DRIVEN: 2014 Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost in Chiang Mai

ASEAN_New_Fiesta_Media_Drive_2013_211

Perhaps some of us out there are still scratching our heads trying to understand the rationale behind engine downsizing in modern production cars. But with petrol prices surging to near-record levels every now and then in this present reality, and many experts forecasting a steady climb over the next few years, consumers need good solutions to cut their fuel bills. And yes, we need this, like, yesterday!

So, simply put, this fast-growing trend in the automotive world involves using a small-capacity engine boosted by a turbocharger. In decades past, three-cylinder engines were found on only the lowest-cost econoboxes and kei cars. They were rough, slow and generally unpleasant to drive.

Fast forward to the present and Ford’s new 1.0 litre EcoBoost mill actually develops substantially more horsepower and wheel-spinning torque than the current 1.5 litre engine found in the latest ‘conventional’ Fiesta.

ASEAN_New_Fiesta_Media_Drive_2013_201

And here’s some food for thought: automotive engineers like to talk about “specific output,” essentially the amount of power from a given displacement. The new 1.0 litre EcoBoost does 125 hp per litre of displacement. In contrast, the Lamborghini Aventador‘s 6.5 litre V12 lump produces ‘just’ 108 hp per litre.

So with all this swimming in my head, I arrived at Ford’s media drive event in Chiang Mai, Thailand for the new 2014 Ford Fiesta 1.0 litre EcoBoost.

After a briefing regarding the International Engine of the Year (for two consecutive years now, I might add), the Malaysian motoring press contingent were introduced to a veritable fleet of Ford Fiesta EcoBoost hatches and sedans.

ASEAN_New_Fiesta_Media_Drive_2013_195

Setting the latest Fiesta apart are a smart five-bar chrome grille and slimmer headlamps that incorporate stylish LED strips for the first time, and these ensure the car looks bigger and wider than before. At the back, new light clusters also add flair to the smart design.

Initially, my car mate and I were assigned the four-door sedan version of the Fiesta, and we then set off on the road. Needless to say that around town, the engine felt smooth and quite peppy – 125hp in a 1,100+ kg B-car is certainly a recipe for big, fat grins all around! We were also handed a route plan that saw the turbo Fiestas on long stretches of highways, long sweeping downhill corners and tight mountain roads.

In the busy urban road conditions in and around Chiang Mai on the first phase of the drive, involving some start-stop traffic, I was really keen on testing was the smoothness of the Powershift transmission. The shift shock wasn’t so obvious, but it’s there.

ASEAN_New_Fiesta_Media_Drive_2013_206

This is due to the fact that the Powershift transmission makes use of dry clutches and electronic actuation instead of hydraulics like a torque converter in a conventional automatic. The drivetrain at low speed isn’t as smooth as some would prefer, but the lower power output at lower RPMs tends to minimise any jerkiness, and once the engine is revved up, Powershift works perfectly and the three-cylinder lump actually even managed to feel refined and a fair bit bigger!

Ride and noise levels are slightly improved over the not-too-old model. As for fuel economy? Well, for starters, the EcoBoost Fiesta does 100 km/h at 2,250 rpm in sixth gear. After zeroing the trip computer on the level highway with some downhill portions and onto one of the rest stops, the readout stayed at 5.8 litres per 100 km at an average speed of about 75 km/h.

After a bit of math, this works out to about 17.2 km/l! Even better, the stop-start system helps the EcoBoost promise CO2 figures that’s below the 100g/km mark!

ASEAN_New_Fiesta_Media_Drive_2013_217

In the cabin, there are also signs of this car’s move upmarket. A new gloss black ‘flow through’ insert joins together the dash and centre console, and ensures the feeling of plushness pretty much everywhere inside. Ford has also added some new gadgets, including the SYNC streaming system that pairs to your portable device via Bluetooth.

Out of city limits, I had the opportunity to open up the tap a little and really see what the Fiesta EcoBoost could do. It’s respectably quick, being able to do a 0-100 km/h sprint in 9.4 seconds; pretty good for a B-car. On the less-than-busy highway belt around Chiang Mai, even without using the Sport setting for the transmission, the dual-clutch transmission responds instinctively.

Increase pedal pressure during a cruise and the gearbox will kick down a cog or two, matching the foot’s command for more speed; something the spooled-up turbo will oblige as well. Thus, overtaking is a breeze and sustaining speed on the less than busy is easy.

ASEAN_New_Fiesta_Media_Drive_2013_084

Switching to the five-door hatch after a rest stop about 38 km outside Chiang Mai, it was time for a test on confident handling, stability, precision in steering and flat torque curves of the engine. This leg of the drive was a combination of winding highland roads and highway.

In these surroundings, the Fiesta is flawlessly nimble as always, and cabin noise at extra-legal speeds stayed at a delightfully low level, the torque delivery smooth due to a match with its tranny – most of all, it didn’t feel like a three-cylinder car at all!

From the driver’s seat, the Fiesta hatch is simply a whole lot of fun (not that the sedan was a bore, mind you!), and it so happens to coincide with a stint on a piece of exhilarating mountain road filled with tight, winding tarmac with blind exit corners. It’s a good thing that the Fiesta EcoBoost handles, brakes and accelerates with confidence.

ASEAN_New_Fiesta_Media_Drive_2013_063

At the end of it all, all who took part in this drive had huge grins. After all, what’s there not to like? Here is a competent platform that bites into corners keenly, has a pleasantly nimble chassis balance and is relaxing to potter around town in as well. The 1.0-litre EcoBoost engine is partly to thank, with its characterful three-cylinder thrum and midrange torque.

It’s not as fast as the power-to-weight ratio suggests though; tall, eco-friendly gearing holds the car’s gusto back. But I guess in this in present reality of expensive fuel and increased environmental issues, compromises have to be made… and the Fiesta has already lost one cylinder!

ASEAN_New_Fiesta_Media_Drive_2013_039

Of course, there’s the issue of pricing. The current Ford Fiesta 1.5 costs around RM87,000, and word around the campfire is that the EcoBoost variant may cost up to RM12,000 more.

Those already keen on the downsizing of powertrains in cars will jump in and say that you’ll “get the same satisfaction driving it” or “you’ll save on road tax”, or even “you’ll help save the planet”.

But many more, perhaps, will find paying such a premium for a Fiesta, however green and good it may be, a little difficult to comprehend. Yes, you do get more power and you can save on fuel and road tax expenditure, but will Malaysians accept paying around RM99,000 for a one-litre car?

Ellfian Rahim

Ellfian Rahim is just hopeless with directions, thus keenly follows GPS tech in his spare time. Loves big sedans and K-Cars equally well, and will easily demolish a meal for three in record time. He's been in publishing since 1992 and now writes for Malaysia's longest running English language men's lifestyle title, and does translation work for some extra beer money on the side.

• johnjjj on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:47 pm

Yes, you do get more power and you can save on fuel and road tax expenditure, but will Malaysians accept paying around RM99,000 for a 1-litre car?

No

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 271 Thumb down 3
    • Even at RM87,000, also need to consider twice, or thrice. Nah… still a no.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 177 Thumb down 2
      • Petrolhead on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:56 pm

At 99k, one would get Driven’s C-segment winner, the Kia Cerato 1.6 at RM99,888

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 7
        • Najib's Empty Promise on Dec 11, 2013 at 10:29 am

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices. Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 6 months have passed and nothing has been done.

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is CKD or CBU. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise and how can a 1.0 car now cost RM100k? Isn’t the excise and tax on a 1 litrre car so much lesser than a 1.5?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 14
          • a year still not finish….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
          • Subsidy removed from sugar and petrol and another petrol subsidy reducutio on 2014, maybe there will be reduction subsidy on some highways, due to recent actions, very hard to see why gov will reduce car duty :(

• Ferox on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Can increase other things lo, like GST, house tax, etc. to make up for it. Won’t stop until the corruption is gone.

• Najib's Empty Promise on Dec 11, 2013 at 10:30 am

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices. Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 6 months have passed and nothing has been done.

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is CKD or CBU. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise and how can a mere E class can cost half a million. This car is only US$50,000 (CBU) but sold here 4x the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
      • _xXx_ on Dec 11, 2013 at 2:42 am

saving in rd tax? rm20/yr? Sorry, sometime I feel ashamed when my filling is below rm30 at petrol kiosk…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
        • Petrolhead on Dec 11, 2013 at 8:55 am

At 90k, one would get Driven’s C-segment winner, Kia Cerato 1.6 at RM99,888

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
          • glaze on Dec 11, 2013 at 10:30 am

The one in Driven is Cerato 2.0, you can’t compare the 1.6 vs 2.0 as the accessories are also different

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
    • Chris on Dec 10, 2013 at 7:23 pm

87k for this then it’s a yes. 99k? There’s something out there with 6 speed manual + 136hp for about the same price, and it’s the Swift Sport.

Some might argue it has weird looks, but hey, so far here on paultan I can see as many lovers and haters of the new fiesta’s looks anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Green on Dec 10, 2013 at 8:51 pm

If people still think Ecoboost is a great engine::

take a look here:
      1. http://www.usatoday.com/story/money/cars/2013/05/16/ford-ecoboost-engine-problems/2168865/

2. http://www.slashgear.com/us-government-investigating-ford-f-150-engine-problems-27283828/

Altough rated best engine for the year, but it’s 2012.

problems occuring in 2013.
      seems like not just Proton having reliability problem with Campro..
      Ford Facing it too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • cannot be help even in thai the price almost RM80k (779k Baht)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Fiesta Owner on Dec 11, 2013 at 9:42 am

Being a Fiesta owner, i would say that the pre-facelift 1.4 Fiesta Manual is the one to get. Yes, it has less power, no powershift,ESP and comes in rim besi, but at slightly below 70k (u can even get further discount from SA due to ‘no body wants a manual’), with 7 airbags it’s a bargain for a Ford. But sadly, I’m afraid that Ford Malaysia is going the Toyota way… Overpriced! I would like to see them bring back the below 70k cars, no all can afford a almost 90k B-seg cars u know……

• Is the 1.4 Fiesta Manual still available?

• Fiesta Owner on Dec 12, 2013 at 9:43 am

I don’t think u can get it, but if u are lucky u might be able to find a pre-registered unit. It’s a shame Ford decided to discontinue it, manuals are so much fun to drive.

• JeremyNg on Dec 11, 2013 at 12:11 pm

Agreed with you ! Ford Malaysia price it wrongly this time …….. 99k is too expensive for a Fiesta and it’s not about “I wont pay almost 100K for a 1.0l engine” but it jz too expensive , they try to be premium like VW ?

If 88k , yes i will buy it but 99k ; i think i will go for Swift Sport (one of the underrated car in the market)

• Fiesta Owner on Dec 12, 2013 at 9:46 am

you sir!!! deserves more likes!!! for 100k and wanted a small, fun, powerful car to drive, Swift Sport is the one to choose!!

• Ferox on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Hmm, I don’t mind the 1.0 engine (it is turbo-ed after all, so you can’t make a direct displacement comparison). Wonder which is the better driver’s car for 100k or less between this 1.0 Fiesta Ecoboost, Swift Sport or the coming (still long way) 2015 Jazz with the purported improved driving dynamics?

• eeeriz on Mar 14, 2014 at 10:53 am

I know this thread is long time already, but i ought to answer to your question. Rather than straight forward answer, i think the right question should be ‘will Malaysians accept paying around RM99k for 125hp car?’

Size of engines do not matter now, as long as it feels like going for 125hp engine and 200Nm torque(between 1.6 to 1.8 engine).

I think it’s worth it..

• sudonano on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:53 pm

99k you say? Err that is pretty high.

Though why not Ford drop the 1.5l to about 83k then this one comes in at about 90k. That doesn’t sound too bad. However at 90k we are expecting things like 7 airbags and full leather seats too….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • norman on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Price one thing,reliability of the 3 pot turbocharge is another,servicing?How long can it last on Malaysian humid weather,road conditions and thrashing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
  • Steve on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:09 pm

I don’t think people will pay for that extra money. A good example is honda freed 1.5cc the same price as honda civic 1.8. And you can get a livina 1.8 under 100k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • yeah, nobody busy the freed up to a point honda has to throw in huge discounts to clear off the stock. last i check (3 months back), they are not bringing anymore into m’sia.

• Hell NO! Too freakin’ expensive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • impressive little engine, but 1555kg? Mr. Rahim think you ve got the weight figures wrong…?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:42 pm

Apologies, 1,555 kg is the quoted gross weight, not kerb weight. The Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost weighs just over 1,100 kg.

Good spot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • Annihilatedd on Dec 11, 2013 at 6:14 pm

1,100 kg car with that amount of power is sweet.
        And the car NVH is also improved. I wonder if that quality is also contributed by the smooth road / pavement works in those pictures?

• small engine with big power is akin having skinnny guys with 6 packs or fat girls with big boobs . it just doesn’t work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 29
    • DonkeyKong on Dec 10, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Wow. Engineering genius of the year. Hope you get nominated for a Nobel Prize next year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • most fat girls have big boobs

• so, u mean small engine with small power is better?? skinny guy with six packs is like burce lee, why not? But the “fat girl with big boobs” thing, i guess only fat girls will understand this anology?

• carlover on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:12 pm

RM99K for 1 liter car? No way.
    And then, there’s the ford service….. I know cos I own a ford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
  • Kazuya on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Definitely way too expensive if it really turns out to be close to the 100k mark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Denaihati on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:18 pm

awesome performance and nice look but the price in main factor for ordinary people, i believe for fiesta 1L price will be less than 1.5L but still expensive 1L car in market….unless joint venture from local automotive industry….

• It just doesn’t make sense to pay 100k for a 1l car…100k is alot of money…I rather get a c segment car and keep everyone comfortable in the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • 0-100km/h in 11.4s???

that slow?? the old on was 9.9s?

Are you sure? it has more power and more torque but it is slower than the older engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • nabill on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:28 pm

125hp in a 1,555kg B-car??????????
    u meant 1055kg i hope??

• Maaajeeedaaa on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Dun forget…the higher the price the higher its insurance premium annually… you may save some money on road tax but the insurance will bite you back.. 5.7l per 100km is not that much…if it can achieve 4-4.5l/100km then 99k is worth the price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • budlee on Dec 10, 2013 at 6:14 pm

I think its weirder this engine is in the Ford Mondeo in Europe…

• cuorekid on Dec 10, 2013 at 6:19 pm

than y still ppl buy 1.4L Golf TSI small car for that price can get 2.0L Camry … ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • kadajawi on Dec 10, 2013 at 6:22 pm

Come on, don’t forget the pre-FL car, which for less than 80k offered 7 airbags and around 120 hp. So… They increase the power by 2-5 hp and charge 20k for it? Whaaaat?

The previous sedan was very good value for money, the facelifted car is very bad value for money. Heck, even VW is cheaper! And a 208 with a more premium interior, a nicer exterior and the full set of safety features costs less than 90k. All you lose is the DSG, and I’m sure many will gladly do without.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Maserati on Dec 10, 2013 at 6:26 pm

Trust me that this downsizing turbocharging trend is bullocks. Because u dont actually get good FC mainly due to turbo cars being so easy to rev. U will be revving it more often than u will be driving it smoothly.

So thr is no way in hell u guys r acheiving the claimed FC.

And 99k for a 1litre ford, must as well top up and get a polo tsi which is incredibly fast for a 1.2 turbo.

And that ford interior just looks so cheapo and ugly. Sorry but at 99k it wont sell!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:20 pm

Consider a used Elantra instead. Great Value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • breaL on Dec 11, 2013 at 2:19 am

dude this reviewer just tested it, its 17km/l at normal driving, it is saving more fuel for sure

• motorhead on Dec 10, 2013 at 6:29 pm

99K?.. No, no & No way… Puihh.. Just keep it in Thailand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • tok_kok2 on Dec 10, 2013 at 6:45 pm

Take it from a Fiesta owner.. stay away from Ford if it’s running on DCT Dual Clutch gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • tok_kok2 on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:26 pm

The car was shuddering like mad due to worn dual clutch at 20,000KM got it replaced F.O.C.
      now it happens again at 35,000KM …
      was told by Sime Darby service center, it will cost about RM5K to replace after warranty.

Think twice before u buy a Ford with a DUAL CLUTCH TRANSMISSION!!
      And warranty claim at Sime Darby Service Center is not easy…. just my 2sens.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
      • …its proven, our weather & massive traffic jam is not suitable for dry clutch twin clutch gearbox…look at the prob most veedub dry clutch dsg 7’s owner is facing!

• kobealex on Dec 10, 2013 at 7:07 pm

Impressive lil ecoboost Fiesta, heck cant wait for the Fiesta ST to arrive too… but what the heck SDAC??!! pricing all new models at crazy price!!! RM100k for a Fiesta? RM155k for a Fiesta ST?!

Not when the Peugeot 208 and GTi looks so attractively priced…

• tokmoh on Dec 10, 2013 at 7:18 pm

Rm100k? Haram jadaaaaaah

• mystvearn on Dec 10, 2013 at 7:40 pm

RM99k for a 1l car. No. No Malaysian is that stupid to pay that amount of money for a car that small..unless it is a mini. If the price does go through, though, people will condemn MITI/Gov for protectionism. Also, what justification can MITI tell people that a 1L car cost RM99k. That is something I would like to hear, no matter how daft it does sound.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 101
  • motorhead on Dec 10, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Sorry to say.. But for 99k.. I prefer pollute the earth.. Furthermore there are other options.. Attrage, Prius C, Jazz hybrid etc…

• apekgoh on Dec 10, 2013 at 8:49 pm

unlikely to spend tht amount too… OTR 100k
    wait for new 308 and see…compare…then decide.

• kancil turbo can tapau this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • DonkeyKong on Dec 11, 2013 at 4:48 am

YRV 1.3 turbo engine in a Myvi, Kenari or Kelisa has more grunt and pretty good fuel consumption too

• Im waiting until this car got sale at “kedai potong”..I want to take this magnificent engine and swap into my kelisa…1.0 also..surely will pass puspakom and you are getting kelisa eco boost later..huhu just my 2 cents of idea..

• autodriver on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:40 pm

The marketing strategy of Ford is always sick. It launched the 1.6L and FL bring the weaker 1.5L engine. The sales volume of 1.5L Fiesta is terribly low and it is extremely hard to see on the road despite launching for few months ago. And now they plan to bring in Ecoboost 1.0L which likely cost 12k more.

No doubt the 1.0L ecoboost is very tempting, it is full of uncertainty to launch this 1.0L version in Malaysia with unproven sale volume for past few years. If it were going to launch Fiesta 1.0L ecoboost at 95-99k, I am curious who gonna pay for it since market already had Almera, Vios, City, Attrage, Elantra, Cerato etc which is much bigger and comfort than Fiesta.

I hope Auto Connexion not going to be stupid launch this 1.0L ecoboost beyond 95k. No matter how much it goes, I believe the sales number won’t justify the purpose of bringing in this model (to gain more market share, joking).

• ..its not for the mainstream mkt…its for those looking for a warm hatch but dont want the full price of 208gti or polo gti.

• intermilan on Dec 11, 2013 at 3:56 pm

with just 125bhp..
        its not warm at all..
        not even lukewarm..
        its just a normal hatch.

today, need 160-170bhp to be considered as a ‘warm hatch’ as a ‘hot hatch’ is anything with at least 200bhp and more.

• You’ve gotta be kidding me.
    Price point is insane.
    But no manual tranny??!
    Bah.

• sepul on Dec 11, 2013 at 12:12 am

I would only if they brought it in with manual and priced just below 90k.

And better specs.

• breaL on Dec 11, 2013 at 2:17 am

don’t look at it as a 1 liter car, look at it as a 1.6 maybe (based on the power figure of course)….but still …100k for such a small car would be kinda high to some…or maybe the sprightly driving experience would still be worth it

• A good car but so much complain here about the price, SC and gearbox. In the end people went to Toyota, Honda and Nissan showroom.

• Ford Malaysia beware! if u sell this car here at RM99k u will get 99k of F word from Malaysians

• Badoub on Dec 11, 2013 at 9:52 am

That’s the trend of the powertrain industry nowadays guys. the merc w212 E250 CGI blue effiiency is only a 1.8l engine, yet people still buy it at close to 300k price tag. compare that with a RM118k 1.8 civic, and it doesnt make sense that everything is compared against engine displacement.

But then again, Fiesta ecoboost is not a premium car, the pricing should be alot more competitive .

Sime Darby after sales service is that bad huh? they can bring whatever top-notch model and price it ridiculously low, but if the SC is crap, this wont work.

• tok_kok2 on Dec 11, 2013 at 11:53 am

The Service Center’s parts respond time is bad.
      I had to wait 3 weeks for a steering coupling.
      2 months for clutch replacement.
      2 months for my O2 sensor
      3 months for Cat Converter
      And the car is assembled in Thailand

Wait till u buy a Focus or Fiesta ST .. 6 to 9 months for parts coz import from Europe lah…

Stay away from Ford if can.

Nice car to drive. but no service.

• Chris M. on Dec 22, 2013 at 11:25 pm

tok_tok2, The DCT problems have been ironed out on the later batches of the Fiesta with additional sealant, clutch replacements, software reprogramming, etc.

If you’re one of the first batch owners then unfortunately, the first batches of any product are more prone to a variety of issues, more so when there’s new technology involved.

To add to that, half the “problems” normal drivers think they have with the gearbox is because they’re used to the normal torque converter automatic gearbox vs. the “automated manual” you’ll commonly find in some continental makes. They’re not problems, just different characteristics.

Similarly, if you accustom yourself to the Merc’s 7G-Tronic+, you will find the SpeedShift MCT a massive pain.

Automatics with torque converters are arguably the better bet for slow traffic and urban driving..but some command for a more spirited response, to each their own.

• fiestafanbois on Dec 11, 2013 at 10:07 am

RM100k for a turbo 1.0 eco boost lump? haha; even volks 1.2GTI will find it hard to sell numbers for this price.

at RM100k; it is not far away from a RM120k 2-dr vw beetle 1.2tsi so will pass.

but probably a price tag of RM60k-70k is worth considering as a second weekend drive car and maybe once it has depreciated at that second hand price level.

• ah la mak on Dec 11, 2013 at 10:19 am

when the 1.5l engine was launched, there were huge cries for the 1.0 ecoboost. now that it is finally coming, the same ppl are bashing it – not worth it ah, maintenance ah, reliabiity ah. alamak!!!

• tok_kok2 on Dec 11, 2013 at 11:55 am

The 1.0 ecoboost is an award winning engine.

But the DCT gearbox and Service Center is not award winning. Think twice before u buy a Ford.

• Those crybabies are Toyota fags.

• richard on Dec 11, 2013 at 12:15 pm

I was eagerly awaiting the introduction of the 1.0 ecoboost Fiesta and jumped at the chance of seeing it at the recent KLIMS. Much to my shock (and dismay), was informed pricing is going to be circa the century mark!!! Truly disappointing.

And so, took advantage of the year end (discounts aplenty) and got a FL 1.5 for my wife instead.

• why is everyone saying that malaysians wont pay for a 100k b-segment 1.0?

Ppl are buying the TRD Vious by the container loads i see so many college students driving the new TRD vious which is 99k..with 10 year old gearbox/engine and PAINTED on rear valence. The ecoboost fiesta will run rings round a TRD Vious

• one word, Toyota

• Chris M. on Dec 22, 2013 at 11:34 pm

Because ideally we all want a car that has 7 air bags, good fuel economy, lots of interior room, powerful engine, low road tax, low maintenance, and all that for RM70,000 and charging anything more than that would be PREPOSTEROUS and the car manufacturer should be stoned to death!

Wake up guys..the price point of cars would be much lower if the currency was stronger and there were no ridiculous tax schemes. Stop bashing all the car makers when they launch something you can’t afford.

• Dry Twin clutch gearbox and msian’s hot & humid weather condition spells trouble (ala veedub dsg7 fiasco)

• Fahmi on Dec 11, 2013 at 4:16 pm

With the current Fiesta’s price I think it is better to go for Peugeot 208 and Kia Rio instead which is better equiped and cheaper as well, though their handling cannot quite match the Ford Fiesta….

• richard on Dec 13, 2013 at 8:26 am

Before settling for the Fofi 1.5, the Pug 208 was also on the list. Alas, the latter did not come with any free service (seems only 408 buyers get 3 years free service) and also, a 4 speeder box.

• Iskandar on Dec 11, 2013 at 5:10 pm

what are the official consumption figures like (these figures would be good to have to compare with the 1.5 version).

At a higher price bracket compared to the 1.5 are they going to offer cruise control? The Thai versions has cruise control on the their 1.5 top of the range Fiesta.

• BBW lover on Dec 12, 2013 at 6:36 am

People are willing to pay RM115000 for a 1.2l Polo.

SO why not the Fiesta?

• cuorekid on Dec 12, 2013 at 3:42 pm

ppl mindset is very narrow
    polo tsi 1.2 sell almost 120k
    also ppl still buy

• Catty on Dec 16, 2013 at 1:38 am

Hurmmm 99K for that small car?? i’ve tested the fiesta b4.. It’s too small. Maybe it’s good for student..Better take Mazda 3 1.6 at 106K. Bigger n better…

• shadow on Dec 16, 2013 at 2:18 am

if this was a turbocharged 1.0 toyota engine and selling for 100k i think most ppl wouldnt think twice

• CarGuy on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:04 pm

You guys forgot to compare it with VW Polo 1.2 TSI…isn’t this much cheaper then?

• Sheng on Feb 09, 2014 at 7:51 pm

does it have cruise control?

• JeremyNg on Mar 11, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Hey Ellfian ,

Please check this review : http://www.autoindustriya.com/features/driving-the-2013-ford-fiesta-ecoboost-chiang-mai-thailand.html

I strongly believe that this guy just copy your review exactly the same without any citation. feel free to have a look.

• azad dato rahimin on Apr 25, 2014 at 7:42 pm

This is aint about fiesta.. but something got to do with bloody damn govt taxes. To protect this to protect dat and apa lancau.. Najib u must stepdown.. get somebody else.. Tun was right abt this silly goose.. the continuity of massive destruction Malaysian leader. Try me.

• Alhabshi on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Just booked a new ecoboost 1.0 fiesta for 89k but manufactured last year. For all it’s worth, I think it is a good car. Enough power if we need and the FC if we drive in KL traffics much better than most of the cars in the market (3cylinders). I have a passat CC which I bought in 2012 for almost 250k and up to date twice already breakdown…so what the heck. Even toyota and honda having all kinds of problems with their car with all the recalls…..so, better to have a car that is small and yet fun to drive…

• fofiecoboost on Jul 31, 2014 at 5:05 am

ALhabshi I just ordered an Ecoboost. I think its an amazing car. DSG gearboxes need getting used to and I think most malaysians prefer tor que converter. If you want a fun car to drive and stil have a bit of practicality, the Ecoboost beats it all. So many bashers here. Very negative instead of trying to focus on the benefits. Try the car out and feel the difference. Just because it’s 1.0 doesnt mean its less superior than 1.5 Vios or City. Vios TRD also 99k… with almost nothing inside. Whats wrong with a continental car with a great engine and a rewarding driving experience?