NAP 2014 – official responses from manufacturers

bmw-activehybrid-nap-2014-response 001

In light of the National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014) which was announced on Monday, several carmakers have been quick to issue official statements or responses. You’ve seen Proton’s; now BMW and Toyota have released theirs.

In BMW Malaysia’s “Post-NAP 2014 Commentary,” CEO Dr Gerhard Pils lauded the widening of the definition of Energy-Efficient Vehicles (EEV) to encompass all and any technology, propulsion method and engine size, deeming it “a key step forward” towards enhancing the competitiveness of the Malaysian car industry.

He called for further transparency and discussions between MAI, MITI and industry players to shed more light on the actual exemptions that would be awarded to locally-assembled EEVs. This would allow, he said, firm business decisions to be made regarding the market.

Pils also hopes a decision will be made regarding the implementation of Euro 4 fuel, saying that many ASEAN countries are already working with Euro 4 or better fuel standards today. “The improvement of Malaysia’s fuel standards will be an important factor in determining the viability of Malaysia as an automotive exporter, and be very critical in allowing us to achieve an export volume of RM5 billion by the year 2020 as outlined in this review of the NAP,” he said.

Toyota_Camry_Hybrid_IGEM2013_1-nap-2014

UMW Toyota Motor president Datuk Ismet Suki also supported the EEV definition and specifications, saying that the CKD Camry Hybrid would be introduced by the end of this year. Additionally, Toyota would be reviewing its current as well as future model line-ups to meet the EEV specifications.

“To increase our customers’ affordability and product acceptance, UMW Toyota Motor will continue to provide the best in pricing. With an array of technological advancement features and designs, we believe there is a Toyota and Lexus for every type of customer which is in line with the NAP 2014 objectives of offering competitive prices for new models and variants to safeguard consumers’ interest,” he said.

The UMW Toyota Motor president also welcomed the government’s plans to implement a Voluntary Vehicle Inspection (VVI), opining that distributor facilities should be allowed to conduct mandatory inspection. However, he added that “the detail criteria, mechanism and appointment of inspection agency should be discussed further with industry players.”

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• james on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:10 pm

“To increase our customers’ affordability and product acceptance, UMW Toyota Motor will continue to provide the best in pricing. With an array of technological advancement features and designs, we believe there is a Toyota and Lexus for every type of customer which is in line with the NAP 2014 objectives of offering competitive prices for new models and variants to safeguard consumers’ interest,” he said.

Best in pricing? … Nahhh!!!
    competitive prices to safeguard consumer?… Nahhh!!!
    Toyota give lousy spec with highest price!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 235 Thumb down 4
    • Krasher on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:32 pm

T.Camry Hybrid 2.5HV Navi spec is MYR190k in Tomyumland
      Can’t wait to know the pricing here :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
      • frenzyaustin on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:38 pm

By logic should be around 170K here as it’s Hybrid and CKD. But since it’s UMW, at least 200K.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
        • Krasher on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Rear recline seat: Removed / 3 Zone Auto climate: Removed / Bluetooth Steering Control: Removed / VSC: Take out 1st for 1st batch and put it back after facelift

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
        • 520d owner on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:03 pm

aiseh, BMW boss really got no telur lah. For over 10 years, BMW Malaysia aggressive promoting diesel and promoting Efficient Dynamics. And every NAP, Malaysian government throw shit on to BMW’s face and efforts to promote Efficient Dynamics.

Now, Gerhad Pils, so sweet ampu the Malaysian government and carry their telur. Come on lah Gerhad, be a true German and tell the Malaysian government off. Don’t be like a Puppet Boneka just because Simde Darby is a GLC and BMW Malaysia is under Sime Darby.

Worse still, every year, BMW bull to their customers that their 320d and 520d are such good buys and they assure customers that clean diesel is going to be introduced very very soon. That was 10 years ago. Every year, you all lie to your customers that clean diesel is coming soon.

Now Gerhad Pills got no telur and tell the government off. Please lah, stick by your principles and what you promote. otherwise, just don’t harp on your Efficient Dynamics and Diesel cars anymore in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
          • Mamat on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:41 pm

I agree with you. Clean diesel should’ve been introduced long time ago. We have Petronas that can do it (maybe, I don’t know). Or if we think about electric car, we have our own tnb. And if we need car that can run clean diesel or electric, we have proton and perodua. What are they doing? They shouldn’t build petrol car anymore. Other countries move forward already.

• glaze on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:18 am

bro, better dont get TNB to work together with PROTON to come out with electric car…thats going be a nightmare electric car if pairing these two!

• To dumb it down for us consumer, basically what he is saying is:
      “Yes you still have to pay a butt tone for a mere Toyota, but we’ll make sure the price will at least……sound reasonable”

• rchoo on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Which is the reason why their sales volume is down to 61,409 units (2013) from 74,171 units (2012), approximately 17% drop, quite substantial.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Vincent Cheng on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:38 pm

He mean best to Them, Toyota, not us, customer!

• sudonano on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:52 pm

This:

“The UMW Toyota Motor president also welcomed the government’s plans to implement a Voluntary Vehicle Inspection (VVI), opining that distributor facilities should be allowed to conduct mandatory inspection. However, he added that “the detail criteria, mechanism and appointment of inspection agency should be discussed further with industry players.””

So we hen tam you when you buy the car. Then we continue to do so when you want to do the inspection.

Good job Toyota. Sam Loo will be the only one proud.

Speaking of Sam Loo I think the fella must be crying, his 2 favourite models, Prius and Prius C no more, cause it is now taxed!

The way we read the BMW one.

We welcome it.
      It is stupid.

Goodbye.

You can see, BMW wants to take some advantage on the EEV thing, cause they are getting nada although ALL their cars are EEVs. And they are stuck cause they have to stop bringing in more high tech diesels cause of the lack of Euro 4. What a mess.

• glaze on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:59 pm

I think lately he will be busy selling used Hyundai instead of new Toyota. Nobody buying the overpriced Altis and Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • hoong on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:47 pm

I just can’t help it but to add my comments in brackets….

To increase our customers’ affordability and product acceptance, UMW Toyota Motor will continue to provide the best in pricing (by selling cars with 2 airbags, such as the Previa). With an array of technological advancement features and designs (available only in most other countries), we believe there is a Toyota and Lexus for every type of customer (who are easy to con and with no interest whatsoever in features, specs and safety).

• Sam Loo on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:49 am

He should have said, best in TCO

• UMW President: Good good good. time to con more money!!

• this we call branding and trust, toyata is a big brand so you pay extra for nothing and trust nothing

• from the response. Toyota wont CKD Prius C and Prius over here?? Padan muka kita…

• perodua on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Of course la. Prius is the trademark of the world most successful hybrid. The name might get tarnished if CKD is allowed because of poor QC in Malaysia. Look at Mazda CX5, tons of problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • perodua on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:31 pm

But all these car manufacturers must say NAP very good despite it is poor plan. Otherwise, no more business

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • najib style on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:32 pm

NAP 2014: Seems like a lot have been said, at the same time like nth has been said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • we will continue to suffer as long as the government still protecting the cronies and proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
  • Bahomet on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:06 pm

They make things sound so good, just none of them dare to shoot our government. o_0

• glaze on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Many concepts and directions brought up in the NAP 2014 but no details revealed.

Most importantly, how do cars that fall into EEV category benefit in terms of pricing or roadtax?

Golf TSI (EEV) selling at the price of Suprima S (non EEV)? Most of the conti cars are in EEV category and they should price lower than Jap?

Sam Loo will cry with hailat face if this is the case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Guan Yin Ma on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Only CKD vehicle will benefit from EEV. CBU ? dream lo.

• We have CKD EEV Mercs. Let’s see.

• glaze on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:55 pm

BMW too

EEV BMW 316i and C180 selling at the price of 2.5L Camry? I wish to see this but I dont think this will happen in bolehland.

• First Original Draft Response from BMW and Toyota.
    ——————

21st January 2014

WTF? Its a joke.

Yours Faithfully
    CEO

*Note* – Secretary to contact the people who drafted out the NAP 2014 to write my response. Same shitty policies. Going off to play golf with UMW CEO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Guan Yin Ma on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Why toyota still dont want to mention the fate of PRIUS C , PRIUS , CT200h in malaysia ??? Continue to bring in or stop import ??

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:28 pm

BMW still the best

• takNakP1 on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:36 pm

NAP – NAPping story book.

• All these are diplomatic responses from industry. I’m sure they are still feeling stunt by the quality of the NAP policy and I’m sure the HQ also say, “why is this simple policy took so long to annouce and yet make it like open ended and up to interpretation policy strategy without much detail”. Malu lah our government. This just show how competent is gov leadership. Shame on u gov/cabinet/NAP. University/school quality also drop, policy quality also drop, legal quality also drop, ringgit value drop, investment drop, acceptance of diversity also drop, morale drop, … things went up are politician salaries, cronies benefit, population, cost of living and national deficit.

• sonyman on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:16 pm

looking at it, dont think anything is going to happen soon, the rich be rich, buy import cars, its expensive, but i got money mah.

The middle class complain and complain, wait and wait. complain again. complain again. But nothing happen. My advise, get rich or be happy with your current ride. be grateful that you have 4 wheels.

The poor. no difference to me since i am not buying any car for the next couple of years. as long as my current ride give me no problem i am fine and grateful, thank you.

conclusion, no changes at all, nothing beneficial, wasting all the journalist time writing rubbish when they can do more.

The minister also another useless bugger. Have him is like nothing happens.
    So let us all continue with what we have and put more hope on our side.

• RoKie on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Debuting CKD Camry hybrid with no VSC and only 2 airbags, will get a “Just plain bollocks !” from me. Let’s wait till end of the year, as you said, UMW T.

• glaze on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:20 am

no choice, government say must reduce 20%-30% for new car launch leh, maybe aircond also got to take out next…

• Archangel on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:26 am

I laugh so hard after read UMW Toyota statement. Joke of the month.

• Norman on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:14 am

Probably they learn from Singapore Transport Minister..COE only cost around $72-78k…Current Vios already reach $121k wtf…

• Samad Jain on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:22 am

NAP= No Action policy

Enuf Said…..