Postponement of toll hikes not confirmed – Fadillah

LDP

Works minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof has said that no decision has been made on whether or not toll rates will be increased next year, according to a Bernama report.

He was referring to a statement made yesterday by his deputy, Datuk Seri Rosnah Abdul Rashid Shirlin. Rosnah was reported to have said that toll rates for 20 highways are not planned to be increased next year, and that the government is expected to pay RM558.69 million in compensation to the highway concessionaires.

Fadillah said the reports were inaccurate, adding that although that amount has been requested for allocation to deal with toll provisions, this is standard procedure to ensure the provision is available for use, and does not mean toll rates will not go up.

The Star reports that according to concession agreements for 2015, as many as 20 highways are eligible to receive an increase in toll rates between 50 sen and RM2, and that the cabinet will make the final decision on toll hikes based on Jawatankuasa Khas Menangani Kos Sara Hidup‘s recommendation. A decision is expected to be reached before January 2015.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• As I mentioned always in my comments. Dis kampong style govt have style DAT scared rakayat as much as dey could then release statement later DAT implementation would b later r not decide yet r hold first.bloody nonsense bez good goverence always have yes r no n not left in lurch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • The REAL PM in Malaysia - Toll Concessionaires on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Disgrace Deputy Minister. Don’t know how to make press release. became deputy just because you won about 1000 seats in your constituency. Nobody wants you but thick skinned get a Minister’s post.

Tak malu that the the Minister threw berak on yuor face and shamed you in public? Everybody is laughing at you and your lack of competency.

Rosnah, the toll cronies got more power than you lah. They just called the Minister last night and told him to shut up. The Minister, like a dog, shut up and he shut your mouth up Deputy Minister.

At the end of the day, the Toll Operators are the real PM and Minsiters in Malaysia

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 7:03 pm

We are not surprised – the federal government’s first wave of news are always incorrect. Always wait for tomorrow’s accurate news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Another sampah in the Wall on Nov 20, 2014 at 7:33 pm

Now you see!!…now you don’t!!. What a waste???

• Nenek Kau on Nov 20, 2014 at 8:44 pm

“Postponement of toll hikes not confirmed – Fadillah”…thats mean it is already confirmed! sighh….

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Nov 20, 2014 at 8:45 pm

Flip-flop government running a failing country…

Damn sad…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Maserati(Official) on Nov 20, 2014 at 8:53 pm

road users should fork out the additional money, instead of waiting for the gov to pay for the rakyat

if u dont use the toll, u dun have to pay, simple as that. dont expect other ppl to pay on ur behalf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 54
    • Pening on Nov 20, 2014 at 9:45 pm

Oi bodoh whether you use the toll or not rakyat money i.e. taxed money is/will already be used to subsidised the toll concessions company!!! Meaning even if you didn’t order KFC, your beloved G already taken your money to pay KFC to add to their profit margin and you won’t even get to smell the fried chicken….
      bodoh oi bodoh…bertuah sungguh BN ada orang bangang like you in supporting them…alhamdulilah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
      • meejawa on Nov 21, 2014 at 7:45 am

I’m very appalled that Maserati got more thumbs down than up, and vice versa for Pening. I totally agree with Maserati; you pay for what you use, same concept as GST. Are you saying its fair for the ppl in Sabah and Sarawak and east coast for their tax money to be paid to the toll concessionaires when they may not touch these highways even once in their lives?? Same argument for subsidy, if I’m walking to work I will not be happy that my tax money is used to pay for lower fuel cost for others. Use that money to develop something that benefits all instead; healthcare, education, lrt MRT etc.

• Low Budget on Nov 21, 2014 at 9:35 am

In theory, I will fully agree with you if this is implement in more advance countries with efficient Gomen, but in Boleh Land? Ha,ha,ha….

• meejawa on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:59 pm

But think about it, if the rakyat don’t make noise when toll rates got hiked, then the G will not pay direct to the concessionaires. Either way, the toll companies make money (from either G or rakyat), my point is if we all just pay for what we use, then it’s fairer. This is a purely populist move for the less initiated. Targeted subsidies? This can be it!

• Pening on Nov 21, 2014 at 10:20 am

alo jawa…yes agree you pay for what you use, but unfortunately in malangsia you can walk all you want to work and not use the tolls highway BUT your taxed money will still be paid to the crony toll companies, get it??? duh

• meejawa on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Pening, no name calling. Debate maturely.

• lucifer on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:19 pm

There is no such thing as “benefits all” actually. Education: no kids, no benefit. Trains: always drive, no benefit. So the gov has to choose something that benefits a lot of people. FUEL should be considered as something that benefits majority people, alongside healthcare, education, lrt.

• hadi75 on Nov 21, 2014 at 7:51 am

Oii….where do you think the government gets their money???whether the rakyat use the tolled road or not, we the rakyat still have to pay la….dont know how can the government make such a lopsided deal in the first place…

• niterunner99 on Nov 20, 2014 at 9:04 pm

wow…looks like it’s gettng expensive to drive up Malaysia.

• Low Budget on Nov 21, 2014 at 9:19 am

This might be the beginning of much bigger shock waves to drown the Malaysians, Gomen no money liao..

• ae101 on Nov 20, 2014 at 9:55 pm

What the heck all this tax waster gomen doing there? He said ok. I said later. Boss said maybe. Machai all will clap hands bagus punya idea. Damn stupiddddddd. Podahhh la!!!

• satu malaysia=sapu malaysia.. WTH…

• LOLOLOLOL on Nov 20, 2014 at 10:21 pm

IQ level negative, tapi jadi menteri. Itulah menteri-menteri malaysiaku tercinta ini :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Now they realized that they have miscalculate because they have reduced Ron97 by 20 cent, hence less income in their coffer. Don’t make a statement if you’re not confirm, Mr Minister.

• Low Budget on Nov 21, 2014 at 9:22 am

When woeld oil price keeps dropping, the Gomen have to reduce the retail prices, if not, this is a sign that Gomen running out of cash.

• LandoCar on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:04 am

Where got highway operator making losses? Hahaha! Either operators tipu government or the government tipu rakyat.
    This business model, politically is out of date. Find other ways to make money lah! Humour us with something new.

• Low Budget on Nov 21, 2014 at 9:26 am

Correct! Correct! Correct! Many cronies are finding ways and means to propose to the Gomen new toll express ways to connect one part of the town to another by building the highways over residences rooftop, back yards, front yards and also seizing properties to make way.

• Same old story bla bla bla ……..think wisely before voting next time people…

• roxas on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:18 am

cars are already so expensive, fuel pun sudah expensive, maintenance expensive coz selalu termasuk potholes, and im paying 1.60 per direction for just a short distance to 1 Utama. shxx G really, sxxk betul

• Low Budget on Nov 21, 2014 at 9:33 am

They will tell you to take public transport if you cannot afford private transport lah.
      Jokes aside, damage to out car drive shaft, bearings, shock absorbers, cracking oil sumps by ‘Hentam’ Pot Holes and bumps are common occurance to the Klang Valley forks, Go Fcxk them lah.

• roxas on Nov 21, 2014 at 1:20 am

the G didnt feel the burden, thats y they dunno the rakyat is suffering

• hadi75 on Nov 21, 2014 at 7:46 am

The best deal in the world for any company and only in malaysia…..toll goes up companies make profit…..toll doesn’t goes up, the companies still make profit…..the losing side….the rakyat. Malaysia boleh….

• Just_Once on Nov 21, 2014 at 8:27 am

Why government doesn’t want to use paultan.org as one of their source of references when making a decision on transportation?

One of the trending in people mind in paultan.org is that higher car tax means it must be compensated by fuel subsidise.

• Petrofsky77 (Member) on Nov 21, 2014 at 9:20 am

All mentris are the same. They say one thing today and tomorrow, they will refute what they have said earlier. So typical and predictable, just like Maslan ayam.

• roadblock on Nov 21, 2014 at 9:32 am

aiks..why the need to compensate? govt owe them? I don’t think these company made losses. so the compensation = $ loss due to postponement of hike? that’s tax payer money, why not just implement it now. either way, we lose cuz $ is going out anyways. right, no?

• cendol (Member) on Nov 21, 2014 at 9:40 am

Postponement of toll rates not confirmed
    Reduction of petrol price is under study
    Reduction of toll rate highly unlikely
    See how they all always play with words
    Say like no say.

• applegreen on Nov 21, 2014 at 9:41 am

If they reduce back ron95 price then next year GOV will increase toll rate. If ron95 stay then there will be no increase. Rakyat already knows that

• Henry on Nov 21, 2014 at 10:13 am

When toll rates go up, only highway users pay. When toll rates are not allowed to increase then everybody pay through compensation by the Gomen. Either way the concessionaires win. The losers are the people.

• Kancil Hybrid on Nov 21, 2014 at 10:22 am

Enough is enough. Malaysia just need to change gov! Just for once, please! We can’t teach the old BN dog new tricks. The dog is 60 years old already.. Guide pun tak boleh, hunting pun tak boleh, duduk tunggu duit masuk je boleh.

• So done with these fools. Going to try using the toll-free route to work with my GPS later. Enough with taking my money already.

• Joe liu on Nov 21, 2014 at 11:08 am

We really doubted whether they are from the same ministry.
    Luckily they did not blamed the media misquoting.

• kkchai on Nov 21, 2014 at 11:41 am

As expected from gahmen… flip flop… one say left, second say right… seem like they don’t communicate or someone might had just say the wrong things…. this is the maturity of our forced or fake elected rubbish parliament idiots. Waste tax payer money only…