SPYSHOT: Daihatsu Ayla sighted at Cameron Highlands, Perodua Axia development under way

daihatsu-ayla-cameron

This Daihatsu Ayla was sighted by reader Json at Cameron Highlands. There are minimal disguises on this car, with the front simply having the Daihatsu badge removed. As for the rear, if this is the same car that has been previously spotted (same B3598A plate), the Daihatsu badge is taped over with a simple white tape.

It has been speculated that Perodua will be building its next car on the Daihatsu Ayla’s platform. This new car will be pretty much a Viva replacement, although Perodua says that it will not replace the Viva in its line-up. We think that the Viva will soldier on as a low cost model sold only with barebones spec, while this new car will slot in between the basic Viva and the Myvi.

We wonder how far along the development has come, as all we’ve seen on the road so far has been this minimally taped up Ayla. Since Perodua will be putting its own body on a licensed platform, a prototype of the actual Perodua car should be wearing heavy disguise once it hits the roads. The only small car we’ve sighted on test constantly is the Proton GSC.

Perodua refers to it as the Global Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) for now, although we’ve also seen the word GMA used, which stands for Global Model A Segment. It showcased an interior at last year’s KLIMS13 called the GMA Space Concept. It’s the image on the left shown above, and we’ve put the Daihatsu Ayla’s interior on the right for reference. As you can see, the design is quite similiar although there are minor variations. This further reinforces the “Perodua based on Ayla” theory.

Earlier this month, we discovered that Perodua had registered the trademark Axia with MyIPO and described it as the name for a vehicle. Could the Daihatsu Ayla (and its Toyota Agya sibling) be joined by a Perodua Axia soon? Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh confirmed to the media that Perodua had submitted the name to MyIPO however clarified that Axia was not the only name submitted.

What we know about the new model so far is that it is Perodua’s “first transformation model”, the first fruit of the company’s efforts to transform and adapt to the new automotive ecosystem, where competition is rising for local players. The new model will roll out from the Perodua Global Manufacturing plant, which is currently under construction at a plot next to P2?s existing factory.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Great.. meanwhile Suprima S still none on sight. Still can count with fingers. GSC still out of sight too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 67
    • motorbart on May 15, 2014 at 6:51 pm

What? You dun see one? May i know which cave you live in? Oh btw this is your dream car kid. 2 airbags , no vsc, milo tin chassis.

Lolololllllolllllll

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 15
      • Motorhead (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Ptong salesman & staff can start printing their resume & apply jobs at P2.. haha.. Unfortunately. . No vacancies. .

Meanwhile. . P2 can’t afford my salary. . Some butt & bart hurt think Im P2 salesman.. haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 35
        • Motorbutt on May 16, 2014 at 10:45 am

Still counting Suprima S..i see..btw 6K..? what la perodua..that much only they can’t hire Mr capable motorhead..perodua need to sell this Ayla twin sister like very2 much than their hot sell frog..to get Mr. motorhead..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 11:25 am

Top sales manager can consider. . But definitely they can’t pay my bonuses.

Come la Mr. Bart near Sri Petaling.. see yourself.. lucky if u see one.. well equipped. . Unfortunately. . Nobody wants.. wonder why la.. please la buy.. help Mr. Bart’s sales. . Haha..

Now Sup S give 5K rebate.. cepat beli.. sy sokong.

• Same L0r on May 16, 2014 at 11:14 am

People here can’t complain about the look, the price neither the build quality, so they keep on bashing on rebagding.

Selling car is not like making art, you don’t have spend long time, burn lot of money to product some unique yet build quality is a question mark car. It is nothing to be proud of. End up company making loss, no one interested to buy, share price drop, staff bonus slashed. What for???!!

The almighty GSC is the best example. I go GSC watch movies till vomit, still haven’t got a news on GSC.

If Proton start selling its rebadged Accord, I can’t wait to test drive. If Proton could rebadge Mercedes, BMW, I would like to be Proton customer again.

If you are good on roti canai, don’t go sell steak. If you are good on badminton, don’t go soccer. If you are good on rebadging, keep on doing it.

People don’t want Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok car, they want simple, cheap and reliable car.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Same lor.. thx on the bonus issues. . That’s my point. . But some of them don’t get it. Too slow may be.. ppl are making profits. . They are not..

• Motorbutt on May 16, 2014 at 3:06 pm

this AYLA sibling(should rename AGLY)..
            what look..? some people here think it s ugly..anyway its subjective..
            what price..? not yet launch..
            what build quality..? toyota standard..?
            “Selling car is not like making art, you don’t have spend long time,”..? that is why new vios TRD..toyota did not integrated the led day light into the headlamp ..somemore using cap ayam LED..btw what to hurry..?? scared loosing sales..??

• Same L0r on May 16, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Motorhead, you have always contributed in educating the readers on what should we demand in Malaysian car industry, so that one day Malaysian will have cheap, reliable and high quality transportation.

For a few to be filthy rich, everyone has to die poor…

or

For everyone to get rich, a few filthy rich has to get poorer…

The choice is on our hand, at least I believe.

• Same L0r on May 16, 2014 at 4:48 pm

How does a daylight running light bother you?

People prefer to drive a car without daylight running light or without working power window??

Toyota put cap ayam LED still need 3 months waiting period. Proton huuhaa 5 star safety daylight running light still need to organise sales carnival under coconut trees to clear stock?

Mind to tell why?

Proton 4S: Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok, Sentiasa Rosak, Sales Carnival

• Motorhead (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Same lor.. agree on filthy rich.. but poor for them no way for me.. few options left for us.. P2 rebadge & CKD.. still CKD take some chunks from us.. but cushion the pain. Anyway. . I don’t think gov can keep NAP forever. . Not good for them also.. FDI loosing to our neighbours. . They know this..

Anyway. . I always support ppl buy what they want, sokong they buy P1.. go ahead not my money also.. but they are too judgmental on our preference & way of life.. & say our life is cheap? Drive a P2 or Vios..me cheap?

• Motorbutt on May 16, 2014 at 6:28 pm

it is easy same lor..
            “..Toyota put cap ayam LED still need 3 months waiting period. Proton huuhaa 5 star safety daylight running light still need to organise sales carnival under coconut trees to clear stock?..”
            why..??? coz there were many malaysian kido thinking backward like Motorhead ..
            “..People prefer to drive a car without daylight running light or without working power window??..”…and why bother to put those LED.. juz use ur ancient fog lamp instead..
            btw majority new proton buyer..had no problem with their power window..and mind to tell..how many years their warranty..same lor?

• Motorbutt on May 16, 2014 at 3:27 pm

in ur dream kid..top sales manager..? goreng pun..kantoi..,want to make sales..
          anyway u know more than me bout the suprima rebate..u count suprima..wondering why..? are u eyeing M3 or this suprima..asking only..jgn mare

• Motorhead (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Mr. Butt.. to be honest. I did take a look on Suprima S.. interior ok.. Unfortunately FC not ok. Driven confirm this. They lied? I don’t think so.. XV my first choice next.. I need the space for my hobby.. New M3 is amazing. . Rear seat can fold flat dy.. I like the kodo look.. going for CKD if M3.

• Motorfart on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Get your head out of your own arse why don’t you? That mentality is the very reason as to why you are where you are and will never progress beyond.

Also ~ proton can shove their idealogies up their own arses as well. I’d rather pay the heavy tax imposed on imports than having to visit a proton showroom. At least I know my car will at least keep me alive if the unfortunate happens.

• Vader on May 16, 2014 at 7:39 am

Smart one to change the name from butt to Bart.. :)
        No offense but fact, i also seldom see suprima, so far, only 2 to 3 suprima around the Penang island industrial zone area.

• kzm (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 2:45 am

I already see many SS on the road but not as much as saga flx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • leoRNado on May 20, 2014 at 2:59 am

Who said only can see 2-3 Suprima?. I see a lot everyday.. in the Proton yard. coz my house at Tjg Malim.

• kcng (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 9:49 am

Suprima S is an exclusive compact car where their owner didn’t simply drive their car sharing with the road with poorfag like you.

That’s the reason you can’t spot them.

• Motorbutt on May 16, 2014 at 11:10 am

the real reason is ..the suprima was too fast for his MYVI to get a close look..if not he wont have enough fingers to count

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • Same L0r on May 16, 2014 at 3:45 pm

If you are right, I suppose the Suprima S driver is faster and closer to mortuary too than those who can’t get a closer look.

If Suprima S is selling good, the CEO doesn’t have to ask “Why Malaysian are not supporting Proton”.

• Motorbutt on May 16, 2014 at 4:38 pm

same lor ..i believe vios and myvi are way more closer to morgue .. no need to explain why.. u know well..
            anyway i’m not saying suprima is selling good but it sold enough..to get one person fingers aren’t enough to count.. ;)

• Motorhead (Member) on May 17, 2014 at 12:27 am

Yeah2. . Exclusive myass.. keep it in your sales rooms.. or rot in the bushes. Puihh P1.. stay away.. financial traps.

• an attractive interior for the 1950s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • fast5 on May 15, 2014 at 8:34 pm

And “it won’t replace d viva” so it will price above current basic line viva… that’s bad move on the pricing target when it launch…

• victor tan on May 15, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Nice looking little car, somehow I feel it will hit the market faster than Proton GSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • mim (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Development? Perodua??

LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
    • Labix7 on May 15, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Perodua only change steering wheel for interior ….. Very “briliant” RnD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
      • LOw Budget on May 16, 2014 at 9:38 am

Much much more than steering wheel lah.
        For example – wheel rims, bumper, grill, seat cover, audio player, side mirrors, electrical wires etc.

• victor tan on May 15, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Only the butt hurt or dumb ppl will thumb down above comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
      • motorbart on May 15, 2014 at 9:16 pm

motorhead is butthurt enough

lolllloollooll

• Motorhead (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 9:45 pm

What?? Butt hurt who? What?? No sales? Malaysian not patriotic? No support? Need 6 mill for R&D? Making lost? No bonuses?

Meanwhile. . I get 4 months bonus last year.. not frm P2.

One more bonus I can get Alza engine.. syoknya.. life is good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
          • victor tan on May 16, 2014 at 10:15 am

Ceh… Many ppl received more 4 months bonus per year OK? So what’s the point you want to bring that up?

• Motorbutt on May 16, 2014 at 10:59 am

go ahead get ur engine..enjoy ur life..dont be butt hurt..
            PERODUA is really smart they dont need any cent for R&D..
            however PERODUA buyer aren’t really that smart like Mr. motorhead ..for eg. he paid his MYVI for nothing..no R&D..less safety..terrible handling..more and more making him not that smart..is his stupid comments..

• kzm (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 2:54 am

I dont see any wrong what p2 is doing…that are their advantage as sub brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Iris Sucks on May 15, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Proton GSC no choice but must give 23km per Liter fuel economy to fight this new Perodua Axia…

Looks like Proton losing the wrong battle against Myvi..while Perodua killed off GSC with fuel economy slogan…

Kah kah kah…once again Proton screwed up by Perodua…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 30
    • mim (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Perodua needs to offer minimum 4 airbags with ABS, EBD, TCS, and ESC to really beat Proton GSC.

If still stuck with 2 airbags with optional ABS… nevermind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • Motorhead (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Wah.. ABS, VSC, etc.. bla bla.. then u ada duitkah for the price? Puihh.. typical…

Okok.. why not u buy Suprima S?? Come to my place now in Seri Petaling.. Nobody drive it yet here.. come2..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • Motorbutt on May 16, 2014 at 11:25 am

typical malaysians are like motorhead..6K PAY bought 2 myvi..more pay more myvi..too typical..
          i wonder if there were no preve’ in seri petaling..

• kzm (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 3:08 am

i do hope they don follow daihatsu ayla spec wise…at least on par with p1 safety pack

• victor tan on May 15, 2014 at 6:02 pm

You’re right. I don’t even think that Proton can do 20km/l. Unless they change the whole engine system with DI or hybrid.

• entah on May 15, 2014 at 6:45 pm

haha..joke perotdua…
      only know to rebadge..but talk BIG…
      at least proton try to make own car eventhough thier rebadge some car..even other big car makers make rbdge..but not same as perotdua..all copycat…rebadge3..talk big…

nowdays,proton start from A to Z.meanwhile perotdua from XYZ….all rebadge..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
      • KangKungMan on May 16, 2014 at 9:42 am

Bro, Itu Accord Perdana Bukan Copy Bulat Bulat ar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
        • peace on May 16, 2014 at 11:43 am

u menteri ke..?

• bengong on May 16, 2014 at 12:01 pm

aiya buta kah? dia ckp “atlest p1 try making new car” not like p2 which making rebadge jer..mmg p1 buat rebadge tp ada usaha buat keta sndr..even others makers make rebadg!! but p2 totally cant stand with its foot…
          cuba imagine kalau diahts/tyota tak support p2 lg… just imagine!! must be p2 sales drop ma..model pun xtaw pa mcm…aiya..

• P2 can talk big since their sales is almost double of proton sales every year for the past 5 years. Although P1 has improved but they need to buck up on QC and interior finishing of the car.

• talk big on May 16, 2014 at 2:50 pm

ya, Perodua TALK BIG, but already ‘kenyang with their big talk’ they making good profit everyday.. poor u, talk big but got nothing..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Ini semua salah Perodua. Salah Malaysian. Tak patriotic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Motorbutt on May 16, 2014 at 11:27 am

u said it urself.. P2 lover

• Motorhead (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Ya salah Perutdua u xde sales. . Hahaha.

• Motorbutt on May 16, 2014 at 2:26 pm

i’m not in sales..dude,..what a childish statement..if no sales..there were no saga..preve..etc on the road..or u only counting suprima..better u start counting the rest of proton..(panggil bodo melenting..nanti kluar childish statement lagi..bila panggil budak marah..;)

• Motorhead (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 2:49 pm

I point Suprima S because it’s the best equipped P1.. so called safest. . 5 NCAP, VSC.. bla bla.. at the end.. look yourself. . Brapa ramai yg beli at that price. . Furthermore. . I think it’s the heaviest of P1.. results? Worst FC in driven. . This is the game that P1 don’t understand. MARKET.. in increasing population & traffic. . People aren’t looking for a super duper cars.. many players are shrinking the engine displacement dy.. resources is getting lesser.. most people just want a decent transportation. .drive to work.. for family. . Not driving Ah beng racing all days.. safe fuel & efficient. . All japs car makers are going for this market.. drive fast & hard was thing of my past.. entering middle age.. im going slower.. fortunately. . I enjoy driving at 80-120kmp now.. counting every cent of my FC.. & happy with it.. burn less fuel for the planet..

• kusochon on May 15, 2014 at 6:26 pm

good job perodua for bringing in the indon car!

• LOw Budget on May 16, 2014 at 9:43 am

Whats wrong with that? Indons are the abangs and Boleh are the adiks.
      Adik take from abang, fair and square.

• Pak cik on May 15, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Interior worse than viva…

• Albert lee on May 15, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Perodua will exceed 200,000 units in sales this year,judging from their aggressiveness in marketing fuel efficient cars.This will directly usurp a huge portion of PROTON’s sales.
    My prediction this year 2014:
    PERODUA(better rename it PERTAMINA OR PERTAMA) 205,000units
    PROTON 100,000 units
    TOYOTA 75,000 UNITS
    HONDA 70,000 UNITS
    NISSAN 73,000 UNITS
    lets wait year end and see how it goes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • LOw Budget on May 16, 2014 at 9:47 am

P2 could be the victims of their own success, the Gomen might force them to merge with P1 in order to rescue P1 in the future.

• Azlan on May 16, 2014 at 1:09 pm

Proton workers will mogok against it. Just like MAS workers union against MAS-Airasia merger. Lazy bums never die!

• Amir96 on May 15, 2014 at 6:57 pm

The headlight looks like Nissan GTR. Looks pretty cool.

• semut on May 15, 2014 at 9:55 pm

cant see anywhere near GTR. maybe u mean.. Naza GTR??

• Motorhead (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Right.. some gtr look there.. hmm.. pearjai.. what do you think? Add more kei kar?

• motorbart on May 15, 2014 at 10:54 pm

Just admit you want to put lot of stickers and put ugly bodykit to car like ah beng. Drive it like it’s a GTR but then nothing special with it. That’s so pathetic

Wonder how’s your small scale car looks like lol

• Motorhead (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 11:29 am

Puihh.. I hate stickers.. they can’t pay me for free promotion. . But I put lots of performance stuffs. Engine belum kacau.. suka reliability. Alza engine coming up.. so cheap.

• Motorbutt on May 16, 2014 at 3:32 pm

care to explain the performance stuffs..?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 8:11 pm

Full set of performance exhaust system. . Tried a few.. this is the best.. reputable workshop. . rims.. lightweight. . Full set of performance absorbers.. take corners like a go cart now..

That’s it.. engine no touch, no stickers.. but looking forward to put new engine.. or new car.. let’s see.. Hehe..

• motorbart on May 16, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Now you now p2 is underpower lol. Make it a bolt on turbo engine, you may drive faster but it’s no factory warranty like those in CFE/campro turbo.

Once blown up you’ll cry like baby, lol

• Motorhead (Member) on May 17, 2014 at 12:09 am

Yeah bodoh.. going to put a standard engine. . Thx God cheap anywhere can find.. not like sampah campro..

• Aero (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 7:11 pm

What’s there to develop really ?

Perodua’s formula : Find a small Toyota/Daihatsu car -> Change the front and rear bumpers + modify the interior a bit + add Perodua badge = Perodua new car.

Anyway, I want to see how many airbags this new Perodua will get. I want to see if Perodua really cares about their customers or not. Honda MY does. ETCM Nissan does too. Big brother Proton as well. Even stingy UMW Toyota has done something. Only Perodua has done NOTHING to improve safety standards in their new cars.

Time will tell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
    • AVH (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 11:33 pm

They dont even have ABS/EBD for goodness sake, most likely the airbags will be held at two, I see no reason nor indication for them to increase it….if they were pivoting towards safety, the facelifted Alza and Myvi Angry Bird(the green one) should have standard ABS+EBD and slowly increasing their airbag number, that didn’t happened. And I am not expecting Perodua to change that status quo.

As of now there are no car under RM50k that give basics such as ABS+EBD, let alone 6-airbags or ESP. The Proton GSC is spied with ESP, but I’am worried that either be a high spec variant, the above RM50k version. as of now I expect on the safety front, Proton to be ahead of P2.

• kzm (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 3:02 am

for people who don’t ever do R&D will never understand..

• victor tan on May 16, 2014 at 9:25 am

I personally don’t like P2 because the new XT variants clearly shows that they don’t care about customer’s safety.

However, the XT variant still sell!! And the ppl that bought it aren’t those students or fresh grads. There’re numerous of ppl around me choose to buy XTs rather than others.

Sad isn’t it? This is the real mentality of most Malaysian.

• spongewai on May 15, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Perodua Aiyo then ok lol… no need Axia or Asia or whatever name

• bisakeris (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 7:41 pm

easy job by perodua.. this is a smart biz.. manyak untung!!!

• bisakeris (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 7:45 pm

gsc where? where gsc? adoi la proton.

• ruffstuff on May 15, 2014 at 8:35 pm

The word ‘taped’ and ‘development’ can only be used for Perodua. The best car company in malaysia with ‘taped’ RnD. Nak test pelekat tape kuat ke tak.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 9:16 pm

Yeah.. whatever. . Just bring the kits P2.. & start assembly. .

Meanwhile. . So called Garbage Small Crap still under tests..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Tiger on May 15, 2014 at 9:42 pm

The job in the P2 ” R&D” departmemt must be the easiest in the whole world, just need to come out with the model name and paint colors, and later ” special” after ” special” ” limited” versions

• Motorhead (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 9:59 pm

So pity find so many retards that don’t know P2 IS A REBADGE COMPANY.. it’s part of the deal.. almost all parts are Daihatsu’s.. even P2 mampus pon I don’t mind.. go Daihatsu. .still around. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • motorbart on May 15, 2014 at 11:01 pm

You dun feel anything because you are not patriotic enough. Your fa ma get 4 months bonus but you dun ever feel that it’s when you live in bolehland not in China, Indon or Thai.

• samlok on May 15, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Aiyoh yo hodohnya

• Stupid Ppl Around Me on May 16, 2014 at 8:07 am

So stupid for ppl to keep talking about no.of airbags, VSC, TC, bla bla bla…if u value ur life so much, it does NOT depend on these techs but YOUR driving styles. These are just PREVENTATIVE measures. Nt that they’re not important, but just be more real-LAH. Buy car want to say ‘Aiyo just 2 airbags, Aiyo just this just that’. Anyone ever said “wow this car is so economical in the long run, so comfortable, so this so that”? NONE. Get real ppl, using a car is just to travel from A to B. Wana race and let the airbags deploy? Go get a REAL sports car like my Megane, then you talk. Otherwise, a commercial car is just for general usage. DRIVE SAFE, not CAR SAVE YOU

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • ruffstuff on May 16, 2014 at 8:47 am

Agreed. We all should not be bitching about no seatbelt. Safe drive above all. Really tidak apa mentality.

• felipepessa on May 16, 2014 at 9:08 am

Even if you practice safe driving, you didn’t know what might happened when you are on the road. it’s better to have well equipped car than depend solely on your DRIVING STYLE.

• Stupid Ppl Around Me on May 16, 2014 at 9:55 am

Well equipped car? Like 18 airbags even on the roof? U have a point, but I’m saying that if everyone practices safe DRIVING STYLE, we wouldn’t even need KNEE Airbags. Co’mon: http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Community/2013/10/06/65-of-road-accidents-caused-by-human-error-says-minister.aspx/
        So even with all these preventative techs nowadays, it still comes down to US humans who make the errors. Conclusion? Change DRIVING STYLE

• Tomcat on May 16, 2014 at 10:34 am

Wow I don’t even know where to start. It’s obvious your perspective is way way skewed there’s no way to convince you otherwise.

But know this – there’s not one sane & rational person who goes into a showroom wanting to buy a car and says “wow this car is so economical in the long run, so comfortable”, without also saying, “…but is it safe? Airbags, ABS, ESP?”. Because you know what? In his head he’s also thinking, ” I might be the safest driver in the world, dang if I’m not I won’t drive until I’m sure I am, but who knows the driver next to me may be drunk, got heart attack, or just plain stupid to drive safe?”

Get real bro, don’t be so naive.

• Stuipid Ppl Around Me on May 16, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Hahahaha, i couldn’t stop laughing at your ‘don’t be so naive’ part. It takes a lot for a person to say that when u don’t even know who’s behind the screen.

Anyways, your paranoid envisioning of the ‘possible accidents not caused by myself’ is a statement to defend your view on what cars should have. Mine’s just the opposite. So learn to respect that, instead of calling ppl naive.

Lemme guess, you’re the “I want cheap yet all things inside for what I buy”. There’s no such thing er…..BRO?

What I was merely implying is that regardless of what u envision of the possible accidents not caused by me, they all link back to the human touch, i.e. human caused.

Yes, safe driving ain’t all that matters in the world, but then it matters more than anything else. If ALL drivers practice it, things will be good.

Also, being a good driver doesn’t only mean behind the wheel. It also covers vehicle maintenance.

Oh btw, I heard u have ur own ‘The Beast’ ride, considering how you consider all things that could happen ;)

Cheers

• Anonymous Coward on May 16, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Stuipid Ppl Around Me, I think there is no choice but to label you naive as your views are in no way practical. You can never expect humans to be perfectly safe drivers and you cannot expect that road conditions and weather will always be perfect.

These are what these safety systems are for; to protect against the possibility that even if YOU are the perfect driver, conditions may occur that leads to an accident. Even if your vehicle has been maintained properly, a car is a complex system with mechanically-moving parts that can fail. Yes, even including the safety systems.

Nobody is saying that safety systems should come “free”. But not even having the option to choose these systems is not an optimal scenario.

Even IF you remove the human element involved in driving (e.g. by having computer-controlled cars), you still need these systems because no system, human or otherwise, can accurately predict all scenarios 100% of the time.

The presence of safety features is BETTER than its absence, even if ALL drivers are perfect drivers.

• Accidents can happen anywhere, anytime even if you are driving safely. By 2014 we should be expecting ESP and 6 airbags as standard for all cars. Kudos to Honda, Nissan, Proton and Kia for championing 6 airbags with their new car models.

Safe driving definitely helps to reduce accidents but sometimes it could be caused by other drivers or environmental situations like puddles of water causing hydroplaning, oil slicks on the road, road gravel and sand causing lost of traction which can occur suddenly at low speeds or safe driving. With ESP an accident caused by those mentioned above could be avoided.

What if you were driving at small kampung roads and a car from opposite lane lost control and hits you headon or you swerve to avoid hitting an animal at night in the dark and hit the road divider, airbags could save your life thats why its alway better to have it than not.

Now if only P2 will buck up and provide more airbags and ABS, ESP as standard.

• Anonymous Coward on May 16, 2014 at 10:51 am

Safety is not a zero-sum game. A well-equipped car and safe driving style still won’t yield zero accidents. What you can do is PREPARE for them.

I’d rather drive safe in a well-equipped car than one which the manufacturer intentionally removed safety features.

• 4G63T DSM on May 16, 2014 at 12:05 pm

You are right . Change driving style.

The fallacy of your argument.

You can’t change someone else’s driving style. You can’t stop someone from running a red light, nor you can stop someone from falling asleep at the wheel.

Hence passive safety.

• Anonymous Coward on May 16, 2014 at 9:54 am

Of course a huge airbag count and those other safety features will not guarantee your safety; I don’t think anyone is claiming that. However, this IS 2014. Safety features SHOULD be standard.

Even if I drive safe, accidents happen. I’d rather be in a car with a full complement of safety features than not. The accident might not even be your fault: some guy might run the red light, some guy might lose control due to rain, etc.

Why SHOULDN’T we demand better safety features from car manufacturers?

• Stuipid Ppl Around Me on May 16, 2014 at 11:07 am

Then again, would ppl pay? Ppl always seek for cheap, super equipped to every aspect, etc etc.

Yeah it’s 2014. Cars became faster, more power, better stability, better engineering, better aerodynamics, etc etc. As a result? Ppl drive faster, more reckless, more DESIRE to speed.

So the CORE issue still lies within us. Having safety features are fine, but look at the CORE, the main cause.

Having more airbags makes u FEEL safe. But they do have a psychological influence on the other side too, i.e. you’ll feel OK to speed and all. So at the end of the day, why have more, when just enough is good enough?

It is man who drives the car past the red lights, it is man who speeds when it rains and loses control of his car, it is man who texts and apply emergency brakes till the rear car rams him, man man man. So everyone’s gota change our style. It takes all to tango

• Motorhead (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Thumbs up Stupid ppl around you.. they are just Paul Walker wannabe. . Drive think to die trrw.. not drive think safe.. they think they are safe.. all the features work in limited of speed.. but they are Paul wannabe.. Do they fllw the speed limits? 60 at 60, 80 at 80, 110 at 110?..NO. some of them are P1 sales man.. desperate for sales. . Poor sales ma.. so they brag with Suprima S.. Unfortunately. . Ppl don’t want also…

Meanwhile. . People like me. Travel from PJ..caught in jams everyday.. max speed is 80-100.. ve 3 cars.. all 3.. 6 airbags. . None deployed. None use.. what VSC in my case? Snail traffic everyday. They don’t understand requirements or preferences. . They are just plain stupid.. like P1 fail to understand the market. Well good.. let P1 tapau faster.. happy for them… let them keep on failing. . So do their counterparts. Haha..

• Anonymous Coward on May 16, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Man, I don’t even. I drive WITHIN the speed limit and I still lost control of my car due to environmental factors.

I DIRECTLY experienced a situation when VSC/ESC/ESP would have eliminated the problem entirely.

Why is asking for more safety features a problem? Why is PREPARING for the worst-case scenario is a problem?

I CANNOT control the weather, road conditions or other drivers; what I CAN control is the safety features in the car that I drive and buy, which HOPEFULLY will help save my life. Why would I want LESS passive safety features?

• Motorbutt on May 16, 2014 at 4:11 pm

were u spoken to ur self again..Motorhead

• motorbart on May 16, 2014 at 8:45 pm

Motorhead loves underspecced unsafe car. His car is a perfect coffin, no?

• Anonymous Coward on May 16, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Well, I put my money where my mouth is. My wife bought a Kia Picanto two months back and our primary consideration was safety. Look, as it is, the cars on offer now simply do not have “good enough” safety features.

Perhaps having all these safety features may make someone speed but I disagree as we stick to the speed limit generally and do not perform dangerous maneuvers.

I don’t disagree that driving style is a contributing factor but you also cannot deny that there are other environmental factors that people can’t control. I’ve lost control of my car driving under the speed limit once and that was due to hydroplaning (this was an hour or so after rain). I wasn’t speeding, I wasn’t driving recklessly. It simply happened and my car DID NOT have ESP to get me back in control.

Scariest 30 seconds of my life.

Human errors and environmental factors CANNOT be controlled. You can NEVER eliminate human error. I do not text, I do not use my mobile while driving. Hell, I rarely even use my stereo. I ALREADY drive safely and defensively and I STILL lost control of my car.

Again I ask, what is wrong in asking car manufacturers to offer more safety features in our cars if it can cover cases that we might not be prepared for?

• 4G63T DSM on May 16, 2014 at 12:23 pm

You can talk all you want.

If given some day all cars come with a big spike on the steering wheel instead of an airbag,

Yes, it would make everyone drive safer.

But would you want to drive that car?

• Tomcat on May 16, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Oops I’m sorry sir for calling you naive. You’re the great and wise Cleverer-than-the-Person-Next-to-You. Happy?

What’s with this assumption that with more safety features a driver tends to drive more recklessly? I see kelisa, viva & old myvi speeding past the speed limit like king of the road. Not to mention vios. And those driving dangerously with bare to non-existent safety features, as if they couldn’t care less for the safety of other drivers. Could you explain for that? Correlation and causation is not the same, especially in the real world.

So you’ve come to agree that human behavior is the core. Which I also agree. Especially since Malaysians’ driving habits need a lot to improve if compared to those in first world countries. But to criticize those who value safety features greatly, if not just as much as driving attitudes, is not a smart move.

But to each his own, and I sincerely hope in these matters of life and death people would truly put their mind into considering all possibilities and risk factors before the need to win an argument.

• motorbart on May 16, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Preve and Suprima move charm like contis. Myvi, viva and vios move recklessly like those track cars, tailgating zigzagging on road. Which is safe, which is dangerous?

Think again.

• Stupid Ppl Around Me on May 18, 2014 at 8:23 am

You’re absolutely wonderful to consider all those possibilities, kudos to you. Then again, was I taking side of ‘We should not have airbags at all in cars’, or more like ‘We should not judge/value cars solely by the number of airbags they come with’?

Also, show me facts, not merely possibilities. Could you explain for the 65% figure of human-error-caused article which I attached earlier? Take note that it’s what our politician said, thus it SHOULD be inaccurate and probably higher than that. Check out international news and you’ll get 90% instead of the 65%.

Finally, it’s just each other’s opinions. It was absolutely uncalled for to rate ppl’s comments as closed-minded. Learn to debate and triumph on facts. There’s so many possibilities in this world, it’s unrealistic to account for ALL of it, though I agree on the ones you’ve mentioned.

• FC vs Airbags on May 16, 2014 at 8:30 am

Kesian Proton fanboys…can’t beat Perodua engine FC then asking more airbags…

Jimat minyak/FC (Perodua) vs. More airbags (Proton)…

Stupid Proton lah. Why waste RM1 Billion to Lotus? Better use that money to develop better FC new engines.

Perodua just smart enough to rebadge Eco cars by Daihatsu and get big volume sales.

In the end of day, you can see who is the real Fool or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • kcng (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 9:51 am

what to do, malaysia are full of dumb people where life is not a priority for them.

• Anonymous Coward on May 16, 2014 at 9:55 am

So if Proton decides to rebadge an eco car (let’s say Mitsubishi Mirage), you won’t mind? Proton would simply get bashed for that.

• victor tan on May 16, 2014 at 10:29 am

I won’t. If that happened, I will praise my god to max and present him a complete uncut Siu Yuk and 2 big bamboo sticks.

Admit it, Proton do need to rebagde a GOOD and CHEAP car now.

• besi buruk on May 16, 2014 at 10:50 am

So Proton lick his own vomit? Yesterday said no more rebadge, today desperate go rebadge Mitsubishi again?

That’s why don’t blame Perodua for rebadge job. Ludah ke langit kena muka sendiri lah HAH HA HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

• Motorhead (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 12:17 pm

Well said motorheads.. I pon ludah juga kena muka dia org.. haha…

• Motorbutt on May 16, 2014 at 4:01 pm

come on..Motorhead.., that was victor tan saying..his opinion..not proton..don’t be so childish..,ok..motorhead..ludah2 ni jangan la..kotor..go play something else

• Motorhead (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 12:41 pm

They are smart asxhol talk craps on safety. . Even Lotus Elise don’t ve VSC.. it about engineering & design also.. balance weight distribution.. so balance to extend minimal under or oversteer. . Slide the way they want it.. mostly classic sports cars. . So balance no need so much electronic features & make the cars as light as possible. . Just pure mechanical. .

Many modern cars especially front engine. . FWD ve poor weight distribution. . (Front weight) & during turns tends to wobbling around & lost control. So they add VSC to balance it back.

While mid engine cars don’t ve much of this issue. .pure drivers would refuse VSC as they want the cars slide perfectly..

GSC in other hand.. must ve flaw in design & dimensions. . Till need VCS to stabilise. . Kei kar normally are lightweight weight. . At this weight.. u need an extreme speed to loose control.. or turn turtle.. try on Myvis. But of course. . You are stupid if take turn with a kei kar at high speed… u ll die anyway. . No matter how many safety u ve.

• Anonymous Coward on May 16, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Extreme speed? Have you never heard of hydroplaning?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Pls la.. im talking about kei kar.. extreme speed for kei kar segments la.. if Im talking about Golf gti u get similar comparison. Or you want to compare Axia with Suprima S? Smartass..

• Anonymous Coward on May 16, 2014 at 3:45 pm

You do not need extreme speed for ANY car to lose control due to hydroplaning.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Drive fast? On wet roads? Paul Walker wannabe? Not me sir.. heavy rain I drive 60-80.. hydroplaning on my cars now? I don’t think so.. attitude bro.. attitude. . U want? Go ahead. . Try with the new GSC.. blm launch pon.. no problem. . Make sure u buylah. I support.

• Anonymous Coward on May 16, 2014 at 7:32 pm

Motorhead, are we comparing anecdotes now? If so: I drove at 70km/h on a road with a speed limit of 80km/h. My car hydroplaned and I lost control. The road was not even that wet (it was an hour after it stopped raining).

My point is that you can lose control of ANY car, no matter what your driving style is, no matter what car you’re driving.

It is prudent to be prepared.

Why are you even bringing Proton into this? I’m simply rebutting your claims that driving style is the end-all be-all when it comes to safety. Car brand doesn’t even enter into the equation.

• motorbart on May 16, 2014 at 8:52 pm

GSC is not kei car lor. Not a super nor sport car neither. But it’s waayyyyyy better than kei car. You talked about sport car then talk about kei car. Hey, maybe you always think that you are driving a sport car everytime you drive your pathetic kei car. LOL

Perasan je lebih, porah

• Motorhead (Member) on May 17, 2014 at 12:23 am

Eh I tot Garbage SMALL crap is going to be Myvi killer? Small car not kei kar? Eh different segment dy ka? Eh takut ka nak compare? Eh mana ya GSC? Xde pon?

Eh cowards.. apa if if?.. lu cuba la masuk longkang sendiri. . Try hydroplaning in whatever car u drive.. pergi mampos sorg.. wa bawak keta bukan setahun dua lah.. puihh.. syok sendiri..

• Motorbutt on May 16, 2014 at 5:22 pm

“pure drivers would refuse VSC as they want the cars slide perfectly..”..? pure drivers are driving MYVI..???

• Motorhead (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 8:23 pm

Ask that question to the owners of Lotus Elise, Caterham, A86, many other classic sports. So AWD cars like Subaru.. or some model of Audi.. no VSC also.. their excel in the AWD systems. . Tork & power distribution dy.. no need VSC.. or ask drift drivers. . Do they want VSC? If ve.. they ll deactivate anyway.. they want to loose control.

Please la.. stop fooling yourself. . You like idiots dy.. Myvi is in its own class.. look similar comparison la. . Unfortunately. . GSC mana? Tiara.. dead.. Savvy going to die also..

• FREEKICK on May 19, 2014 at 11:57 am

u are putting myvi in the same class with lotus,caterham and AE86..are u an idiot?

• Sebaik Perhiasan on May 16, 2014 at 9:32 am

Hmm.. FC perodua are better than the proton. My kelisa only cost me Rm20 from batu pahat to kampung baru kl. While my waja arround Rm 35-40 (2004 fuel price).

But in term of size and number of people and luggage that can be fetch for sure proton are better than the perodua. So agonizing to travel more than 300km in my kelisa with my parents and two kids. Something that i’m willing to trade with my higher consumption of fuel with my waja.

So my advice to the youngsters, if you’re still single or you’re planning to have only 2 kids perodua compact cars are convenient enough for you. But if you’re married and planning to have more than 3 kids, please get yourself a sedan or mpv. That suits you better in the future.

• 4G63T DSM on May 16, 2014 at 12:16 pm

I really find it odd someone would actually defend the lack of airbags.

Unless of course, these are perodua people and they already know the new car would only have 2 airbags, with no VSC, etc.

A lot of what happens to this depends on how Proton ends up specifying their new hatch.

I hope those people with arguments on driving style and safety gear realise that those with poor driving styles aren’t necessary the same people arguing for better safety gear.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Well said.

• ruffstuff on May 16, 2014 at 2:17 pm

The day where Perodua have ESC and 6 airbags, they will brag, and proud. Will use that as their marketing ploy whenever they can. The fact is, ESC,6 airbags, strong chassis is NOT a feature. It should be mandatory.

• Pengguna Bijak on May 16, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Good idea there. MITI should impose it.

But if everybody offer same safety but Proton still losing sales, who Proton blame next? Perodua again?

• Anonymous Coward on May 16, 2014 at 7:34 pm

I don’t give a shit who Proton blames for its weak sales. If we are forced to pay higher prices for cars due to tax on ALL cars, the government should be imposing these safety restrictions.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Ya ya.. my butt or bart fans will blame P2 also.. & they ll say the owners are butt hurt some more. U got it right sir.

• victor tan (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 4:16 pm

I’m second to that idea, ESC,6 airbags, ABS and strong chassis should be mandatory.

• Anonymous Coward on May 16, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Okay, so if all drivers do change their driving attitudes, does that necessarily imply that safety features are useless?

• dudjde on May 16, 2014 at 4:27 pm

People like Motorhead and RB will choose to buy a RM65k Alza Advanced which only has 2 airbags and ABS+ABD over the RM62k Preve IAFM which has 6 airbags ,ABS+ABD, ESC and TC.

Your driving skills may be perfect but maybe the driver beside you mabuk and looses control and hits the side of your car. The side and curtain airbags will do wonders for you and your family.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Ya ya. Lelaki mabuk juga bawa lori.. go into your lane.. u & your family mampus juga.. trust me.

• lorrydrv on May 18, 2014 at 1:00 am

Bodo orang lagi mau selamat ni pikir pasal nak mampus plak

• pearjai on May 16, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Majority stake holder in perodua is japanese ! 51% holder in pasb….they do what their bos said ! Umw derive 78% 8.35 billion….there wil no rnd lor ! So stop about rnd issue because there is no issue if people understand what is perodua actually…these model will sellable …..actually not all model from perodua are realible…etc= perodua old kembara (gearbox auto issue) but they reack quickly with newer tech…what have proton done in these compact car zone ? 1=proton tiara(citroen),2=proton juara( mitsubishi townbox),3=proton savvy(renault) an after this proton gsc ! ?.so with their track record seem not make sense…

• Motorbutt on May 16, 2014 at 5:33 pm

it is easy to understand PERODUA = NAZA = SIMEDARBY..
      except those toyota/daihatsu sharing..easiest understanding PERODUA is juz doing the distributor thing..but acted like the one who is doing car making..the fact is they are only doing CKDing..

• P1 have more safety features than P2. But who sells more cars? The answer will tell you of Malaysian mentality.

• any more basic of a transport you’ll be on the back of a cow.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 17, 2014 at 12:57 am

P2 issues. . Suddenly a few bunch of loosers tried promote potong sampah here.. pity.. desperate for sales. .