LTA announces Causeway toll hikes from October – S$3.80 leaving Singapore, S$2.70 entering Singapore

lta-causeway-singapore-new-toll-charges

Not a fake this time – Singapore’s Land Transport Authority (LTA) has officially announced on its website that from October 1, Singapore’s toll charges for all vehicles, except motorcycles, leaving Singapore through the Causeway, will be increased to match the new increase on the Malaysian side.

Come next month, the toll charges for cars will jump from S$1.20 to S$3.80 (an equivalent RM3 to RM9.60 leap). For vans and light goods vehicles, the increase will be from S$1.90 to S$5.80 (from RM4.80 to RM14.70). For taxis, the hike will be from S$0.60 to S$1.90 (from RM1.50 to RM4.80), and for buses, from S$1 to S$3.10 (from RM2.50 to RM7.85).

Also, a new matching Causeway toll will be implemented for all vehicles, except motorcycles, entering Singapore. For foreign-registered cars, Singapore’s Causeway entry toll (i.e. entering Singapore from Johor) will be recorded in the LTA’s toll system and displayed to motorists upon entry into Singapore.

Payment will be deducted only upon leaving Singapore (whether through the Causeway or Second Link), together with the exit toll, S$35 (RM89) Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) fee and Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) charges, if any. This will be the same as the existing practice for the Second Link entry toll, for which there are no changes to toll charges.

singapore-coe

For all other vehicles that do not pay VEP fees (all Singapore-registered vehicles and foreign-registered goods vehicles, buses and taxis), they will pay their Causeway entry toll upon entry into Singapore and their exit toll upon leaving Singapore. This will again be the same as the existing practice for the Second Link.

Malaysia recently upped its Causeway toll fees from a one-way RM2.90 (for cars) to RM6.80 leaving Malaysia and RM9.70 re-entering Malaysia, making it RM16.50 for a return journey (now matched by Singapore’s S$6.50 entry-and-exit total).

Malaysian motorists also have to pay S$35 for the VEP. The VEP is exempted on Saturdays, Sundays and Singapore Public Holidays, 10 normal weekdays per calendar year, and between 5 pm to 2 am on all other days.

The LTA says that Singapore will follow suit should Malaysia reduce or do away with the toll charges.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• weirdo on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:13 pm

What’s wrong with Singapore Government? Haven’t they increased the price already last time?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Johor the Next China on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:59 pm

Soon, Iskandar will collapse. No Singaporean will want to invest in Iskandar because getting to Malaysia is so pricey. It is already showing signs of slowdown.

The Sultan of Johor sold large parcels of land in Johor/Iskandar to China. I think he sold it for some 4 billion. So what is going to happen now when Singapore won’t come in to buy property?

Maybe people from China can come and stay in the cities that is going to be built by China. Johoreans already cannot afford property in Iskandar as it is too pricey and Iskandar was living solely on Singapore’s investment.

Soon, Iskandar will collapse and we will see lots of people from China staying in Iskandar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 13
      • Singaporeans will still find Malaysia cheaper with exchange rate floating around 2.4 to 2.5

the properties in Malaysia whether the Malaysian citizens can afford it or not, an average Singaporean with the current exchange rate can afford a link house or a Semi-D easily (do your maths) easily.

So no, the Singapore driven economy in Malaysia is NOT going to slow down, never and ever. Singaporeans will continue to pour in their investment here than anywhere else basically because of culture similarities, better infrastructure, stable government and with no riots or whatsoever compared to other neighbours and not forgetting the fact that they are just a bridge away from their country.

Rich Singaporeans will not give a dimes heck on a toll increase of RM16. Its the middle and the lower incomers who struggle to live in their own country, dream of migrating to a better environment with their whatever little money they saved with EPF are the ones who cries out load.

Rich Singaporeans migrates to Australia, US, EU or else where. Malaysia gives a chance for these half baked lower and middle income Singaporeans to live here as Lords and some as kings or at least they pretend so..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • john doe on Sep 13, 2014 at 4:08 pm

I think living cost in Singapore more pricey bro.They can get a bungalow in Iskandar with the same price of small apartment in Singapore.Singaporeans still need JB in everything they do.Just earn money in their homeland and spend it in JB

• adijb on Sep 14, 2014 at 3:53 pm

>Iskandar was living solely on Singapore’s investment

Please get your facts right.

Iskandar is NOT solely living on Singapore’s investment.

Granted, as of Sep 2013, Singapore is the largest investor at about RM 9.1 billion, but there are also other investors such as from Spain at about RM 4.1 billion, Japan RM 3.8 billion, USA RM 3.4 billion and The Netherlands RM 2.8 billion.

• John Reverse on Sep 12, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Seems like Singapore also under BN influences too….Barang Naik!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Usavich on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:15 pm

where is singapore? near perlis that one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Facebook on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:29 pm

Singapore Government did not increase the toll fees, they did increase Vehicle Entry Permit which is a different fee.
      Toll fees are for all vehicles, Vehicle Entry Permit is for foreign vehicles only. Vehicle Entry Permit is to control the number of foreign vehicles to enters into Singapore, as Singapore is a very small island. Imagine if there’s no VEP charges from Singapore, 1 day it will have at least 50-80 thousands of vehicles will be driving in to Singapore. This will paralyses the whole traffic in Singapore.

• AcerMan on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:17 pm

You charge, I charge. You free, I free. Haiz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • Gargantia on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Great country we living in… neighbour rise price tolls.
    Bolehland follow, NOT just tolls.
    Petrol, CRAZY taxes car price, high price properties, Taxes…
    and later food and drink gets more expensive.

Malaysia price go up boleh, reduces price wait until 2018.(MAI/MAA reduces 15%-23% in 2018)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 18
  • Painter on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Cut the bridge, can or not?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
  • cendol (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:31 pm

My condolences to everyone who works in Singapore but stays in Johor Bahru.
    You have just been conned big time.
    You should have listened to Lee Kuan Yew’s advice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 33
    • You are assuming 15 SGD a day is unaffordable. People who drive to work generally have no problem paying that amount. It is just whether they are paying happily or not. By the way, cross border public bus passengers have been paying 6 SGD per person per day, yet there is hardly any complaint, though many of them get only around 1000 SGD a month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • cendol (Member) on Sep 13, 2014 at 9:14 am

I have done the calculation.
        The extra expenses for BOTH ways for someone working 5 days/week come up to around RM1000 PER month.
        That is RM12000 per year just for these toll increases on both sides, which can be used for children education or pay for mortgages

• abuyaq123 on Sep 13, 2014 at 5:09 pm

They opt to work in Singapore. So they need to face this. I opt to work in Malaysia therefore underpay compare Singapore. My friend opt to work in Germany so he face nearly half of his salary is for tax.

Conclusion, you should also pity to me and my friend who work in Germany also, not only guy live in jb and work in singapore.

• Not same lor on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Good move. If I am Singapore I also implement that. Prevent more low class citizen from entering Singapore.
    Malaysian proven failure. Land bigger resource more yet so fail on global standard. Go overseas tell people u from Singapore people look up to you. Say from Malaysia get looked down upon. MH cases also cannot solve. Third world country citizen should just remain in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 72
    • hafiz madi on Sep 13, 2014 at 1:26 am

“Third world country citizen should just remain in Malaysia”. The only “third world class” was your skeptical attitude. Not to mention, you english too.

• cendol (Member) on Sep 13, 2014 at 9:16 am

When overseas, if I tell I’m from Malaysia, they won’t know where is Malaysia.
      I had to say I’m from Malaysia, which is ABOVE SIngapore, then only they will know where I’m from.
      See the failure of Malaysia or not?>

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
      • brown kid on Sep 15, 2014 at 3:58 am

nope wrong…
        they know where P.Pinang is~ well half of my class know that.

• Kangkung on Sep 15, 2014 at 9:13 am

Indeed, before MH cases.
        Nobody knows where is Malaysia.(When I was in US/Europe)
        Singapore are well known in Global.

However, everything changed.
        After GE, black out, MH cases, Eat Kangkung, RM1 Ayam,etc.

Malaysia Boleh, are well knowned and introduced by BBC, CNN,CNA etc.

“1 Malaysia” are well recognized.
        This is not Malaysian fault. It caused by bunch of clown.

Malaysian need to be stronger, patient, more integrity, more educated, more will power to make changes for next generation. Empower your children got more quality, advance,safer car/ride at reasonable price.

• rider on Sep 15, 2014 at 3:49 pm

People oversea lack of general knowledge.

• That Guy on Sep 13, 2014 at 9:52 am

High class? Dude, your English sucks. sometimes I guess that’s why we need the sedition act. To keep morons like you from spewing such hateful comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • Kenneth Wong on Sep 13, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Sedition Act or not, it’s a fact that Malaysia is a failed country. Well perhaps FAIL is a pretty mighty word but simply comparing both countries, I’d say Singapore did a great move by leaving Malaysia. Otherwise, they’d probably be like us complaining about the government not keeping their promises day and night.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • That Guy on Sep 13, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Seriously dude? you obviously didn’t met a Singaporean. go ask them how overburden work can be, the high cost of living? It’s always seems the grass is greener on the other side huh? maybe you should live there rather than here. We have enough of the like of you who always complaint, demonstrate rather than doing actual work that benefit the nation.

• Origami Dude on Sep 13, 2014 at 7:29 pm

You obviously don’t know what a failed nation is. Rich nation? maybe not but definitely not a failed one.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 13, 2014 at 8:26 pm

May I correct your statement a bit… It’s on its way to a FAILED one…

• intermilan on Sep 15, 2014 at 10:56 am

This is an automotive blog, so I’ve always commented on auto issue.

However, lets get the fact, right.

Officially, Singapore was kick out from the Malaysia Federation by TAR, then the PM of Malaysia.

Whether that was the right move, whether people are happy or angry with his decision, whether it’s really happened due to reasons we been officially told is another story all together.

The correct historical event is, Malaysia kick Singapore out from the Federation.

• Kangkung on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:21 am

Any country will be good under well management. I believe Malaysia got the potential. Look back 60s-80s, Malaysia are greater, prosperous, advanced than south Korea, Taiwan, Singapore. However….

Malaysia got lot natural resources, well weather, etc advantages on initial stage.
          What a great advantage malaysia can develop on industry, agriculture,aqualculture etc.
          There is no reason that malaysia cant make it.

Compare to Singapore, neither oil nor mineral etc resources. However, they strive to grow nice and survive.

Somebody can tell me why?

• spongewai on Sep 12, 2014 at 7:56 pm

stop delayed the proposal
    stop increased the goods and the price
    stop racism
    stop saying that you promise us to reduce car price down between 8-30%

only talk without action

haih

• Liquan on Sep 12, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Why Malaysia do not reciprocate Singapore’s VEP? Certainly two edge sword. At least we can control Singapore’s traffic offenders

• cendol (Member) on Sep 13, 2014 at 9:16 am

Malaysia is going to announce VEP by end of this year.
      So no need to worry.

• nimous on Sep 12, 2014 at 9:39 pm

I can understand the first time they raised the toll nut the second time???
    Kiasu…

• byfun on Sep 12, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Malaysia just need to abolish the toll fee and force Spore to do so and instead Malaysia need to implement a same VEP scheme as Singapore.

In this way Malaysia still get to keep the money without letting Spore gov using Malaysia as an excuse to charge higher toll fee.

And yah … Malaysia gov can say they will abolish the VEP if Spore decide to do so ….

• Mrrr wongg on Sep 13, 2014 at 2:33 am

Force Singapore? Dream on la.
      You think Malaysia some big timer country? Malaysia just a hopeless third world country that no one gives a crap about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Motor free, how about super bikes? Free also?

• Along on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:28 pm

The piece of cheap artificially valued paper named COE is the curse by many people…

Malaysian car ended paying more than 10 year lease COE which right now COE is around SGD 60K for Cat A COE and SGD 70K for Cat B COE… LTA bloodsucked Malaysian cars about SGD 35/day x 5 working day a week x 50 week in a year (excluding 2 weeks considering 10 days free VEP) x 10 year = SGD 87500… LTA and SG government sucked Malaysian car owners for SGD 87500 for 10 year using Malaysian cars in Singapore… Old rate VEP which SGD 20 per day also blood sucking which Malaysian cars have to pay SGD 50000 for 10 year entering Singapore…

Malaysian Motorcycle is the worst which almost SGD 10K sucked to LTA for using Malaysian motorcycle for 10 years in Singapore road compared to Singapore motorcycle which the COE for motorcycle which only SGD 4000 for motorcycle COE… VEP for motorcycle SGD 4 per day x 5 working days x 50 weeks in a year x 10 years = SGD 10000!!!!

The curse of COE…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • cendol (Member) on Sep 13, 2014 at 9:18 am

At least the amount they collected from COE goes to proper maintenance of roads and facilities
      Unlike in Malaysia, the tolls they collected might end up in Cayman Islands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • Along on Sep 13, 2014 at 6:39 pm

Do you know how much PM Lee’s salary? More than SGD 2.2 million annually (SGD 183,000 monthly)… Singapore PM is the world’s highest paid leaders… DPM Teo, DPM Shanmugam, Ministers in Singapore also earned more than SGD 1 million annually…

COE, VEP and ERP is already like a cigarette tax… The revenue is used to pay the minister’s salary… Almost no benefit to the car owner, in fact burden more…

• parkjw on Sep 13, 2014 at 1:31 am

I hope johor increase more. see who wins.
    and we hike their prices for electricity and water. wanna play?

go malaysia go! you have my support! teach those kiasu a lesson never backoff!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 13, 2014 at 3:39 am

singapore gov learn too much from me

• Idham on Sep 13, 2014 at 10:45 am

Definitely PAP not getting a vote from me for the upcoming General Election.

• abuyaq123 on Sep 13, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Only Malaysia can switch to Pakatan, not singapore… PAP will not collapse. Story upfront, we are democratic. Behind? Think!

• Kangkung on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:38 am

Agree, PAP wont collapse.
        SG leader got the highest paid in the world.
        It’s official salary. They do their job, get their paid.
        You may surprise, many talented cabinet member are former malaysian. Mostly, master, PHD ppl. Measured by KPI.

MY leader got very very low paid officially.
        but they manage their own business and work hard
        to get highest paid. E.g. Semi Value is SPM holder.

Erm. you guess, MY, SG, which leader get higher income?

• Kangkungbelacan on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:41 am

Should consider total income for both SG and MY leader. See whos the TOP!