TomTom Traffic – now available for Malaysian maps

tomtom traffic

Navigation service provider TomTom has announced that TomTom Traffic information is now available in Malaysia. Also joining the updated list are Thailand, Saudi Arabia and United Arab Emirates. In Asia, both Singapore and Taiwan are already running the service.

This brings to 41 the number of countries it is available in. TomTom Traffic provides the latest accurate traffic information for highways, major roads and secondary roads. It also includes congestion forecasting, which indicates whether a jam is growing or dispersing and estimates how long a delay will last.

“We are excited to announce the launch of TomTom Traffic in four key emerging markets, where we know traffic congestion is an issue,” said Ralf-Peter Schäfer, head of traffic at TomTom. “Our aim is to help drivers get there faster and support governments to better manage traffic flow.”

Apple’s Maps app uses data from TomTom, and the company also retails standalone portable GPS navigation devices in Malaysia.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Àlahai (Member) on Dec 19, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Better than stupid waze and their arrogant moderator.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • Preve Owner on Dec 19, 2014 at 9:44 pm

What are you talking about. TomTom is even worst. Proton Preve, Lexus and most famous of all Apple Map’s reputation suffered because of TomTom’s serious bad quality problems. Totally useless maps and I wonder where on earth do they get the traffic info from? BTW cant find even one shop selling TomTom PND in Malaydia. Are they kidding us? Since when April the first came this early?

• You sure it’s better than Waze?

Tom Tom, you better improve your M’sia map first before talking about providing traffic info.

• wazer on Dec 19, 2014 at 2:37 pm

agree. otherwise u will see congestion indication at roads that are not even drawn yet.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 19, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Waze oni better than other map apps for social sharing of info.. other than that better take other map provider.

• TommyT on Dec 19, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Ok, but can the current cars with built-in tomtom gpses get traffic reports or do they need buy a new one?