Jalan Travers stretch to be renamed to Jalan Rakyat

Screen Shot 2015-01-15 at 6.46.26 PM

At the recent launch of Bank Rakyat’s new headquarters, officially christened the Bank Rakyat Twin Towers, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak announced that a portion of Jalan Travers running in front of the buildings has now been renamed to Jalan Rakyat.

The 300 m stretch links the Jalan Tun Sambanthan intersection with the intersection between Jalan Bangsar and Jalan Travers.

“It is to perpetuate the name of Bank Rakyat and celebrate the people who are the lifeblood of the excellence of Bank Rakyat, comprising the multiracial members, clients and society throughout the country,” the premier said at the event.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• zend3r on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:56 pm

not again

come on.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 5
    • Bravo Tax Payers on Jan 15, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Putrajaya Boys very free… got nothing else better to do

Job priority no.1 is renaming roads as its more important than saving the country from growing polarisation and economic tailspin.

Will Jalan Tun Razak renamed soon too ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
      • Maserati(Official) on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Anything to get rid of the English names because the English names are non halal and Budaya Barat.

Don’t worry, the contract to change all the DBKL signages and maps and all the software from PDRM helicopters and KLIA radar software will be given to some relative of Najib or the KL Mayor Phesal

• Jaba The Hut on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:23 am

How about Jalan Beggars, Jalan Homeless, Jalan Pengemis?

Instead of chase them away, name road after them lah.

• Maseratits on Jan 15, 2015 at 7:00 pm

SO FREE TO RENAME ROADS, WHY NOT BETTER SPEND YOUR TIME TACKLING MORE IMPORTANT ISSUES?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 6
    • Important issue cant talk in mamak while having teh tarik~ naming roads can talk in mamak ma~

• Crony King on Jan 16, 2015 at 2:36 am

Huh? What is mamak? I only dine in Shangri-la and Hilton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
        • start-a-fight on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:56 am

add — backalley

• Crony King on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:15 am

Back alley is for poor rakyat in perodua like you. My Bentley cannot even squeeze thru.

• lol

• khalis7 on Jan 15, 2015 at 7:31 pm

Hahaha..only recent 6-7 yrs gov. acknowledged bank rakyat as a GLC..during it’s first 50 yrs of establishment they had to take themselves w/o any form of assistance..I can say this bcos my parent was the staff of the bank and recently retired as senior bank manager in one of its branch in KL so info I got is 1st hand..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • start-a-fight on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:58 am

boo…. without government staff loan from bank rakyat.. bank rakyat will not be as what he is today…

and u say gomen did not help.. hahahah… u tickle my ball on friday morning laa bro..

u got first hand info?

boooo….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:10 pm

u don cork la……ur parent is only senior manager thats why he doesnt know sheet about the bank

• We should change the main putrajaya road to Jalan Najiss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 9
  • holofanboi on Jan 15, 2015 at 7:39 pm

I applaud the government for this move! :D

Now i will gladly drive like a maniac on Jalan Rakyat and if someone were to yell

” OI! You punya jalan ah!? ”

I look forward to yelling ” YA!!! ” in return :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • AVH (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 11:28 pm

Imma get a RWD car[Tengku Djan Drift Waja for example, a Rakyat’s car] , in a Payday mask but with the ‘Jalur Gemilang’ painted and a huge ‘Jalur Gemilang’ flying at the back and just do donuts all night.

Don’t want any guy name Travers to hog the road.

• holofanboi on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:55 am

LOL

You know, that sounds perfectly cheesy…surprisingly fitting for a merdeka surprise event xD

*you have my vote my for MP*

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 15, 2015 at 7:56 pm

All the nice colonial English names are disappearing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • trollmaster3000 on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:28 am

probably to ensure that our younger generations will never knew or to be reminded that we were ever colonized, occupied or plundered by the british.. that they only came here just to enjoy our scenic view and teach us a thing or two here in malaya..

• yes. and about time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Wei Paultan.org, apa ni? Whats it got to do with cars? No story oredi? Now becomes a PM fanboy is it?

Work harder. Go out there and find some automotive news to break. Lame journalism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 43
    • jinggo on Jan 15, 2015 at 11:05 pm

ya la.. kita mau news pasal kereta.. haiyya!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • fanofthisite on Jan 17, 2015 at 4:10 pm

you tak pakai jalanraya meh bila pandu kereta?

• Farking idiot.. u think there is gonna be this many ppl on this site if it is all about roads.. betul2 bodoh la lu..

• overlappedloan on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Saya misti pillay!

• kar hoe on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:59 pm

why not change all the roads to jalan rasuah lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Kelvin Lew on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:01 pm

Time for Majlis Amanah Rakyat (MARA) to live up to the Rakyat part of its name?

• AkooIm on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:08 pm

I wonder which road stretch will be renamed to Jalan Rosmah…
    Around Pavillion area perhaps…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
  • So, Jalan Rakyat to be renamed to Jalan Travers huh? Roger that.

• useless on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:21 pm

this will only bring confusion. i dont c the point

• bibikbiru on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:26 pm

Why not Jalan Screw-the-Rakyat?

I mean, this is most of the rakyat is feel at the moment….hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • lrrre on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:33 pm

omg,why them change name in every single road in kl.

• Meanwhile the ringgit continue to plummet, oil continue to plummet..

But of coz, our dear PM who is well versed in fengshui discover that a name change of a road to rakyat is all it takes to cure all the problems in our country. Malaysia Boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • maXref (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:44 pm

Lol, Malaysia’s top man’s job is renaming our roads? God help this country

• bnissohai on Jan 15, 2015 at 10:01 pm

next time..jalan bukit bintang will become jalan najib

• policeman on Jan 15, 2015 at 10:05 pm

Only a portion will be renamed? So now there is Jalan Rakyat and Jalan Travers?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 1:29 am

Indeed, there will be – the road starting from the end of Jalan Bangsar headed towards the National Museum is still called Jalan Travers.

• takNakP1 on Jan 15, 2015 at 10:23 pm

when i read 300m, i almost feel off my chair.
    too free meh!!!

• frossonice on Jan 15, 2015 at 10:25 pm

Well, at least it is short and memorable, not like 8 others been renamed previously. Sounds more people friendly too, not some elitist that are out of touch with the average people.

• superbird #43 on Jan 15, 2015 at 10:26 pm

how about i make a new signboard of the new road in the town, bearing the name of my dog before any1 from the authority decides its name? :)

• noreasonwhy on Jan 15, 2015 at 11:17 pm

Bank Rakyat so powderful huh? Sooner KL Sentral will rename to Rakyat Sentral

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 12:23 am

the irony that the most racist bank in malaysia (if ure indian or chinese forget about working for them) is being used to name a road where it supposedly symbolises the “rakyat”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
  • Think rationally on Jan 16, 2015 at 2:27 am

Renaming the road is just going to confuse people more especially travelers when using their GPS.

P.S I bet no country in this world will rename their roads as frequently as MALAYSIA

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:27 am

Can’t blame Paultan. Slow car news day. Its only a 300m stretch. Some people have driveways longer than that. If you line up Jay Leno’s denim shirt & jeans collection in a single file, it’ll be longer than that too. His car collection would be as long as the LDP, maybe.

• gaviny on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:46 am

Hello tan sri, boleh claim expenses to change all the addresses, business card, official documents?

• mangsa kete terbabas on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:47 am

jalan ni ade orang letak minyak time hujan, hati2 ye nak kalau lalu nanti terbabas pulak.

• ariz8 on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:22 am

How about naming other roads to Jalan Mongolia, Jalan Kangkung, Jalan kapal selam etc

• Jalan NFC Lembu, Jalan AP King, Jalan Korek Korek Korek, Jalan PKFZ, Jalan 1MDB

• slowly erasing historical road name ie erasing history?

• clarkson on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:03 am

who uses bank rakyat anyway? and wat contribution they done?

• keluangman on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:47 am

government workers or GLC workers still uses them as they get “special” interest rate, unlike us private sector workers, get charged interest like mad. Wait till you hear about how much divident you get from their “saham koperasi” annually, but to be eligible to enter you must be their loyal customer with “significant business” with them.

Saya mesti pileyyy

• wtf?…lol…..our pm must be very free sitting at home cirit-birit from e-coli. I have never seen any no. 1 leader of our country doing this kinda time wasting work.

• Khalid on Jan 16, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Stop changing all the historical English name to Malay names.. Its meaningless. Putrajaya has nothing better to do?

• Redline on Jan 16, 2015 at 3:00 pm

So 5 years later, if the Bank Rakyat Towers has been sold off to, let say the Royal Bank of Scotland, and the Towers name has also been changed to reflect the new owenership, does that mean the road name will also be changed to Jalan Royal Bank of Scotland?

All these road name changes are unnecessary la.

• Cadbury on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:59 pm

even Jalan name also condemn. typical negative mindset.

• Khalid on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:56 am

Its not negative. We dont see a point. Do we condemn if G really does thier work? Ans is no. Im a big fan of Mahathir when he was PM but not Najib. Najib is a ok guy but his anak buah is too talkative. Have to get rid of them.

• Keris Jawa on Jan 18, 2015 at 11:00 pm

Yo! Semi-Value pariah! Try walk into any bank or any company for that matter, controlled by Cina Apek or India Pariah! Melayu jadi eksekutif je la kat situ sampai mampos! Habis semua top positions kena kepong macam Tembok Cina! Tengok MISC, Citibank, HSBC, or Public Bank. Tempat-tempat yang terang terang nama apek macam Hong Leong, Mah Seng or whatever name toksah cerita la. So stop blaming Melayu trying to bagi peluang kat bangsa dia to do something they’re prevented from doing so elsewhere!!! Paultan don’t you dare block this comment as you allowed that Sami-Value pariah to pass through!