TomTom GPS products now available in Malaysia

tomtom xl 250

The burgeoning GPS market in the country gets a new face, and it’s called TomTom. The company’s foray in to the market here begins with the arrival of three of its portable navigation devices, the TomTom GO 750, TomTom XXL 550 and TomTom XL 250.

The units, which promise ease of use, feature award-winning navigation software and many key driver-aid functions such as Advanced Lane Guidance and text to speech.

tomtom go 750

All three models come with maps of Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia and Brunei pre-installed, and you can get the latest map update available via the free TomTom Home software program within the first month of use.

As a bonus, you get an additional year of free map updates. TomTom Home will also allow you access to items such as Map Share changes as well as customisation options for voices, car icons and splash screens.

Available at major consumer electronics retailers across the country, the TomTom XL 250 is priced at RM649, while the XXL 550 goes for RM799 and the GO 750 retails for RM949.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Anti Proton on Oct 05, 2010 at 8:15 pm

the best gps system here. now garmin no longer has a monopoly =)

• Tiadaid on Oct 05, 2010 at 8:28 pm

Garmin is better actually. You don’t have to pay to update your map as you do with TomTom. Too bad they don’t do one for the iPhone. Last time I used the Garmin software on my old Nokia 5800 it worked like a charm.

• Anti Proton on Oct 06, 2010 at 12:00 pm

lol i rather pay for a better usage experience

• Tiadaid on Oct 07, 2010 at 9:19 am

I don’t think the usage experience is much different, considering I’ve experienced using both of them. I still believe Garmin’s better, because the most important thing in a GPS navigator is its map, and Garmin wins hands down on that criteria.

• Aussie on Oct 07, 2010 at 4:26 pm

Dude, you don’t need to install Garmin software on your Nokia. It comes with ovi maps for free and it doesn’t require live data connection as long as you have downloaded the maps using your computer!

• So are they selling Tomtom Iphone gps holder as well?I kinda dl-ed Tomtom Malaysia at USD59 but idiot never wrote any pre-requisite until i tried to find it out.

• Tiadaid on Oct 06, 2010 at 3:21 am

They don’t meed a gps holder to operate. I’m using it for my iPhone, and I just use a normal, RM10 holder.

• William on Oct 07, 2010 at 5:42 pm

The holder aint any normal holder , it boost the gps signal , ppl with thick tint on car has poor gps signal or even no gps signal , so with the iphone a-gps alone is not enough to operate , that is why the tom tom holder is needed .

• poor_man on Oct 05, 2010 at 8:53 pm

Sigh. Another case of America gets it better :(
    I bought an even older (and cheaper) Magallen Maestro for about 70 USD and it still got us from Orlando to Miami and Everglades National Park. Why oh why are we hit by expensive ‘higher end models’ :(

Apparently the last time I checked, the discounted Tomtom 130S with separate Malaysia map download was still cheaper.

• 4G63tDSM on Oct 06, 2010 at 8:01 pm

You have to understand that US roads have been static for a while, hence using an older unit with an older map still would work resonably well.

Here on the other hand, no matter what you have, the map are usually all crap since for a place like KL, it changes so often. I have an old garmin from yr2002 and it still works great in the States. But for malaysia, Garmin maps are still better.

Just a year ago, Garmin and TomTom stocks were taking a pretty big hit when both Google and Nokia announced free maps. (Ovi maps pretty much suck for a place like KL). You need a live data connection for these to work well (ok so you can down load OVI maps, but it still sucks)…

• Justin on Oct 07, 2010 at 4:16 pm

I have been using Nokia Maps/Ovi Maps in both Malaysia and Australia. It works well without live data connection. Just make sure you download the maps before you use it so that you don’t need live data connection while driving/walking. Anyway, Nokia Maps/Ovi Maps comes with free updates and can be used worldwide for free! It is surprising that people don’t seem to know that Nokia Maps/Ovi Maps can be used for turn-to-turn direction without live data connection even though they own a Nokia with GPS receiver.

The map quality and display contrast of most higher end Nokia is a lot better than Tom Tom’s.

• paparadzi on Oct 05, 2010 at 9:19 pm

How much is the update after the free first year?

• The first picture, isn’t it at Sydney M5 motorway..used it before. Nice, i like the map navigation..glad that it is available here now.

• dukenborg on Oct 05, 2010 at 10:22 pm

At last Tom-Tom’s here!! I was starting to think we’d never see them in Malaysia :)

• bornehatred on Oct 05, 2010 at 10:34 pm

nice..n its affordable to0

• Paul Tan on Oct 06, 2010 at 12:15 am

Their maps are OK but not fantastic I guess, I’m using the TomTom iPhone app for navigation on my iPhone 4. They still haven’t updated it for the Retina Display.

• what i like about tom tom is that i can use darth vader’s voice with it… check it out… im thinking of getting one just to have darth vader in my car..hehe..

http://starwars.tomtom.com/voices/index-starwars.php?Lid=4&voice=darthvader

• ex-ToyotaOwner on Oct 06, 2010 at 6:03 pm

haha! fkin awesome!

i heard there’s also some jamaican voice pack…. that would be hilarious too!… “yeh monnn toorn left monnn”

• Tiadaid on Oct 07, 2010 at 9:10 am

The TomTom on iPhone have a Malay voice, but super “pelat”. Everytime she gives a direction I couldn’t help but laugh.

• How detail is the Malaysia map compared to Garmin? anybody own this can comment?

• bro paul gps is not a movie. u need a accurate/practical map inside rather than beautiful graphics.

• Seatux on Oct 06, 2010 at 10:38 am

Wonder if the guys at MalFreeMaps and MalSingMaps would make TomTom maps now?

• InGeNieUrS on Oct 06, 2010 at 10:46 am

Between Mapking, iGo, Papago, Garmin… i think all have its own pro and cons..

Garmin is the most update maps.. – i lost in a bush because it use the ‘kampung road’ as the alternative/short cut.. thanks Malsing map for the update..

IGO – not easy to update, need to pay to update..

Mapking – Same like iGO, but not too user friendly

Papago – same like iGO, but have 3D view..

now, 5 inch GPS made in Taiwan/ China (with Bluetooth, FM transmitter, accessories) just around RM400..

what i am confused, some claim that it have 32 satellite receiver… but from the facts we only have 24 satellite, (6 orbit x 4 satellite each). maybe the others 12 is UFO..hahaha

• Ordinary Joe on Oct 06, 2010 at 11:14 am

I had both the Garmin nuvi and TomTom when i was in the UK. The TomTom was way better – Way friendlier, nicer maps and more accurate compared to the Garmin. But i only brought back the Garmin with me as there were no TomTom Malaysia maps back then.

• klaka seram on Oct 06, 2010 at 11:52 am

I’ve been using Garmin for almost 5yrs, great tool for driver, and you can get free maps too. maybe this time I should give tomtom a try

• SweeJ on Oct 06, 2010 at 1:53 pm

i’ve used Garmin & TomTom in the UK/Europe, Garmin & Navman in Australia, Papago & Garmin in M’sia.

in the UK/Europe, TomTom has better street level maps compared in Garmin, but bring ur drive out into the country side where B roads & off-track/dirt roads predominate, and Garmin reveals more, better accuracy & the maps are more updated.

Garmin & Navman in Australia; Navman is pretty much the same as TomTom in Europe, though has good updates. Garmin faired very well down under as well.

in Malaysia/SG: Papago, hmm….. maps hard to update i agree. Also, i would have said, with all GPS devices, interface is a preferential thing. but i can’t get used to it at all! not user friendly. Garmin works very very well here, especially with frequent MalSing maps updated. i have it on my Nokia E52, and i love it, very easy to use. it’s very accurate & locks on superfast vs stand alone GPS devices. well, maybe it’s bcoz it uses A-GPS to help a faster lock onto the satellites at expense of cellular mobile data charges.

it’s a pity Garmin don’t do GPS on iPhones, or else i’d have that on in a jiffy. i wonder how TomTom will do in M’sia.

• how does Goophers compare to Garmin, Papago, Tom2, etc. Goophers now using PowerMaps.

• Where to buy? Or at least mess with demo unit?

• Shaekey on Oct 06, 2010 at 2:32 pm

For me, the best PND (Personal Navigation Device) in the world is nothing but crap if the map is crap. You still get lost if the map is not updated or worse might even get into an accident. So in Malaysia, if the map is not supported by malfreemaps I probably won’t even consider buying the device.

• true.. most important is updated map…

– easy and free to update, can consider to buy..
      – if not easy to update, or need to pay for the update..just ignore it..

• Currently i’m using garmin asus..doing a good job so far :)

• Paul / harv / anthony / danny, is it possible if you guys could do some reviews and comparisons of all the gps thats being sold in malaysia… especially these 2 brands.. papago, garmin and tomtom….. im considering buying 1 but i just cant pick which one..

• Pls also include Goophers in your comparison and also to compare the various Map providers, i.e. Mapking, Malsing, etc.

• TOM TOM is actually pretty global.
    TT is THE original fully focused GPS system. It has nothing else except Mappings. As for Garmins and other brands, they tend to include the MP3 player, video player etc, which is real flimsy. I myself would go for a brand that focus well on their mapping solutions because i see no point of having an MP3 player and video player on a GPS unit. You either have a CD/ipod player in the car, and you most prob have a phone or iPod that u can watch vids OUTSIDE the car. You wont be watching a video while driving? and as for passengers, the screen is too small to be used regularly.

I bought a (brand new) TOM TOM back in 2006 in Germany for my daily trips around town and around the country, used it for 4 years and had no problem with it. Helped me get to my destinations (both in and outside Germany) easily with no fuss.

What was shocking was that there were 30 pre-installed voices and languages, and guess what, theres also a female voice name ERRA who speaks in MALAY.
    It was funny to hear, “Selepas tiga-ratus meter, pusiiing kiri. Kemudian, Ammbiiiil ferry”
    Was a blast to use it, sadly had to sell it off because had to move back to KL.

I recommend TOM TOM. though not as phone applications, TOM TOM would not work well, it works great in its original GPS package.
    Id buy it soon, its quite affordable compared to Garmin. Its more of a professional choice.

• thanx for the review.. very useful..

• GPSworld on Oct 27, 2010 at 3:53 pm

aggre with u… in last september TomTom have announcement a Soft Release for Malaysia… sooner TomTom will be in malaysia market…

• Where to buy and see demo unit

• GPSworld on Oct 27, 2010 at 3:42 pm

actually TomTom didnt using maps from MalFreeMaps. TomTom is using Tele Atlas Maps that in the production of maps is using the satellite Tracking that would be more accurate. as i know, even garmin its better fo some people, just wan to inform u guys. that Garmin using NavTEC maps. their using a satellite imagery as a reference then their draw a line on their maps overlay with their database… so, which is more accurate…?

Garmin is popular on Asia Pacific but not europe, but Garmin is Made in German. now, TomTom is coming to Asia Pacific that will be a Garmin best competitor… Garmin have been in malaysia for how long? 5 -10 years? but there is still hv a missing connectivity also missing coverage for some place. but TomTom in Malaysia just for 1 Years, and the maps is 53% complete coverage. if there is have a POI missing, as i know. TomTom using MalsingMaps data for POI.

more info that i recieve is, soon all update maps is free… :)

• jazman on Feb 19, 2011 at 1:43 am

I have used tomtom in UK, excellent lots better than garmin.

• i want to ask where can i buy this tomtom in malaysia??
    does anyone know the shop??
    its look great to me this tomtom..

• ridhwan on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:04 pm

Got TomTom UK/Ireland version bought last 4 yours. Serves great even in the country side. Will install Malaysia maps on it and definitely bring it back to Malaysia next September.