Tokyo 2013: Honda Fit (Jazz) RS looking good

honda-jazz-rs-tms 012

Sitting at the top of the third-gen Honda Fit (Jazz) range in Japan is the Fit RS – this one’s FWD only, and is solely powered by a 1.5 litre i-VTEC four-cylinder engine that produces 132 PS at 6,600 rpm and 155 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm. It’s the only Jazz on display at Honda’s 2013 Tokyo Motor Show stand.

It’s also the only Jazz variant in Japan that can be specified with a six-speed manual, although a CVT is also available. Exterior features include a gloss black grille ‘wing’ with the RS badge, vertical LED DRLs beside the fog lamps, side skirts, a prominent and more sculpted tailgate spoiler and 16-inch alloys wrapped in 185/55 series tyres. That body colour is exclusive to the RS, too.

Inside, you’ll find fabric seats with red stitching and a unique red pattern, classy-looking gloss black trim on the dash and door cards, plus aluminium foot pedals. JC08 fuel economy is rated at 21.4 km per litre (CVT) and 19 km per litre (manual). I actually quite like the way this one looks – what say you?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• sam69 on Nov 25, 2013 at 9:33 am

Body line is like got crash over by Sam Loo Hilux!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 25, 2013 at 4:43 pm

This car should be called Honda Fatt not Honda Fitt. Because it smells like fart. Only K5 owners buy this trash for their wives. Low RV and no trade in value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
    • Sam Loo on Nov 26, 2013 at 12:57 am

Imporsonator detected. The real person only interested to look for sorhais that buys kimchis new and sell off a year later

• Sam Loo Sleepless Nights on Nov 25, 2013 at 9:46 am

Habis lah Sam Loo. Now he cannot sleep. From City to Jazz, all come with safety features like VSC. Everybody knows Toyota got no VSC in their Vios. Most likely he will come here and talk bad about this car but we all know he is running scared these days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • sam69 on Nov 25, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Vios owner don’t care bout VSC wan la…they only care bout RV..even though Vios is as rubbish as Sam Loo Hilux face.

• Sam Loo on Nov 26, 2013 at 1:01 am

I really pity the K5 owner. Got shown the Hilux and the broomstick.

It will be a lot easier to rid the cabbage by driving it into Klang River or just simply torch the kimchi

• sam69 on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:00 am

ya…ya…when you steer 30degree on the wheel, your toyoita Vios will turn turtle and roll into Klang River.

• JpCarJunk on Nov 25, 2013 at 9:46 am

This is Junk.
    Volkswagen Golf better than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 60
    • Vader on Nov 25, 2013 at 10:36 am

Really a genius, compare Fit with golf..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • GolfshitDSGshit on Nov 25, 2013 at 10:45 am

compare Jazz to golf??? should be Polo la… anyway New Jazz better than polo much time.. and Jazz Type R will give ur golf became shit! Dsg suck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • sohai since when Jazz or City got type R? dun just add some spoiler n call urself type R.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
        • unsohai on Nov 25, 2013 at 9:16 pm

You la sohai.. Go search the news about Jazz type R .Unlike vios with spoiler n grey skirting, then called TRD..

• Look awesome, powerful engine!

• Jinggo on Nov 25, 2013 at 10:04 am

Cantik & sempit..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • 4G63T DSM on Nov 25, 2013 at 10:25 am

Is it just me or I’m the odd one out to think that touch sensitive controls are a bad bad mistake on a car.

Maybe call me old fashioned, but I still very much prefer the very tactile feel of regular buttons and knobs. Very much like I prefer a proper keypad on a mobile phone instead of a touch screen.

I do understand that knobs and buttons are more expensive to do up properly than touch interfaces.

• Sorry on Nov 25, 2013 at 10:41 am

sorry, I feel this jazz inside and outside look totally awesome compare to polo hatch, yaris hatch , fiesta hatch and myvi! and 1.5NA 132hp and 155nm is a good job ! I tumbs up

• I too dislike the touchsensitive thing but it has kick off a certain trend lately. All started with Tesla and its Titanic screen, now you have Citroen and Peugeout having a smaller but the same intergrated touch system and touch sensitive system in almost all new Hondas and Lexuses. Until I get some thumbs up from Lexus IS driver or new Odyssey drivers, I’ll have some doubt in this system.

• frenzyaustin on Nov 25, 2013 at 10:28 am

Not bad, but where is Type R?

• johnjjj on Nov 25, 2013 at 10:49 am

it actually looks good… hmm…
    should i wait or just go on with the current one

• semut on Nov 25, 2013 at 11:07 am

Waaah….manual…syoknya

• 6 Speed Manual! Bring it in!!!!!

• dun medan on Nov 25, 2013 at 11:46 am

i just jazz in my pants…

• Polo Saga on Nov 25, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Excellent design!!!

• Chris on Nov 25, 2013 at 3:14 pm

10x better looking than Swift Sport. Might handle just as well? No?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • timmy on Nov 25, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Exciting Hideous Design!!!Looks horrible.very disappointed with Honda’s 3rd gen Jazz/Fit.Look carefully,its not as sporty as the previous generation.VERY Sad.However engine is more powerful,better fuel efficiency and the useless and dangerous touchscreen.Jazz/Fit by NAME only.If i purchase this for its performance then its ok but it FAILS miserably in terms of DESIGN.Hyundai ix20 and Matrix also looks way better than this once upon a time beautiful sporty car.SAD:(

• Sam Loo on Nov 26, 2013 at 1:07 am

Would encourage you to buy a new Elantra.

Mind you that you will be looked down by your colleagues, your bosses will deem you not trustworthy, your relatives will give you the funny look as if they just saw a tai lan ngong and most of all, you will have ultra low self- esteem driving a kimchi.

But within 6 months, you will have the urge to get rid of it, I will take it from you for 45% of selling price provided its accident free.

For those who choose Cerato, please dun even bother to waste my time. Just torch it instead

• sam69 on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:05 am

Last night, I saw a toiyota Hilux breakdown on the road side.. than I saw a familiar Hilux face like Sam Loo..then I just drove off with a smile on my kimchi… :)

• jazzercise on Nov 30, 2013 at 5:51 pm

I crash this car into the bridge, I dont care! I love it!

• tedeq on Apr 01, 2014 at 1:54 pm

macam honda city yg baru (2014) tapi version hatchback. haha.

• mklai on Jul 20, 2014 at 8:57 pm

So very beautiful and great Honda Jezz,I very love Honda Jezz.