Lexus NX to be launched next month, from RM300k

Click to enlarge.

The new Lexus NX SUV will be launched in January 2015, it has been confirmed. That’s next month, in case you’ve somehow missed all the Christmas decorations around town. January 29 is the date to remember, as revealed by Lexus Malaysia’s official Facebook page.

To those interested in buying Japan’s answer to the BMW X3 and Audi Q5, you’d already know that a total of five variants will be offered in our market. Estimated prices start from RM300,000 for the base 2.0 litre turbo model, rising up to RM390,200 for the range-topping hybrid variant.

LEXUS-NX-PRICE-SPECS-LIST

Click to enlarge spec sheet.

The prices put the NX squarely against the X3 (RM329-349k) and Q5 (RM328k). A complete list of specs and equipment for the available 200t, 200t Premium, 200t Luxury, 200t F Sport and 300h has been released too, as you can see above.

The Lexus NX is a breath of fresh air for a brand that, CT 200h apart, has been selling cars with big naturally-aspirated engines. Armed with a 2.0 turbo, it looks to have the tool it needs to properly challenge the Germans. Can it really, though? Find out in our full in-depth review of the Lexus NX 200t.

Thai-spec Lexus NX 300h on display at IGEM 2014, KLCC

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Ah Beng Kia on Dec 17, 2014 at 10:34 am

I read that as Toyota NX to be launched…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 41
    • Ah Beng Kia on Dec 17, 2014 at 1:36 pm

And by the way, my Macan 2.0T will tapao this anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 16
      • Ah Beng Kia on Dec 17, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Macan? Pls la stop dreaming and go back to your father’s Second hand Myvi. Later on work a bit harder, invest a bit smarter then come back and talk when you got the money. Small boy. School holiday not over yet is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
        • Ah Beng Kia's farther on Dec 17, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Kid go to do your homework, don’t keep ‘ka ki gong, ka ki song’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
          • Ah Beng Kia's neighbour on Dec 17, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Wei Ah Beng Kia’s farther, don’t let your dog out…….
            This is a very nice Lexus…… why some stupid mentioned it is Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
          • Sam Loo Sucks on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Ah beng Kia’s neighbour. Then can you tell me what is the difference between a lexus LX570 and a toyota landcruiser?

A punk wannabe always a punk wannabe. Accept the fact that this is just another overpriced toyota crap. Doesn’t make any difference no matter what you say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
          • Ah Beng Kia's neighbour on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Sam Loo Sucks.Then can you tell me what is the difference between Sam Loo and a Sam Loo Sucks?

A punk wannabe always a punk wannabe. Accept the fact that Sam Loo Sucks is stupid and Sam Loo is smart. Doesn’t make them the same no matter what you say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
          • Ah Beng Kia's neighbour's father on Dec 18, 2014 at 1:05 am

Stupid boy. Get back here and do your homework!!! Next year got SPM exam. Better prepare now. Don’t be jealous about ah beng’s new Kia Cerato. IF you study hard and work hard one day you can afford a vios TRD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • BMW X3 better on Dec 18, 2014 at 3:44 am

If I have RM300k to spend on a luxury SUV, I’ll definitely go for the BMW X3. I test drove this car back in Shanghai and the handling is the NX’s weakest point. Lexus wanted to create a car that handled with all the dynamism and rides with all extreme comfort but the steering is motionless and the ride is too harsh with all this despite the addition of adaptive damping. Such a disappointment from Lexus..

It’s like Lexus has lost a bit of its identity, hunting the sports car driver without remembering what it’s done brilliantly for 25 years – making cars ride well.

• Ah Beng Kia's neighbour grand farther on Dec 18, 2014 at 7:58 am

Ah Beng Kia’s neighbour’s father- How can you call your son stupid, it this how I teach you to raise my new generation, balik rumah nanti saya rotan you betul betul.

• Ah Beng Kia's Neighbour's Grandmother on Dec 18, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Darling, You forgot to take your meds. You are hallucinating again. Please be good or else your son will send you to hospital bahagia.

• Ah Beng Kia's Neighbour's Grandmother boy friend on Dec 19, 2014 at 7:38 am

Auntie why you so sibuk in other people business, let go we have some fun(ck).

• BMW X3 better on Dec 18, 2014 at 3:46 am

If I have RM300k to spend on a luxury SUV, I’ll definitely go for the BMW X3. I test drove this car back in Shanghai and the handling is the NX’s weakest point. Lexus wanted to create a car that handled with all the dynamism and rides with all extreme comfort but the steering is motionless and the ride is too harsh with all this despite the addition of adaptive damping. Such a disappointment from Lexus..

It’s like Lexus has lost a bit of its identity, hunting the sports car driver without remembering what it’s done brilliantly for 25 years – making cars ride well.

• ThePolygon (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 10:40 am

I guess for those with money, loves compact SUV and would like to stick to a Japanese brand, this is a good choice. 2.0 Turbo with 8 airbags and a great design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • AVH (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 2:23 pm

2.0 Turbo with 8 airbags and a great design.

I agree, the power, safety and since its a SUV, high means it can run around Wall Maria away from Angry oversized naked people.

• huat arrr on Dec 17, 2014 at 10:41 am

Finally, Lexus will win big with this one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 15
    • It is just an overpriced toyota.. And we won’t know what are they hiding from publics, later lots of recall again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
      • VWfanboi on Dec 17, 2014 at 4:32 pm

so if i get an Audi A6 means I’m getting an overprice VW passat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • APKing on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:10 pm

You are right. That’s why go for the real thing. Range rover Evoque, Merc and BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Ken's Mom on Dec 17, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Ken, come home now – your food getting cold.

• symustafa on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:51 am

The only thing Lexus have in common with Toyotas nowadays are platform sharing…..they are one of the best luxury brands out there, with outstanding customer service and reliability.

Plus, by your logic, an Audi A3 is an overpriced Skoda and the Cadillac XTS is just a Chevrolet Malibu. Toyota differentiates Lexus cars more than Honda and Nissan does with Acura and Infiniti.

• lexus is junk on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Yeah right. Please sit inside a Lexus Lx570 or ES250 and tell me no parts were shared with toyota.

• VWfanboi on Dec 17, 2014 at 10:47 am

i think the BMW X3 and Audi Q5 is kinda ugly and this NX is way sexier

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
    • seancorr (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 12:31 pm

The NX has its pros and cons when compared to the X3 and Q5 but the looks alone is way better of course.

To me the F-Sport model is the only proper model to buy solely because of its adaptive suspension.

We will definitely see some of these on the road but I doubt will be many. For RM300k and above you have many other options…

• Kenji on Dec 17, 2014 at 2:48 pm

I personally feels that japanese design usually looks good in the beginning with their art of copy and paste here and there, but it doesn’t last….while the continental design kind of grows on you over the time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • VWfanboi on Dec 17, 2014 at 4:28 pm

so…. who do you think this lexus NX is copying? I think BMW and AUDI they make great sedan but for SUV sorry… it’s so fugly.

• too bad i cant afford. it looks great!

• Ken Young on Dec 17, 2014 at 11:15 am

I would rather buy the Infiniti Q50 or Q70 because it has better technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • qwerty on Dec 17, 2014 at 12:23 pm

The above-mentioned Infiniti models are sedan but the NX is an SUV. It’s unfair to compare them side by side.

Plus, the NX doesn’t really lag behind in terms of technology. That engine itself is a tech pack.

• I personally find this a better package compared to the Germans.

The Q5 is old and too squarish to look stylish; and the interior is boring.

The X3 is a lot more attractive with the LCI, but the interior feels “previous gen”.

The closest rival for the Lexus is the Merc GLA, but looks too similar to the A-class.

• Jimmy on Dec 17, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Not sure is it greed or not?

Any crossover based on CT200 will become the rival against GLA and X1.

Wheelbases and platforms.

• Therealmaserati on Dec 17, 2014 at 12:27 pm

This looks awesome! In comparison the X3 and Q5 look hideously old .

I will take this anytime over the Germans.

• Look better than Q5 X5

• krishna on Dec 17, 2014 at 1:16 pm

I hope the interior is designed with practicality in mind. I checked out the new IS250 recently and it has a bump on the floor on the back seet area, right in the middle. Not sure what the purpose is but it makes the car look and feel like a 4 seater. It is simply uncomfortable to sit in the middle at the back seat. In this matter, it looses out to its competitors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Omicron Tau (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 8:48 am

The IS is rear wheel driven. A drive shaft goes from the powertrain to the back wheels, which goes under that bump.

• Cheung on Dec 17, 2014 at 1:19 pm

The car itself is great, engine with cleaner emission but the price is way too expensive.

• eVaz88 on Dec 17, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Personally saw the car at Igem.. its without the middle hump for passenger seats~ it looks great!

• Looks futuristic, sleek and sexy. Hmm, but the range rover Evoque is tempting too.. Hmm…. This one or Evoque?

• AVH (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 2:42 pm

I am just adoring the headlights, say waht you want that is the most beautiful thing to come out of Japan, and is worth putting in taking a look just for that alone, if you’re ever in the market.

The NX isn’t what I call a good looking car, its what I call a striking one, something to distance itself away from the Euros, which Lexus themselves publically acknowledge is doing, as far as design. In this segment, only the Evoque is better looking in my opinion, the rest is only so-so, even the X3 and Q5 in my eyes (and since the Q5 is already againg) looks dull.

The NX looks what I believe a Japanese car should, wild and futuristic, in reminiscence to the futurepunk style. Too many its overstyled, to me I kinda like the character it has. And this time with a modern Euro-competing Turbo engine, there is a very high chance this will perform rather well. I dont believe however that it will sway people away from the Propeller and quad-Rings badge, given there are swarth of grey imports which are cheaper, but at least cut a bigger portion of the pie.

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Its a very good looking car. The price is a bit high-ish, but competetive against the Evoque, which will be its closest rival. The X3 is a RWD based car, so handling will be much better (less understeering). Can’t compare to the Macan lah. That one in a different class. Plus, it costs a whole lot more.

So now, when is that 2.0 turbo going into the IS & GS?

• Jason520 on Dec 18, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Obviously, the Range Rover Evoque will be one of the competitor. (Of coz.. don’t compare with the Hybrid version of Lexus NX)
    Personally,I will go for the Range Rover Evoque if i got 300k.
    Beside that,the hp and torque output of this car is too weak, even the Tiguan 1.4 can easily get ahead.

• TheAnonymous on Dec 18, 2014 at 5:52 pm

I agree with you,I also will go for Range Rover Evoque rather than the Lexus NX.. BTW, the Tiguan 1.4 is definitely better than this Suv as I just went through their official website, found out that the max torque of Tiguan 1.4 is within 1500-4500 rpm which mean it has better pickup than the Lexus NX 200T (1650-4000) but the Tiguan 1.4 just selling at RM178k..