Tokyo 2013: Jaguar F-Type Coupe debuts, gets 550 PS

Jaguar_F-Type _Coupe_ 014

The new Jaguar F-Type Coupe made its world debut at both the Tokyo and LA Motor Shows. Here are the important bits – there’s now an aluminium roof, and the new range-topping F-Type R Coupe gets 550 PS/680 Nm, can get to 96 km/h in 4.0 seconds, and rear 298 km/h. It’s claimed to be the most dynamically capable, performance-focused, production Jaguar ever.

Well now, the humble blokes from Coventry have delivered a beautiful machine. The F-Type is one of those rare sports cars that debuted in convertible form first, before a fixed roof is attached later, i.e. now. Perhaps attached is not the right word, as Jaguar has used a huge rear quarter panel that envelops the roof pillars too – avoiding the need for multiple panels and cosmetic joints.

An all integrated roof adds to the chassis rigidity, and the F-Type Coupe is indeed the stiffest vehicle in Jaguar’s history – providing a good basis for enhanced dynamic attributes. It’s available in three versions: base F-Type, F-Type S and F-Type R. The latter is new and unique to the coupe bodystyle, in place of the convertible’s range-topping V8 S model.

Jaguar_F-Type _Coupe_ 019

Now with 550 PS and 680 Nm from the 5.0 litre supercharged V8, the F-Type R Coupe does a 4.0-second 0-96 km/h sprint and 298 km/h tops as mentioned. It also debuts Jaguar’s second-generation Electronic Active Differential (EAD) and Torque Vectoring by braking. Sports suspension with Adaptive Dynamics damping is standard, adding to the dynamic appeal.

Both the F-Type and F-Type S coupes have a 3.0 litre supercharged V6 with 340 PS/450 Nm and 380 PS/460 Nm respectively, translating to 0-96 km/h times and top speeds of 5.1 seconds/258 km/h for the base model, and 4.8 seconds/274 km/h for the other. All F-Types get Jaguar’s eight-speed close-ratio Quickshift automatic transmission with full manual sequential modes.

The F-Type R and F-Type S Coupe models also have the option of Carbon Ceramic Matrix (CCM) brakes, which offer more consistency of performance and fade resistance, as well as a total unsprung-weight saving of 21 kg. These have vivid yellow monoblock calipers – six-piston at the front and four-piston at the rear – gripping 398 mm front and 380 mm rear brake discs.

23-POLARIS-INTERIORS-DETAILS

Unique to the F-Type R Coupe are switchable Active Sport Exhaust system (with its signature quad, outboard-mounted tailpipes), gloss black front vanes and sill extensions, 20-inch ‘Gyrodyne’ wheels and a host of R badges. It’s sure to make heads turn, this one.

On the inside, the F-Type R Coupe gets special Performance seats with inflatable side-bolstering, finished in premium leather with an embossed R logo. There’s a flat-bottomed R steering wheel as standard, but if you prefer your helms to be round, you can have one at no cost.

So there you have it. A fixed-roof F-Type Coupe that is every bit as sexy as the convertible. Say you win the lottery tomorrow, which one would you pick? Tell us below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Haspectra on Nov 21, 2013 at 11:40 am

Coupe anyday

• Probably the sexiest looking car. If kena lottery, of course but the coupe version, V8 engine and white in colour. And the sound of the exhaust system.

• sam69 on Nov 21, 2013 at 11:50 am

Looks like Maserati wannabe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • The front looks decent. Minor resemblance to Maserati and perhaps, some Nissan. But the back is damn sexy.

I’ll have the Coupe, please. Never a fan of convertibles.

• GTA V on Nov 21, 2013 at 3:49 pm

Wait, there is a car in GTA5 game look a lot like this, especially from the rear side of the car…

• A Cars on Nov 21, 2013 at 4:25 pm

Even Jag choosed the Tokyo Motor Show for new product introduction. Not to mention Honda, Subaru and Toyota as they were all Japs. hey, KLIMS…please organizes much better event next time. I want to see debut…not ordinary car displayed (i can google that in image search, i can use youtube if i wanna listen to the sound)

• jerrywel on Nov 21, 2013 at 6:43 pm

its a beauty!winning the lottery may buy one but what next.. i mean the upkeep cost. is it worth it?

• BLUR SOTONG on Nov 21, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Agree to A cars, Klims organisers please put more effort on collaborating with these Car manufacturers. There are No Oopmhs and High in our local Motorshow. Very boring, it’s just like a Giant showroom for buyers to view the current models of cars.
    Been to Frankfurt and Spore motorshow, each country has it theme, unfortunately our local Malaysia Klims, I feel like leaving when I step into it.

• Idiots go to KLIMS…but people with taste go with F-Type baby!!