RENDERED: Proton Exora facelift with Iriz-like styling

Proton_Exora_Facelift_rendered_1Click to enlarge.

Design whiz Theophilus Chin has rendered his take on a Proton Exora facelift, using elements of the local carmaker’s latest Iriz hatchback. Yes, Proton has already facelifted its MPV once – the Exora Bold – but it’s likely that the seven-seater will be updated again in the future to keep it looking fresh while a proper second-generation model is being developed. This is what the new facelift could look like.

Up front, Theo has planted an Iriz-like face to the Exora. The new projector headlamps, while keeping a similar general shape as before, features a protrusion into the grille to match the latest “Proton Wings” design. The downturned lower intake is taken straight from the Iriz too, while the lip garnish and NEXLIDE electroluminescent light strips mirror those on the Iriz Active concept.

Proton_Exora_Facelift_rendered_2Click to enlarge.

Changes to the back are more liberal, with a set of horizontally-mounted taillights replacing the original car’s vertical units. The rear windows now wrap around the D-pillars, and the entire tailgate is swapped for one with a nice connecting element to match the existing swage lines on the sides of the car. Quite a nice touch, don’t you think?

Interestingly enough, the renders have ditched the Exora Bold’s sporty side skirts. In its place are black plastic strips that run all around the vehicle, including the wheelarches, to give it a pseudo-crossover look. Much-needed improvements to its interior build quality aside, what do you think of this new look for the Proton Exora?

Proton Exora Bold

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• nasi_ayam on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:49 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 113
  • mim (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:51 am

A lower positioned vertical taillamps with NEXLIDE would look much better in terms of proportions. Needs more body curve like the Iriz. These will hide those big empty surfaces.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawa on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:24 am

Trying very hard to become Toyota Wish? Loser mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 91
      • kadajawasark on Oct 24, 2014 at 2:00 am

Congrats! So many thumbs down!
        Hahaha

• kadajawa on Oct 25, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Thumb me down only proves “proton fanboys” loser mentality. Come and prove yourself :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:01 am

Nice design for Exora facelift. Good job theophilus chin! Thumbs up to PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 13
  • 4G63T DSM on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:01 am

FL? I always thought the Bold trims were the facelift.

This model is currently 6 years old. But I think Proton may do itself better by putting in better engines and much needed safety gear (afterall this is a family vehicle – proper ISOFIX points would be a good start) than bother itself with aesthetic facelifts. A nice TDI would be good for a family hauler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • rifle on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Bold is the facelift for exora..and this is just a rendering from Theo for maybe, just maybe another facelift before the 2nd gen productionized

• farghmee on Oct 23, 2014 at 6:01 pm

how about EPS & footbrake? hehehe

• Nuradi Hamzah on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:02 am

Thumbs up… i LIKE!!

• Àlahai (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:32 am

I’m waiting for this new exora with iriz quality. Thumb up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • piupiupiu on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:37 am

boring design.. no “wow” factor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • Much better than other MPV in same class, not to mention powerful turbo engine.

• Patrick Tham on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:41 am

Very Sharan-like rear. Nice rendering nevertheless. But the Exora is getting a bit too old. Currently driving the Bold CFE. They should do something about the (slightly on the high side) fuel consumption. CVTs are supposed to be more economical but it’s the otherwise in the Exora Bold CFE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • thedarkside on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:57 am

proton please develope the new exora with this in order….improved fuel consumption, better interior design, dump the stupid CVT, improved or on par with IRIZ on safety features. Retain the spaciousness, practicality, and…price??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Protiga on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:44 am

There are many good car designers out there and Proton should tap their talents to design a new Perdana. Rebadging the previous Accord will not work as buyers would still buy a used Accord or new one. Accord is still an Accord. Driving a rebadged Proton Perdana would lower the standard of the owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • MPVian on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:44 am

It’s high time for Proton to hire Theophilus Chin as their Chief Designer. Most of his designs make sense…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
  • Ray (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:51 am

Great, but I think the Exora needs to have a brand new model instead of a mere facelift. The crossover looks don’t really work here, perhaps it will do better on the Iriz.

• thedarkside on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:53 am

i think the rear is abit like the facelifted livina. a bit too bland for me..where as the front looks more like a ford fiesta or mondeo

• old dog on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:05 pm

i not surprise this talented guy will be working for some foreign car manufacturer team in the future (or he already has..)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • I want new design with the new quality…

• Car-Fans on Oct 23, 2014 at 1:51 pm

PF – Current Exora Bold issues not yet settle – U dare to get a new design (car) MPV from Proton … Jangan lor … settle current issues first … ask those owner who facing problem !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • thedarkside on Oct 23, 2014 at 2:58 pm

i dont have prob with my exora cfe…just the fuel consumption a bit high(avg 450km-500km per tank of 50 litre) if i want to compare it against the 1.8 t.wish or 1.8 h.stream. If i remember correctly, proton used these cars as benchmark when developing the exora…but when it comes to fuel consumption, its no where near to any of them. but at least the CFE got good torque which is very handy when climbing up hills and overtaking.

• silversempoi on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:09 pm

I don’t like the design on the rear lamp. It looks so funny and ugly at all..!!!

• elson on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:12 pm

haha, proton is always fail on design, they try to put all their car in same family face, but what i see is truly fail, why? the lack of creative designer, the best way save cost to get a design is manage a competition and ask public to design so giving out an ipad and bla bla bla …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Aero (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Nice rendering Theo ! I actually saw this on Theo’s Flickr page first, earlier today.

The all-new Exora should launch in either 2015 or 2016. If the all-new Proton Perdana launches first in 2015, then the Exora launch will probably be delayed. But no matter what, Proton has to launch the new third generation Proton Saga in 2015, that’s the biggest priority for them. The Saga is Proton’s strongest volume seller, and Proton still has a monopoly for the cheapest new 4-door sedan in Malaysia. Meaning, if Malaysians want a < RM50k hatchback, they can choose between the Viva, Axia, Myvi and Iriz. However, if it has to be a sedan, then the Saga is pretty much the only option, or if age isn't a problem, the Persona is still good value for money.

• kadajawa on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Nobody will buy RM100k Proton. Not even yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • When there is no more excise duty, proton will lose his monopoly. Then, Malaysians will have plenty of choice if they want a 50k hatch and do not need to choose from the 4 king of craps(Viva, Axia, Myvi and Iriz)

• If no more excise duty Proton will be cheaper, now it’s still high taxed.

Get your fact right

• Macai on Oct 25, 2014 at 3:57 pm

If no more excise duty, proton will close shop lah.

Get your head straight

• Sebaik Perhiasan on Oct 25, 2014 at 5:33 pm

If no excise duty the entry level for the exora should be around 40-50k. While its still be around 70-80k for the grand livina or avanza. Choice is yours, choose wisely my friend.

• I think if the iriz is enlarged & elongated (retaining the front & rear look), it’ll be a decent mid size mpv.. I think theres nothing wrong if proton use similar look for different models though.. It worked with VW..

• Tengokaje.. on Oct 23, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Who knows..may be P1 will produce mid size MPV like Alza base on Iriz..

• Tengokaje.. on Oct 23, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Who knows..may be P1 will produce mid size MPV like Alza base on Iriz..

• Anonymous :) on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:23 pm

from the front it looks like Ford C-Max, from the rear it looks like Previa , from the back it looks like Kia Sedona .. but all of it are actually nicer than i thought. Good job :)

• kowreck on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:38 pm

reminds me of the ford s-max from the front and the new livina from the rear. anyways, nice design. i like it.

• clutch_plate on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Dear Proton.., the Exora has been on market since 2008 (if i’m not mistake) & personally i think it’s need a totally NEW Exora, not a facelift version anymore. I know it’s not as easy as shaking our balls, but please do something. Make a good design, put an up-to-date technology (at least like Iriz) & place it on right price tag. Then rakyat will love u.

(p/s: Exora kalau guna foot brake mcm caldina, alphard etc kan bagus. mesti nampak lagi smart.)

• good job! the current exora is really dated, face lifted is long over due.

• sama sampah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • So Angry on Oct 23, 2014 at 4:14 pm

YOU ARE THE SAMPAH ACTUALLY…

• Angry Bird on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Drive like sampan, look like sampah

• You mean Estima right? Pity

• You’re comparing Proton with JDM? And you don’t know which is sampah?

• Cannot compare? Why not?
            Exora turbo a bit faster than poor wish. Both can do around 11 secs in 0-100km/h. Since both are mpv, torque is essential. Who ares puny wish torque. When full load exora can smoke wish for breakfast brunch lunch dinner supper day night afternoon evening anytime you want.

Climbing hill, even Estinr struggles big time, corner? Should i say estima has swaying cabin left and right. Very poor ride JDM. So bad it’s like rubbish.

Conclusion : JDM is not that great, only syok sendiri. Proton FTW!

Now waiting for new Exora with more airbags plus ESC.

• Amoi, biarlah dia, let him jaguh kampung while he can. One day the floods gate will open and proton will fall

• Flood gate what? Even your JDM is sampah, if they dare enough why not bring in turbo diesel and those new engines like in Europe? Sell outdated engines in Asean with crazy prices. It does not even reach Euro5!!!

• twwwwwwwwwwwwww on Oct 23, 2014 at 1:00 pm

pls dont recycle the the face -.- it reminds me of wira, satria, putra, jumbuck..

put on some creativity DESIGN it.

• the back of the car looks like 2014 toyota wish back

• nabill (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 1:17 pm

the front is similar to the ford s-max…but the rear ,after some thinking and rememebrring , looks aot like the current gen Seat Alhambra….specially the tail lamp

• shawn eastern on Oct 23, 2014 at 1:29 pm

the back lights make the whole car looks like a stationwagon … no more mpv looks … i think i will go for alza liao …

• RotorMasters on Oct 23, 2014 at 1:43 pm

boleh la…bleh la…

• Car-Fans on Oct 23, 2014 at 1:56 pm

If Proton plan to release “touch up” of existing Exora Bold … then update us a good FC engine (problem free), better safety features (VSC, at least 4 a.bag etc) and the most important is a really Reasonable National MPV Price (below RM70K) !

• Nice front design, hope they change the steering and improve the interior quality as well on the face lift version

• fikri adli on Oct 23, 2014 at 2:05 pm

proton should make larger than this suit for 7 person and baggage at the back.
    so more luggage can put into the car.

• Lousy looking car! Please lah proton, have a better interior, bigger rear passenger headrest, more power and better creativity!

• Abdullah on Oct 23, 2014 at 2:55 pm

The back will never look nice with the original shape. Also the rear quarter panel, the joint is wrapped halfway, there is a vertical gap on both sides. Theo erased it.
    How to increase power when there are turbo faults and cvt transmission longevity issue. Anyway if theo’s design came out first, I believe exora can be an above average Mpv.

• nundzhoalifmin on Oct 23, 2014 at 3:34 pm

X payah la facelift.. Upgrade je same macam AUS punye spec.. Esc, isofix, 4 airbags.. Ape nyawa rakyat Malaysia murah dari rakyat Australia ke?

• Exora replacement should be in the pipeline rather than facelift. Exora have went ‘under the knife’ 3 times already..

• waw looks like extreme hehe

• rich person on Oct 23, 2014 at 4:17 pm

I am rich i drive Vios

• rich person on Oct 23, 2014 at 4:18 pm

I m lebih kaya than u all

• Subaru fan on Oct 23, 2014 at 4:32 pm

This one was good but please change the front. BTW the rear end is Honda-ish

• theanswer on Oct 23, 2014 at 4:52 pm

nice one. but i prefer they update the safety features. esc..more airbags..better interior design.

• Current Bold Premium still look nice, timeless. I prefer the vertical rear lamp more since most every mpv going for horizontal design and it all looks almost the same. Nice try by the way Theo!

• no no no on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:09 pm

the back so ugly.

• Kudeq on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:24 pm

Good Job Theo! Wondering when they will release this..

• Victor S on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:01 pm

For proton to boost its name my suggestion is REMOVE the proton tiger/cat logo really disgusting look ….lol …chg to a better symbol like just P or PL (proton lotus) …..

• Silthice on Oct 23, 2014 at 10:26 pm

The Front look sporty
    The back look elegant and modern
    The side look empty…
    Nice attempt maybe need some synchronization(element) flowing from the front to the side and lastly till the back…

• Kumar Perumal on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:21 pm

the front was really awesome even though its looks like PG/Ford but the rear was too mainstream..prefering the current style mayb can be done like toyota aeras instead :D anyhw Proton shud work on engines. Current exora engine noise like a toyota innova or hiace van…mayb shud b a v6

• sanjoo on Oct 24, 2014 at 2:13 am

Even BMW goes for turbo engine, V6 is going backward

• Kumar Perumal on Oct 24, 2014 at 7:17 am

no bro bmw is rear wheel drive and its engine capacity is bigger than ours….v6 like in the perdana and naza ria last tym is better for exora..quad cam cn gv xtra power

• V6 perdana produces lesser torque than cfe. Cfe has flat torque from 2000rpm. Both are 2.0 l.

• X dpt iriz active kt m’sia,
    dpt Exora Bold Iriz Active style pon da ckup bersyukur dah.. hehehe ;p

• arjuna on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Nice design..
    Things are become more n more better for Proton now..

• techart on Oct 25, 2014 at 12:06 am

design much better..at least ade progress n improvement effort..tp kasi masuk itu enjin E01 n safety par with Iriz..then it would nice MPV.

• techart on Oct 25, 2014 at 12:26 am

Put E01 engine..and revised the interior..

• Same L0rr on Oct 25, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Bullocart is much better than this rubbish!

• JohnLegend on Oct 26, 2014 at 3:32 pm

yes…the new Exora FL on the move….but they not really change the headlamp and rear lamp…still using the old one….but they change minor design and cosmetic to their rear and front lamp…it will be launching at 2015..

• coming buyer on Jan 25, 2015 at 6:46 pm

The design is not really good . Really ugly and it can be said as a van. The old design is already in a good & great design. No need to change it !

• eb soon on Nov 04, 2015 at 12:00 am

i saw volkswagen? (tail lamp)

• eb soon on Nov 04, 2015 at 12:08 am

”set of horizontally-mounted taillights replacing the original car’s”’
    ermmmm….a litle bit….volkswagen CC?

• Irfan Irsyad Munisvaran on Jan 07, 2016 at 10:39 am

I love the design especially the rear light. Wish it come true from proton