Ops Cermin Gelap: JPJ to enforce workshop decisions

ops-cermin-gelap-55

The two-day workshop on the direction and policy of the use of vehicle tints begins today, and the Road Transport Department (JPJ) will implement whatever decisions are made at the workshop, Bernama reports.

Director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad said that as an implementing agency, JPJ would enforce whatever decisions were made by the transport ministry.

“If it decides that everybody cannot use dark-tinted glass, we will enforce the regulation, and if it decides to allow everybody to use dark-tinted glass, we will also enforce it,” Bernama quoted him as saying.

ops-cermin-gelap-eg 091

Apparently, a picture of a dark-tinted vehicle, allegedly belonging to Ismail, was being widely circulated. He said it belonged to another officer.

“The picture is not accurate actually because the glass is not very dark because it meets the stipulated specification, which is 30% darkness for the front glass and 50% for the rear and side (windows).

“Perhaps, because of the lighting, the glass looks darker,” he was quoted by Bernama as saying. He added that the use of dark-tinted glass was permitted for enforcement agencies for the security of their staff.

honda-cr-z-ops-cermin-gelap

Ops Cermin Gelap was first announced by the police in mid-May as a massive nationwide operation targeting vehicles with heavily-tinted windows, set for June 16. Ismail then said in late-May that no such operation was being conducted, but that JPJ would carry out smaller-scale operations from time to time.

The transport ministry decided to study and review the use of vehicle tints at a two-day workshop starting June 2 at Holiday Inn, Glenmarie, where aspects like existing regulations, enforcement, security and usability would be explored.

It then emerged last week that ‘Operation Dark Glass’ would happen on June 16 after all, so said deputy transport minister Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Apala on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Why double standard? If you want to tint your enforcement vehicles go ahead, but not your personal vehicle. The angle of the picture taken?Nak tipu budak kah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 0
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 02, 2014 at 2:25 pm

i rather hope they put their priority on the illegal HID beams from those idiots ah bengs sampah masyarakat..those blinding beams pose more hazards than “cermin gelap”… Dont use safety as ur excuse, JPJ otak udang..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0r on Jun 02, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Yes, those drivers just like to install HID, then imagine they are driving luxury cars. But their cheap reflector headlights really cause a lot of troubles to other drivers.

Not like our Toyota models, mostly are projector headlight now, put what bulb also no problem!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
    • kington on Jun 02, 2014 at 2:55 pm

What if i drive with Daft Punk helmets?

• Its enough for Malaysian recently suffered from barang naik and now OPS to worries… I really wonder that our government really stand and care on our side… Damn its just foolish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0r on Jun 02, 2014 at 5:05 pm

The window smasher rob us with a hammer.

The tint shop rob us with expensive tint.

Then the government rob us on our tint.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • tiadaid (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 4:47 pm

From JPJ website:

“Pengecualian khas pemasangan cermin gelap

Pemasangan kaca gelap diberikan kepada orang-orang tertentu sahaja seperti di bawah kaedah 11(a) dan 11(b),Kaedah-Kaedah Kenderaan Motor (Larangan Mengenai Jenis-Jenis Kaca Tertentu) 1991. Mana-mana orang yang tidak termasuk dalam kaedah 11(a) dan 11(b) yang menghadapi masalah kesihatan kulit terdedah atau dengan ancaman keselamatan boleh memohon pengecualian khas untuk pemasangan khas untuk pemasangan cermin gelap.”

If you have proof that your life may be in danger or have sensitive skin, you should go to the Chief of Police/Doctor in your area and ask for dispensation, then fill up the form at JPJ, then tint it as dark as you want. (But don’t forget that you’ll have to renew the licence every year!)

Budak tak tau apa memang ingat kena tipu…

http://jpj.gov.my/c/journal/view_article_content?groupId=10157&articleId=13847&version=2.9&p_p_state=normal&p_p_mode=view&p_p_lifecycle=0&p_p_col_id=column-1&p_p_col_count=1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • CityMan on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:25 pm

The problem is, you need to renew the exemption yearly and probably need to get doctors letter as well.

• fatchicken on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:11 pm

A dark tinted helmet is a better idea.

• Chong Yew on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:11 pm

“Perhaps, because of the lighting, the glass looks darker,”

….riiiiighhhhtttttt

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 1
    • Das Auto on Jun 02, 2014 at 10:52 pm

You can mention to jpj officer at roadblock. Tint looks darker bcos of sunlight, see can escape or not.

• “The use of dark-tinted glass was permitted for enforcement agencies for the security of their staff”

So the security/safety of the tax paying rakyat is not important?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 3
  • borabora on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:20 pm

“The picture is not accurate actually because the glass is not very dark because it meets the stipulated specification, which is 30% darkness for the front glass and 50% for the rear and side (windows).

“Perhaps, because of the lighting, the glass looks darker,” he said, adding that the use of dark-tinted glass was permitted for enforcement agencies for the security of their staff.

So we also can say our tint is according to regulations, it’s just seems dark because of the lighting *facepalm* Proof using your equipment rather than lip service dude!

Some more they care only about their staffs’ security, how about us rakyat???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 0
  • “… he said, adding that the use of dark-tinted glass was permitted for enforcement agencies for the security of their staff.”

so this means the security and safety of them ONLY is being considered, while the other 99.9& malaysian can get robbed/murdered on the roads?

thanks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
    • Only official agency vehicles should be allowed to be tinted. Not wives car or children’s car. and official cars must remain at agency and not taken home to ferry vegetable and maid from market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • jamal on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:37 pm

one law should be applied to everybody.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • wahedenator on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:39 pm

kena bontot sendiri baru nk gelabah. haihhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • Axeoil on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:52 pm

If my car was busted and they don’t have the device to proof my tint is against the law, can i excuse myself for not accepting the saman since u don have the proof. Eyes n Lips is diff one another…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • Jinyiwei on Jun 02, 2014 at 2:13 pm

They will not argue with you but they will ask you to Court & let the Judge decide.

• seancorr on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Another BS statement from the fools that are supposed to uphold the law in the country. All in the same gang of fools that run the country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
  • kl fella on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:58 pm

what you think you’re the PM or those high-ranking officers? you’re only in JPJ, what you afraid of lorrymen and private vehicles recognizing you accepting bribes with the dark tinted windows? lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
  • idiotpolice on Jun 02, 2014 at 1:08 pm

It is always hard to justify the darkness of the tint and the method that they use to evaluate.

1.) Some glass comes dark
    2.) Interior colour make a huge impact
    3.) The ops are carried out during night or day?
    4.) If the ops are carried out during night, is that place bright?

All this tiny things that even though you’re having a tint that meets the regulation but the location that they held the ops are at a dark location, that’s when the problem comes in.

And why must such workshop to be held in Holiday Inn and not some JPJ/Police offices? Don’t we have many JPJ/Police offices around?

What a crap! How much will that bullshit workshop cost? And when the idiots already insist that the ops will be carried out, why the workshop still goes on?

Rubbish!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
  • What Mr. Ismail really meant is law only apply to you insignificant rakyat. BN government members, cronies and those working under them need not applied.

Moreover Hari Raya getting near already, need to start collecting duit raya to cover expenses cause everything now harga naik mar. No Ops how to enjoy big fat Raya??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 5
    • Das Auto on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:00 pm

this sohai ismail ahmad thinks he and his staff are royalty…what for he need security? commited too much crimes already?

• meejawa on Jun 02, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Again, JPJ says it’s ok, and shops also give warranty that their tint is compliant. Then go Puspakom for checkup or sell/buy car, they go and remove the tint saying it’s not compliant. Why no one make noise on this issue? We have been having this nonsense for far too long!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • vince on Jun 02, 2014 at 1:50 pm

So the rakyat kena goreng again….why does the authority needs to tint their official vehicles?For security…who want to hurt them since they are enforcers? Its the common people that are victims of daylight car robbery.Use brain that god gave n not yur lututs.Go catch those tinting companies…no supply no tinted problems.
    Why Malaysian law are bias towards their own people? It is because Malaysians are pak turut? The Gov say modernisation but what mentality is this??? 1980’s? BS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Das Auto on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:02 pm

cannot catch the timt shops la. If not how jpj staff and cronies gonna install tint on their own rides?

• Mozilla Chrome on Jun 02, 2014 at 2:04 pm

“The transport ministry decided to study and review the use of vehicle tints at a two-day workshop starting June 2 at Holiday Inn, Glenmarie”

A good reason to have free holiday and waste tax payer money.

• Those who comment earlier all are oppositions I think. What ever the government & authorities do is wrong…. its very difficult to pleased everyone….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
    • fast5 on Jun 02, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Simple just make it fair all the G staff n Rakyat use the same standard tinted…
      Our life is same as important as them AND we r the tax payers…
      10 years “salary” also use same tactic… “research” my foot…

• Tazio on Jun 02, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Agreed. Everybody including school children know that dark tinting is illegal in this country. But when the govt actually begin to enforce the law, they start venting their anger blaming the G, the JPJ for duit kopi or even the shop owner. What a joke. Can drug user blame drug dealer?. This sort of mentality is what actually put this country backwards. Law is the law.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • Das Auto on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:09 pm

tazio de biggest sohai ever…did you see any drug dealers open shop and sell drugs openly?

If according to you tinting is illegal which is same as drugs or rape or murder… then jpj fellers can tint, rape and kill your family? What a loser…no wonder malaysia is still 3rd world with ppl like you around.

• Yeah….its very difficult to pleased everyone….so please sendiri can already lar….ka ki kong ka ki song…

• Ass#@+$s just want to make money la…idiots giving rakyat all kind of crap.

• tinted on Jun 02, 2014 at 2:54 pm

so its for the security of their staff, what about us civilians?
    we’re supposed to be victimized?
    we’re also supposed to be summoned for breaking this illogical rule in order for us to protect our family and ourselves?
    we didn’t ask you to legalize guns god damn it

• Malysia.zzzzz.today said like that.tomorrow said another thing.zzzzzz

• Jerome on Jun 02, 2014 at 4:17 pm

When are they going to implement having interior lights on while driving at night? It’s more safe.

• This Ismail’s “Kantoi” is big time! Can he prove using their device?

• saladin on Jun 02, 2014 at 4:52 pm

they said that enfocers very hard to identify suspect if the glass tinted to dark. whats the point u also cannot see people at night even though is not tinted.

• trigonometri on Jun 02, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Sekadar cadangan, mohon anda juga berkongsi cadangan penambahbaikan terhadap larangan ini. Mohon tidak menggunakan kata-kata kesat. :)

1) Kes Pecah Cermin Kereta Di Lampu Isyarat:
    – wujudkan ruang khas motorsikal berhenti di setiap lampu isyarat bagi mengelakkan motorsikal berhenti di antara kereta. Pemandu juga perlu sentiasa berwaspada dengan keadaan sekeliling dan jangan hanya fokus pada gajet pintar sewaktu berhenti.Jangan letak barang berharga di kerusi hadapan penumpang. Letak di bahagian letak kaki.
    2) Kepanasan Di Waktu Siang:
    – Benarkan penggunaan tint pantul cahaya dan haba yang tidak menghalang penglihatan pemandu pada waktu malam.
    3) Kes Curi Barang Berharga:
    – Beri diskaun pada pengguna yang ingin memasang tint kalis pecah atau wajibkan pengeluar kenderaan memasang tint kalis pecah yang berkualiti bagi setiap kenderaan yang di keluarkan. Bagi MPV wajibkan pengeluarkan menggelapkan cermin di panel cermin belakang dan cermin kanan kiri belakang.
    4) Ketelusan Undang-undang:
    – Haramkan juga segala aksesori yang berbahaya terhadap pengguna jalan raya yang lain seperti Lampu HID dan Lampu amaran yang menyerupai pihak berkuasa.
    5) Tint asal dari kereta import:
    – Benarkan penggunaan tetapi pihak berkuasa berhak membuat pemeriksaan secara rawak apabila kenderaan berada dalam keadaan mencurigakan. kuat kuasakan peraturan kepada pengimport atau pengeluar supaya cermin kereta import harus mematuhi spesifikasi tint yang di benarkan undang-undang sebelum di jual di Malaysia.

• Rakyat go apply black tinted, must get approval letter from Ketua polis negeri. Do u think Ketua polis negeri will grant rakyat the approval letter?
    NO WAY…. Letter will be given to datuk, tan Sri, or BN related persons only…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • steven yong on Jun 02, 2014 at 5:47 pm

so must safety film min 4 mil max 6 mil…
    front rear haet resistant 90 % above to protect our car dashboard…
    we all know our Malaysia how safety la….
    tq

• Annoynimouse on Jun 02, 2014 at 7:02 pm

Having tinted windows in a hot country like ours is perhaps one of the most practical and cheapest way to reduce the effect of hot climate and thermal radiation from the sun in our country. I think, the visibility issue for the front windscreen in night/haze/poor weather driving is a fair argument, but please, at least let us keep the side window tints.

• MalaysianBoy on Jun 02, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Can I use photochromic chemical to tint my window?

• Dory_Fish_everywhere on Jun 02, 2014 at 7:49 pm

The use of dark tints has so many benefits especially in a country located near the equator like Malaysia.

It keeps temperature inside the car lower thus, negates the necessary of turning on the air conditioning full blast, which lowers the fuel consumption in each car. This in return lowers the carbon emission from the exhaust.

Secondly, reconditioned JDM owners could save thousands of $$$ from changing to clear side and rear windows. The importation of clear windows from other countries(eg China, Taiwan, Thailand and etc) is also bad for our exchange rate as we need to sell our currency to buy foreign currency when purchasing such imported items.

Thirdly, tinted windows would protect our skin from harmful UV radiation which causes cancer and skin pigmentation(women are very afraid of this! Ever wondered why some people has a dark brown patch on their right cheek? It’s caused by UV rays entering from the side window).

Fourthly, from a security point of view, the less robbers could see the less chance of them stealing. Enough said!

I really hope the two days workshop would be fruitful and some tweaks in the current outdated regulations is much needed.

• CityMan on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:28 pm

darker tint does not equal better irr rejection. Please go study before making comments.

• Albert Lee on Jun 02, 2014 at 8:13 pm

The EXISTING regulations regarding tints are already here for donkey years.
    Why do you need workshops to enforce something you should be enforcing long ago?
    Anyway,workshops are a way to give business to conference organisers,at the expense of taxpayers.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:11 pm

6 years ago JPJ tkss wanna review tint:

http://paultan.org/2008/07/02/rtd-may-relax-tinting-rules-for-malaysian-cars/

Don’t be so hopeful la everyone, when were u under the impression this govt care about u? It’s them first, us last. See, they think we’re stupid summore, thinking we cannot tell his car’s tint is illegal.

Current law is profitable for them, don’t ever think they’ll lepaskan their periuk nasi. And they wanna hog all the benefits for themselves, while us rakyat’s safety be damned.

• Perjumpaan orang orang otak udang….

• Otak Otak on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:11 am

My suggestion is to allow: 20% VLT for rear passenger windows, 40% VLT for front windows.

I hope our lawmakers would come out with some favorable decisions in the two day workshop.

Pls make life easier for us.

• Matthew on Jun 03, 2014 at 9:36 am

Wow, their officer security is so important, but Rakyat security is nothing. Aren’t they are the one that should provide us a safe and secure environment, if not why do we vote for them, now even funny is they are making them like a boss whole Rakyat become slaves.

• James_Bond on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:58 am

Dark tints have more benefits than harm.

Most other countries allow it.

Please change the existing rules.

• Steve Kok on Jun 03, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Tok Kok workshop lah. It will be a 2 days workshop to decide which country to go for study the use of tint glass, maybe goto Europe or Japan. Waste of tax payer’s money.

• Matthew on Jun 11, 2014 at 12:18 am

Posted on the fb page but have not gotten any reply…so trying my luck here lol:

Just wondering if anyone has any information or better explanation for the number plates in addition to all the tinting specifications? What i mean is, are there examples of what plates can or cannot be used?

I bought a secondhand car few months back and while the front is the normal plate that my parents always had before fashionable plates came about, the back is similar to those “crystalized plate” (according to my cousin)….he also said i need to change it or risk of getting fined…is it true?

how much roughly does it cost to change a plate?

The jpj website only shows the specification of space between fonts etc and it’s like a “photocopied” drawing so I couldn’t get much information from it..it also says only arial font, which to me the plate does show arial fonts… This “fashionable” plate is so much nicer though, and can be clearly seen..so i’m not sure why it is considered illegal

Thanks for any info in advance guys :)