Over 1,000 AES cameras to be installed nationwide

aes

Thought the whole thing had slipped away into the background? Apparently not. The Ministry of Transport has revealed that as many as 1,079 Automated Enforcement System (AES) cameras are to be installed around the country, says a report by The Malaysian Insider.

In a written reply to a question from Segambut MP Lim Lip Eng at the Dewan Rakyat, the ministry said that the locations of the cameras have yet to be identified, but will be determined by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety and Research (MIROS) soon.

“(Translated) As many as 1,079 AES cameras have yet to be installed nationwide. MIROS is identifying accident-prone areas using a more detailed set of criteria based on the latest national road accident statistics.”

The written reply also revealed that as of June 11 this year, the government had collected RM20 million in fines from the 673,339 summons issued.

“(Translated) 628,045 of the summons issued were for speeding while the remaining 45,294 were for traffic light violations. The compound collected for the same period totalled RM20,020,500,” the ministry said.

The RM700 million AES project began with 14 cameras in the pilot phase, but the Road Transport Department (JPJ) has pledged to increase the number of cameras by the end of 2013.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• johnny on Jul 19, 2013 at 11:34 am

the rempits are not going to take this kindly.. i hope they practice their artistic creativity on these gastly objects… i hope the brim covers spray cans..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 186 Thumb down 53
    • Thanks kerajaan barisan! These are expected since they’ve won the election.
      But IMO,
      AES for long, straight, wide, safe highway: big NO! Sometimes people need to drive at 120-130km/h for a while to overtake those who drive near speed limit. Besides, it is safer to drive aa bit faster with focus rather than constantly checking speedometer.
      If the gov really want to safe live and improve traffic condition, put AES for these: drivers who overtake in double-line, drivers who cut queue near exits or junction, drivers who disobey traffic lights, drivers who make u-turn in prohibited junctions, etc.
      And plus, to be fair, the AES summons should be paid from percentage of people’s salary. Dare?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 254 Thumb down 112
      • kadajawi on Jul 19, 2013 at 3:37 pm

Please add AES for drivers who hog the right lane. If there is no other car they have to drive on the left, regardless of their speed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 6
        • Obama on Jul 20, 2013 at 11:40 am

A guy driving a ferrari at 230kmh is getting the same fine as a poor guy that driving an old wira. So, the ferrari driver don’t mind to speed to for another 10 AES. Nice

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 28
        • Dont Trust Liars on Jul 20, 2013 at 11:54 am

The main question here is who is the one who got the contract to do the AES? It has been proven in figues and numbers that the AES contractor will be making clean profit of about RM10 million per day. That kind of profit is more than any Bursa company makes. You want to guess who got this contract?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 26
          • crazee on Jul 24, 2013 at 8:33 am

Really RM 10 mil in a day? can i know where do you get your figure? mind boggling

• watsittuya on Jul 19, 2013 at 3:51 pm

GT3, what a very stupid remarks! No body force you to follow the rules. Keep breaking the rules because its them rules breakers who will get all the summons. That is what summons and jails are for, get it. For you,a big thumb down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 112
        • TeacW7 on Jul 19, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Come on watsittuya, everyone knows govt tries their best to milk dry the rakyats. There is no other way of milking this fast… If their main concern is safety, our local car manufacturers not to mention who sudah lama tutup kedai bang…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 92
        • hakimR on Jul 19, 2013 at 6:22 pm

Watsittuya, your remarks are even more stupid. Open your eyes and please go back to school, thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 115
          • Drive Fast But safe on Jul 19, 2013 at 6:47 pm

Watsittuya is stupid driver indeed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 94
        • batukerikiljalan on Jul 20, 2013 at 3:35 am

watsittuya …dude u so stupid and blind you forgot to see that they are trying milk every malaysian money. Think bigger..think global outcome..is it effective measure to cut down the accidents by putting speed cam on straight road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 42
          • if everyone follows the rules.. then how to milk? milk apa? susu apa? lol..

• waterman on Jul 21, 2013 at 12:00 am

Not even that… i just check my summon of AES… found that there’s a saga exactly same number as mine and causing me additional 2 summons… and they can be as stupid as ignoring that car is not the same model as mine… WTF! what can i do now?

• 3 lane highway speed limit 70km/j??
        perghhh..
        4 unsettle summon

• daamz on Jul 19, 2013 at 3:55 pm

I love you BN.. I Love PM..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 54
  • Summon Payer on Jul 19, 2013 at 11:46 am

With this, I hope people change their bad to a good attitude when driving in future. Safely and Safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 97
    • thats bullsht,if you havent notice everytime there is an aes camera ppl just slowdown for that 100m stretch then pecut again after that. utter waste of rakyats money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 174 Thumb down 99
      • ahole on Jul 19, 2013 at 1:41 pm

The reason the cameras are placed is to reduce accident rates at treacherous stretches of the road. As far as logic is concerned the cameras will prevent them from speeding at these stretches, thus reducing the rate of accidents. You are stupid to think that the government expect people to stick to their speed limits constantly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 57
        • come ill show you some of the location where they place these aes. just go on the north-south highway right after the bangi exit where they place the thing on a straight stretch of highway road. like that might aswell put it every kilometer yea?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 60
        • flat_tire on Jul 19, 2013 at 2:57 pm

what treacherous road..? you mean roads with a lot of potholes huh..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 24
        • batukerikiljalan on Jul 20, 2013 at 3:39 am

Hello ahole(what a name fits you nicely),

Dude first of all,,,check where are they implementing the AES…you all tadah ape the G cakap believe the the G is all good…but…think of the consequences to the rakyat pocket money…1079 camera all over malaysia 24 hours non stop snapping ur pic…

Get the picture? mesti kena 1 laaaa confem!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 22
      • Critique on Jul 19, 2013 at 1:43 pm

Agreed, as I’ve seen this trend occur on the SKVE (AES Cam located adjacent to Shell retail station).

Moreover, most who are familiar with the speed cam’s location would approach that stretch at a lower speed, but to the unfamiliar, they’ll be barreling down and hitting the brakes at the final second.

This doesn’t really help with road safety.

Hence the idea regulating speed limits are ok, but at the expense of safety?

Cheers :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 12
        • ahole on Jul 19, 2013 at 1:53 pm

In that case its up to you to be alert enough to watch out for big yellow signboards that says ZON OPERASI KAMERA

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 13
          • Critique on Jul 19, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Very true ahole(no pun intended :))!

However, IMHO, at that particular spot on the SKVE, speeding drivers are very likely to zoom by due to the not so far distance between sign and AES cam :). Do correct me if there’s more than 1 sign further up the road from this one.

In an ideal world, all drivers are alert 100% of the time, all drivers follow the law and hence no need for AES Cams. But alas this is not an ideal world.

Cheers :)

• BN trooper will bring ur vote down, let fight dark era together

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 124
    • tazzy devil on Jul 19, 2013 at 2:04 pm

Speak for yourself, moron. It’s not about bad driving habits. The few with bad driving habits can be educated if the government want to put the money and effort into it.

Instead they focus on the AES as certain parties will gain from this. Just avenues for cron8es to make money. If doesn’t work, the government will bail out the scums.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 98
    • flat_tire on Jul 19, 2013 at 3:04 pm

eh hello.. FYI it doesn’t change anyone’s attitude lah.. it merely makes them drive a little slower at certain places on the road.. and that’s it.. nothing more.. and i’ve seen those who drive at well below the speed limit.. yet still drives like a complete moron..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 3
  • Undilah Barisan ……..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 25
    • Dr Cooper on Jul 19, 2013 at 12:14 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 175
      • it’s called sarcasm… heard of it???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 46
      • batukerikiljalan on Jul 20, 2013 at 3:42 am

Alahai kesian Dr Cooper…too stupid to understand sarcasm..

Are you retarded or live in a cave all this while when BN want to implement AES…hadoii ignorant la ko ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 97
  • gOOsh on Jul 19, 2013 at 11:54 am

wa nyer saman aes tak bayar lagi nih…
    kena naik court ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Rempit on Jul 19, 2013 at 12:01 pm

700million if divide with 1079 AES, thats like 600k++ for each camera..i wonder how much 600k camera can do. 100megapixel lens with daily monitoring maybe…

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 138 Thumb down 117
    • bikers on Jul 19, 2013 at 1:22 pm

ei bengap cable laying, server, computer system, software, project implementation etc cost hang tak kira

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 70
      • johnny on Jul 19, 2013 at 2:12 pm

i see you got the contract for it.. good for you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 73
      • Ya la tu! Do you think the whole projects cost 700 Mill? Just to install 1000+ Cameras, software and hardware?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 34
        • The profit is 17 percent, which is pretty reasonable.

http://www.malaysia-chronicle.com/index.php?option=com_k2&view=item&id=43639:selangor-hits-final-nail-on-aes-coffin&Itemid=2#axzz2ZUxbInBd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
          • Gegary on Jul 20, 2013 at 3:08 am

The 17% might be after minus all “pocket money” (wang masuk kocek la), inflated prices etc. Surely you are not born yesterday, or are non-Malaysian not to know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 22
      • congrats on Jul 19, 2013 at 3:00 pm

cable laying, server, computer system, software, project implementation etc cost 700mill !!! brape kau dapat bro?? kasi share sikit, 10percent? or 20? 30 maybe? eheheh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 106
        • Ni baik punye skim cepat kaya. Profit at installation and then during operation. Siapa concessionare ah? Jika kerja dgn dia ni dapat discount saman ke? Satu lagi project perbodohkan rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 33
  • Joe Radzif on Jul 19, 2013 at 12:12 pm

bersyukurlah dengan kerajaan kita yg prihatin dengan rakyat dengan pasang kamera AES ini.
    *Facepalm

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 5
  • Yeay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • I’ll just put this here to lighten the mood
    http://youtu.be/Gm9XNyERe6Q?t=2m44s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Jump to 2:44

• this is how we should do to our useless bastard cops.. make fun of them.. this is awesome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 112
      • armandd on Jul 19, 2013 at 7:22 pm

I hope when you’re in trouble some day, the ‘useless bastard cops’ will just ignore you.. Because they’re useless rite?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 33
        • Well, no worries.. we deal it in our ways. see robber? catch and whack the shit out of them. Polis reali useless, in Malaysia it is not uncommon u got rob due to poor security. a few times gt rob, polis said” kalau tak cedera tak ape, asalkan takde kemautan.” i was like WTF. Slammed the table and off i go. U think they are saint. but they are actually insane. u wont trust me until u experienced it urself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 31
        • well , no worries. nowadays we caught snatch thieves. just whack the shit out of him. never rely on polis, there were few times reporting polis, they give all sorts of excuses just not to involve. and yet, u guys treat them like god-like. they are nothing but pubic servant. we tax payer paid taxes and polis minum kopi and chillax in police station? if u guys wan this kind of security, good. can move to africa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 32
        • yeahhh on Jul 28, 2013 at 4:15 pm

errrmm…da useless bastard cops have already ignored me and the other 39.3% malaysians

• John, u r bastard~ my uncle is police, 3 of my cousin is police. my uncle is something like SWAT, the one they sent to Lahad Datu. 1 my cousin severely injured fight with peragut. my grand father use to be mata-mata (police laa).. its like whole family is law enforcer. dont because 1 police doing bastards, u call police useless.. i hope i can meet u and shoot ur ass.. stupid people saying stupid thing. go f**k your mummy.. useless bastard..

P/S : my family never eat “duit kopi”.. and take note not all police take “duit kopi”..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 39
        • your bro on Jul 20, 2013 at 10:07 am

sorry man, but what john said is true. i kena a few times report polis sue to suspicious malay boy riding motor. guess what? polis say they will be there.. yeah, takes forever until crime happened, no polis but resident who caught and beat the shit out of the poor boy. One unce sounded the polis and all polis know was ‘sory sory…’. c’mon la, polis is public servant. we dont pay tax for them to relax while we live in fear.. mayb caused ur family is in police force. u oni see the good side of it. come out from ur somfort zone and check out the reality. it hurts ur feelings…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 46
        • your bro on Jul 20, 2013 at 10:09 am

btw, ur uncle is VAT 69 or PGK? tel u what? my uncle is in special branch also. he is also a good cop. but too many corrupted bastard cop to see a handful of good and honest cops.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 53
        • kah…kah…kah of course lah, never eat duit kopi in front of you. If the money so suci and pure u will never said like this “i hope i can meet u and shoot ur ass.. stupid people saying stupid thing. go f**k your mummy.. useless bastard.. “

• nighttrain on Jul 19, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Be thankful we live in a peaceful country. I’m guessing they fixed the legal loophole that made AES summons got thrown out of court previously. Or does that need a Parliamentary Act to be approved, which might take years? Be thankful we live in a peaceful country. Buy more chicken. Stay in school. Selamat berpuasa, don’t hantam other people, your puasa batal lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 20
  • hidup UMNO! (wlpun 3 saman aes x byr lagi)….hihihih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 11
  • Valent5505 on Jul 19, 2013 at 12:32 pm

WTF AES….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
  • Thank godlah, our gov so concern about the raayat safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
    • kk232r on Jul 19, 2013 at 1:54 pm

yeah..sampai every week ada orang kena tembak mati..malaysia is still safe..Poodahhh..vote BN…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 107
      • razzack04 on Jul 19, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Every week ada orang kena tembak mati…. that’s 52 for the whole year, still ok. Just kidding… Malaysia is safer compared to Syria or some US cities. However, it’s not safe compared to Singapore and we are getting worse. In my kampung , nearly every house was robbed or broken into in the last 5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 27
        • yeahhh on Jul 28, 2013 at 4:42 pm

malaysia is safer compared to palestine..
          malaysia oil is cheaper compared to alaska
          malaysia durian is cheaper compared to singapore..
          malaysia palm oil is cheaper compared to japan..

• jolly_idiot on Jul 19, 2013 at 1:15 pm

Barisan nasional boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • Are you sure our government so concern our safety or just another BN project to suck RAKYAT money. Sad case~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 46
  • ABTguy on Jul 19, 2013 at 1:34 pm

I am not against installation of AES at accident-prone area, but please do not abuse by purpose do it at loophole area !!

And please review the bloody speed limit at various proposed area before you implement this. Else it’s largely unfair !!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
  • its the time to collect back Money after belanja so much before PRU :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 73
  • blackbox on Jul 19, 2013 at 1:38 pm

700 million is more effective to install CCTV camera at those robbery prone area.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 41
  • Money collection campaign have started!! Rakyat dikena-dulu-i…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 86
  • Polo Saga on Jul 19, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Thanks to “Bullshit Nonsense”!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
  • kk232r on Jul 19, 2013 at 1:45 pm

cilaka!!!..no increment in Salary but the rest of the expenditures keep rising up…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 17
  • lepat on Jul 19, 2013 at 2:00 pm

tahniah BN
    i love AES.. i drive slowly , save fuel, energy n money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 30
  • some fellas drive fast..probably 140kmh..but they dont cause harm to other drivers..the one causes harm and most of the accidents..when they are driving recklessly, overtaking from one lane to another..doing zig-zag..flashing high beam at nite..thinking it’s their grandfather’s road… how does AES will significantly reduce road accidents when the cause accidents are mainly due to driver’s attitude??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 42
    • WhiteCollar on Jul 19, 2013 at 2:48 pm

Agree 100%. i drive fast too but i DONT do zigzags,flash high beams, n drive recklessly and acts which might cause accidents.
      Those arrogant n reckless ones are the culprits most of the times! unprofessionally and uneducated!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 70
  • LotusLover on Jul 19, 2013 at 2:21 pm

In fact I support that we should have AES , BUT..
    With 90% of money collected from saman will go to the AES company and 10% to the G. Logic????
    And the cost of the AES RM600K/unit. Logic???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 24
  • akuAES on Jul 19, 2013 at 2:34 pm

I become the most valuable camera in the world thanks to BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • Tak sokong B.N. dan Inspira/Preve on Jul 19, 2013 at 2:34 pm

With that amount budget spend, actually can install CCTV in every KM oled.Come on BN, Tsunami is not on Chinese anymore, 1 Malaysia oled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 95
  • Datuk on Jul 19, 2013 at 2:43 pm

The RM700 million AES project began… wah why so expensive? Rm700 million its too much i think

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Do you think only lawyers should earn from law breakers to buy bungalows? Researchers, hardware engineers, software engineers, technicians, system operators need to have a better life too. :)

We can estimate how much our lawyers get over a period of five years, which is probably the lifespan of AES. (100k per lawyer per year x 15000 lawyers x 5 years = 7.5 billion ringgit) This is ten times the cost of AES.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • kacimara on Jul 19, 2013 at 2:53 pm

Kepada yg berwajib,

Sy sangat berharap agar pihak berwajib menaik taraf sistem kemudahan pengangkutan asas, bukan hanya di kawasan sesak seperti KL, JB atau Penang, tetapi juga di antara KL dan JB, Penang ke KL sbg contoh.

Telah kita ketahui yg malaysia semakin sesak dgn kereta, semasa hari perayaan jalan raya kerap berlaku kemalangan. masih belum ada perancangan membina keretapi laju ke?

Penambah sistem AES hanya akan membuat pengguna menyampah, muak dan masih memandu dgn laju.

ingatlah lagi lama anda dijalan raya, lagi banyak bilangan kenderaan maka lagi tggi kebarangkalian utk berlaku kemalangan.

yg benar,
    Pemandu dan penunggang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 65
  • Why are you guys angry about. If you like to drive fast then be it. If you got the summons just pay. Is that so difficult? Berani buat berani tanggung la. I got 50++ summons for speeding and already paid. So what.
    P/s: pay your summons when pdrm give discount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
    • Medic on Jul 22, 2013 at 8:57 am

Well dude,you think private company is going to give you any more discount for paying?every ringgit counts,no more mercy now.See how you react when kena.

• AES ?? on Jul 19, 2013 at 3:15 pm

heheheh…ok what…atleast dah mcm paparazzi…and get ready, bila kena AES we can say cheeeseeeeee….n MAKE SURE show middle of ur finger!!!

• AESisDUMB on Jul 19, 2013 at 3:23 pm

this is totally ridiculous. i don’t find how this could actually help to reduce accidents. it helps to reduce speeds but most of the time, accident occurs not because of fast speed. it’s because of reckless driving or in another way, too slow driving! we are in highway for goodness sake! if you want to drive slow please take the trunk roads!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 35
  • you can’t implement ‘first-world’ things like this in a country like Malaysia. The idea of ‘driving safely’ needs to be first planted into the people’s mind before implementing, you need good education and good law reinforcement before this. If not it is just a waste of resource

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
  • Please install AES at traffic light and place which has high number of accidents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • mayonis on Jul 19, 2013 at 3:41 pm

so itu kaji balik dulu punya ckp sebelum pilihanraya sudah simpan dlm itu lelmari la…tarak perlu refine balik itu mana patut letak…terus letak tempat mcm itu bangi jugak.

tahniah pada semua.

• Joe Radzif on Jul 19, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Er…
    BN Cybertroopers swap this place ka?
    so many against gomen comment see red…
    hik hik hik…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
  • Dru-Zod on Jul 19, 2013 at 4:09 pm

One more industry where the crony suppliers are laughing their way to the bank at the expense of the rakyat’s money. Nothing much has changed then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
  • This amount of money should put on improving transportation, hospitals & schools.
    Wasted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 23
  • LimTat on Jul 19, 2013 at 5:15 pm

i’m ok with AES, no problem :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
  • tokmoh on Jul 19, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Beribu-ribu tahniah, BN berjaya!

Syukurlah BN beri kami AES, kini Malaysia jauh lebih maju ke hadapan berbanding Zimbabwe, Uganda, Somalia dll, dan bertambah aman makmur bahagia negara ini.

Terima kasih BN! Biar kroni kenyang rakyat derita, jangan hilang BN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 31
  • Well, malaysia is not safe at all. Even doc oso kena robbed with thumb chopped off. Tourist area oso kena rob. Government. Im telling u, y not spend the money wisely on crippling crime. And install more CCTV at tourist area. If robbery keep increase, nxt 2years Malaysia goina go bankrupt in tourist segment. Besides, drive fast is not a crime. Robbing, slashing and killing is a crime. And never tel the rakyat is just our perception. To hell with it. Soon Malaysian economy will go down the drain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 26
  • ckblu on Jul 19, 2013 at 6:42 pm

We have to wait for another 5 yrs if don’t want to have AES.. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • I am not against making for safer road but the way G is implementing it, contract it to private company shows this is a money making scheme for the cronies instead of road education. AES should only be a punishment for ppl who ignored series of warning sign and not a profitable business… this is sad…

• Sharon on Jul 19, 2013 at 7:48 pm

Good! Because I’ve frustrated with law breaker on the road. The more the better!!!! Thank GOD! People who hate AES are those who can not follow the current laws.

The more they watch those racing movies including F&F, the more they follow and drive like crazy on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • Samlok on Jul 19, 2013 at 8:27 pm

wait until u kena one at 30km/h

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 30
      • “the five proposed cameras at the 30kph zones have a greater spirit and reasoning behind it: these five spots are in close proximity to schools and hospitals”

http://manage.mmail.com.my/story/aes-kill-your-speed-or-kill-child-36746

So, do you mean a driver passing a school or hospital at 80 kph should not be punished?

• Medic on Jul 22, 2013 at 8:54 am

Follow law?what if the law is unfair?or the spoils go to a private crony company,whose sole purpose is to earn more,hence will over-step it’s interpretation of the law to summon as many as possible.Can you name me any country where public summon is done by a private company?

I once kena ‘saman’ using a 2 lane up,2 lane down state road on sunday,cruising along at 70km/h where the speed limit is
          60km/h(being near a school).
          Another thing to think about is will this put an end to the police who used to hide behind a bush to ‘shoot’ summons?

• Sharon on Jul 20, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Sorry Samlok, I follow the laws!

From your comment, I know you don’t follow the laws.

• samlok on Jul 22, 2013 at 12:28 pm

Don’t be too sure your will not break laws. after all your r just human

• Micheal on Jul 19, 2013 at 7:50 pm

TIME TO TAKE THEM DOWN! MAKE THEM TAP!

• Myvian on Jul 19, 2013 at 9:16 pm

Just follow the rules la…why u must afraid if u follow the rules???want to speeding r??go to Sepang la!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
    • common man on Jul 19, 2013 at 10:03 pm

we follow reasonable rules, not something that want to trap us and milking money from our already very swallow pocket…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • common man on Jul 19, 2013 at 10:00 pm

Have u ever drive in a federal/state road with 3 lanes and the speed limit is 50km/h, 70km/h? Most of the cars are cruising around 80~90km/h, and you are trying to maintain the speed limit….

• nighttrain on Jul 19, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Since MIROS will be pinpointing dangerous locations fit to install AES, they should take the initiative to rectify the problem roads. If the roads are safer, then people will drive faster, AES will catch them, you make money.

• ..Yes follow the rules but…be fair AES are not for the speedings,but also for drivers who overtake in double-line, hogging on the right lane ,drivers who cut queue near exits or junction, drivers who disobey traffic lights, drivers who make u-turn in prohibited junctions,over load lorry pasir ..etc

• aes !!! on Jul 19, 2013 at 11:11 pm

RM700 mil ??? I’m loving it,
    Maybe can be round up for to RM1 bil in the middle of the project like always

• Aiyoo. With all that money goes into AES. Hope this could improve our traffic jammed that we face twice daily as commute back and forth to work. Even my road also have land slide and now operate with 1 lane only. Already 2 month without repair. They said no budget.

• I wonder if we drive more than 200km/h, would this AES be able to capture our image? How fast can we go, in order to avoid this.

• otakudang on Jul 20, 2013 at 12:16 am

pilot phase = 14 cameras = 673,339 summons = RM20 million collected so far
    full phase = 1079 cameras = good business!!

• common man on Jul 20, 2013 at 12:17 am

Simple math time,
    14 cameras = 673,339 summons = 48,095.64 per camera.
    Thus, 1079 cameras x 48,095.64 = 51,895,198.64 summons.
    51,895,198.64 x RM$200 per summon = RM$10,379,039,728.6, it is a 10 billion ringgit revenue business here, another proud project brought to you by B!!!!!N!!!!! Malaysia Boleh !!!
    BTW, how much % are the crony company get????

• Wait until you cross the traffic light and then u got jam in the middle of the cross junction… ZAP! AES saman u….

Or later ambulance mari, no one want to open a lane for ambulance… afraid got ZAP by AES then you need to pay saman first then go court argue… later argue kalah, saman bayar… rugi besar, masa bazir…

I’m pretty much fine with AES on the highway… but don’t go and put on area which suddenly have a lower speed limit… easily get caught when you miss the speed limit board….

I think there is pretty much scenario that the G muz make clear to us driver on such conditions above… it is unfair truly when you cross and traffic sudden go red(due to traffic light malfunction). you got fine for something stupid like that!

• Exsuperbikerider on Jul 20, 2013 at 12:38 am

So, super bike riders will kena or not as 95% of them sure break the speed limit when on the highway.

• awesome on Jul 20, 2013 at 1:32 am

i can see komen yang against the gov dapat banyak dislikes. tapi ada yang komen support gov in terms of sarcasm dpt banyak like. cybertroopers bn stupid ka? HAHAHEHO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 51
  • Kurt Angel on Jul 20, 2013 at 1:41 am

B-End boleh!! Is time to squeeze the Rakyat/People money!! What a great gift for the rakyat after winning the election…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 52
  • paparadzi on Jul 20, 2013 at 3:02 am

It is easy to see if this AES is sincerely for road safety or enriching the cronies.

If the cameras are installed at places where people beat the traffic light or similar things, it is surely for traffic safety.

If the cameras are mostly installed at highways with ridiculously low speed limit (Bangi is an example)then it is mostly for enriching the cronies and it shows that the government is not sincere about road safety.

Soon we will see which is which.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Mamarazi on Jul 20, 2013 at 7:39 am

Most likely it’s all about Kroni safety to loot more rather than road safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • So many summon collected, do it actually reduce the accident rate on highway? I dun think so coz the AES currently installed is normally at the road where is wide, straight and safe where driver can speed their way so government can sucks rakyat money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • If U obey the law, Govt can not suck your money lorr.. unless your are the bastard always speedy on public road or ignore road sign & etc for your own interest without think/consent others motorist safety…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Ada Jie on Jul 20, 2013 at 4:46 pm

AES is the most lucrative business EVER after toll collection of North South Highway, Who wants to give it up.
    If give up AES, where is the BR1M, ST1M, SK1M, PR1MA, TER1MA, K1MA, S1MA, N1AMA money going to come from???

• carlover00 on Jul 21, 2013 at 12:19 am

700million divide by 1079 AES cameras = almost 650K per camera!! for a moment i thought it’s install to shoot down aliens…

• novack on Jul 21, 2013 at 8:35 am

they know they gonna lose next GE,,so its time to sapu kaw2 before leaving..

• kl driver on Jul 21, 2013 at 10:23 am

When they put these cameras they need to put many extra speed limit signs too.. How should i know if that particular one road’s speed limit is 80km/h..

• HAHA ! I love ** !! OOppss, sorry it shouldnt be ** anymore it should be **** . HIDUP HIDUP !! The best G ever to exist in the world !! Hidup !!!

• interesting on Jul 22, 2013 at 12:01 am

Problem with AES people tend to drive way below the 110kmh near nilai in fear of kena saman. Experience all lanes, the car slow down (to almost 80kmh) and then speed up after the AES camera. It does create traffic congestion to those who knows where the camera is.

• Korang ni memang tak bersyukur laa…
    Cuba tinggal di Singapore. Mungkin baru sedar.

Bawak ikut speed limit pun sampai juga.

Tolong la sekali cuba tinggal di Singapore. Tolong la..

• Kenny on Jul 22, 2013 at 12:02 pm

673,339 summons issued, RM20 million collected.

At RM300 per summon, the total summons issued is RM202 million. So collection is only 10%. Even when they start bringing offenders to court again can the courts cope with this sort of volume? Do the police have the time to look for hundreds of thousands of court evaders?

The whole AES system will not work if payment of summons is not tied to road tax renewal. Wait for it, it is coming.

• Japankiller on Jul 22, 2013 at 4:39 pm

Guys do not worry because malaysia has a first class of advance gadget, and also we have a third class of maintenance contractor, these gadget wouldn’t be stay long on the street. These contractor after get their money will not care do maintenance on the device, eventually the thing goes faulty. Look at our existing old traffic light camera, you would know same history of story would repeat.

• evoonsa on Jul 23, 2013 at 10:48 am

minimizing accident due to speed is good, controlling the traffic is good, giving fines to people who disobey the rules is fine… but putting on facilities with 90% of the profits and money into ones pockets is totally BULLSHITTING…. i am not against it but againts with the people which is implementing it.. do you think he is thinking of ur safety and benefits?! think about it~! we know better what is behind the agenda!

• Every year traffic police has “Operasi Sikap” during CNY and Raya, has the accident rate during these festivals period decrease? No!
    Summons won’t save our live! Have gov do a proper research on the accident cause? it is too easy to blame all on “sikap pemandu” . It is too lucrative to issue summon instead to find the root cause to overcome the problem.

• yeahhh on Jul 28, 2013 at 5:03 pm

najib my hero