GALLERY: BMW X4 Concept is production ready

bmw-x4-concept-8

The BMW X4 Concept was one the most significant debutants at Auto Shanghai 2013, amongst a raft of crossovers seeking to ride the wave. There may be the word “Concept” in the name, but the BMW X4 Concept is nothing more than a thinly-veiled production version of a Sports Activity Coupe that seeks to replicate the X6‘s success in a smaller segment.

The prodcution BMW X4’s roll out is scheduled for as early as 2014. It will be built at BMW Plant Spartanburg in the USA, the same facility that also rolls out the BMW X5, X6 and X3.

Size, wise, the X4 Concept is 4,648 mm long and 1,915 mm wide, which is the same length as the X3 but slightly wider. The 2,810 mm wheelbase is also similar to the more upright X3’s. The showcar sits on large 21-inch bi-colour light-alloy wheels.

Up front, the brand’s signature kidney grille is flanked by full-LED headlights. Inside the light units, you’ll find a flowing, hexagonal interpretation of the familiar BMW twin circular “eyes.” The horizontal continuation of the inner light elements creates a visual connection with the grille, accentuating the width of the front end.

From the sides, a coupe-style roofline sweeps downwards and makes the car appear longer. The windows extend well to the rear, where they are bordered by a dynamic interpretation of Munich’s signature Hofmeister kink. There’s also a new interpretation of the familiar BMW swage line, a pair of dynamic lines that are very prominent on the flanks.

If you haven’t already done so, check out BMW’s official Auto Shanghai 2013 video featuring our Harvinder Singh. In the exclusive video, Harve interviews the X4 Concept’s product manager and the man who drew the car, asking some of the questions that you forwarded in our pre-show question call.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Green on Apr 29, 2013 at 6:14 pm

Let’s come a Preve Crossover X series.
    with better suspesion, 2200 E01 Turbo petronas engine.

ok, maybe no need that enigine.
    but i think malaysian should have a slightly higher car and a good car like preve.

higher car so reduce risk towards flood.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 7
    • Meanwhile, the Preve hatchback is not yet launched, even it has been surfaced on the internet wayyy before this X4…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
      • rally_fan on Apr 30, 2013 at 8:45 am

The idea to build the X4 started way back in 2008 as a possible sportier version of the X3 to be launched in 2010. But that didn’t happen for whatever reason but its finally here now.

• Jimmy on Apr 29, 2013 at 9:49 pm

X6 is just too good, for those who can afford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • KillBox1Alpha on Apr 30, 2013 at 7:31 am

Reminds me of the 5 series GT…still beautiful car…especially the color.

And why the heck do some people have to drag Proton in this discussion….they are not in the same leagie…haiyooo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • screwUs on Apr 30, 2013 at 10:03 am

here in Bolehland, Proton is the benchmark even for BMW…. hehehehe… better or worse…

• taboogen on Apr 30, 2013 at 8:19 am

i’ve driven this car already.. same color… oppss sorry its my gen2… my bad :p

• art appreciator on Apr 30, 2013 at 11:21 am

I’ve not been paying much attention to BMWs nowadays, but I must admit, this one catches my eye.
    To my personal taste, a very handsome-looking car. Love the proportions. =)

• seriously, looks like gen2…

• Black Dog on Apr 30, 2013 at 1:33 pm

I personally don’t like X1 & X3. They look so sissy. But this one looks good, handsome, stylish with hint of ruggedness.

• Luqman_HKM on Jul 04, 2013 at 4:10 pm

I can’t wait to get you on the road good looking, AW!