Toyota Safety Recall – 18,700 units of the Camry, Altis involved in Malaysia, passenger airbag issues

2002-toyota-camry

Toyota Motor Corporation (TMC) has announced a special service campaign (safety recall) to address the issue of a possible improperly manufactured passenger side front airbag inflator. It may cause rupture and deploy the airbag abnormally during a crash. The recall seeks to replace the front side passenger airbag inflator module.

Toyota’s move is joined by fellow Japanese carmakers Honda, Nissan and Mazda, who together are recalling about 3.4 million vehicles worldwide. The faulty part was supplied by Japanese auto parts maker Takata Corp, according to Reuters.

In Malaysia, UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has received confirmation from TMC that there are approximately 18,700 units of the Toyota Camry and Toyota Corolla Altis manufactured from year 2000 to 2003 which are involved in this recall. There have not been any reported cases in Malaysia.

UMWT will contact all customers involved to carry out the necessary corrective measures at no cost. No other models sold by UMWT produced before year 2000 and after year 2003 are affected by this campaign. Take note of the year of manufacture, Camry and Altis owners, and do share this info with your family and friends who may be affected.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ah Beng Kia on Apr 11, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Hahahahaha!!!!!! All those stupid T and H fanboys. Everyday talk RV only. Ask to do basic safety equipment also cannot do properly. What is T and H good RV? Risky Venture?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 60
    • hey, hey, hey leave sam loo alone, he’s just a kid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 15
      • Mat Global on Apr 13, 2013 at 11:13 am

This is a global recall of mainly high quality CBU cars. Just imagine our caplang CKD quality? Trust me, our CKD quality is not the same of CBU Japan. You just think, in Japan, workers there are so focussed and only want to have 1 lunch break and QC non stop. In Malaysia you have workers going for 6 tea breaks, instead of looking at QC, they are looking for awek kilang, all they talk about is eating nasi lemak, kongkek and sleep. Lazt to the core. Boss at Toyota CKD plant say please resolder this part, worker say, relaklah boss, kita rehat dulu, nanti boleh buat, relaks lah brader, lepaklah,” That is the Malaysian attitude. So you think CKD Toyota same quality as CBU? Its worse with more recalls that were never done by UMW

• leziy on Apr 14, 2013 at 5:29 pm

6 tea breaks? 8.00am, 10.30am, 3.30pm…oh i lost count, are you sure it’s SIX TIMES?

• Jimmy on Apr 15, 2013 at 1:02 pm

Nobody beats VW. Got countless of DSG breakdowns and failures of DSG box and yet, they make don’t know. So many people are suing VW. Go to their facebook page and see the number of disappointments. This year will be a change because when VW just entered the market, everyone got excited. Now, with word of mouth about the dry DSG geabox failing like every other VW car, people are going to be wary.

• buy camry , without working airbags it can fly to moon lor

• Wrongconclussion on Apr 15, 2013 at 2:04 pm

“Jimmy”, actually you a wrong.VW has increased its sales in the first quart compated to the same period last year. Obviously people are reading this site, which is a good thing. However, people are samrt enough to know truth from lies. Thats why VW sales is increasing. By the way, im not a VW sales man. I own a Toyota.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:02 pm

The problematic DSG also cannot do properly than come out market! After recall also cannot solved it perfectly. German engineering? Kiss my arse!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 31
      • JackeyDeck on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:18 pm

Thumbs up !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 12
        • frenzyaustin on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:33 pm

Actually not I want bash VW, every car manufacture too have a problem. Just tak boleh tahan see those typical Fanboy/Hater type comment. Keep praising/criticizing something without a valid point.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
          • stonecold on Apr 11, 2013 at 10:03 pm

typical malaysian bro… dont really see much that kind of bashing in other auto blog

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
          • Malaysia where got problem la.. Toyota here invincible. Only the best Toyota gets imported into Malaysia.

See I praise Toyota Malaysia until pigs can fly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 25
      • JackeyDeck on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:18 pm

Refresh the page.

& Thumbs up again !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 24
      • Maybe u can be a Automotive engineering,and i’m pretty sure u can easily solve the problems or maybe even more recall!

• frenzyaustin on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:57 am

By the way, I seriously is going to get an Automotive Engineering Degree,

• Ilikevw on Apr 12, 2013 at 12:09 am

Toyota have recall and VW got bashed!! What it Is got to do with VW??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
        • frenzyaustin on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:43 am

Because this is the contest between 2 of the world largest car maker.

• Calm down…they r just jealous of Toyota and VW group,coz they r the best selling cars in the world.

• Sensibletalk on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:26 am

“Frenzyaustin”, you seem to be bitter about VW’s? Why? Are you one of the thousands of T and H salesmen that are losing sales because VW sales has grown 3 fold in the last 2 years? You must be getting worried. So we forgive you for your bashing. Vote wisely at the next GE :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
        • frenzyaustin on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:56 am

Nope, but majority of VW owner. They are like “Hey! I drive a German car! Get the hell outta my way!” A lot of them drive like a maniac because they drive “German” and they think they are a class above us.
          I once saw a Golf mk7 test drive unit, drive in very heavy rain at 100kph recklessly on a road with speed limit of 60 kph. And then he make a U-Turn with a very dangerous speed, like driving a race car! He thought just because it is COTY doesn’t mean it can’t cause accident! There still one time when I drove on a road, A CC keep sticking at my rear. The road speed limit is 60kph but I am going 70! That time beside me still has a Nissan Sunny so he can;t overtake. After I passed the Sunny, he overtake me like a maniac! Cut to the front in very short distance! I nearly banged his rear if I didn’t respond faster. And then when reached the traffic light. There is quite a long que. He just passed the double line and drive on the opposite lane to cut the que. C’mon man, looks like “German Engineering” is way too overrated! Is just better than the rival but not difference like a God and a Dog. And btw, some Camry driver are usually douche bag too. They act like they drive a Mercedes but it just a Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
          • Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2013 at 12:37 pm

It seems that you were over the speed limit as well, no difference from other driver who was chasing you from behind. Such a narrow minded by making such a conclusion. Even though I’m Toyota die hard fan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
          • Hello is not German cars fault, those drivers r bad doesn’t mean German cars are bad! what’s the point yea? some ppl own a VW also own a another car like Bentley or Mercedes… u r driving slow and their car r damn fast so is not their fault!

• Some of them also tailgating me! what i need to do is go even fast or just give way! and i own a VW too lolx

• frenzyaustin, obviously you got yourself confused. From your description, it’s clear that the drivers are at fault, not the car. Why blame VW? Is it only VW drivers behave like that? I see a lot of ah beng on Civics drive like that as well. Heck, even modified Kancil drivers drive like crazy too.

The fact that you are blaming VW a lot gives me an impression you have inferiority complex towards the car you are driving. I think that’s the matter here. It’s not the car, it’s you.

• I don’t give my lane to them. By the way, I have toyota, vw, merc, honda, audi, bentley, name it, I got it. Sounds familiar?

• The airbags were made by Takata, not Toyota, Honda, Nissan, whatever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
      • JackeyDeck on Apr 12, 2013 at 2:09 am

So… Toyota/Honda/Nissan/Mazda just happened to accept the parts supplied (w/o checking it) , and simply blamed the supplier and pushing the responsibility when things went wrong?

Don’t get me wrong… i love Toyota, VW (manual model only), & other car brands too. But the world that we live in has changed… in our papa era, they tend to work hard & think about the $$$ later.

When it comes to our era, we look at the $$$ before we decide whether is it worth to work hard on it or not. And this mentality has lead to whatever is it that is going on with the world today.

To cut cost… all car manufactures group up and decided that common parts would be more economical that it is manufactured by limited supplier. So, toyota won’t have to develop a department just to tackle the airbag manufacturing & etc… so does honda… and for many others. So the airbag manufacturer like Takata will have demands from many car manufacturer hence reduce the supply cost.

But when shit happen…
        “oo, this parts is supplied by another supplier. We will highlight this issue to top management.”

“oo, we didn’t manufacture this thing, so we don’t know much about it. We will highlight to top management on our finding.”

this doesn’t only happen in car manufacturing industry, i am working in construction field and this crap is all over the places. Same goes for electronic manufacturing field. And whatever one could think off.

Nonetheless. We should salute this 45d waist bending Jap. After the honda accident happened in Puerto Rico (oct 2011)… they inspect the issues… after series of inspection (apparently after 1.5years)… the fault lead to mis-manufacturing of Takata. They stood up and willing to solve this problem even most of these cars are 1X years old. (some are even in scrap yards already)

They deserve some credit. JD salute them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
        • JackeyDeck on Apr 12, 2013 at 2:13 am

Will the white folks did the samething like Takata did ? Well… i can’t recall any.

Or maybe the white folks is good at QC… that’s why crap like this won’t happened. HA-HA-HA-HA.

• Why does it take 10 years to realize the part is faulty!!?? This is the real issue here.

• kontlp on Apr 14, 2013 at 5:21 pm

sam loo forgot to tell toyota about the afukty, that’s why

• Sensibletalk on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:28 am

The VW DSG also made by Borg Warner, not by VW, so same thing la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
        • frenzyaustin on Apr 12, 2013 at 12:01 pm

From where I know is Volkswagen own designed the DSG and maybe manufactured by Borg Warner. Correct me if I’m wrong. It’s better to provide source of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
      • alldisc on Apr 12, 2013 at 6:22 pm

clearly many people do not read the entire article or perhaps have difficulties understanding english. it is really amusing.

quoted from 2nd paragraph as below
        Toyota’s move is joined by fellow Japanese carmakers Honda, Nissan and Mazda, who together are recalling about 3.4 million vehicles worldwide

4 major japanese cars are doing the same recall, as they all using similar airbag components by Takada

• Mazda : Lolx

VW : we have new friend here :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Jonathan Lee on Apr 12, 2013 at 1:02 am

You’re threading on some thin ice here, considering Hyundai just issued a recall for airbags, too.

• Sam Loh cousin on Apr 12, 2013 at 2:07 am

Good for RV! The airbag is still okay, even after an accident!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • ghody on Apr 14, 2013 at 7:26 pm

Yeah but the driver and passenger die

• broad on Apr 14, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Toyota after a decade :
        1. Still use same 4 gears and engine
        2. Do safety recall for cars at junkyard

• OMG…really disapointed. More than 10 years then only recall. Time to support korean car … Japan car, no confident liao…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • OMG…Toyota RV sure affected. SL hailat liao.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Noob Ah Beng Kia on Sep 09, 2013 at 10:46 am

So sad.
      Toyota : We found a problem, please come to us and fix it !!!
      Other : We found a problem, go repair yourself!!!

• dugong on Apr 11, 2013 at 7:33 pm

This is toyota’s style.
    Recall only after more than 1 decade…
    Same old tech will be used for more than 1 decade…
    Come on, airbags already expired only want to recall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 18
    • Kubuddy on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:08 pm

Cool down . At least Japanese admit their weaknesses

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 21
      • dugong on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:55 pm

better recall after 30 yrs when the cars are in the scrap yard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • “airbags already expired only want to recall”

You get new airbags for free. Good deal wor.. After that sell the car and change to korean brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
      • Sam Loo on Apr 14, 2013 at 8:20 am

Yeah, you can trade in a 10 year old Camry and get a 2 year old Sonata for the same price

• Sam Loo on Apr 11, 2013 at 7:50 pm

Mcb, my sibeh Hailat also kena.

Deng no resale value ady. Fucuk gao gao.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 40
  • Macam Saya Kisah on Apr 11, 2013 at 7:56 pm

Already a decade old still recalling?

If Proton/Perodua 5 years after warranty you die your problem.

#sarcasm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Apr 12, 2013 at 6:24 pm

this means those manufacturers are being responsible and owner the owners of the cars even though they maybe the second or third owner.

that is brilliant, isnt it?

• b sensible on Apr 14, 2013 at 1:41 pm

i agree w/ ur saying manufacturer’s responsibilities to owners but in the commercial sense, it will expose manufacturers’ to countless liabilities due to one small problem e.g. braking sys, accelerator…the problem is to what extent of the cost manufacturer need to compensate.

if the problem arise to to attrition (not accident), then i think manufacturer doesn’t have to bear anything unless manufacturer state the terms clearly on the sales contract.

technically speaking, manufacturer only need to replace airbag if it is within warranty period. otherwise it is totally absurd to ask for replacing 10-year-old airbag as some specifications might be out of date!

• Sharon on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:04 pm

That’s why don’t complain our local P1 only. Other manufacturers also got big issues! Of course you will say at least they recall, but think about it again after you own the car for so long, praise it and bashing others at the end, the car you own for so long also with problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
    • Proton from day one already ham ka chan. please dont compare with Toyota. Proton makes shitty cars and sells them at cut throat price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 39
      • Sharon on Apr 12, 2013 at 7:28 am

So poor. U can’t even use proper English to say about others. It shows U are the one with ‘hkc’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 12
    • frenzyaustin on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:31 pm

Indeed, every manufacture also ave problem, and we keep scolding Proton because it is our car! Malaysian car, our pride! We care about it, we get mad when it is wrong, like a mom cared her child.
      On the other hand, Proton is way to terrible for these years. Take my FLX as an example.
      1st day I get my car, the door handle forgot to tighten and the handle just drop after I pulled it.
      And then when I drive, my car keep going right even though my steering is straight. After some check, a nut in the steering also forgot to tighten. And then, till now my left door sensor always can’t sense after I opened my door. The door open indicator won’t light up and the door locked itself after 30 second as it not recognize my left door is currently open. And then got a few time after I start my engine, the engine drop below 500RPM and mati. It even can’t start the engine like the fuel can’t deliver into the engine.
      And lastly, the CVT problem. CVT should be very smooth in crawling traffic but the CVT is completely opposite. When I stepped on the gas lightly, the engine rev but the car can’t go. After I stepped a little little bit harder, the car took off like a jet fighter. Then after release the throttle, the car like brake itself. When the car slow down till 10kph, the car start jerking. Even jerky than the DSG. And when I ask the service centre, they say “Mereka design macam ni punya, I pun tak tau macamana.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
      • peyno on Apr 11, 2013 at 10:56 pm

u used to drive 4AT and must get use CVT n DSG character… dont be old fashion

prrrtfhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
        • agree. pls read more and ask more. don’t just complain proton to use new tech and then complain again because you don’t know know how to use it

• frenzyaustin on Apr 12, 2013 at 12:03 pm

Shouldn’t CVT to be the smoothest among those gearbox? If it isn’t why don’t they just get a conventional auto box?

• azure on Apr 12, 2013 at 2:18 pm

not all CVT are buttery smooth, nissan’s CVT is buttery smooth but honda’s CVT is a horror story. i’m not sure about your FLX but my friend’s FLX drives smoothly

• alldisc on Apr 12, 2013 at 6:29 pm

in theory CVT should be very smooth. reality it may not be.
            the CVT in Inspira is so good that using the paddle shift feels real.

but hey, try accelerating fast next to a BMW 320i, or Camry 2.4 – the drivers would be surprise to realise they can only catch up at 120-130.

• Peyno on Apr 13, 2013 at 9:20 am

Conventional 4AT GB only for orthodok n old minded ppl like u.. Lets newer generation use cvt, dsg higher tech

• helang on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:05 pm

too late. its been done at ahbeng workshop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • frenzyaustin on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:09 pm

But fault is the supplier, Takata Corp for supplying defective unit. At least those company didn’t cover up even though they need to spend quite a lot with the condition of current shape Japanese company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • alldisc on Apr 12, 2013 at 6:41 pm

to be an automotive engineer u will need to realise that when no incident took place, what recall one can do?

there must be a certain percentage… strong enough to make a case. let say out 3.4 million airbag unit, only 3,000 reported case. that is only 0.0009%. i mean i dont say that is the criteria standard.

i hope u understand better.

• Jeffrey Read on Nov 27, 2016 at 1:30 am

Incorrect.

To have a case irregardless whether it is strong or otherwise, it is definitely not dependent on percentage!

As more and more modern automobiles are produced everyday equipped with SRS Airbags, the “certain percentage” that you have mentioned can only get higher and higher.

From that assumption, it is only logical to see that there will never be a case that is deemed “strong” enough, since the statistics will never match unless the world stop producing cars!

• frenzyaustin on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:06 pm

Now let’s see how many hater gonna bash. When others recall, care customers, good after sale service etc..
    When HonToy recall, HAHA, stupid cars, why not do it properly, dangerous, piece of sh*t….etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • It’s not just Malaysia but even in international sites(mainly ‘Murica) that the bashing is merciless. It is only until lately since Hyundai has been recalling their airbags issue and Ford’s overheating 1.6 Ecoboost issue, that they are beginning to tone down their uproar. It goes to show brand loyalty, no matter how much we scream in at Toyota and Honda’s owner has it, also exists at the shouter. Because the other party is more fun they decide to ditch and badmouth the other party, saying it’s crap to the point it’s next to garbage.

• Jokes on HonToy fans. Still recalling the days (just a few weeks ago) that they say Mazda and Mitsubishi no QC la and car not yet out on road already recall.

Toyota no QC on supplier also? Lol.. Fact is, you can’t QC on everything so to T&H fans, don’t just say your T&H is god and does everything perfectly. Karma is a bitch sometimes.

But luckily hor.. we are seldom supplied with more than 2 airbags. Don’t know is sad or lucky. Triple LOLs.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 12, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Typical fanboism. But the 2 airbags fault are usually our local UMW/ETCM. Those car usually designed to have 6 airbag but when those company sell it, they prefer to drop it out so more profit, or maybe the G charging too much on foreign car so they have too drop out some features to priced competitively.

• alldisc on Apr 12, 2013 at 6:45 pm

it is less about profit making, rather on how many workshops could repair problems involving multiple airbag equipped cars.

how many panel beaters have the knowledge/training on replacing side airbags or curtain airbags, and to do resetting.

you have to admit that many accident workshops are not capable of such thing. they dont have the repair manuals, the specifications list, proper equipment/tools nor trained technicians.

• Sgt Scoop on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:10 pm

I can’t see the merit in bashing Toyota for this. They are recalling these cars which are 10-13 years old. That’s good customer service, IMO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
  • JackeyDeck on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Errr….. how they discover the fault ?

• JackeyDeck on Apr 12, 2013 at 1:51 am

right… just read the news in yahoo…

apparently it all started with an accident happened in Puerto Rico (Oct 2011) where a honda car was involved.

only after series of investigation and the finding lead to improper manufacturing of takata.

oooo…. i c.

• Rulered on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:26 pm

I guess that explains why the lack of airbags in the subsequent models…

• http://business.time.com/2013/04/11/toyota-honda-nissan-announce-air-bag-recall/

• Sam Pah on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:30 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA pwned japanese fanbois

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Car already in junkyard baru nak recall..lol

• Shame_Loo on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:58 pm

Shame on you Toyota, just like the idiot salesman who loves to talk about RV!

Where is your SQE, reliability test data n etc? This means that the testing is failing to simulate the risk. Well done Toyota engineering team!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
  • amirad on Apr 11, 2013 at 9:09 pm

If you look at toyota owners manual, the service schedule is until 20 yrs. As long as still below 20 yrs, toyota will probably still be responsible. Talk about reliability and longevity. Want 4 speeders or 6/7 speeds dual clutch?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • ohnowhyme on Apr 11, 2013 at 9:18 pm

since its been decade old, many of those affected vehicle has become other’s secondhand car

how to make a claim like this?

• Claim from your own wallet. Or do the right thing, sell the car and get another (most probably you can only get a proton or perodua because RV is around max 50k on mudah.)

• alldisc on Apr 12, 2013 at 7:40 pm

2nd or 3rd owner, does not matter. the companies (Mazda, Honda, Toyota and Nissan) are required legally to carry out this practise.

• sejak bila orang malaysia ni nak tukar perangai yang suka kutuk mengutuk ni? Orang buat jahat, dia kutuk takpe, bila buat baik, dia kutuk sampai tahap jamban pun ada.. ish ish ish… Btw, it’s good that they are still willing to recall and amend what’s not properly done in the past.. This is what i call good customer service…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • tan sari on Apr 11, 2013 at 9:34 pm

maybe they knew it long time, now warranty is over, the yrecall, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • toyotafan on Apr 11, 2013 at 10:12 pm

too late. my altis already in scrap yard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Jimmy on Apr 11, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Many overstatements. Emotional at times.

• Sam Loo on Apr 11, 2013 at 10:47 pm

“Almost 3.4m Japan-brand vehicles in airbag recall”

For those ignorant sorhais, read the full coverage.

At least sushi manufacturers honour 10 year old defects from a 3rd party manufacturer, affecting 4 major jap manufacturers

Kimchis will never admit mistake, even if people die as a result. Thats why their cars will never have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 27
    • JackeyDeck on Apr 12, 2013 at 2:21 am

i am pretty much very sure that Toyota / Nissan / Honda / Mazda is going to back-charged the rectification ( c/w compensation claim in regards to “reputation damaged” ) kau-kau to Takata.

toyota / nissan / honda / mazda ain’t going to suffer a penny on this recall. Takata is the one who going to absorb & suffered from it eventually. Takata x nak recall and accept the back-charged ? Tiu, toyota / nissan / honda / mazda team-up and boycott Takata until factory tutup selama-selamanya lo ~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • JackeyDeck on Apr 12, 2013 at 2:24 am

BTW… i am considering to get a toyota Innova la. lu recommend x ??

• Junk old model you want to buy?? lol

• JackeyDeck on Apr 12, 2013 at 1:05 pm

Aiya… that ain’t junk la… 9Xk MPV, with the famous reliable toyota… worth every penny la. Boleh bawa banyak-banyak kawan & keluarga, boleh bawa banyak barang, & better than alza, avanza, exora banyak-banyak la ~ so, no bad la.

Anyway, the reason i am considering it bcoz i can hang the swing bed for my 7month boy. lol. That little angel cry like monster everytime in the car whenever is his time to sleep. Very well scheduled. 10.30pm… he must need his fav swing bed & his blanket. Without that, good luck to daddy & mommy & mom-in-law for making him sleep. lol.

(somehow it sound very dangerous doing that…)

(should have drop the idea)

• BOYRACER on Apr 12, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Well, I’ve driven 1 before.All I can say is interior space is good.Engine power when fully loaded is adequate but consumption is quite high if you drive more than 100km/h.If u drive mostly on highway it is fine but if mostly in city, the ride & handling is not that great.Feels and drives like a bus.May be due to its ladder frame chassis.Best advise is to test drive all the MPVs available on the market that are within your budget.Only then you make your own decision.

• alldisc on Apr 12, 2013 at 7:57 pm

the engine is not noisy but its the fan actually.

as innova was designed with indonesia in mind, while service centre or workshop can be hundreds of miles away… they need a radiator fan that could be more reliable, hence a fan that is driven by a belt. even if the belt snapped, there’s always a McGyver around to sort it out.

the suspension is designed to cope with 8 ppl and heavy luggage, that is just the natural routine in indonesia. the high ground clearance is all about tackling rough surface that is part of indonesia road network. ladder frame chassis is sturdy to cope with the load and rough roads as well.

but because it is cheap enough to produce, UMW chose the kijang and later kijang innova for malaysia market. Toyota has no problems to make a highly superb MPV – wish, ipsum, gaia, estima, alphard, vellfire you just name it.

but to sell a fully imported MPV from Japan has high risks with the heavy import tax penalties while to assemble does not seem feasible since volume is not high enough. you need to dig deeper to understand this better.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 12, 2013 at 12:11 pm

Definitely no! Cramped rear seat, very uncomfortable. Noisy engine and sounds like diesel. Lousy suspension as when you carry full car of people, suddenly the car’s height as tall as a Toyota Wish. I hope you can consider other brands or maybe a Alphard as local Toyota sell those lousy model to us.

• JackeyDeck on Apr 12, 2013 at 2:48 pm

> BOYRACER & frenzyaustin

Really that lousy ? the last thing i need is a MPV that will make my passengers feeling dizzy where-ever they are seated. I hate cars like that.

I am driving Toyota Camry 2.4L(2007) & Mercedes C180. Currently working at somewhere in middle-east. Expecting to transfer back to KL to work this coming May. (yeah. i will be able to vote @ 5/5). When i am driving the Camry by myself w/ my wife seated at the front passenger seat, we both are fine. But when my driver is driving the car, my wife n i seated behind… damn, the dizziness is killing us. The rear seat, well, being comfy as it is, but the flatness & lack of bucket rear seat sure do make me n my wife sick whenever travelling long distance. The C180… no complain, other than the pathetic expensive maintenance cost (well company bare it)

my wife keep on asking me to buy kereta tinggi tinggi. I don’t like SUV (although my wife adore to have one). MPV on the other hand, has better functionality compare to a SUV. Afterall, i m buying this sort of big car is meant for family event. But, if this car can cause dizziness due to the constant goyang-goyang… then i better look for other alternative liao lo.

• Proton Exora. Maybe is the only good car (dunno how preve is doing) from P1.

• JackeyDeck on Apr 12, 2013 at 7:15 pm

seen one when it was displayed in a shopping market at my hometown… premium model i think. Honestly, the interior ain’t bad. Better than Alza.

Didn’t have the chance to test drive it. Maybe i should do it one day.

• Danny,

Any news for Honda or Nissan as to how many units in Malaysia are affected?

http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/04/11/us-toyota-recall-idUSBRE93A04D20130411

• hello on Apr 12, 2013 at 3:09 am

why no news on latest 2 recalls on hyundai kia?paultan?other car sites have coverage on that

• Altis on Apr 12, 2013 at 7:48 am

Hi all, my dad is 2002 altis, but no service at Toyota service centre. So this recall my dad can bring to Toyota for free change?

• silvia13 on Apr 12, 2013 at 10:33 am

I had 30years old toyota car.I think need to recall also.
    People of Malaysia get rubbish car from Japanese model that why we need to establish our own nation car to protect our people.Japanese people get different spec from people in Malaysia.
    Do you think Japanese will take care chinese,malay and Indian people…I dont think so
    so please proud with Malaysian Car with new high level of safety feature input in new model of Proton.whatever members in paultan comment it and always condem it,I just want to said PROTON now build best car for Our People.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
  • Merc = Real Conti on Apr 12, 2013 at 10:54 am

Recalling cars over 10 years old…. now that is what I call taking responsibility…. Normally manufacture will blame it to the age of the car…and escape bad publicity…

• Lol.. they will try it if they can. This mass recall is not cheap yo. But someone already found out where the problem came from. If they don’t recall, sure kena sue kao kao and become a worser publicity than bad publicity.

• momok5900 on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:09 am

recall is good thing for customer. but you will face a lot of trouble when making appointment. it is like when you want to claim warranty for original handphone. the guy will give so many excuses until you fed up and repair yourself. that is Malaysia world.so many grey area in policies or procedure.

• gOOsh on Apr 12, 2013 at 12:29 pm

hei.. this is part of their marketing strategy larr…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • @wilsonrock95 on Apr 12, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Lubricate hole….

• Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2013 at 4:50 pm

New Airbag. Higher RV !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Looser on Apr 13, 2013 at 3:27 pm

Yes..can sell the new airbag to halfcut..car itself is junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Aiya..I bought Toyota…didn’t know got recall. Cannot boast now to P1/P2 owner.

• You bought a Toyota to boast to others? Just a Toyota? mana boleh? Get a Ferrari ma.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • honda and toyota are junks! drivers of honda cars are sooo proud of their honda… honda is a crap not just now now but even its past production..there is no way im loving this defective cars.

• Sam Loo on Apr 14, 2013 at 8:03 am

CKD Honda Malaysia is crap.

If you had sat in a fully imported Honda Civic, Odyssey or Legend, Toyota Corolla, Klugger or RAV4 (not in Malaysia, off course) you will know that Japanese made cars are 2nd to none in the world.

• Sam Loo on Apr 14, 2013 at 8:22 am

Dear All Readers, if you want to trade in your 10 year old Camry or Corolla Altis, you could actually buy a 2 year old Sonata or Elantra for the same price.

This goes to show how Toyota maintains its value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • samlusak on Apr 14, 2013 at 5:18 pm

this is the brand sam loo told us to buy. after 10 years with risky driving, toyota told us its safety defects. if one dies before that, how? toyota will give insurance?

• Anonymous on Apr 18, 2013 at 6:00 pm

Personally I think this is a campaign to recall bac those old toyota owner and convince them to buy another “uncle” car. Hell yea!

• Jadoo on Apr 19, 2013 at 10:59 am

The good things about all these International brands … they just want to give the best, even to the extend **RECALL** QC failed vehicles. KUDOS to them. I will still buy from them and definitely I won’t buy local “tin susu” and accident prone !

• Norman on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:59 am

Fark la,Its only a recall why make a big fuss?At least they’re gentle enough to recall back

• Engineer on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:59 pm

From inside source, this is purely a marketing gimmick to show people that toyota care as their sales are falling badly due to their recent ugly designs and very action sales strategy that purposely create long waiting list for new buyers and poir discount. But i hv to acknowledge that their service is wayyyyy superior to BMW Malaysia

• Engineer on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:00 pm

From inside source, this is purely a marketing gimmick to show people that toyota care as their sales are falling badly due to their recent ugly designs and very lansi sales strategy that purposely create long waiting list for new buyers coupled with very poor discount. But i hv to acknowledge that their service is wayyyyy superior to BMW Malaysia