Vespa Primavera launched in Malaysia – RM11,888

vespa-primavera-6

Official Vespa importer and distributor Naza Premira has introduced the Vespa Primavera scooter in Malaysia. Originally launched in Italy in 1968, the stylish icon makes a comeback with some welcome modern touches, including the latest Piaggio technology.

With design elements harking back to the Vespa 946, the Primavera is powered by an air-cooled 155 cc single-cylinder four-stroke engine with electronic fuel injection, three valves, a new bore and stroke, and a friction-reducing crankshaft.

The engine, coupled to a CVT, produces 11.7 hp at 7,500 rpm and 12 Nm of torque at 5,000 rpm. At the front sits a 110/70 R11 tyre and a 200 mm disc brake; at the rear a 120/70 R11 tyre and a 140 mm drum brake.

Moreover, a new engine mounting system with two-position arms and a double rubber absorption damper claims to provide a smoother ride and approximately 40% less vibration than before.

Features include a rigid and lightweight steel sheet structure, enhanced suspension, increased wheelbase (1,334 mm) and length (1,852 mm) for more stability, increased space between the handlebars and saddle, a height-adjustable saddle and LED DRLs.

Also, a button above the glove box raises the seat to reveal a compartment in which you can store a generously-sized full-face helmet.

vespa-primavera-2

“Vespa has seen increasing popularity in Malaysia recently, with more people recognizing the brand as a lifestyle product rather than just a means of mobility,” said Naza Group executive chairman Datuk Wira SM Faisal Tan Sri SM Nasimuddin.

“To date, we have nine dealer networks in Peninsular Malaysia that comply with the Piaggio Corporate Identity and we aim to add on another 11, making it 20 dealer networks across Malaysia,” he added.

Available in Rosso Gragon (Red), Monte Bianco (White), Nera Vulcano (Black) and Azzurro Marichiano (Light Blue) shades, the Vespa Primavera goes for RM11,888 (basic selling price). Included, specifically for the model, is a one-year, 10,000 km warranty.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• elson on Sep 12, 2014 at 12:45 pm

got cup holder but no usb charging port, and cost 11k, crab

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • shame_Loo on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:28 pm

12K? With VSC, ABS, air bag, GPS, hill assist, auto start stop, parking sensor, alarm, run flat tyre???? This is a joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • A.Mahmud on Sep 12, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Get hot chicks by riding Vespa kapcai = Fantasy.

Get hot chicks by driving Vios TRD = Actual Reality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 38
    • The other amir on Sep 12, 2014 at 4:26 pm

get hot chicks by driving vios = in your dreams
      get hot chicks by driving ferrari = actual reality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • spongewai on Sep 12, 2014 at 12:51 pm

erm, little bit pricey although good scooter

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:56 pm

wak doyok…sexiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • Baja Lapis Seng on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:56 pm

nope

• German Carr lovvvverrr!!!!!!!!!aka Jian.................................................Abuden!!!!!!!!!! on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Really cheap scooter!!!!!!!Ugly though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Wak Doyok got suwek siot!

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 12, 2014 at 2:57 pm

say all u want about the pricing, its still more value for money than any korean car you can buy.. one things for sure, your bike won’t breakdown as often as KIA/Hyundai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
  • john connor on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:01 pm

the concept of 1Malaysia product is affordable product that can be enjoyed by our malaysian. but looking of the price tag , i could not digest it. better top up a bit and get a ninja 250 instead. ;)

• Bernard on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Not suitable for our pot-hole roads.

Also, it should be sold below 5k.

Why are vehicles, bikes etc in Malaysia so expensive!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Yep I agree with you, try ride that tiny tyres scooters on motorcycle lanes in kl.

This is Vespa’s big disadvantage here.. small wheels.

Honda & Yahama know better.

• Yamaha135LC on Sep 12, 2014 at 3:51 pm

I happy using my LC 2013. Many ahmoi dont look at me, and i satisfy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Diesel Power!! on Sep 12, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Motorbike in our country is not only dangerous for themselves, but also affecting other motorists..

Plz built motorbike lane for those bikers first before selling bikes!!!

Still cant understand why bikes have more priviledge than cars in our country, can use emergency lane, can use tollroad foc, can ignore traffic light, etc!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 21
  • “Also, a button above the glove box raises the seat to reveal a compartment in which you can store a generously-sized full-face helmet.”

The BUTTON is not found for the one we get in Malaysia!! This article is misleading. Disappointed!

• Kolo Lee Kok Leong on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:32 pm

semua primavara tak ada ap,i bayar cash pun tak dapat beli, kecewa betul
    naza ap king wa ka ka

• TJ Koh on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:54 am

Ya…doing business this way is common in this country. Thats why so many rich ppl being created and ended with more poor ppl. You know who you are….mcdonald

• Mazri on Feb 18, 2015 at 1:18 pm

I actually want to buy one but aftr knowing the price… change mind immediately. better stick with kapcai 125. 100% cheaper. Frthermore, imagine holes in our road vs vespa tyres…. :-))))

• I commuted with a Vespa LXS for 3+ years when I lived in Switzerland and loved every moment on it. Comparing modern Vespas with kapchais is like comparing a MINI Cooper S with a Myvi… you just can’t. Vespa Primavera prices in Europe are around RM19k for a 125cc, although those are made-in-Italy whereas ours are most likely made in Vietnam (and 155cc). We are actually paying the same price as the Vietnamese.
    Try one and you’ll never bother with a kapchai again, if you can afford it!
    p.s. the aim with riding/driving any bike or car would be to avoid the potholes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Jesse on Sep 24, 2016 at 4:59 pm

Paul Tan, when are you gonna review the new primavera and Sprint with new I get engine. The Sprint was launched recently.