New Citroen C4 Picasso: first official images surface

Citroen C4 Picasso

Previewed in Geneva recently by the Technospace concept, the new Citroen C4 Picasso now basks in detailed and pictured glory, in production form and looking every bit as avant-garde as we’d expected. After all, it does get its name from a certain Spanish painter, and his work wasn’t particularly conventional, was it?

We wouldn’t go so far as to call it Cubist, but in a world where MPVs deviate little from the ubiquitous bread box shape, this one’s a breath of fresh air. The LED DRLs are positioned above the headlamps, which flank a new, curvier chevron logo on the front grille.

With quarter windows front and rear, plus a windscreen that extends far up the panoramic roof, there is a generous 5.3 square metres of glass area altogether, which no doubt contributes to the airiness of the cabin. The LED rear lamps, inspired by Citroen’s concept cars, create a futuristic 3D effect.

Citroen C4 Picasso

Inside, things don’t get any less non-conformist. An asymmetrical dashboard is trimmed in complementary colours and materials, including sparkle-effect finish, satin-finished chrome, gloss black inserts and a laser-engraved pattern on the door cards.

Rear passengers enjoy three individual seats that can be folded flat, tilted and adjusted fore and aft. The full digital driving interface is structured around two screens – a seven-inch touchpad (controlling in-car functions) and 12-inch panoramic HD screen (displaying driving information).

Add on the Lounge Pack and you get front massage seats, a ‘Relax’ seat that lets the front passenger stretch out their legs and a Relax headrest on all seats for comforting neck support.

Citroen C4 Picasso

Debuting on this car is the Euro 6-compliant 1.6 litre BlueHDi 150 mill with selective catalytic reduction (keeping NOx and CO2 in check). But the star of the engine menu is the 1.4 litre e-HDi 90 Airdream lump.

This parsimonious powerplant, capable of returning a quoted 3.8 litres per 100 km, allows Citroen to claim the C4 Picasso as the first compact MPV with an internal combustion engine to emit less than 100 grams of CO2 per km. All diesels come with stop-start as standard.

Helping the cause are improved aerodynamics and the new Efficient Modular Platform 2 (EMP2), which shaves a total of 140 kg off the weight of the previous car. The only other officially confirmed engine is the popular 1.6 litre e-HDi 115, but we’re sure petrol units will be offered as well.

Citroen C4 Picasso

The platform, which the next-gen Peugeot 308 will also employ, makes the Citroen C4 Picasso 40 mm shorter but 55 mm longer in wheelbase than its predecessor, so it stands at 4.43 metres long, 1.83 metres wide and 1.61 metres tall. Boot volume is up by 40 litres to 537 litres, expanding to 630 litres with the back seats folded.

Refinement is also taken up a notch or two by the EMP2. The platform makes possible the inclusion of an electric power steering system that dampens the transmission of road vibrations, damping of the front subframe to cut road noise and a new dual-material acoustic shim on the rear axle.

Alongside a six-speed manual, the latest version of Citroen’s clutchless manual ETG6 (six-speed Efficient Tronic Gearbox) will be available with the e-HDi 90 and e-HDi 115 engines, also packing an automated mode. A conventional six-speed auto ‘box is set to arrive in the middle of next year.

Citroen C4 Picasso

We don’t know why Citroen has decided to offer a clutchless manual as well as a conventional auto – but that’s Citroen for you. Standard on all models is Intelligent Traction Control, and wheels are offered in three sizes – 16s, 17s and 18s.

Safety equipment includes radar-based active cruise control, active driver and front passenger seatbelts, 360 VISION camera, park assist, lane departure warning and blind spot monitoring, while keyless entry and start, a motorised tailgate and reverse camera sit amongst the other features on the menu.

A seven-seat version, the Citroen Grand C4 Picasso, is expected to hit European dealerships next year. What do you think – would you want Naza Euro Motors to introduce this in Malaysia?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• davking on Apr 02, 2013 at 4:27 pm

back light like vw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • VW Golf mk6 shape with mk7 light bar square! copy and paste how easy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Robot Boy on Apr 03, 2013 at 8:05 am

exactly. I confused it with rear of POLO hatch.

• robot boy- thats because you are not discerning enough to know the edifference

• robot boy- thats because you are not discernng enough to spot the difference

• and has double A-pillars..the front looks as if it can be pulled out and push it to make the car shorter, much like the extendable IKEA dining table.

• New Jeep Cherokee’s headlamp + Merc S-class’s dashboard + VW Golf’s rear lamp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • the spy shots of this was spotted long before jeep decided to release their car.

• mohsin on Apr 02, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Golf?

• Citroën, finally back into making funky, quirky and interesting cars that they are known for(original DS, XM, SM). It’s less about looking great, but more on looking different, that’s Citroën.
    BTW, Jonathan I think there’s a mistake, though how big the glass are, I don’t think its 53 sq meters.

• Jonathan James Tan (Member) on Apr 02, 2013 at 5:06 pm

Whoa. That’s one big glass. Corrected it to 5.3. Thanks for spotting that!

• yeah citroen makes cars with big glasses. It’s been such a design language for them

• Hasan on Apr 02, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Cover the upper front DRL from end to end with yr palm or finger and poof!, a facelifted Captiva!

• MasakRoti on Apr 02, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Not practical. All glass. Malsyia is so hot lar. It look so ugly and alien. Citroen no resale value and always sui kwan (open bonnet….engine too hot).

You buy this car, your best friend is the tow truck driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 50
    • Picasso on Apr 02, 2013 at 7:46 pm

U owned citroen before.. dun talk when u know nothin about citroen cars.. my cars currently 8 years and still running great

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Loo on Apr 02, 2013 at 10:14 pm

U still drive your citroen coz nobody want your scrap metal. Used car also shut their door. What’s more with buyer when they can buy toyota and still can sell after 10 years ?

Dont believe, try go to any car showroom and ask them, Boss, can trade in my citroen….very nice looking wan, confirm no kacau ?

I bet they will kick your ass out from the showroom :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 37
        • Veneno on Apr 02, 2013 at 11:14 pm

shut up.. he still drive his citroen bcoz the car is still in good shape after 10 years la.. and why the hell you mention toyota here..??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
        • kadajawi on Apr 08, 2013 at 10:56 pm

Of course no sane owner would want to keep his Toyota for 10 years. You’d die of boredom… if you haven’t died in an accident yet. I’d rather drive a 10 year old Citroen than a brand new Toyota. Wait, I do drive a 11 year old Citroen, and the only Toyota I’d ever trade it in for is the GT86.

• sam loo- jap car drivers dont keep their after 3 years cos after that they sound like tin horlicks

• hilton franciscus on Apr 03, 2013 at 8:35 am

i drive a 16, no make that 17, year old zx station wagon. masok petrol dan jalan. so unless u actually own a citroen, spare your “widsom”.

• Sam Loo on Apr 03, 2013 at 11:44 am

I have so many friends who used to drive ZX, BX, XM and none …i repeat NONE bother to buy another french after they dispose it at scrap metal value.

Tell me, how many repeated Citroen customer are in Malaysia ? Now, let’s us look at other brand, eg. bmw, mercedes, Toyota and even Kimchi, there are more repeated customers than french car or italians.

Don’t look so far, how about Tiara ? How many ex Tiara owner actually upgrade to another FAIL proton SAWI ? How many now disgruntled SAWI owner ? If a survey is done, i can bet 99% will says, once bitten, twice shy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
          • kadajawi on Apr 08, 2013 at 10:57 pm

Well, I’d buy a Citroen again any day.

Also I have a relative who owned a XM. When that got a bit troublesome he… bought a Xantia. Because once you know how good the ride can be you just don’t want to go back to a normal car.

• Sam loo- -One reason they dont buy is price factor as the ZX were RM 65k and new Citroens are above Rm 100k nowdays. Tiara and savvy are 2 different makes in case you have memory lapse

• Sam Loo on Apr 03, 2013 at 11:51 am

Another point i will like to highlight, the after sales and proper mechanic who know how to fix citroen.

All those so-called citroen specialist look so sleazy and cut throat pricing. Reason, they know you citroen folks have nowhere to go and thus, they monopolise their pricing and attitude.

So, as a motorist, would you want so much hassle and to deal with sleazy folks and skyhigh pricing or worried more if your car breakdown at outstation ?

Maybe i should start a business of SAM TOW CAR SERVICE….for citroen owners, tow 5 times, free 1 time towing. How about that ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • Sam Loo-i think you dont know what youre talking about-there are many honest & able citroen technicians in KL. Sounds like you are really anti-Citroen and thats your loss.

• masak roti- i think with your kind of reply you sudah masak otak-your best friend is a brain surgeon

• amokio on Apr 02, 2013 at 4:43 pm

now, it is getting more weird!

• Johnny on Apr 02, 2013 at 5:14 pm

Get prepared to insured your front windscreen alone by paying around RM10k

• sepul on Apr 02, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Quirky styling indeed. The French never disappoints in this regard.

It will be a premium item here.

• frenzy on Apr 02, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Side profile so damn weird. Like vw golf to the front extended with a piece of glass.

• KingPin on Apr 02, 2013 at 7:12 pm

Looks like a nissan juke and juke is 1 fugly looking car. The interior is fantastic! However citroen doesnt appeal to most malaysians, even the DS series aint tht great

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • King pin-profesional journalist & experts all over the world have lauded the DS series as beatiful…but then you are not an expert…

• Beautiful!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Just Another Dude.. on Apr 02, 2013 at 8:48 pm

i dont know about you guys, the look just gorged my eyes..

• Han!h on Apr 02, 2013 at 9:37 pm

The rear design looks awkwardly similar to VW’s.

• KingPin on Apr 02, 2013 at 11:48 pm

Anyone noticed the location of the A-pillars? Tht wishbone type A-pillars will defo get in the way. I don’t understand the out of ordinary design cues which is rather impractical

• Josh Ling on Apr 03, 2013 at 1:17 am

and PSA still decides to put Citroen products as a lower class offering than Peugeot….I mean, seriously?? it looks like no other on the road (not even closely resemble VW, unless you focus only on those two rear lights), and oozes sophistication and avantgarde everywhere, and still not a product more premium than Peugeot.

• droll on Apr 03, 2013 at 7:01 am

ok what quite nice. who cares if it looks like vw at the rear. what’s more important is the practicality at the rear – 3 full sized seats!

• Might as well get Fiat Multipla. Full 3 seaters front and back. Thry both can join ugly contest and also no resale value contest.

• sense on Apr 03, 2013 at 1:53 pm

so many silly comments about the citroens by ppl who have no life or small d**ks.
    go own one then comment.
    go watch rally and get a lesson on cars.

• Sam Loo on Apr 03, 2013 at 6:46 pm

Only the No Sense folks will buy citroen.

The Sensible folks will buy Toyota.

Are you saying watching rally and drive like a madman on public roads? I will pass and enjoy my toyota comfort. Now you know whhy citroen participaye in rally, no resale value and nobody buy, thats why thrash it in rally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • kadajawi on Apr 08, 2013 at 11:02 pm

Comfort? Toyota? Seriously? When Rolls Royce needed a suspension system for their cars, who did they turn to? Citroen. Mercedes created an inferior copy of the Citroen system.

Now there is a Toyota/Lexus that can compete… because they copied Citroen’s system. However they charged insane amounts for that car, so sales weren’t good.

The only way to get a more comfortable suspension than in a Citroen is to get a Rolls Royce (perhaps), or a HMMWV equipped with ECASS (active suspension using sensors and motors to move the wheels up and down).

• sam Loo- i bet you are a typical nerd type who likes to drive a Toyota, comfort?…try driving it on windy roads and you will be clinging like a monkey as the suspension and handling is shite!

• Dear Sam,
    Please continue to drive your Toyota and enjoy your ride.
    Thank you for being concerned about Proud Citroen owners like us but in reality we do not need your advise. Every new Citroen Owner is very capable of affording the maintenance that comes with buying conti cars and resale value is far from our minds. We do not follow the crowd because we do not conform to the YES MAN mentality. We lead and we do not follow. Please clearly understand and try to accept the fact that WE DO NOT BUY a Citroen and worry about what people like you think. Most owners are leaders in our own industry. In my company, we have stringent credit checks on buyers who ask for credit terms especially those who drive Merz, Beemers etc because most can’t afford to keep up with their monthly repayments. Only a person who can afford a NEW Citroen will buy a NEW Citroen. If cannot afford one or need to apply for max bank loan to buy one then please go buy a Toyota and dream of your resale value every night before your sleep.

• MrElf on Dec 21, 2013 at 3:33 am

I owned a Toyota AE101(Toyota SEG came with original 1.6L 4A-FE EFI engine), from new bought in 1992(dad bought it) pass down to me now, is over 20 years car…I admit, that is the ONLY Toyota car which was(or is) the most reliable Toyota sedan ever created. Other models (even the up to date newest Corolla and Camry) SUCKS!!! But I admit also Toyota have 1 of the best Hybrid system in the world…particularly the 1.8L Toyota Prius (Current and before facelift), and also the both 86s(AE86/FT86).
    I also owned a NAZA(KIA)Forte 1.6SX 4-speed on May 2010. It’s also a nice car, but bumpy and kinda lots of noises(Wind, tyre and engine). Well, that car is sold, didn’t lost much value, bought at RM82k brand new, sold at RM65k…calculate yourself….
    Now, back to topic…Sam Loo is a ‘worshiper’ for Toyota…so kinda ignore him…he kinda ‘anti-other than Sushi made car’, especially European, American and Malaysian. I haven’t notice that did he support Chinese and Russian cars?? If so, I would give a BIG LOL!! Well, except for China upcoming Qoros 3 sedan.
    I love Citroen, Pug, Audi and most of the brand…that includes Proton.
    I always dream to owned a european car. Citroen goes 1 of the top brand, as for it’s air-matic suspension(can find even in ZX and BX model).
    Citroen owners knows well, european cars are known for their driving sense, comfort and high quality issue. European car parts can last very long…more than kimchi and sushi cars. Toyota parts can’t last longer than 5 years, yet need services and check ups every 3k-6k kilometres, while european cars only need service ONCE per year. Compare to that, you already save thousands of ringgit for that…
    Yes, other than Toyotas and Hondas, other car drop more values. Why? Do you know Toyota and Honda are the earliest brand arrived in Malaysia to be sold before others? Thus service centres already country wide before others were here, and more people buy those cars than Protons. That’s the 1st reason why they have better sales and values. 2nd reason : Old Toyota cars are reliable..Toyota AE100/AE101, Honda EG/EK series, while other brands came in problematic due to weather and petrol issues, while not much service centres available for those cars (especially for kimchis).
    Now? Kimchi cars are progressing alot faster than before..better than most Japanese cars.
    In the end, I just want to say, drive and own a car at your heart’s desire, don’t just look at the value of depreciate (ALL cars depreciates)…I always look for cars I know best interest in, never judge by resale value (the only reason why Toyota and Honda resale value is high, is because of their overpriceyness when buying brand new).
    Toyota Altis/Honda Civic base specs cost around RM11xk in 2010….KIA Forte/Hyundai Elantra highest specs are way cheaper, cost around RM96k(Forte 2.0SX),RM118k(Elantra 1.8Premium), thus resale value sure lower than Toyota/Honda…same goes with other brands…oh…want compare, please compare according to Segments, not price (C-segment vs C-segment, B-segment vs B-segment, D-segment vs D-segment), not Vios vs Forte =.=”

Just go what you desires…guys…that’s all..

• MrElf on Dec 21, 2013 at 3:35 am

Oh yea, my forte is 2 and half years old…sold of Febuary 2013