Proton mulling torque converter-type CVTs for future

Proton_Iriz_Review_ 057

Much has been said about the Proton Iriz‘s CVT – the general consensus during the press drive event was that while the new car demonstrated gains in many areas, the Punch-sourced gearbox, by comparison, has the most room for improvement.

Bear in mind, the gearbox in question – an improved ‘CVT2+’ unit over the CVT2 found in the Saga FLX – is without doubt Proton’s best-performing thus far. There has been continual improvement – the Iriz’s gearbox betters the Suprima S‘ unit, which in turn bettered the Preve‘s, which bettered the Exora‘s. Still, in terms of linearity, response and refinement, it still falls short somewhat of other CVTs in the market.

Proton is aware of this Achilles’ heel, and according to chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa, it is “studying the possibility” of switching to a CVT that uses a torque converter (like the CVT used in the Honda City/Jazz) instead of a start-up clutch, to improve pulling away from rest, as well as fuel consumption.

Rashid added that Punch Powertrain – the maker of all of Proton’s CVTs save for the one in the Inspira – does not manufacture torque converter-type CVTs, so the carmaker will have to turn to other suppliers. If indeed a torque converter-type CVT is decided on and sourced, it is unclear if it will first see duty in a facelift-model Iriz or another – existing or future – Proton model.

In the meantime, Rashid told us during the press drive event that the relevant running updates for the Iriz are being studied – Proton is looking at engine and transmission mountings, and possibly adding insulation, to better isolate noise from the cabin.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ThePolygon on Oct 27, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Clap clap… I am all for improvement :D Come on guys.. at least they are trying to improve.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 206 Thumb down 8
    • Yes. Getting better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 5
      • Tiara on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Is this how Proton attract more buyers? By telling the gearbox supplied still noisy? Wow, truly world class marketing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 71
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 7:50 pm

At least they admit the problem and improving..In a real world, it’s difficult to find perfect cars even Mercedes, Volkswagen and Lexus recently are recalling their cars..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
          • Mak Ah Beng on Oct 27, 2014 at 10:23 pm

People who buy proton, prepare for recall!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 57
          • Wisdom on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:40 am

Premature engineering…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 28, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Proton’s recall? Dream on.

They knew RM80k Suprima S has worse gearbox than RM60k Iriz and they don’t even bother to upgrade SS. This is so ethical.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
          • NasiLemak on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:24 pm

i think this is not a problem, just that need further improvement..

• Just add more sound proofing? What a genius Proton.

Can’t believe that Punch is the only CVT producer in the entire world that Proton must only choose them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 50
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 6:25 pm

Best ever in talk nonsense without showing proper implementation & execution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
      • viosfailed on Oct 27, 2014 at 10:09 pm

You want to compare it with old engine and 4 speed gear? Ptuih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Never.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • OMG…Preve, Exora and Suprima owners will felt sad abt the gearbox issue. P1 did improvement on the rubbish gearbox, in the end it still a rubbish…puihh…better buy P2 cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • Sparcov on Oct 27, 2014 at 3:46 pm

The most Proton problem is never study before rolling out the vehicle to the consumer. This expecting the consumer to give feedback back to Proton. From there, proton will take the feedback and study for improvement. This will tarnish your reputation again !

Why can’t you make sure the best out of all before rolling the new model? Why you must be so rush without actually study all improvement? If that is the case, you want to consumer to buy your car and expecting us to tell you your car have problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 51
    • Suprima, Preve, Iriz owners must demand free sound proofing installed for their car to reduce that noisy CVT problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 9
      • solo_wing on Oct 29, 2014 at 1:11 pm

nice idea NVH, but as Preve owner, I don’t want soundproofing, I want more reliable gearbox that can stand the maximum torque the CFE can give. The engine itself has a lot of potential hampered by Punch lousy CVT

• agreed!

now ppl sure dun 1 the first gen CVT Iriz anymore, RV sure drop except manual variant. Unless proton can give free to replace it with the torque converter cvt for those existing owner lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
      • IrizX on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:19 pm

You wait lah…

• DonkeyKong on Oct 27, 2014 at 6:58 pm

What nonsense.. a new torque converter CVT will have a different TCU and different CanBus signals to the ECU. It’s not a drop-in replacement. The Punch CVT gearbox has a very short bell housing length, a torque converter based gearbox will not be as short. The driveshafts might need to be of slightly different length if the final drive differential dimensions are a bit different compared to that of the compact Punch CVT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
        • no name on Oct 28, 2014 at 11:08 am

what a great explanation bro…hope they can apply it on the facelift models… just like w204 change their auto box from 5 speed to the 7 speed…

• powershot (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 4:00 pm

they should have hired an external test car driver (from the masses); instead of using their own people. external people are not biased & they are more impartial when giving feedbacks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
    • PeterGriffin on Oct 27, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Never ever buy the first batch Protons. Had the first batch Exora, and everything is falling apart, not even after 5 years and 80k km mileage of use; infamous ABS pump rosak, problematic wiper, air cond thermostat, petrol fume getting into the cabin & the crappy DVD player rosak just after the warranty period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 27
    • Aerodynamic bro on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Proton is like release the first version…….after a few month release second version with little addition and lastly(the stock clearence)release the first version with hotty(not hot)copy paste JDM bodykit. Thats their plan to get money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Aero (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Always nice to see Proton listening to the media’s and consumer’s constructive feedback. Very few car companies / distributors in Msia seem to care about their customers, some refuse to admit their shortcomings and others add insult to injury by justifying their stance. Proton as a company has demonstrated that they no longer fit in any of the above categories. However, Proton’s after sales division still hasn’t.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 5
  • Terence on Oct 27, 2014 at 4:19 pm

I wonder if there is any cars from other manufactures on the market now using the same CVT system aka the start-up clutch system…

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Audi’s Multitronic doesn’t use a torque converter and uses a multiplate clutch instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • solo_wing on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:26 am

Just imagine the cost to replace or maintained with “multiple clutch”.

I’ve googled around I still think CVT has a lot of potential and can compete with DCT. Look at how Williams F1 Team use CVT on their car, until FIA ban it as they said it’s giving “unfair advantage towards wealthy team”.

• cendol (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Potong is mulling over everything under the sun.
    Ever mulling about close shop?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 49
    • Low Budget on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:41 pm

As long as can get free funding every year, sure cannot close shop one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
    • DonkeyKong on Oct 27, 2014 at 7:02 pm

Bravo to economy experts that want every local industry to close down. If you guys are running the country, our currency will be lower than Indonesian rupiah in 20 years time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
  • qwerty on Oct 27, 2014 at 4:28 pm

There’s a simple solution. Buy the CVTs from Honda! This not only shares the cost of development for Honda, also increases the value of Proton cars (reliability concerned).

Or, try approach Toyota. Their CVTs in the Altis and RAV4 in some countries are good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • IrizX on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Not gonna happen…BN gov too greedy…don’t give good conditions to foreign car manufacturer. Honda will not give their key advantage for nothing. Unless….Proton agrees to rebadge Honda City as Saga 3….then Honda let them use their CVT gb….

Honda City for RM60K….err..still got people want Iriz?? LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
      • If City 60K, Iris will be much lesser
        Btw, City is sedan why compare with Iris (hatchback)?

• Low Budget on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Are u asking Proton to put their heads down and tail between the 2 legs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • kenot on Oct 27, 2014 at 4:32 pm

“In the meantime, Rashid told us during the press drive event that the relevant running updates for the Iriz are being studied – Proton is looking at the engine and transmission mountings, and possibly adding insulation, to better isolate noise from the cabin”.

I understand that proton always want to improve their car. but this statement is not good for marketing. it look like iris is not “fit” enough to sell in market. look like proton will do a major improvement for upcoming facelift.

Customers will think twice before they buy 1st batch. I’m also still waiting to buy Iriz, since GST will implement on april. hope there is price reduction 1-3K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Aerodynamic bro on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Thats why we need Honda Jazz called as Honda Fit, because its “fit” in the market……so Iris should be called as outfit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • IrizX on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Exactly. They knew the problem b4 hand. Surely not all the engineers are deaf. Just that they hope the Malaysia public won’t complain and they can get away with a junk car after all the false hope “game changer”.

Now need “GearBox Changer”!!! LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Do u think that after GST, car price (new car) will drop?

• DonkeyKong on Oct 27, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Do you think that if the government remove the tax, UMW and Honda Malaysia will reduce car prices? Dream on. They’ll just consider their margins have sky-rocketed and everyone gets a bonus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • where's motorhead? on Oct 27, 2014 at 6:47 pm

fully agreed

• nabill (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 4:53 pm

im jus curious , who else supplies torque converter type cvt’s ?? i havent googled ZF or Getrag yet…
    i doubt if nissan and honda will supply as thy r using it for their own consumption…oh wait , thy have a collaboration with honda !

jus get those 6 speed torque converters from aisin which are very popular and very refIned and reliable…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • nubbill on Oct 27, 2014 at 4:58 pm

mitsubishi uses the nissan jatco CVTs

• nubbill on Oct 27, 2014 at 4:59 pm

in fact… now that u think about it…. the jatco cvt is in the proton inspira!

• IrizX on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Yeah. Aisin 6AT is good also. Either this or CVT Torque converter from Jatco.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 27, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Proton is considering licensing Hyundai’s gearboxes which are not too bad, slowly coming up to par with Aisin and ZF units in terms of refinement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Not bias here but Hyundai’s in-house-developed gearboxes aren’t bad, but still have quite a long way to go.

But it’s definitely a right path, one Proton should consider too.

• Aerodynamic bro on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:05 pm

I got some problem in my opinion.I don’t need CVT, it makes the ride smoother and relaxing like a gay,I wanted the ride more punchy like Manual or old school auto transmission anyway.Sound insulation? Its fine because its a Proton, why do we need shameful engine noise make by Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
  • berserker on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Hopefully they change the gearbox to a torque converter type because this car really has the potential!

• IrizX on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Punch must giving Mahathir a lot of kick back for continuing to use them for so long….it’s a blardy junk gearbox that shouldnt be use in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Obviously (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:17 pm

So it is happening. Interesting news and they’re acting faster than I expected. Kudos to the team! Now the question is…which manufacturer would they source it from?
    They seem to want to continue to use CVTs. This would exclude both Getrag and ZF from the outset because they do not make any form of CVTs, interested only in conventional ATs and DCTs.

The most well-known for CVTs would be Nissan, if only by being one of the earliest mass adopter of CVTs, and their transmission partner Jatco. Jatco has supplied many automakers in the past with their main customers at the moment being Nissan, Mitsubishi, Suzuki (Mitsubishi and Suzuki have shares in Jatco as well) and Renault. If they do go for Jatco, then it’ll likely be the CVT7 we can expect to see — the same tranny unit powering the Mitsubishi Attrage and Mirage. Let me just say that this may not be the smoothest of CVTs (quite a bummer for me) but, from experience, it makes quite effective and efficient use of what torque is available from the engine.

I’m much less familiar with Aisin, which is Toyota’s transmission partner. They have also supplied transmissions to other automakers with one of them being Proton’s very own Lotus. Perhaps it won’t be such a big step for them to source one from Aisin since Proton’s subsidiary is already using automatic transmission from Aisin. In any case, Aisin appears to be less forthcoming with information compared to Jatco about their products but they have a small torque capacity CVT listed on their site named XA-12SN. Not much else is said other than that it’s fuel-efficient and it has “extreme quietness by casing design with CAE analysis”, whatever that means. Quiet is good.

Finally, my message to Proton would be:
    Are continuously variable transmissions still the best choice for what you intend your cars to be? Or are there more suitable transmissions out there? Only you insiders would know. Don’t limit yourselves based on your past. But one thing is for sure: heck no DCTs for non-performance use. Not until all their bugbears are exterminated for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Toyota and Nissan can always have more choices because they have their own transmission factory to back them up.

Toyota is Aisin’s parent company, Jatco is under Nissan’s umbrella.

Those without such resources can only source from 3rd parties like ZF and Getrag.

Proton used to be rich but they didn’t think far enough back then. All the resources have been wrongly invested.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:57 am

I am aware that Aisin is Toyota’s and Jatco is Nissan’s, but that doesn’t stop other automakers from being able to use their gearboxes in their cars, provided they can come to an agreement. They can just as well be included in your list of 3rd parties.

Are you saying that Proton should have invested in their own transmissions the way Hyundai has? It is a good idea and should reduce their manufacturing costs in the long run (while shooting up their R&D cost) but the initial investment…we both know it’ll likely kill Proton at the moment. haha

• solo_wing on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:34 am

How many would trust Proton in-house developed transmission compare to outside source? :P

Heck, even now, I don’t trust Hyundai developed transmission, and I sure hope Proton won’t source from them.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 9:19 pm

in their case its not about which is best,its which one has the lowest cost to source…gearboxes are a significant cost to any car , i think accountants are gonna decide not engineers…

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:07 am

Perhaps so, but it really depends on what you mean by ‘best’. The best tool for the job doesn’t always have to mean engineering perfection. It might just mean something reliable, easy to service, not overly expensive, etc. The best tool to suit their needs.

• Pug308T on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:13 am

Peugeot 308T 6AT came from Aisin, whereas the 4AT came from another supplier .. Maintenance wise, the Aisin ATF cost about RM1k, while the other one cost RM200.. Maybe proton did not go with Aisin or other supplier due to maintenance cost??

• DonkeyKong on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:13 am

CVTs are not the only way to go. Conventional auto tranny with a high number of ratios e.g. 8 ratios such as ZF’s can shift so smoothly that it’s imperceptible, while having a small enough step between the gear ratios that it’s just as fuel-economical as CVTs and twin-clutch gearboxes, but without the disadvantages. But since Proton is still slugging it out in the low-engine-capacity market, they can just stick with tried-and-tested compact 6-speed gearboxes.. these should be good enough for them.

Even with 6 speeds in a transverse mounting, especially to fit in small cars, these gearboxes will need to use Lepelletier planetary gearing arrangement so the TCU/ECU should be smart enough to deal with the shift timing (brake bands and clutch engage/disengage timings) or else you’ll end up with jerky shifts, since this type of gearing arrangements will require simultaneous engagement of brake + clutch on different gearsets for certain shift patterns.

They can throw in a torque converter with dual torsion dampers and early lockup in order to absorb the shift shocks and improve torque converter efficiency. Such a gearbox should be able to provide smooth shifts, good fuel economy and the ability to handle high starting and low-end torque inputs while providing creep and engine braking.. characteristics that CVTs and DCTs suck at in some cases

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:53 am

Well said, DK. That was exactly my point. From the post, Proton seems to be limiting themselves to CVTs. Hopefully, they look at other legitimate transmission choices to suit their needs, not saying they definitely should drop CVTs. But it has to be said that the higher ratio’d stepped auto’s like 8ATs will have really high cost associated with them, so I don’t think Proton would consider those. Perhaps a good 6AT would fit their bill better but, who knows.

I think their trying to incorporate a torque converter into their drivetrain is largely an effort to improve refinement. Creep quality would be improved since the gearbox will always be engaged even when at standstill and their jerking at low vehicle speeds should be mitigated by the torque converter. I suspect the jerking many people experience in their Proton CVT-equipped cars happens with sudden throttle change like quickly lifting your foot mid-acceleration or a sudden increase of throttle pressure during coasting. From my limited experience, Proton doesn’t seem to program the ECU to allow a gradual drop in RPM when you, say, lift your foot off the throttle, so the sudden RPM drop will jerk the car at low speeds since the connection between transmission and engine is via a clutch. The jerking my friend complained about felt quite similar to when I suddenly lift my foot off the accelerator at certain speeds without pressing the clutch in my old Saga.

• solo_wing on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:39 am

Conventional auto still would cost more, and the mechanicals inside will make it heavy, which negates the purpose of reducing fuel consumption.

• IrizX on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:58 am

Jatco is actually NISSAN’s owned company for selling their CVT GBs. Nissan has been at the forefront of the CVT GB and is the leader in the industry. So far, their CVTs has been pretty reliable.

And yes, please no DCT with all the clutch rubbish like DSG/POWERSHIFT etc….full of problems…basically anything with clutch in an auto gear sucks….DSG/POWERSHIFT/AMT …all problematic nightmares. Cars in Malaysia too expensive for it to be problematic. In US, if the car spoilt, can always buy another one at a cheap price….here…people take 7 to 9 years loan for a shitty car. We don’t wanna be white labrats.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:18 pm

About time, just surprised why they didn’t use the torque converter from the start anyway.

The whole e-clucth thing is a bit of a mess, but so far, only Audi’s multitronic with the multiplate clutch seems to work.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:35 am

If they planned on using Punch gearboxes from the beginning, this article might have given the reason why the clutch was used first. Also, it was common knowledge that clutches > TCs in efficiency, but that sort of thinking has become quite outdated in recent times.

• fastd on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Proton been PUNCH itself… huhuhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Just one question. They did road testing before launching. If they don’t notice the cvt ‘a refinement something is wrong with their ears/ proton cannot replace the said gearbox because of time/ $. Basically is launch saja lah, boleh kot mentality. Tunggu facelift la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • IrizX on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:01 am

On contrary…i think they surely realized…so farking loud….it is management decision to go with PUNCH. Small fries engineer got no say. Furthermore, Tun Mamak just took over Proton and probably demand a new car launch (to boost his ego) immediately or he rage. Who dares defy Tun Mamak.

• IrizX on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:04 am

I can imagine the difficuly of the engineering team.

(BEFORE:
      Engineers: Boss, ini GB tak bulih boss…bising sangat, seluruh kete gegar macam Earthquake.

Mamak: I mau kereta ini launch bulan depan. Ini decision I. I call the shots! I am the Emperor Mamak!

Engineer:……..

(NOW)
      Mamak: Apasal you all never highlight to me the issues? Now semua orang komplain bunyi kuat dan bising! Malu I! Esok you semua tak yah datang kerja!!

Engineers:………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Matrix on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:25 pm

so slow.
    my honda city has CVT already!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Low Budget on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Potential always remain as just “Potential”, lets wait a couple of years and see if they can sell at least 100K units in foreign countries.

• buaya on Oct 27, 2014 at 6:21 pm

I love the CVT in some aspect and hate it in others. For example, if you put the car in S mode and floor it, the CVT will maintain a constant 5500 rpm which is where the max HP is found. Compare that to manual where you have to shift up upon exceeding that point to avoid blowing up your engine. Of course when you shift up your rpm drop and you have to climb back to that said rpm point.

But CVT is highly annoying in the morning. It needs to be warmed up and warming it up requires you to actually drive the car. Idling won’t do and it takes about 5 minutes of driving to warm up.

• Warming up? Like what? It still can move anyway.

• theanswer on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:10 am

to be honest that’s the right way to warm up your car. just drive it gently. no need to keep it idle for 5 mins whatsoever. dont waste your petrol.

• Pak buaya on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Alamak pak. Sekarang keto ada electronic punyo. Tak yah takut enjin letup. Kalo rev sampai ret line pon ada bunyi macam letup tapi itu bukanya letup. Itu rev cut. Nak letup kasi over boost ke, kosongkan minyak enjin ke… Nama nya Proton tapi sudah moden sikit. Salam.

• mim (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 6:21 pm

Just use ZF’s new super quick 9-speed torque converter gearbox for FWD applications. Then ask ZF to make 7-speed version or whatever to remove some unnecessary weight and cost for under 200Nm cars.

Or just use a torque converter box from any makes but it must be able to lock up very quickly. example: Mazda Skyactiv-Drive (maybe made by aisin?)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Cannot be.

6-speed is max for cars with torque figure around 20kgm. Anymore gear beyond that will not get to be used as the driving force is too low for the car to move and the gearbox will kick-down in order to maintain its momentum.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:18 am

It depends on the ratio spread and the final drive ratio. 20kgm or 200Nm is a typical figure for 2-liter naturally-aspirated cars, they can certainly use more than 6 ratios if it’s a close-ratio auto ‘box.. there are no rules for what’s the max. The disadvantage would be the gearbox shuffling regularly between first and second gear during traffic crawls since 1st gear will be way too short.

• theanswer on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:27 am

more gears good for hway crusing. even with thp engine..6 speeder is not that ‘intelligent’. shifting up will taking corner or climbing karak hway. luckily got manual override.

• firdaus on Oct 27, 2014 at 6:38 pm

After owning and driven the below in sequential order :
    1991 Saga 1.5 Megavalve(M)
    1997 Satria 1.3(M)
    2000 Iswara 1.5(A)
    2004 Waja 1.6(A)
    2001 Iswara 1.5(A)
    2008 Saga BLM 1.3(A)
    2009 Exora 1.6(A),

I have now given up on Proton.No other manufacturer
    comes up with countless improvements on the same gearbox and calls it 1,2 and then + and the improvements still doesn’t stop!

I’m switching to an Alza and a Myvi!
    Thank GOD….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 38
    • Abu Sayur on Oct 27, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Only after SEVEN cars over a span of 18 years then only you give up on a product. Umno and Bn says thanks for feeding my pocket HAHAHAHA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • das auto on Oct 27, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Better than toyota using same old shitty engine and dino box for 12 yrs and 3 generations of vios. No improvement at all..

I smell a p2 salesman here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • tpyolyo on Oct 27, 2014 at 10:12 pm

You dun want improvement?
      No wonder you still drive car with ancient engine andgearbox
      Lollolol

• firdaus on Oct 27, 2014 at 10:12 pm

I see a lot of Proton supporters here with the no of dislikes i got.

Anyway, I see so many Axia’s on the road but no Iriz sighted, where is that 30k bookings made??

And what happened to BLISS Proton?????
      U never get it right, time to tapau!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
      • mim (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:00 am

Delivery is scheduled next month and next year for some variants. Do some research la

• Najib on Oct 27, 2014 at 11:58 pm

Proton, time to close shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • theanswer on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:29 am

i wont blame you. it’s your right to feel that.

• solo_wing on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:55 am

Bye2 to your safety. Proton has improved, but P2 still is a tin milo with less safety features.

Until now, there still hasn’t anyone dead from Preve accidents

• mamat on Oct 27, 2014 at 9:01 pm

“Proton we have a problem.”

Time & time again reviews and test drives highlighted
    the poor gear rario and driveability of Proton cars and yet consumers
    and Proton illiterate supporter chose not to read between
    the lines and think it was the best car ever!!
    Wake up and smell the coffee people
    Would you still wanna support a car which is gonna
    replace their entire cut + paste gearbox and transmission
    only after launching it a month ago?
    Sendiri kena ingat don’t buy a sub standard car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • Proton fanboys like to syiok sendiri thinking they are driving the best car but actually they are driving a sub standard car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Who cares, VW is much worse than this

• TheAnonymous on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Hey Dude, you can’t compare VW with Proton.
          As i know, VW has improved a lot already.. at least they are trying to solve all the issue and improve their after sales service.
          Don’t just simply say without actual evidence or prove

• solo_wing on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:59 am

If given the money, anyone wouldn’t buy a subpar car. But to buy a subpar japanese car and then boasting about superiority? that’s just stupid…

• kadajawa on Oct 27, 2014 at 10:26 pm

Proton using 10 years old gearbox again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • DonkeyKong on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:20 am

Torque converters have existed even since the 60s and 70s. Manual gearboxes have existed longer than that. Are you saying that all manufacturers are using 50-year old technology?

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:11 am

I don’t see any 10-year-old gearbox in this post. A TC is not a gearbox, just like a clutch (the way many motorists understand a clutch) is not a gearbox.

• ereng on Oct 28, 2014 at 1:01 pm

How about 4 speed gearbox, is that ok for 3 generations without any changes + overpriced?

• i do think that the real Achilles’ heel on recent protons is the campro engine. It was never good or even decent to drive. Harsh & noisy abound,it can never make for an enjoyable ride even after much “revision”. Changing the gearbox will still leave this underlying/fundamental flaw. A good car with a bad engine does not give a good impression.

• solo_wing on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Disagree. I’m driving fine with my CFE, just the thought that the gearbox isn’t suitable for that engine. It hampers the true performance, and anyone I know who pushed it to the limit had their CVT going kaput.

I think I like CVT, it’s just that Punch isn’t giving the correct CVT to the engine, it’s like they detuned the engine to fit the CVT, instead of making a CVT to fit the engine.

• Ahmad hadi on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:15 am

Use VW DSG lah. Even the Damn Stupid Gearbox from VW is better than punch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • solo_wing on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Uhh…why not Ford Powershift? I heard many stories of how jerky VW DSG is on low speed, and expensive to maintain too.

Therefore, better CVT than DCT. Malaysian generally have low wages, we’re not as wealthy as Singapore in wages term

• Madness on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Well.. It’s because VW uses the mechatronics technology, it’s a combination of mechatronic and electronic It will be a bit jerky at low speed especially when it go uphill as the computer needs some times to determine whether you’re applying the accelerator pedal or not.. However, it still can achieve faster shift times than normal cars.

• solo_wing22 on Nov 28, 2014 at 3:36 am

That’s why say no to VW DSG. CVT can do it’s job comparably with DCT, and it doesn’t have the jerkiness on low speed.

Williams F1 Team proven it’s prowess in 1993 until they are banned by the FIA who instructs all team to use DCT.

The problem now is the Punch CVT…even BMW have move away from them

• Madness on Nov 28, 2014 at 9:34 am

Well.. if you want normal driving then just go for CVT.
            Personally,I’d prefer DSG as i can feel the real driving experience..

• waja2006 on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:20 am

Report just look like tell people don‘t buy proton because CVT, seriously report just give Opposite effect to Iris and other, consumer (already booking) already ask what happens to Iriz cvt. Paultan too less Sensitivity on reporting.

• Dumbfounded on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:49 am

Here you have questions to ask from R&D team of selection of transmission from Proton. I assumed Proton aware of top 3 leaders of CVT (one of them is Jatco) suppliers in the market instead Proton have chosen Punch. Of course I have not idea of Proton process of qualify suppliers based on specific criteria

So Punch has to give a solutions then..or Punch does not have toque converter for CVT yet still under development.. then you better hope rakyat will have the tolerance to continue support Proton.

• rickyll (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:31 am

My suspicion may be right. The so called New Engine could be nothing but a modified Campro pairing with a lousy CVT gearbox. Iriz could be a game changer if only it has a really new and fuel efficient engine. It’s such a pity that only one month after it was launched, Proton itself comes out all sort of negative reports. Best of luck to all the Iriz buyers and don’t forget to give your feedback to Proton, your kind gestures would definitely benefit future Iriz buyers.

• Senaling on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:59 am

I am puzzle as me and my wife’s Preve 7 gear CVT from punch is excellent, good to drive, good acceleration, also good mileage over long distance. Or Proton cars should use the 7 gear CVT instead? But I also like to drive my daughter’s saga FLX 6 gear CVT.

• solo_wing on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Senaling…maybe because u are senile…

I’m a previous manual tranny user, and when I drove the CFE I feel the fun of driving has been taken away. As you know CFE only comes with CVT, it was Punch CVT that’s the problem here. It felt sluggish, it lag to lockup, and it can’t even withstand the full potential of the engine. The engine is detuned to fit it instead of it fitting the engine.

Look at Subaru Lineartronic review, now that’s what I call a fun and excellent CVT

• Vemal on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:20 am

Proton is the Real culprit behind Very Very High Tax for vehicle include their own vehicle……

75% excise duty
    30% Import Duty
    10% Sales Tax…..

Hopefully Proton will dig into sand…..
    No wonder Second Hand car dealer killing the Proton buy refuse to trade in or trade in with extremely low price…….

Proton the Blood Sucker by producing Car with ideas of Stupid engineer graduated & Hired under Recommendation……….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • gunal on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:57 pm

In Thai there is no such thing as Proton, but why Accord 2.4l is 180K there?

Get your fact right, no Proton doesn’t mean cheaper cars.

• Vemal on Oct 28, 2014 at 10:13 pm

In Thai, There is no Toll & Car Tax….

Before Proton intro, Car price in Malaysia was Cheap…..

• ROTFLOL on Oct 28, 2014 at 10:02 am

Game changer car but don’t want to change lousy gearbox and thirsty Campro.

Those booking Iriz CVT models really feel cheated now. What a joke Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • toyoyo on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:58 pm

You must be fan of dino aged 4 speeder with decades old 1.5l engine!

Lol

• senaling on Oct 28, 2014 at 11:29 am

There is nothing wrong with Proton Iriz. Is has traction control and vehicle stablise control that grips your car in the wet. What car about RM 45 K has that. Its body is made of ultra high tensile steel that will not crush the roof if overturn. It is a very safe car. Suspension is top notch, wont get tired if travelling long distances compared to other cars of the same category. My conclusion is, it is a very good car, and also money spend on Protons will generate the local economy.

• megavalve on Oct 28, 2014 at 1:09 pm

“What car about RM 45 K has that.”

After remove car tax, let see you buy Jazz, Polo or Fiesta.

• Firdaus on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Senaling, u must be working for proton.
      Thats why your english and iriz quality like
      kindergaten kid trying to learn the alphabets
      Just by getting in 4 pointers to work at rnd doesn’t
      ensure that the car will be good.their english needs
      to be good as well

Thats why Tun wants the schools to switch to english!
      Btw isnt he protons chairman

• Kurt Maes on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Proton use manual gearbox from Getrag , why not use powershift 6DCT 150 from same compagny ?

• NasiLemak on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:22 pm

after test drived Iriz, i personaly think that it is a good car n worth my money if i decide to buy 1.. compare it with Myvi, I’ll go with Iriz anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • hassan bakri on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Why set your level so low.
    Iriz suppose to benchmark against Ford Fiesta & VW Polo
    When put in a tight situation they divert the attention to MYVI
    4 speed gearbox
    If u only know how to bad mouth your competitor then
    P1 blind supporters has zero integrity.

• Burden31 on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Hm.. I don’t think Iriz can to compare with Ford or even VW.. If say so, Proton still have a long way to go..

• Protons on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:44 pm

I own an exora. Sad to hear that my gearbox is one of the lousiest proton has :(… And why do I feel that proton has a lot of their own liking and disliking comments here.

• bujang on Oct 28, 2014 at 10:37 pm

Agree with senaling. I dont think jazz, polo and fiesta has traction control or made of high tensile steel. Proton cars are also taxed. The manual version using getrag is good. I read getrag also supplys to BMW?

• winwin on Oct 29, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Transmission wise, the only best decision from Proton is to dump that Aichi Kikai manual gearbox and go for Getrag gearbox for the Saga FLX .

• mankind on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:55 pm

Actually the manual gear box for Saga FLX, Iriz and Preve is from Getrag who also supply BMW. Exora, Preve turbo and Suprima uses the advance 7 gear CVT gear box compared with City, Sonata and other Japanese and Korean makes uses 6 gear CVT.

• tracer bullet on Oct 30, 2014 at 5:41 am

let’s just put the getrag 6dct150 in it!

• olio benzina on Nov 24, 2014 at 11:52 pm

All those commenters macam terror berkobar kobar nak kutuk Proton. Opinions are fine but must be backed with exprience/facts to be worth anything.

When looking for CVT supplier Proton went for the most experienced company. They chose Punch which is not actually kucing kurap gearbox company. It has its roots in DAF CVT, the pioneer of CVT transmission in the world when the Japanes CVT designers still wear pampers. Later on it was acquired by ZF, the famous German transmission manufacturer as their CVT branch. If not good BMW would not consider putting a Punch gearbox in their MINI.

So kudos to Proton and Punch for quick retrofittable response to feedback.

• solo_wing on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Fact: BMW has switched their transmission to ZF from Punch

Fact: ZF hasn’t got hold of Punch since 2006, they are independence entity
      http://www.punchpowertrain.com/en/about-us/our-history

Fact: only Proton and China car makers are using Punch
      http://service.punchpowertrain.com/eindex.html

So doesn’t that say something of where Punch has been degraded into?

• Proton think twice on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:03 am

Well mini has long time say bye2 to punch power train,due to lag of improvement on the gb.
    As per solo wing yes punch only supply’s to china,taiwan car maker and not forgetting proton.
    Punch has a very less improvement programs on their gb,as is the most simpler gb made from any other brand.
    Parts inside the gb is not that efficient and less life span.

• honda vtec rosak on Feb 18, 2015 at 2:41 am

aiyaaaa… . proton still ok bro. thiere experience in automotive is about 30 years still young no wonder laa proton car got problem.cannot compare with honda or toyota… they also got problem with the gear box etc but 100 years experience in producing the so called perfect car… japs car like mitsubishi very good in marketing selling the evo model but never win in world rallye championship since they join the race until now… neo r3 win the game in asia pacific rallye is much2 better… open your mind..

• want to buy honda on Feb 18, 2015 at 3:05 am

waaa a lot of japs die hard fan here…
    want to compare performance or quality?

proton, 30 years experience in automotive just the power window problem. honda & toyota 100 years, but still got problem with the gearbox until now no improvement.. mitsubishi car selling the evo series the so called powerful car. but never win in WRC( world rallye championship) untill now… lets look at the proton neo r3, this car win in Asia pacific rallye many time! so u still want to compare with the japs car??? come on… in that case u burn your family members who use the proton car lorrrr!!!

• Coming from the future. Proton had used CVT2+ in all it’s car, as of 2016 new models. It was still clutch based CVT.