Mazda CX-5 – exports of Malaysian-assembled SUV begin, SkyActiv petrol/diesel units head to Thailand

CX-5 export 02

Mazda Malaysia has begun exporting the Mazda CX-5 to Thailand – the first shipment of the Malaysian-assembled SUV, which is built at the Inokom plant in Kedah, began last week when some 200 units were loaded on to a RORO in Port Klang to be shipped to the Kingdom.

The CX-5 models being exported include the SkyActiv-G 2.0 litre and 2.5 litre petrol versions as well as the SkyActiv-D 2.2 litre diesel. Reports indicate that a further 400 units of the CX-5 will be shipped to Thailand soon. Thailand is the first country in ASEAN and the region to receive the Malaysian-made units.

While the SkyActiv-D 2.2 variant is assembled locally, the company said that there are no plans to introduce it here, and you can thank the quality of local diesel for that; the Euro-4 compliant oil burner wouldn’t take too kindly to the Euro-2M diesel at the pumps. The 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G version is also not sold locally.

CX-5 export 01

Initially launched here in CBU form in May 2012, local assembly of the SUV began in April this year, with three CKD 2.0 variants entering the market in June. The CX-5 is the second Mazda to be locally assembled at the Inokom facility, after the Mazda 3 sedan and hatchback.

In July 2012, Bermaz Motor, the distributor of Mazda vehicles in Malaysia since 2008, inked a joint venture agreement with Mazda Motor Corporation for a manufacturing programme in Malaysia, with an eye on increasing local assembly and manufacturing activities in the country.

Mazda’s entry saw the establishment of Mazda Malaysia, which is responsible for both manufacturing and increasing localisation activities to support Bermaz Motor’s sales and marketing efforts. Mazda has a 70% share in the JV, with the rest held by Bermaz.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Al Gorilla on Sep 23, 2013 at 7:51 pm

Is there a REAL reason why we are not getting Euro 4 diesel at the pumps? The Malaysian in me thinks it is because Proton and/or Petronas wouldn’t let us. Could somebody shed some light on this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 18
    • oilworker on Sep 23, 2013 at 8:36 pm

petronas do not have the power to dictate which type of fuel is available in msia.. its the ministry’s job… all petronas refineries are capable of producing Euro 4 diesel already.. the ball is in the minister’s court… they made the call..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
      • Samsudin Loo on Sep 24, 2013 at 9:21 am

I thought the reason is the G wanna protect P1 coz they don’t have any diesel models?

• akmal on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:14 pm

Maybe not enough demand from the market for euro4 diesels…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 41
      • Hadi75 on Sep 25, 2013 at 6:55 am

What do you mean not enough demand???diesel users only got one choice to fillup….euro2m biodiesel…

• tishaban on Sep 23, 2013 at 11:47 pm

I’ve tried my best to think of logical or conspiracy theories but I can’t imagine why we can’t get Euro 4/5/6 diesel at the pump.

Why not do the multi fuel system that’s in place for petrol ie. RON 95/97/V-Power Racing. Let Euro 2M diesel be subsidized and let Shell for example market V-Power Diesel at market rates? There’s no risk for the govt because a commercial company other than Petronas is doing it, and there’s no cost because they sell at market rates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
      • hantu on Sep 24, 2013 at 11:23 am

Agreed with you dude.. Its already implemented in South Africa.

• pumba on Jan 23, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Hrm.. if Kenyan, Zambian and Ethiopian people got that powered diesel by their gov, Malaysians still feeling proud?

• Diesel? Diesel car ENGINE sound like helicopter or lori besar!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 88
      • angry bird on Sep 24, 2013 at 7:58 am

Hahaha..you funny. “Sudah terang lagi bersuluh” that you dont know shit about the latest diesel engine.. very funny..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • Chris on Sep 24, 2013 at 9:08 am

There’s a Diesel BMW in my apartment, it’s making less noise than my Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Moores on Sep 24, 2013 at 10:09 am

Obviously you know nuts about today’s diesel engine..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • Mazda CKD on Sep 24, 2013 at 11:18 am

I have test driven the CX-5 diesel at Inokom for testing purpose. the sound is almost the same as petrol. as for the driver and passenger, the windshield is using special laminating film to reduce the sound from the engine.

• y nobody want to congratulate for the export? and no so many comment?..i tot people want boleh to export car other than p1 & p2?..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • this is the second SUV that boleh export rite? after subaru xv…i think boleh should take the opportunity encourage other brand to assemble SUV here n export to other country..if thai assemble sedan/hatch car,n indo assemble MPV…boleh should take the SUV as boleh main production.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Euro 2M on Sep 24, 2013 at 2:42 am

I believe higher quality diesel is not introduced locally mainly because of higher cost specifically to those running commercial vehicles. Any increase in transportation costs will lead to increase in prices of well, just about everything. This is especially true for East Malaysia where goods have to travel far before they arrive at their destinations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • why dont we have both…euro2M at govt controlled price & euro4 at mkt price…like normal shell & v power.

• gavin on Sep 24, 2013 at 10:39 am

The very very simple fact is cost, clean diesel is very much more expensive to produce. Which means the cost either passes to the consumer or the gov in form of subsidies.

Secondly, is issue of backward compatibility, old engines when running clean diesels leak horribly and have problems keeping fuel pumps lubricated as those components are removed when cleaning the diesel.

So if they introduce all euro diesel only, you can imagine all the old buses and trucks and what not will suffer

• Hadi75 on Sep 25, 2013 at 6:58 am

If for petrol users….two choices are given…ron95 or ron97 so why cant diesel users be given the same choices….????

• trolololol on Sep 23, 2013 at 8:21 pm

Finally msia boleh!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • sudonano on Sep 23, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Sad sad news we don’t get the awesome diesel cars thanks to Euro 2M Diesel. :(

• Anthony, do you know if its a full CKD or SKD?

• GodSlayer on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:17 pm

Process diesel into EURO 4 need another 15 sen,thats why

• Gavin on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:25 pm

Thailand has clean euro fuel?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Yes, Thailand is on the Euro IV (4) emission standard for its fuels; it switched over in 2012. Singapore is also Euro IV, but will be moving to Euro V (5) on Jan 1, 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
      • MycarMylife on Sep 24, 2013 at 8:07 am

What happened to Boleh land ? Best in the world in everything ? Keep up la MY !
        Revert to Ron 92 and still selling Euro 2 M sheesh!

• KL Ong on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Reading this piece of news really gets my blood boiling! When make a booking with Prima Merdu, they committed 2 mths delivery period. It’s closer to 3 mths already and I still can’t get any affirmative answer from them! Great way to go Bermaz!! You had your chance to grow your market share, but you blew it by leaving your customer high and dry! SYABAS !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Sunriver on Sep 24, 2013 at 9:46 am

Yup…. I ordered 1 early Sept the Sales guy said 3 month to be delivered. The facts, the SUV is CKD, parts comes from Japan, so Bermaz should have nego more in getting more CKD kits to meet the demand. Bottom-line, ppl at Bermaz are just a bunch of “YES” men, don’t know how to nego… pitty.

Why are we not going for Diesel? or Bio-Diesel? Here is the logic (which the Ministry are lacking) you get more mileage per fillup i.e. so rather than fillup per week, the fillup is stretch to every 2 weeks. So the importation / payment of fuel subsidy is also reduced. Think about it….

• foxtrot on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:50 pm

majority of sales seems to be from diesel in europe

• bukapintubayartol on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:51 pm

It is good to see the export program running. Mazda seriously underestimated the demand for the CX-5. The waiting list in Malaysia is about 3 – 4 months!

I have a feeling Mazda may want to start assembling the CX-5 in Thailand.

• kambinganas on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Are these models getting the special BOSE sound system?

• Malaysia Boleh on Sep 23, 2013 at 11:54 pm

This is a first! Finally we are exporting cars to Thai. Its always been the other way round. Kudos Mazda for this… Good thing they found a “loaded” partner here (Berjaya/Bermaz).

• Kevin on Sep 23, 2013 at 11:55 pm

After reading this I really felt that we Malaysian re so pathetic.. Paying higher car price and getting only entry variant model compare to other county… What kind of crap is this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • norman on Sep 24, 2013 at 12:43 am

Singapore diesel already Euro V leh,Even bus depots are euro V with adblue tank in additional.from 2014 all diesel powered vehicles that are sold have to be at least Euro V…MB already had euro VI buses

• in Singapore< privateers cannot purchase diesel vehicles…..only for commercial use!

• hello…where have u been, of course privateer can buy diesel cars in sg. lately cars manufacturer have started to introduce diesel cars in sg to take advantage of the rebates for low co2 emitting cars. (diesel cars have the advantage of lower co2)

• oh gosh…..hahahaha
          I gonna kill my unreliable informer in Singapore!

• hantu on Sep 24, 2013 at 11:27 am

Wonder why?

• Donkey Kong on Sep 24, 2013 at 3:27 am

So this is the actual reason behind instead of the so called ‘production color problem’ excuse that Bermaz claimed for infinite delivery schedule to local Malaysian orders. Fellow country men are not stupid enuf to believe in such excuse, by knowing of the color mixing technology now are fully computerise operated. The innocent buyers are only hoping to get their car delivery as scheduled. Very well done Bermaz. You have successfully ruined consumers’ trust in local market. Clap clap!!!!

• sky pirate on Sep 24, 2013 at 12:57 pm

actually they do have production paint problem for CKD cars. if you haven’t noticed, the CKD mazda 3’s all have this 2 tone color problem, the bumpers and the body have 2 distinct colors. it is especially visible on white cars, whereas CBU cars don’t have this problem.

• jflee169 on Sep 24, 2013 at 9:29 am

PATHETIC

• car_anon on Sep 24, 2013 at 10:31 am

Thailand produces millions of cars every year but we happy with our low volume of production? Liberalize the market, by bringing in more car companies and part manufacturers in the country, more Malaysian will get jobs in the automotive industries plus proton can gain access to more higher quality automotive parts

• Peter on Sep 24, 2013 at 11:39 am

It’s so sarcastic to see the product built but couldn’t be used here. Technology wise it’s delivering a message to local consumer: “not for you!”

• bystander on Sep 24, 2013 at 11:56 am

Interesting review here from Thailand newspaper
    http://www.nationmultimedia.com/business/The-CX-5-A-soul-in-motion-30212054.html

“However, due to the lack of capacity at its AutoAlliance Thailand joint-venture plant in Rayong, the new model is likely to be imported tax-free from Malaysia using the ASEAN Free Trade Agreement.”

TAX-FREE!

“The cars came with three engine variants, which would also be offered in Thailand. They include the 2.0- and 2.5-litre gasoline and 2.2-litre diesel. Both 2WD and AWD versions will be offered for the gasoline variants, while the diesel will be available only with AWD.”
    “The diesel powerplant (175hp/420Nm) was my favourite choice for the CX-5 when driving in New Zealand. Apart from the excellent fuel economy (17.5km/litre), thanks goes to the large amount of torque that helps the crossover shoot out from corners with more authority, while uphill performance is also better. Meanwhile, the 2.5-litre engine (188hp/250Nm) revs up pretty well and is another great engine to propel the CX-5, giving an average fuel economy of 13.5km/litre. The smallest engine is the 2.0-litre (155hp/210Nm), which boasts outstanding fuel economy for a gasoline-powered compact crossover (17.8km/litre), but acceleration isn’t one of its strong points. A little throttle input would often result in a kickdown, which makes driving it quite tiring.”

Northern and Southern neighbours get to enjoy modern clean-diesel engines at a lower price, while we in the middle, well, you know la…

I wonder how much is their diesel price though…

• Hadi75 on Sep 24, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Last time i fill up in shell singapore….it cost me S$1.67 or S$1.62 per litre ( euro5 diesel )….compare that to their income….it’s damn cheap….mind you there are 5% discount if you pay cash or 10% – 15% discount if you card off the total price……

• Sunriver on Sep 25, 2013 at 9:13 am

Totally support you on this one bro….

I earn SG money, I pay SG expenses. So when our policy makers make these price comparisons all they do is make direct FOREX comparisons on the fuel price ONLY, average income earner – nothing….

• Jason on Nov 21, 2013 at 12:56 am

Thailand diesel price is about 3 Ringgit per litre btw.

• Henry Ford the XII on Sep 24, 2013 at 12:44 pm

All new Mazda3 mana/bila?

• Darwis on Sep 24, 2013 at 1:22 pm

Why there is backlog in delivery CX-5 due to Inokom unable to produce high volume per shift.
    Currently, only 1 line running to produce CX-5 and shared with Elantra model.
    Eventhough their running with 2 shift still unable to meet sales demand

• totti on Sep 24, 2013 at 1:34 pm

This Mazda CX 5 need to improve on the interior spacing at rear seat.

The rear seat behind is too incline and make you suffer if go for long distance.

This car is a driver car but not for family.

• Hadi75 on Sep 24, 2013 at 2:13 pm

If the issue of not introducing euro4 and above diesel in malaysia bcos of costing, then give choice to the people la……if we can provide ron95 and ron97 for the petrol users, why cant the same be done for diesel????

• initially want booking CX 5 but informed by sa glamarie waiting list 4 mth due to factory backlog, concern on quality issue. Now place booking CRV, not so photogenic but at least proven reliability.

• Darwis on Sep 25, 2013 at 8:40 am

You’re right honda is proven reliability but dont forget CRV is also local production. Share same local vendor about 70% of the parts with cx-5

• weneedbetterchoice on Sep 25, 2013 at 11:07 am

We should have all type of version to choose! diesel & 2.5 are all wanted. Diesel AWD for offroad driver and 2.5 for better cash flow driver! IMAGE FOR MAZDA HERE STILL “WANNABE” due to small size engine. SUV ARE SUPPOSE TO BE “SPORT UTILITY VEHICLE”, under power how to by sport?

• old dog on Sep 27, 2013 at 3:58 pm

How many car did NAZA help in export?

That shows clearly who is milking the local countryman, and who is help in exporting.

Why exporting is important even its locally assemble, the same reason iPhone makes taiwan assemble plant blowsome and taiwan benefit, since all export FROM malaysia will be calculated in Ringgit in trading, and with export, it helps the country stability.

NOT those NAZA parallel importer milking local countryman, and pure no export but ringgit flow out since they are nothing but a grey importer.
    It applied to all those so-called CKD, as long it stays in Bolehland usage.