Honda HR-V – official pics of US-market Vezel shown

Honda HR-V US-01

Reports from earlier this month pointed to the HR-V name being used for the US-market Honda Vezel, and it is now confirmed with the first official photos of the US-market Honda HR-V, released at NYIAS 2014.

A faithful reproduction of the Urban SUV Concept from Detroit 2013, the HR-V is built on the same global compact platform that underpins the Honda Jazz (Fit in USA).

The HR-V will feature a versatile and spacious interior thanks to a unique centre tank layout. Honda is second to none in packaging, and the HR-V will come with the Jazz’s famous folding Magic Seats. To sit under the CR-V in Honda’s SUV lineup, the HR-V will be launched this winter in the US. No mention of powertrains yet.

In Japan, the Vezel can be had with the new 1.5 litre Sport Hybrid i-DCD system that combines a normally-aspirated 1.5 litre direct-injection DOHC engine with a 29.5 PS/160 Nm lithium-ion-powered electric motor, matched to a seven-speed dual-clutch gearbox. There’s also a regular 131 PS/155 Nm 1.5L CVT combo.

We’ve covered the Honda Vezel extensively since the Jazz-based crossover made its debut at Tokyo 2013. Since then, sporty and hardcore versions of the B-segment SUV have been rolled out by usual suspects Modulo and Mugen.

The Honda Vezel/HR-V will be coming to Malaysia in the near future, and we’re putting our money on the HR-V name being used here. Which do you prefer? By the way, THIS was the original Hi-rider Revolutionary Vehicle, a tall box that existed in the noughties.

Honda Vezel world debut at Tokyo 2013

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Are we getting this? Coz I want one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • kimi_ on Apr 18, 2014 at 6:33 pm

The front passenger will Be cold like hell at night since the whole long strip of Aircond vents in front..

• seancorr on Apr 18, 2014 at 4:39 pm

I’m ok with either names, just don’t price it over the Pug 2008 especially if this car does not come with decent spec.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 5:16 pm

I think it will most likely price around if not slightly more than the 2008. High chance VSC is standard(All Hondas abover RM100k excpt FREED has VSC) and hopefully airbags as well. I’am more concearn about the powertrain.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 5:22 pm

*6 airbags as well.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 4:46 pm

In tht colour, the Vezel/HRV looks suprisingly handsome, almost like a mini X6. But strangely, there is no spec announced other than the known hybrid varaint. Will the Vezel/HR-V be exclusively hybrid?

• fast5 on Apr 18, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Yummy, when it arrive here? 2 years later again? Haiz 3rd world country…. but car price expensive like premium country…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • vanhoe on Apr 18, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Malaysia super rich country, all citizen are millionaire. Can totally afford a car at double price of USA car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • hondasalesmanhere on Apr 18, 2014 at 9:31 pm

it will be here very soon, but dun expect it to be too cheap, but loaded with decent specs

• Cheaper-than-cheap looking interior, meh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Motorhead (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Woah. I like this.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 6:39 pm

I have a feeling its gonna come with da honda city mechanicals

• Shut up and take my money!

• nabill (Member) on Apr 19, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Thy came to take ur money,sadly thy couldnt find any,so thy went to the US n launch it thr!

• Steve on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Hope they offer it as a hybrid with EX-L items such as dual zone AC, heated and power seats to provide an alternative to the Buick Encore – the only luxury option in this market segment. If with a hybrid and seven speed transmission it exceeds 44 mpg, they are going to sell a ton of them.

• Heimdall on Apr 19, 2014 at 2:28 am

When the Vezel is mentioned in the US, it will inevitably be known as the “Wezel”. Pronounced weasel.

• Price it 95K with 6 air-bags in Bolehland and it will be a winner.

• KangKungMan on Apr 19, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Bro … I dun think so lor … Easily above 100K in boleh land.

• Green on Apr 19, 2014 at 11:30 am

3 air con blower directly on to Fron Lady Passenger.

Must be very very cold.

• Denaihati on Apr 19, 2014 at 5:25 pm

very welcome especially for hybrid version and also CKD for better and reasonable price i hope. no doubt, on the design and specification will make everybody will love it.

• slk3879 on Apr 19, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Should price it around 100k. If too high then have more choices already. Look at the price of pug 2008, it is a disaster

• drCooper on Apr 20, 2014 at 8:05 am

that long passenger aircond vent is weird..the front passenger gonna freeze to death when journey end

• kelvin on Apr 20, 2014 at 10:40 pm

kasihan the front passenger.. gonna freeze at night

• KangKungMan on May 05, 2014 at 11:06 am

If this below RM100k – Surely going to big hit in here … can see this car all over places :)

• Quephilic on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Anybody with me on buying this car next year? :D

• Elaine on Jul 26, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Any chance that HR-V will be available in Malaysia?

• Anjel on Aug 14, 2014 at 4:09 pm

When is this car coming to Malaysia.may reduce some of the traffic jams I suppose..give a reasonable price.