Sub-RM100k EVs for Malaysians by 2017 – Madani

proton-saga-ev-7
Proton Saga EV concept shown in July 2009

Malaysians can look forward to electric vehicles (EVs) priced under RM100,000 when new models are unveiled in 2017, Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) CEO Mohamad Madani Sahari has said, Bernama reports.

He mentioned two four-seater EV sedan models, saying a prototype was being developed and expected to be completed in September 2015. He added that production is expected to begin by 2016, before the vehicle (or vehicles) goes on sale in 2017.

To ensure low prices, the government is looking to lease lithium batteries, and the batteries could be locally-assembled to further keep the costs at bay, Madani said, adding that the new EV models could help Malaysia achieve its target of 10% EV contribution to the total industry volume (TIV) by 2020.

saga-ev-03
Proton Saga EV developed with Frazer-Nash – read our test drive report from 2011!

“There are also plans to bring in completely-built-up (CBU) EV units next year before introducing completely-knocked-down (CKD) units. The CBU units are of the high-end segment to familiarise buyers with the EV concept before the local EVs come on stream in 2017,” he said.

At present, only two EVs have ever been commercially sold in Malaysia: the RM136k Mitsubishi i-MiEV and the RM169k Nissan Leaf – and that’s with tax exemptions. Meanwhile, COMOS will be offering the Renault Twizy, Renault Zoe and Nissan Leaf for rent, and through CarBase.my‘s Car Market Value Guide, we find the Renault Fluence ZE valued at RM145k (tax-free) and the Renault Zoe at RM177k (with tax) – although these are not available for sale.

Of course, we know Proton is developing an all-electric Iriz EV with South Korea’s LG Electronics – but the Iriz is not a sedan. Could one of the models Madani mentioned therefore be a Saga EV…?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• legends on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Low tech car i may choose proton car.
    High tech car,sorry i wouldn’t choose proton car….i will choose japanese car.Reliability is my top priority.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 10
    • Whether low tech or high tech, i will not choose proton
      For scrape parts, i will choose proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
      • Big Big Failure on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:44 am

This car will be a big failure. Even now, you can get a huge C Segment Honda Civic 2nd hand 2013 model for RM90k.

Why should I buy a Malaysian B segment junk when I can get a real Japanese C segment with 5 years warranty for 90k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Same L0rrr on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:50 am

So much of talkok here and there.

In 2009, Proton said Hybrid 2012.
          In 2012, Proton said Hybrid 2014.
          In 2014(now), Madani said 2017.
          In 2017???

So easy to give empty promise, money burnt but nothing is seen.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:55 pm

What EEV, EV, Hybrid, etc… for GREEN environment.

PLS EXECUTE WHAT EXIST RATHER THAN TALK ABOUT UNKNOWN PLAN.

Hello Mani, if you talk about green, the very first things for you to do is:

To eliminate euro2 diesel selling in Msia from continue pollute our mother nature.

Rather than telling different thousands stories each time with unknown results.

• RVlowJDM on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:09 pm

really that bad? sound low RV to me. if that the case better P1 as price already low to begin with. for info i am not SamLoo :)

• CEO Proton No Balls on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:57 am

Madani has lost all credibility. Whatever he has said the past few years has not happened. Everything he has said has not happened.

Infact MAI should be closed down. Honda has invested billions to set up EEV and CKD the Hybrids in Malaysia. Then Government pull the plug on them.

Anyway, this announcement, why isn’t Proton making the announcement? The CEO of Proton got no balls is it?

• Jaguh global on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Under RM100k EVs = for Proton only.

Over RM100k EVs = for other EV cars.

Nampak tak permainan MITI dan Proton?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 7
    • Proton, tutuplah pintu. We don’t want to play your game anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 30
      • Same L0rrr on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:04 pm

RM50k Proton with so much of power window, engine, gearbox, door handler problems people also don’t dare to buy.

RM100k Proton hybrid/EV with lithium ion battery? HAHAHA…

Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok.

• Under 100,000 also is RM99,999, without roadtax and insurance.
      :’)

• kzm (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:01 am

The oni country able to sell cheaper EV car is US n Jap after subsidy n reduction…..i-MiEV : ASEAN no hope, UK around RM130k, Australia around RM150k (120k 2012 model), Canada around RM100k, Germany around RM99k, rest of EU around RM120k, US around RM76k(before price reduction RM90k), Japan around RM65k….where got cheap EV car?

• evevev on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:30 pm

By 2017, there will be 800 roads in kl renamed too. Then i can drive my saga ev around kl.

3 years from now, seems far or short?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Blue-traveler on Nov 25, 2014 at 6:18 pm

Too long. For tech, six months is like a year, (even shorter for some tech., ie 3 months =a new improvement) So 3 years = 6 years.
      If the govt is serious about ev, miti should be open about what the brands need to get the EEV. Cert. and open the door to all brands now. Not wait another 3-4 years. By then all, ALL, international big players will bypass us for our neighbour countries. Then we tax payers suffer again.
      The Audi A6 experience was actually a very good experience for the industry and nation as a whole. It was on a verge of creating a whole new sector of industrial, both after mkt and new mkt, as the citizens want a new category of vehicles… So what if p1 is late, it could have take the opp to observe what “type” of EEV cars we want and go for it. Instead of groping in the dark of what type we really wants. They just shot their own foot by “asking” miti to shut it down.
      MITI, GO SUCK EGG, AND “DIE”- dissolve, you usless, money black hole department.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • ben yap on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:30 pm

I ain’t paying close to RM100K for a Saga EV. brand value and that class is not worth my dollars and cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • meng meng on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:34 pm

1st Campro many problem….
    our globa car preve 1st batch pun ada masalah…
    sekarang EV Car launch… better dun buy so fast…
    Coz they never do QC before sell to malaysian buyer.
    On paper all thing in perfect… but real thing.. hmmmmm…. many problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
  • toyotafan on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:42 pm

See it coming or not?
    2017, price per barrel of oil USD120+. (Sorry, don’t ask me how I know okie) or RM4 per liter of ron97.
    You’ll be looking at no subsidies by then for 95/diesel/97.
    Maybe looking at pollution tax to encourage EV.
    The faster you have EV, the faster you corner the market.
    Oh Proton, oh proton would be rubbing their hands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • EV cars are not cheap as evident from the current pricing of EV cars like the Nissan Leaf. Would you pay lets say RM 50000 for a EV saga? As petrol price goes up so does electric tariffs and what about the battery used in the EV which would fail after 5-8 years and cost a few thousand to replace. Factoring that in pumping petrol will still be cheaper no matter the price unless the cost of EV and battery is reduced to just slightly above a normal car.

• bubbaonsteroids on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:50 pm

dei, mana itu EMAS yg u janji?
    or should I wait for your announcement in 2017 saying, Gomen will introduce EV cars in 5 years time..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 6:30 pm

100k cos other car overtaxed

• Kepala sakit on Nov 25, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Correct me if I’m wrong. What has MAI got to do with Proton coming out with new cars? mr Madani is Dr M’s friend kah? Also by 2017 anything can happen. He spoke about volume and prices. Dia punya pasal kah Proton doing investment? Want to talk investment/ new models let Proton say la. Crazy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Damn right!

• Why is this Madani guy the one that was announcing this thing?…What is his actual position? Smelt something fishy here…

• Under rm100k = rm99, 999

• kadajawi (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Bring in high end CBU EVs? So that means the Tesla Model S is coming?

• Sorry Proton, I will never touch new Proton cars (esp EV) with a 10-foot pole.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • darkermarker on Nov 25, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Current proton cars already have electrical problems…..The problem come “standard” among proton cars, as the service centre ppl say.

Now, I fear to imagine the car is fully electric….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • I always wonder whether the goal of MAI is to make sure P1 survives no matter what.

• Sub-50k I also twice. Do Malaysian need to pay Proton car till sub $100k? Dr.M & cronies, enough is enough !!! Stop insulting Rakyat with your AP policies!!!

• Anti-Establishment on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:37 am

Rakyat already stupid enough that they’re insulting themselves without Dr. M.

• along on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:01 pm

What makes u think, I want to buy a proton… meh…

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
    When we work together, we can win this…

Let avoid buying any new cars, If we dont buy anything they say will be irrelevant. At least look at the sales of Iris now, very low sales number, the CEO can talk and bark about increase price la increase quality la bla bla bla, but if nobody buy what the CEO want to do?

• The info is most likely not reliable, maybe just to grab attention

• price below rm100k?
    let me guess, they intend to price it rm99k!

• fake promises on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:41 am

I don’t think it will be out at 2017.

They always say this year that year but nope.

Last year also said Proton Hybrid and EV out in 2014. Today? Out or not?

trust me it will not be out in 2017 !!!

This is just gimmick

• lilytan on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:57 am

Unless u r planing to get electrocuted, dont play2 with electric car. Get sirim endorsement first like any other electrical appliances.

• joyah on Nov 26, 2014 at 10:18 am

WTF? I would not pay any cent to buy PROTON cars.. PERODUA still better.

I want reliability and warranty..not some cheap car that have EV with no quality and high maintenance.

please close down your company and use our money to investment in improving public transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • khairul on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:14 am

Whatever comes out from Madani is utter crap.
    We can’t even come up with a EEV or NAP
    and here this joker is making predictions
    like Nostradamous !!
    Talk less and work harder to make sure the
    30% car price reduction promise is achieved.

• malaysian geek on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Recommend EV Proton Exora for Taxi Fleet. I am sure it will help proton promote and taxi driver are the one can prove the reliable of proton ev due to always drive on the road

• hybrid yes , EV no on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Currently NGV costs peanuts who in
      the right frame of mind wanna get a EV ?

• IrizX on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:08 pm

100k Proton Saga???

I will rather buy Honda City for 90k with full specs and have godly FC….wait…i already bought one. :D

• Car-Fans on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:25 pm

Sah! Sah! Sah! Jangan Harap Harga Kereta di Malaysia akan Turun 30% tu … Dream lar … Dream lar … Dream lar …