Perodua gunning for record sales in 2015, 208k target

Aminar Perodua

Powered by the strong selling Axia and facelifted Perodua Myvi that was launched today, Perodua is looking forward to a record breaking year. The market leader has set a sales target of 208,000 units for 2015, which is around 6% more than the 195,600 units the company managed last year. P2’s previous sales record was 196,100, achieved in 2013.

“We are humbled by the response and support shown to us and we will continue to offer better value proposition in both our products and services to our customers. That being said, we remain cautiously optimistic to achieve our sales target of 208,000 units despite the challenging economic and market conditions,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh.

At a media briefing today, Aminar said that demand for the Axia is still healthy with 66,400 units booked from August to December 2014. Of that number, 29,100 units have been delivered to customers.

The Perodua Myvi facelift, which comes in two faces, is priced from RM41,500 to RM58,500

The refreshed Myvi is expected to shift at a rate of 6,000 units per month. Perodua has sold over 800,000 units of the roomy five-door hatch since 2005, over two generations, making it the firm’s most popular nameplate ever.

Moving forward, greater attention will be paid to the after sales business as Perodua sees better growth potential in that area in the mid to long term. The target for intakes (number of vehicles patronising service centres) is 1.97 million this year, from 1.92 million in 2014. Sales of parts and accessories are expected to go up by 6.2% to RM258.9 million this year.

“We foresee the growth coming from the increase number of new Perodua vehicles on the road to be serviced as well as our efforts to further improve our after warranty customers coming back to our service centres. While the growth in our after sales business may not be that significant this year, better results are expected in the coming years as more after sales facilities and resources come on board,” he added.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• With that 1.3 bumper looks?? Hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • Ibrahim on Jan 15, 2015 at 5:08 pm

They will be laughing to the bank not you.

• ProtonGSC on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:01 pm

What you mean was their salary bonus and not bank.

• Anonymous on Jan 17, 2015 at 12:28 am

According to Reuters, Daihatsu (Perodua) is willing to sacrifice quality for price: [customers in Malaysia and Indonesia] “don’t expect parts to last for five to 10 years, so they are more willing to sacrifice durability for price”. Scary stuff. Mea culpa

• We certainly don expect door handle to drop at the showroom like the gen-2 and dashboard buttons to drop like the Preve.

• What is Good 4 Perodua, is Bad 4 Malaysia on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:16 pm

When cars like Perodua does well, it means that the country finances and its people are not doing well.

So dont see such budget cars anywhere else in this region other than Indonesia.

• takNakP1 on Jan 15, 2015 at 10:31 pm

101% agree.
          i have the same thought when i read the title.
          it means P2 is making most of their profits from the lower income group.

i m reconsidering my plan to buy Myvi if my car time is up and i am still not willing to pay more tax after paying monthly to the tax sampah tong.

i will consider 2nd hand 1 or 2 yrs Myvi, worst case go for manual since manual now has lower RV & lower possibility having issue.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Myvi is such a low class car, I have no idea why people even buy it. Many people will complain that they buy it because they cannot afford luxurious cars like Toyota but the truth of the matter is that, you cannot afford expensive cars is because you are utterly lazy and don’t want to work hard.

If you work hard, you don’t have to aim so low in life to own a pathetic Myvi as your family car. You will be ablt to own a nice D class sedan like the Camry.

So, instead of blaming the Government for all your troubles and problems, work harder to earn more money. Time to stop being lazy!

• Abraham on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:08 am

BMW, Mercedes, Rolls Royce Malaysia branch all reporting big sales here. In fact the market volume is increasing, everybody enjoying increase or maintain market share except Proton suffering downward spiral.

• Sam L0r on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:05 pm

You all have to work hard so you can afford Camry 2.4 like me. Good RV and you won’t regret. Now I have 2 cars park outside my cheras flat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Abraham on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:58 am

Perodua = The love of the nation. 208k units and counting up.

Proton = The joke of the nation. 115k units and losing more.

• Abu Sayur on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:32 pm

but still will out sell iriz so called “nice” design

• hook2 on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:21 am

Ofcourse lah, iriz dont have anti snatch hook and retractable cup holder. There will be 200 000 people in this year dying to have these things. VSC etc no need as long as got tapau hook. You know…

Now i started to believe that majority of car buyer in malaysia are indeed less educated in car things. Easy to buy hearsay and my friend of my fiend say, and when see many people use the model, that model must be produce by god.

• Abraham on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:10 am

Buy Perodua = kepala tidak pening.

Buy Proton = habiskan annual leave cuti sakit for service centre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • pening on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:05 pm

Of course lah, when die in accident in p2, no need to pening about this world things anymore…

• dodgeviper88 on Jan 15, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Congratulations perodua. Clearly you are doing very well. With that said maybe it’s time you all be playing on a level field together with your good buddy proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Har.. play 1 league lower? Why should P2 go low to P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Albert on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:32 am

Dodgeviper88,Proton has been playing in a lopsided field for too long,given numerous Grants amounting to several( TAX Payers funded) RM Billions),milking out treasury dry inspite of unending Perlindungan.
      Imagine a man aged 27 asking for milk for lunch and dinner,when he should be on solid food.Proton is a stunted,retarded organisation with no will to change,unlike Perodua.

• Low Budget on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:44 am

Play on level playing field with the rest? No way!
      If level playing fields, you will see 90% of cars on the road will be Toyota, Nissan, Honda, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Subaru and Suzuki.

• Nice!

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Perodua be like having same old engine and gearboxes but still making profits. -Perodua guys

• MusTanG on Jan 15, 2015 at 10:44 pm

well, Vios did it. Why couldn’t Perodua kan?

• Low Budget on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:47 am

Vios and MyVi ain’t broken, so no need to fix it.
        Only plug and play the Bumper and Grills for the next 10 years will do.

• Same Junk, different clothes for years….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Ibrahim on Jan 15, 2015 at 5:49 pm

It sells you know!!

• guesy 2015 on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:14 am

Name me a new car that price around rm 45k
        lol we malaysian got no much option in term of buying

• Low Budget on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:50 am

At least you have the two Ps (Saga, Iriz, Axia, MyVi) to choose from, this is the definition of competition in Boleh Land.

• Meanwhile proton…..if perodua sedan exist, i believe proton sales easily drop by 30% – 50%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
    • Tong Kosong on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Tun Mahathir pernah berkata

“yang berjaya akan terus berusaha, yang gagal (proton) akan menyalahkan orang lain (perodua?, bank?, rakyat malaysia?)”

the problem: ugly design & build in quality and after SALES service and too expensive.

Nobody will pay 80K for problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • Abu Sayur on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:34 pm

confirm la. only proton fan boys still clueless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Stupid comment of the year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Abraham on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:59 am

Perodua Sedan car = confirm Proton tutup kilang.

• Iris tak laku on Jan 15, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Ah Beng(member) What is your sales target this year?
    Your car got so many this & that still cannot fight kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • 20 years of screwing with sane rakyats, this is karma.

20 years of screwing up – P1 new motto, you’ll see on their number plates soon.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:06 pm

We all target 99% of shared market 1% for them to share.

Proton Iriz best2, Myvi is shit.
      Proton Saga king of road, Axia is bull shit.

DrM the saviour of mankind, and he’s not cronies Father………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • Super on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:18 pm

When the result speak, itu je la ayat machai proton blh balas. Ada hati mau 99% share, nak cecah 20% pun seksa.. ke x paham apa itu mrket share. abiskan belaja subject yg repeat paper tu dulu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 15, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Typical Proton Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok lifestyle.

Empty talk? A lot!

Buy the car to support Proton? Slow slow wait…

• Afraid on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:38 am

Myvi sales alone in 2014 can tapau 71% of Proton total sales for the whole year. Still thinking of 99% share? Even Toyota also almost overtake Proton sales!!

• Very Goat on Jan 15, 2015 at 5:19 pm

In and out , all very goat !

• yameroerosenin on Jan 15, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Yep, it was never a hustle to walk in, claim warranty and do routine services at any SC in Malacca and Terengganu. Two thumbs up. Sime Darby Auto Connections should learn from Perodua. Two middles up to SDAC.

• azhar on Jan 15, 2015 at 5:56 pm

its a dream come true if proton can hit even 180k unit this year..perodua kick proton arse yet again

• Low Budget on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:54 am

It is not just ‘again’, but ‘again and again and again’. They only have to change Bumper and Grill to beat Proton, what an irony.

• Super on Jan 17, 2015 at 2:25 am

People go for the brand that they trust.. doesnt matter how the bumper look like.

• Veneno on Jan 15, 2015 at 7:17 pm

instead of making the facelift, they should make the new Myvi.. many things are not right, except for fuel efficiency, it is very efficient.. handling is the most obvious one, very terrible.. its skinny tires doesn’t hold the road very well, got massive body roll during heavy cornering, sluggish, the steering doesn’t give any feedback at all..

• ahhoi on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:09 am

Majority owners dont care. As long as got hook and cup, handling bad no problem, safety bad aslo can close eye.

Cant believed this! 200 000 will be like this in 2015.

• Aero (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:05 pm

High sales doesn’t necessarily mean that the car is actually good. Some of the world’s best selling cars are terrible. (eg. Wuling van)

Low sales doesn’t necessarily mean that the car is actually bad. Some of the best cars is the world sell in the mere hundreds. (eg. McLaren P1)

• McLaren is a niche market car. Ordinary people don’t drive Mclaren to market or sending kids to school. And it’s beyond the budget of 99.99% population.

When people get to choose a car with same price range, the one with higher sales is definitely good.

• ahhoi on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:06 am

200 000 malaysian are expected to prefer tapau hook and retractable cup holder this year.

Ofcourse p2 will dominate again, all because of majority Malaysians taste is …….

• Low Budget on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:57 am

You need to ask the question why P1 do not want to cater to the taste of majority of the Malaysians?

• Abraham on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:03 am

High sales = trusted and loved by Malaysians (eg.Perodua, 195k units)

Low sales = blame rakyat, minta duit MITI (eg.Proton, 115k units)

• Albert on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Congrats,Perodua for being daring to set 208k units sales target.
    You have the network,reasonable built quality and fuel efficient vehicles and a hardworking sales force.
    However,we cant say the same for proton,which is languishing in sliding sales,like our depreciating Ringgit.
    It is shocking today,Proton placed a big advert in THE SUN for 2014 Saga SV selling less than Rm30K.
    2014 proton sales comprise 50percent Saga ,in terms of the most saleable product.Now,there are huge number of unsold 2014 manufactured units,…imagine,the SAD state of affairs at Proton.
    Proton,if nothing corrective is done,will only enjoy sales of 95,000 units this year.Give it 2 more declining years,it will be game over then.

• Damn u…dun talk cock here

• Super on Jan 16, 2015 at 1:21 am

U r the one who talk cock OMG.. Albert talk absed on fact. See the advert in local newspaper. or u dun know how to read

• Albert on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:16 am

Your excellency Mr.Super Duper,OMG should be banned from writing to this column for using vulgar language,cos he cant allow others to express themselves.(Fellow Victorian,Mr.paultan ,kindly delete all these vulgar comments,if not ,your website will be full of shit).
          Anyway,Super…there will be no more chance for these Proton fanboys to be annoyed or for us to write FACTS anymore in 2 years time…cos by that time DRB will call it a day,cos sales would be below 70,000 units for Proton which hutang berjuta juta and is insolvent by then.We will be writing about same Lorr’s Toyota fighting with Perodua,renamed PERTAMA by then.

• Low Budget on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:04 am

Please go to Proton website to check it out, price starting from RM29xxx.

• Tiger on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:54 pm

As a long term Wira driver, me absolutely agreed…the Mivi handling is inherently unstable especially during cornering, and yet u see many ah beng driving like mad in our highways..and wats so proud about the sales figure when u r virtual monopoly in a protected market…no other carmakers except P1 prices come close

• Super on Jan 16, 2015 at 1:23 am

P1 previously also proud bout their sales figure under virtual monopoly in a protected market. Now it is vise versa.

• Afraid on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:53 am

But…but… if there is no protection at all Proton will be in a worse state as it is. Even now 90,000 malaysian bought Vios, City, Jazz in 2014 instead of similarly priced Preve and Suprima and i can’t imagine what would happen if those cars are able to be price even cheaper. Just take a look at Langkawi prices and top spec Vios, City and Jazz is cheaper that top spec Preve and Suprima.

• i hate to say, but the gold actually looks not bad. ppl will still buy, bcoz these r malaysian’s taste. Perodua should bring back the Kenari, there is already so many generations of the daihatsu move

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:55 pm

IMHO they will continue to hit their target sales record as long as the public isn’t educated on safety standards in cars…

Now if Paultan.org were to do public awareness on safety in vehicles campaign roadshows nationwide things might change…

• Come on … you still don’t learn your lesson don’t you Proton?
      Selling product 101 – do not insult your potential customer.
      You product can’t sell, blame your self. Not the public.
      Rakyat indeed smart already. They have been smart since the decline of Proton.

You screwed the rakyat for 20 years, the rakyat will screw you for the same amount of time.

• ahhoi on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:11 am

E.X.A.C.T.L.Y.!

200 000 malaysians this year seriously need education about safety.

• Albert on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:38 am

Anyway,you guys out there…dont you think it is still too expensive for a basic Myvi without ABS,EBD to be priced rm45K? It costs hire purchase slaves RM 9,500 and 12,200 in interests charges for 7 and 9 years loan applicants.
    A more reasonable price should be anything below rm 40 k.

• Abraham on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:53 am

Asalkan bukan Proton.

• Low Budget on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:07 am

If price below RM40K, they will whack their own sales of Axia model.

• jacksonljs on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:39 pm

Below RM35k is possible, just reintroduce Myvi 1.0E basic spec, probably without alloy rims, parking sensors (somehow small compact cars doesn’t really need these) and remote control side mirror still acceptable. (if only manual offered is still ok so that it doesn’t cannibalise into Axia sales which has auto option from G spec onwards). Power? OK lah, still acceptable. Same goes with Iriz 1.3 manual that i test drove before (pickup is quite satisfactory although 1.6 are lot more better). My point is, whatever it’s basic spec or highest spec for a particular car model, as long we are satisfied with it, it’s good enough already.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 1:04 pm

P2 aim to sell 200,000 cars. GWM aim to achieve 10% of this amount…..all in the expense of P1. As a P1 user, I had wanted to get the new Iriz but decided to buy M4 instead because I was disappointed with the product vs the asking price.

• P2 should be allowed to manufacture SEDAN!! P2 FTW!

• 4roda keranda on Jan 16, 2015 at 3:04 pm

People should stop buying perodua. It’s a coffin on wheel. They are just top selling volume coz people have limited budget. Remove the protection, and whoila, nobody bother about proton or perodua.

• jacksonljs on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:46 pm

Don’t say Perodua only, instead people should stop buying any new cars that doesn’t comes with VSC or stability control what’s more it cost more than RM50k. Those automatic/CVT cars without VSC/ESC for me is ‘too dangeorus’ to drive on the road even with slow and steady apek driving style as there’s virtually no engine braking to control the vehicle speed unlike manual cars (that’s why i wouldn’t even touch an auto/CVT cars that doesn’t have stability control).

• jacksonljs on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:48 pm

additional point, VSC/ESC is no longer a ‘nice’ or ‘luxury’ features, but it’s a necessity.