F26 BMW X4 unveiled – X3 gets the ‘coupe’ treatment

F26_BMW_X4_038

So here we go again. You know the relationship between the BMW X5 and X6, yes? The Munich firm has now applied the same formula to the recently-facelifted F25 X3 to come up with this, the all-new F26 BMW X4. It still has four doors, but now with a sloping roofline, BMW calls it a Sports Activity Coupe (SAC).

It’s built on the underpinning of the second-generation X3, with styling derived from Auto Shanghai 2013’s X4 Concept, which our very own Harvinder presented in April last year. Since then, we’ve spotted the mid-sized sporty SUV out testing numerous times, shedding camouflage along the way.

There are no surprises up front, as the new X4 gets the same face as the updated X3. The car pictured here wears the optional M Sport package (in place of standard and xLine visual packs), which again, is similar to the X3 LCI’s kitted-up form. The rear is all new of course, but it stays faithful to the concept.

Up against the measuring tape, the X4 is 14 mm longer than the X3 at 4,671 mm. More importantly, however, it sits 36 mm closer to the ground than the conventional SUV (or SAV in BMW-speak), with the two front seats mounted 20 mm lower than before for a more immersive driving experience.

Despite having a much lower rear deck, the X4 promises ample space for three passengers in the back. For added flexibility, the 40:20:40 split rear bench, which sits 28 mm lower than in the X3, can be folded down (separately, if needed) to expand the 500-litre boot to a 1,400-litre cargo area.

Up front, there’s the familiar X3 dashboard, complete with the optional Drive Touch Controller and centre-mounted Navigation System Professional display. A selection of high-gloss black panels and aluminium trim strips are available, while standard equipment levels are higher than that of the X3.

Six engines variants are announced for now; split equally between petrol and diesel. All equipped with a four-wheel drive system, the engine options mirror what’s offered on the X3 – xDrive20i (184 hp, 270 Nm, 0-100 km/h in 8.1 seconds, top speed 212 km/h), xDrive28i (245 hp, 350 Nm, 6.4 seconds, 232 km/h) and xDrive35i (306 hp, 400 Nm, 5.5 seconds, 247 km/h).

The three diesel options are as such: xDrive20d (190 hp, 400 Nm, 8.0 seconds, 212 km/h), xDrive30d (258 hp, 560 Nm, 5.8 seconds, 234 km/h) and xDrive35i (313 hp, 630 Nm, 5.2 seconds, 247 km/h). Combined with an eight-speed automatic transmission, the X4 consumes between 5.2 litres per 100 km (xDrive20d) and 8.3 litres per 100 km (xDrive35i).

Moving forward, you can consider this as BMW’s template for future SAC models. As such, the next X6 will sport the same face as the F15 X5 it’s based on, and the same goes to the upcoming X2 model that is to be built on the next-generation X1 platform.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• borris on Mar 06, 2014 at 4:57 pm

when you say ‘coupe’ treatment I was expecting something like the evoque 2-door

• Cetak Tak Mati on Mar 07, 2014 at 7:39 am

This X4 will make all the others mid size SUV become old junk except The Macan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • not really, it is still using that old 3 liter n55 engine. even merc which is used to be known for making old man cars can top that with their 2 liter 4 cylinder engine. i guess merc and bmw are switching roles now. bmws are currently making generic boring cars

• Cetak Tak Mati on Mar 07, 2014 at 2:08 pm

oi faker , dont use my name. BMW x6 design was impressive when it came out

but this one ? sorry BMW you are not living in 2007 anymore.This is 2014 Mercedes Benz got GLA what do u guys have? guys in ingolstadt got to step up their game otherwise they would always get left behind by the best and be nothing

• It’s still a rip-off from our Gen 2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • AutoFrenz on Mar 06, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Totally agree…gen-2 has spawned so.many wannabees…at the same it looks like 5 series gt on heels…the headlights r so hideous…it makes the x6 looks pretty now…

• TaiDeeSuprima on Mar 06, 2014 at 9:17 pm

‘:)hahaha* but actually.. & seriuosly, ya la! there is a bit of Proton Gen2’s DNA!’

• dato' K on Mar 06, 2014 at 5:21 pm

The interior is soooo boring. Especially the steering wheel and center fascia.I wish they will revamp the design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • haha at least in the interior they place the cd player down and the air control up lol

• droll on Mar 06, 2014 at 7:35 pm

really, bmw???? a x4 which is a coupe version of a x3??? you’re seriously diluting your brand. it’s like carpet bombing. sigh.

• BLT Club on Mar 06, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Another niche. Well done BMW. Now everyone can own a BMW.

• donuts on Mar 06, 2014 at 8:19 pm

RM399k! duh!

• paucharsiew on Mar 06, 2014 at 8:59 pm

urghhh

• TaiDeeSuprima on Mar 06, 2014 at 9:13 pm

-walawei!iwantthis!-

• Boring on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:43 pm

5.4km/L that’s terrible!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 22
  • mohd k zainul on Mar 07, 2014 at 3:26 am

PLEASE read b4 commenting.
    My friend it’s 5.2lt/100km
    Talk is cheap on its boring interior etc,
    I wonder if you have ever stepped into a BMW to
    experience its drivability and its sheer driving pleasure.

• seancorr on Mar 07, 2014 at 11:09 am

Is expect them to have a slight interior design to differentiate the X4 from the X3. So essentially we’re paying more just for the sloping roofline. If that’s the case then I’m better off with the cheaper X3.

• In terms of design, BMW is getting more and more boring compared to Merc these days.

• What’s happened to BMW’s design?

• niterunner99 on Mar 07, 2014 at 1:23 pm

BMW series: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8…9 , 10, 11 soon?
    Not to mention M, X…Y & Z?

• Zulkefli on Mar 07, 2014 at 9:22 pm

Is it really RM399k? when will it be launched in Malaysia? I want this.

• *xDrive35d

• RavenAii on Mar 11, 2014 at 2:37 am

A SAV X3 against SAC X4? Both are four doors utility vehicles. Why on earth would they done that? It would only make sense if the design the X4 as a 3-door coupe suv like the Evoque coupe to go along with the 5-door X3.

• x4 ..the same facelift that represent BMW.