Car Driver on Aug 13, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Seems smaller and rounder and sportier. Does not look as impressive as current model but the hybrid is impressive. Heard the Hybrid will be quite expensive here in Malaysia. Maybe CC range exceeded the duty free range.

• g4eights on Aug 13, 2011 at 3:48 pm

I do not think we will be getting this on our shore! as there are another batch of supposing leaked photo of the asia camry, google asia camry 2012 on google images. I am currently driving an 8 years old vios E (not an E class though) but it has given me what I needed, clocked 270k over the past 8 years which are not a lot it serve me well and I am looking forward to this this Camry.

• The local 2012 Camry should look more like this: –

http://i164.photobucket.com/albums/u7/kingkoh/Cars/2012camry-dash.jpg

• masdar on Aug 13, 2011 at 5:49 pm

wow love the design n this car suite me well! hopefully they can launch early next year here..

• hermin5 on Aug 13, 2011 at 6:03 pm

Front look like the current mark x and the rear look like coming from accord but nothing spectacular here

• PokokCerryMechanic on Aug 13, 2011 at 6:11 pm

thumb up for the interior (design only , not yet see the actual one)…but exterior look like honda civic or corrola …Y? Y?…..i though i should hav better looking than Hyundai Sonata…~!!!!

• better buy NEW KIA OPTIMA @ K5,

• farizY on Aug 13, 2011 at 9:06 pm

looks like something that would sell, despite all the hate comments (from self proclaimed car experts)…..

• Camry Owner on Aug 13, 2011 at 9:10 pm

It looks like a enlarge Altis to me. I have to say Toyota threats all the buyer as an idiot where the current camry carries over the dinosaur gear box (4 speeder for an 2.0 camry) & engine (exactly the same as previous generation old vvti engine) especially the Asean market. Please equip with a new gear box & engine, it suppose to be a all new design not a facelift, people make improvement / changes to the gear box & engine even it’s a facelift.

• vansgoh on Aug 13, 2011 at 11:23 pm

i thought i was civic…

• Expatriate VN on Aug 14, 2011 at 9:40 am

My next car will be this Camry provided always they fit with new 6 speed gearbox and new engine. Safety, fuel efficient in its class and comfort is my priority, Toyota always delivered in these aspects.

Design wise, not my priority as far as it is neither too bland nor very sporty is acceptable. Good look is personal subjective judgement and is not necessary have to be sporty, fluidic, or all kind of limited/special editions.

• korean car salesman on Aug 14, 2011 at 12:37 pm

No no no… Please buy Sonata, our car is cheap and good, camry is so bland. Pls pls…
      Sincerely
      korean car salesman

• Expatriate VN on Aug 15, 2011 at 6:09 pm

Poor soul salesman, don’t criticise Camry eventhough you want to sell Sonata. This kind of “mine-is-good & yours-is-bad” mentality cheapor talking, the best place for you to do sales is selling septic tank products – because you can’t argue “mine is more fragrant than your flower”.

• korean car salesman on Aug 15, 2011 at 10:43 pm

You want septic tank? No problem, if you buy a car with us, we will give a septic tank as a mystery gift.

• vxxxxxx on Aug 14, 2011 at 11:24 am

there is a reason toyota camry cannot look better than others, because there is lexus. All advance design will be under lexus brand.

• Not really though. I think that Toyota Crown could rival Lexus GS in the looks department. Just my two cents.

• tolola on Aug 14, 2011 at 9:33 pm

gone are the days of the beautiful ST204’s and the Supra RZ’s…sigh…japan japan…..apa mau jadiiiiiiiii! looks like toyota is trying to hard to break free the camry from its uncle status. haha.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 14, 2011 at 11:21 pm

Honda Civic front + Honda Accord tail + Toyota internal = Toyota Camry! So you own 3 types in 1 buy! definitely a value buy!

• Carl Wong on Aug 15, 2011 at 2:40 am

From sales and production volume alone, Koreans make the best TVs and smart phones now (I love Samsung). But for cars? The best ones are still from the Japanese, Europeans and Americans, sorry.

• cheng on Aug 16, 2011 at 1:08 pm

how long that tv and phone can last? but for korean car, better sell it b4 warranty expires.

• putra_rider on Aug 15, 2011 at 9:50 am

“demeurer sur le podium”

means

remain on the podium

• Ricky Ong on Aug 16, 2011 at 11:23 am

With this designed , hyundai sonata and kia optima K5 will wins in selling.

• boyke69 on Aug 18, 2011 at 9:12 pm

asean camrys have always looked better compared to the american camrys. hope our camry looks good like the current one :p

• jun hong ooi on Aug 19, 2011 at 8:00 pm

Not to sound harsh, but I prefer the current generation Camry :(

• tha' dude on Dec 30, 2011 at 5:00 am

great dissapoinment for camry lovers…
    i think the new optima k5 have gr8 interior and exterior…
    koreans r getting better n japanese r getting worse…