2015 Toyota Camry starts M’sian production, plant capable of 7k Camry Hybrids before exemptions expire

Toyota Camry Hybrid Line Off 41

UMW Toyota Motor held a line-off ceremony to mark the start of production of the 2015 Toyota Camry at the Assembly Services Sdn Bhd plant in Shah Alam earlier today. Three variants will be produced here – the Camry 2.0E and 2.0G petrol and the Camry Hybrid 2.5HV, the latter being the first Toyota hybrid to be assembled in Malaysia (CKD).

Nearly RM180 million has been spent from 2010 to 2015 on the Camry CKD project, and as a result, the newly-set up line at the Shah Alam plant is capable of churning out 9,000 units of the Camry – 7,000 of which being the Hybrid variant – over the next nine months.

The nine-month mention is of interest – it points to December 2015, which is of course when the government’s tax breaks for CKD hybrids are set to expire. As of now, there are no plans yet to extend the incentive, so Toyota would want to ride this nine-month wave as much as it can while it awaits feedback from the government.

Toyota Camry Hybrid Line Off 43

Already launched in Thailand, the 2015 Toyota Camry has been spotted in Malaysia several times – the Camry 2.0 will get a new 2.0 litre VVT-iW D-4S engine and possibly a six-speed auto. The new 6AR-FSE engine, manufactured in China for our market, has separate twin injectors for both direct and port injection, and makes 167 PS/199 Nm, compared to the current 2.0 VVT-i’s 150 PS/190 Nm. With the six-speed auto, a 13% fuel efficiency improvement is claimed too.

The Toyota Camry Hybrid has a 2.5 litre Atkinson-cycle VVTi four-cylinder petrol engine that develops 160 hp and 213 Nm of torque. The 2AR-FXE joins forces with a 143 PS/270 Nm electric motor and an eCVT gearbox for a total output of 205 PS and a claimed consumption figure of 19.6 km per litre. A hybrid battery warranty of eight years with unlimited mileage will be offered. This same eight year warranty will also apply to other new Toyota hybrid models on sale, but sadly not available for existing Toyota hybrids already on the road.

From the looks of it, the Hybrid models previewed at the ceremony will feature most of the toys found on the Thai-spec 2.5HV – there are twin-projector LED headlights, a 10-speaker JBL Green Edge Tech sound system, a Qi wireless charger and Blind Spot Monitor.

Toyota Camry Hybrid Line Off 9

Local cars lose out, however, on triple-zone automatic air-conditioning – sticking with the current car’s dual-zone system, albeit with a new Panasonic Nanoe ioniser – and power-reclining rear seats, and there’s no indication for now of whether they will receive the Thai cars’ full suite of active and passive safety systems.

According to UMW Toyota president Datuk Ismet Suki, the updated Camry and Camry Hybrid are set to be launched on April 2, and both will be priced under RM200k. With reference to the upcoming Goods and Services Tax (GST), Ismet made no mention as to whether prices will go up or down, but he said that any savings will be passed on to the customer.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Under 200k camry… Wow.. Toyota/UMW laugh to bank wei…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 12
    • Same L0rrrr on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 165
      • ProtonGSC on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:13 pm

Soon you will get 17 cancellation and more too come after GST start…

UMW marketing team and management are just too greedy and arrogant.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 17
        • Malaysians are VERY STUPID on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:54 am

Malaysians are very very stupid. This car in the US is only US$25,000 and its CBU with 10 airbags and loads of other safety features that our stripped down Camry will not have.

At this price, Toyota of the USA already paid US Federal Government excise duties and taxes and at this price also, they are still making a good healthy margin.

UMW Malaysia will get this car at country distributor price of maybe US$18,000 direct from its principal in Japan.

Being in CKD format, it should be even cheaper. Maybe the cost now goes down to US$15,000 per car.

Then they strip down all the airbags and Tyre pressure monitoring system, VSC and everyting else, the cost of the car should be US$12,000 or less.

Since this car is a Hybrid, there is no tax in Malaysia for now. So, US12,000 is aout RM40,000.

But sell RM200,000.

This is how stupid Malaysians are. Being cheated by a Government owned GLC. Here, Government cannot protect the public from a cheating car company because, government themselves own Toyota and UMW. How to protect the rakyat?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 196 Thumb down 67
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:43 am

Remember the Toyata luxury brand LEXUS CT200h 1.8 Hybrid CBU Japan only priced at Myr 150k under CBU tax exemption policy.

Toyota Camry Hybrid (Non-luxury brand) with CKD tax exemption should below 150 estimated around myr 130k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 12
          • Same L0rrrr on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:54 am

Well, there is bookings and there is cancellation of course.

Let me update my status here:

Booking: 21
            Cancellation: 0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 58
          • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Even here Same Loor come and promote his Toyota. This is how desperate the Toyota salesman is now. For years they come here spreading rumours about Korean cars having bad RV. Then people checked mudah, carlies and oto and saw for themselves that Korean and Japanese got same RV. Infact, Toyota has the worst RV now.

The truth is out Same Loor, Sam Loo, De la Junk and Sam Loo (ori1)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 14
          • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:17 pm

No 21 bookings la. People know UMW tipu them for 20 years already taking out VSC and putting their lives at risk.

Even Toyota ardent fans are leaving Toyota and buying cars like HRV and X-Trail Nissan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
          • paulnut on Mar 24, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Sam 25yrs old son used proton saga anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Don’t waste your money now. Wait one year. If 2014 Camry 2.5 can be sold for RM95k now, a drop of RM85k in just 11 months, imagine how much this Hybrid will drop. We all know, Hybrid drops faster than normal petrol engines.

Wait one year, you can buy this Camry hybrid for RM70l

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
          • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Don’t waste your money now. Wait one year. If 2014 Camry 2.5 can be sold for RM95k now, a drop of RM85k in just 11 months, imagine how much this Hybrid will drop. We all know, Hybrid drops faster than normal petrol engines.

Wait one year, you can buy this Camry hybrid for RM70k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
          • areyou on Mar 24, 2015 at 2:03 pm

Are you malaysian?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Same L0rrrr on Mar 24, 2015 at 3:17 pm

When the Proton salesman has no sales to close, nothing to do, they simply come to PT and talk crap.

And they still imagine I will keep a junk (Proton lar of course) at home. LOL As I always said, junk attract pests (cockroach, lizard, paulnut).

Pity the salesman going to be jobless, however with their communication skill, not even kimchi showroom wanna hire them.

Camry Hybrid update
            Booking: 23
            Cancellation: 0

Why Toyota so expensive? Thanks to Proton and its mighty protection. Proton should give out free condom with every Proton purchase, coz Protection Da Best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
          • Irwan on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:34 pm

Yes agree with you…. Here the govt tear people apart….

• u are more stupid on Mar 27, 2015 at 10:59 am

I think u are more stupid than all Malaysian made such comparison. u think we have choice? stupid

• What RV? What RV? What RV? on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:53 am

All lies. UMW Toyota themselves have ZERO bookings on the Hybrid, how this clown alone can have 17?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
          • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Same Loor, like all other Toyota salesman are liars. After all, if Toyota USA can lie for more than 10 years that their cars got no problem and it took the US Government to threaten them to confess about their faulty pedals.

If Toyota USA can lie, whatmore UMW Toyota Malaysia? and their salesman?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • Fahmi on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:04 pm

Somebody traded in their Hyundai Sonata/Kia Optima to you? You say lose 70% value right? I want that one instead, very good deal indeed..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 10
        • Low Budget on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:29 am

Many of us still waiting for his offer of RM40K 1 year old Elantra! We might want to name him talk kock salesman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
          • Kentut Simex Tayar on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:33 am

Sam Loo, Same Lorr and Sam Loo (ori1) are losers in life. they got zero sales now in UMW, so they are so bored, they come here and tok kok. Bang, I am waiting to buy Elantra RM40k from you la?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
          • I also want his 1 year old Elantra with just RM40K. What a deal.

• The Truth About UMW Toyota on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:30 am

Aiyoo yoo. Habis la Toyota now and their arrogant salesman. This RM200k is the nail to Toyota’s coffin in Malaysia.

Nobody is touching Toyota now. Salesman all crying. It is known as the Moving Coffin. Bad luck to buy their cars. Before I talk about the rubbish Vios without VSC, lets talk about their Camry first.

Let us start with the Camry. The Camry, everybody boycott because at first when they introduced, it was the only Camry in the world without VSC. UMW thought it is better to reap more profits than the lives of Malaysians and took out the VSC. Then news went viral online and everybody started to boycott Camry. Sales dipped like mad. then UMW damage control. They recently put VSC back into Camry cars but people still remember what a useless company UMW is to give peanuts to Malaysians and sacrifice our lives. A 10 airbag CBU Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000 (RM60,000). Here, we pay RM180,000 for a Made in Malaysia car with 2 airbags and no VSC. (now got VSC). Now with this recall, who really wants a Camry?

The Altis, nobody is touching also. This car in the US, after discounts and bargaining is US$12,000. (RM39,000) My brother just bought it a brand new 2014 Corolla. Comes with 9 airbags and so many more features our toilet CKD does not have.

UMW Malaysia will get this car in CKD form direct from Toyota Japan for about USD$8000. If Toyota USA can sell the CBU in USA for US$12,000 and still make money, UMW for sure will be getting this car far cheaper.

In Malaysia, we get the jamban made in Malaysia model with 2 airbags and no VSC. A Moving coffin. When a car does not have VSC, it is known as a moving coffin. Half the parts are Made in Malaysia. But the car is sold for RM139k. That is why you hardly can see an Altis on the road despite nearly 2 years launched.

Why do we have CKD when the CKD cost more than the CBU? To support crony part manufacturers? Rm39,000 vs RM139,000.

Anyway, Malaysians know that the Toyota Corolla is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you see it on the road at all? Drive the whole day and you hardly can bump into the 2014 Altis or a Vios despite being launched 1 year plus already (Vios). Everywhere you see Elantra or City. Somemore Honda give 5 years vs Toyota’s 3 years warranty.

Malaysians rather buy Hyundai Elantra. The car after discounts can get RM85k and comes with VSC. Also, the car is a much bigger C segment than the Altis. No wonder why we see Elantra everywhere.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Toyota Vios should be named as Toyota Moving Coffin because a car of this price, with no VSC is a risk to you and your family.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.
          How UMW? Still no VSC? All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard!

Our lives not important UMW?

The Vios is a Big big failure. No need to write a lot here. The City with VSC beats it flat. Tak payah cerita panjang. Even the apek jual ikan also know City is more highly specced than the Vios. So Vios is dead.

Sam loo(ori1) and Same Lorr also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and say Toyota got good RV but in truth, nobody is going to buy UMW’s trash in Malaysia. Even now, their RV jatuh like hell. 11 months old Camry 2.5, you can buy RM120k, drop from RM180k. In 11 months, the car can drop RM60k. Now people say can even get the Camry 2.5 2014 model for even RM98k. Wah! drop RM80k in 11 months!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 11
          • Sandra on Mar 25, 2015 at 9:33 pm

a loo is a British slang for ‘jamban’

It suits Sam Loo extremely well!

• Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:22 pm

for months so many of us have been asking Same Lorr and Sam Loo (ori1) to buy these so called imaginary Hyundai. But he keeps quiet.

Shows he is lying. This is the job of the UMW salesman. They are bored in the office. Got no sales. So, go online and spread false rumours about RV.

What is true is this…..Toyota RV now is plummetting because everybody knows about VSC and airbags and how UMW has cheated us the past 20 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 23, 2015 at 9:28 pm

I learned my lesson with Sonata.

Only bastards like Sam will benefit from sorhais like us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
        • Asking u to provide contact, many ppl willing to buy your 2012 sonata at RM35k.
          We can pay u another RM1k minum kopi!
          Please…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
        • Sam bought his son proton on Mar 24, 2015 at 8:52 am

Dont believe uncle who bash proton but bought proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:59 am

Stop being jealous. We know you got zero sales. Play testicles in the office ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • This car is for rich man and this is my dream car! can i have one plz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
      • Low Budget on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:32 am

This car is designed for the ordinary men in Jepun and Cowboy Land, but sadly become a car to own by some in Malaysia so to have bragging rights.

• Toyota Saleman Crying on Mar 26, 2015 at 6:32 am

This car is for those having high aspiration an natural leaders.

You will never see a true succesfull businessman in a Starex or Carnival

• Same Lorrr on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 149
    • UMW Mampos on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Please f off with your RV statement. Cars are not supposed to be investment at the very first place. Investment should be put into a safe car instead. UMW is infamous for its tin kosong car with little safety feature. Now go back and put your “stick” into the the cars’ exhaust that are left unsold in your Toyota sold room and have fun with it. F off.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 24
    • jemah on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:22 pm

mak jemah tak pandang RV mak jemah pandang style dan design…sorry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 15
    • When u dead in ur poor safety Toyota, RV can help u buy coffin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 14
      • jacksonljs on Mar 23, 2015 at 8:21 pm

Of course, plus, crashing in a new jamban made UMW Toyota cars are made to be much more easier (who knows, this FL Camry will have all extra airbags and VSC removed again just to gain more obscene profit). No VSC especially in automatic/CVT cars, even 40 km/h can make a car to lose control at anytime anywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • What RV? What RV? What RV? on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:42 am

No point have good RV when you accident, because of no VSC, you become vegetable or cacat for life.

Anyway, even RV also Toyota don’t have nowadays. Go to mudah, oto and carlies, RV for Toyota now lower than Korean cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Malaysian “kutuk kao kao” when P/Campro engine made in china.. but now Camry engine also made in China…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
      • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Toyota is now known as Moving Coffin because due to lack of VSC, you are sure to either die in it or become cacat vegetable in an accident.

• What RV? What RV? What RV? on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:36 am

My bro just bought 2014 Toyota Camry 2.0 for 85k. Car is only 9 months old. What RV you talking about? No accident at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • RV??? on Mar 25, 2015 at 12:30 am

85k for a camry 2.0 2014??u must be dreaming

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 26, 2015 at 6:19 am

He was shown the Hilux last week when trying to trade in his 2013 Elantra.

Please forgive him. His mother can’t even recognize his face for a few days. So ker lian

• 6airbags and stability control for all the range please Toyota Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
    • What RV? What RV? What RV? on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:45 am

UMW rather see Malaysians die than lose their high untung per car without VSC

• Albert Sam on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Buy 308 better than this junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 22
    • Bruise on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:56 pm

Fack you laa…new 308 is well known better ride car than Camry…ur mind should move forward dun looking back old 308. Dun follow Toyota concept moving forward to coffin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 38
      • lionroar on Mar 23, 2015 at 8:47 pm

8 secs camry century sprinting is useless when your handling wayyyy below 308’s conti quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • drive facelift 308 for 3 years.
      no problem.
      good performance,potong car like potong cake.
      safe car.
      manage to avoid 2 head to head collision due to it solid chassis and responsive steering + vsc.
      Average aftersale service.
      i pay 120k and i think lot worth of the money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:56 pm

As long as it is not a kimchi, it will not sui kwan

• Thanks Jonathan James Tan Tan for reporting this piece of good news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • But looking at the boot size of hybrid… kena eaten by the battery and power control module…

• wahlao on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:45 pm

Drove this car back in ostolia as rental last year..good fuel mileage almost clock 1000km per tank! But u cant speed anyway in ozland… running on pure electricity alone is awesome..utter silence…anyway knowing UMW, below rm200k =rm199,999.99

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • proismesolisten on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:45 pm

aiya 7000 camry hybrid but who going to buy, think malaysian soha.i ka?

800 units per month target? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • I predict 50 dailangong per month will go buy this rubbish. So this year can sold 450 units

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:30 pm

If Camry 2.5 2014 model can drop from RM180k to RM95k, imagine this Hybrid model. In one year’s time, you can buy this Hybrid for RM70k

• Is this even a news? Seriously, starting a facelift production is a news?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 28
  • Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:15 pm

After selling my Sonata for RM30k, i don’t feel small and sidelined anymore

I may consider this new Camry if its assembled in THailand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 7
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:16 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 44
    • RV=regret value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 34
    • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:03 am

Amazing how Sam Loo Ori1 and Toyota Salesman Crying refresh their pages and click like on their own comment. So sad. No sales. No job. So free in UMW to do all these nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • too expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • The original cost only 33k, after G tax is 66k, Toyota greedy make 200% profit then price at 198k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Interesting to see that blind spot monitor is now a feature on the hybrid – rather surprising for a Toyota, but I have a feeling that there are only 4 airbags (can see the tags on the front seats, but I don’t see the signs on the A pillars…). At least there is VSC.

But the thing is, Toyota should have not waited this long to build the Camry Hybrid locally. In fact they could have cleaned their act up last year itself with the pre-facelift Camry Hybrid, offered more features and got it out on the road faster.

I am guessing this will be the end of the 2.5V, which is the first time the Camry’s V variant will be eliminated since it was introduced with the XV30. The 2.0 will be interesting to see if it can give a run for the Koreans. Still not sold on the looks, I feel the Honda Accord pulls of a better job and the Mazda still looks like a better option, especially considering the range topper will be with a CVT – something some people (me included) don’t quite like cause of the noise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Blind spot warning is already a feature among Toyota cars. Only in Japan, Europe and North America, unfortunately.

• the empire strikes back! on Mar 23, 2015 at 6:00 pm

Toyota to top No1 non-national car again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 25
    • Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 23, 2015 at 9:31 pm

Hyundai is No. 1 (from the back) for resale value.

KIA and Ssangyong cannot even be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 19
  • brazbuz on Mar 23, 2015 at 6:00 pm

Capable of produce 7000 out of 9000 of camry hybrid. They really wanna sell only 2000 unit of 2.0 only? Price it cheaper than 2.0 variant and u maybe can clear all the hybrid stock

• Must sell above $250k so only the rich can afford.

Later proton marah.

The middle class can only buy potong and perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • camppd on Mar 23, 2015 at 8:51 pm

Honda can sell city with more features than Vios around similar price, why not Toyota?

• kevin1234568 on Mar 25, 2015 at 11:55 am

Cannot, vios is well known as the flying car. more features = more things added= more weight= no more flying= no more save fuel

• cendol (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Rm200k for this car
    GST alone is Rm12000
    Exclude insurance, road tax and number plate.
    Thanks government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • Keyword : RM180 Million invested on the Camry CKD project.
    UMW going to squeeze you to the maximum to recoup their investment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Contender on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:02 pm

Well, all the 7000 units of CKD hybrid is sold out due to overwhelming response …… for those who wants the Hybrid CKD will have to wait if govt will extend the so called incentive for CKD Hybrid. Well there is the 2.0 model for the rest and that is on 6months waiting period ……. LOL

• hahaha2222 on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Buy Mercedes A Class, MINI or Volvo v40 rather than buy this !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • jacksonljs on Mar 23, 2015 at 8:37 pm

if you don’t mind a bit crampy interior (even Mercedes A-Class W176 series felt a bit crampy for me esp. legroom as i have drove one before few times, but still manageable), i would agree.

However, most D-segment or even C-segment sedan, if not all other cars, even ‘rebadged’ Protong Accordana are much more better than this POS Camry in every aspect. However the positive side that this Camry got is very high RV, which is ‘Regret Value’ as hailat feeling kicks in the moment it driven on the road everytime, everywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • dugongx on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:54 pm

You will suffer the hailat feeling kicking in yo!… every second driving this junk camry.

• I have difficulty to find a comfortable good legroom driving position at any car. Is either I can stretch long enough and there is not enough legroom for rear passenger seat or doest enough for me. It always either way, except s-class. After a long hour drive in s-class, my back saki pula coz of the steering has already stretch at its limit which insufficient for me.

I really need help of finding cars! There is few cars in my head and I’ve tried it. I’m looking at E-segment (just forget about W212 and any 5-series). Any suggestion here? I don’t mind D-segment anyway.

Thank you!

• shawal on Mar 23, 2015 at 8:30 pm

The mark-x-ish looks is miles ahead of its predecessor…
    we all have to thank Honda, Nissan, Mazda and other manufacturers to bringing up their A game to the D-segment sedan to ensure UMW clean up their act and catch up….

just have to wait and see the price OTR on 2nd april later

*boot space is respectable for a hybrid with full size spare underneath

• dugongx on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:56 pm

Don’t forget sushi cars started bucking up due to the onslaught by kimchi.

• 160k for hybrid will be laku if well speced. 200k forget it. This is Toyota not Lexus.

• Albert on Mar 23, 2015 at 9:24 pm

People in US are getting the basic camry for around USD 22,000 plus.In other words ,they are paying what we pay for Vios but get a Camry instead!
    Shambolic Taxes and unrepentant UMW are the causes of this massive RIPOFF.
    Shambolic taxation is the root of financial slavery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • danedz on Mar 23, 2015 at 10:20 pm

I think few hundred units will be purchase by gomen..

• good joke.

• Singh on Mar 24, 2015 at 3:58 am

Wake up guys. Take a really good look. The cockpit looks dated. The rear of the car also very dated.
    The seat pitch is shorter than most D segment cars. The footwell width for driver is also narrower than most D segment cars. Still only carries four airbags for a RM200k car? This car is a facelift upon facelift to an already very old and tired architecture.
    We need a totally new model to be launched by UMW, not this.

• angah on Mar 24, 2015 at 6:24 am

Under RM 200k, how many years of loans that customers need to pay for this?

Nobody can easily take your money in your pocket if u did not let them.

Personally, I will ignore this car and maintain my current cars and stop buying any new cars (local, CKD and imported) say for 2 years or so, until I see a significant price drop (without compromising specification). I will also convince others in my influence to do the same. Healthy loan for cars is only 2-3 years, not 9 years as on now.

If we do this together, TIV will continue to drop, stock will pile and whatever taxes imposed and GST will become irrelevant. Surely price will drop…

Let do this together, and we as customer will actually control car prices, specs, features and everything.

What say MITI, MAA, MAI, car companies, banks will become yada yada yada…

When the buying stop, the killing can too.
    When we work together we can win this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • mythbuster on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:09 am

agree with ……

When the buying stop, the killing can too.
      When we work together we can win this…

let us(customer) decide and control the car demand.

• dugongx on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:16 pm

Agreed. I will only buy used car if necessary from now on.

• Jilbaber (Member) on Mar 24, 2015 at 9:04 am

I praised for the technology (but then again its not so novel)…but I condemn the interior…ughh so lame and boring…I’ve been in the per-facelift and dare say no different than old 1990’s car..not thought at all in design department..

• dugongx on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:17 pm

Why feed the cronies with so much tax money to buy jet?

• Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:25 pm

Malaysians now don’t want to buy Toyota. Toyota is GLC. GLC money goes to buy RM450 million jets for the PM who already has 5 jets. The latest jet needed an extra RM28 million just to make the interior posh.

• Alizo on Mar 24, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Malaysian still pengkah BN…now semua padan muka…hahahaha

• Toyota Fans on Mar 24, 2015 at 3:18 pm

let’s said selling at RM200,000 each
    This year total unit sell = 7000 units
    Total sales = RM 1,400,000,000
    Assume cost per vehicle = USD 30,000 (RM 111,[email protected] convert rate)
    7000 unit cost = RM 777,000,000
    Total investment mentioned so far = RM 180,000,000
    Total Revenue = RM 443,000,000
    Total Revenue per vehicle = RM 63,285.71

Pretty easy to speculate the cost I guess

• kayaar on Mar 28, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Did you forget the tax?

Just viz.. Camry 2.5V Price..
      Semenanjung RM181,000
      Langkawi RM117,000
      Taxes(?) RM64,000

Note: 2015 Model Camry 2.5G price in Thailand is Baht1,600,000…

• Edmont on Mar 24, 2015 at 3:21 pm

oh no the same rear that really kill Toyota..

and the wooden panel.. can’t they just have that one in black greyish ?

holy crap priced at 200K.. moving forward with unthinkable specs again ?? zzzzz..

• DPCraft on Mar 24, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Is Accord Hybrid coming to M’sia ??

• Alizo on Mar 24, 2015 at 6:00 pm

jangan bising lah, last GE so many people still pangkah BN, now padan muka la…every things is Barang Naik.

• hahahaha on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:17 pm

better wait for FORD MONDEO, x100 better than this crap

• Flyguy70 on Mar 25, 2015 at 6:11 pm

According to Paul Tan, this Facelift new 6AR-FSE Camry engine are manufactured in CHINA for our market!…….Engine made in CHINA for our MALAYSIA MARKET?!

Question: Is this new Engine made in CHINA still reliable as before than those made in JAPAN???

Possibly UMW still stick with 2 air-bags for 2.0G (Even new Honda HR-V 1.8L V with lower price tag of RM115K already given 6 air-bags liao!)

If the new price for Camry Facelift 2.0G is lower a little bit as claimed by UMW, will pay more than RM150K++ for this CHINA MADE ENGINE Facelift Camry 2.0G??

• lancelot on Mar 25, 2015 at 11:49 pm

Engine is made by Toyota that has plant in China. They chose china due to low cost of labour. But the quality is still up to toyota quality.

• Toyota Saleman Crying on Mar 26, 2015 at 7:17 am

Engines for Camry ACV30 were made in Australia

• toyota camry walau dah dibuktikan lasak tapi memanduannya tidak menarih dan selesa..sring terlalu lembut seolah2 tayarnya tidah menjejak tanah..kalau pandu laju kurang stabil dan kurang meyakinkan pick up pun lambat…jadi toyota bukan pilihan saya…

• Toyota Saleman Crying on Mar 26, 2015 at 7:14 am

Sila pergi ke kedai jualan Hyundai dan tempah kereta kimchi.

Anda pasti di garanti mimpi ngeri.

Dalam masa 18 bulan, anda pasti nak jual. Jumpa Sam dan dia akan tunjuk anda kereta Hilux.

Saya adalah mangsa kereta kimchi

• Toyota Saleman Crying on Mar 26, 2015 at 7:10 am

Having learnt the lesson with my rotten cabbage, I will never ever be stupid enough to buy Korean again.

3 years of hard work with zero recognition plus having to park far far away in family gatherings – never again

• mondeo on Mar 26, 2015 at 12:52 pm

its go weird whn u askg ppl about camry…

1st question
    a: y buy camry? mahal la..
    b: ppl arrogant when buy camry ( mahal x yah beli, they said ) nmpk kaya…

2nd question
    a: y buy toyota?
    b: top brand & jual ada harga…

note: u act like rich ppl whn using camry but @ same time u need ur money back whn u sell it…so totally u are dumbass ppl who so..so… not rich & more to act standard but totally not!…LOL!

• pierre on Mar 26, 2015 at 4:08 pm

“The Toyota Camry Hybrid has a 2.5 litre Atkinson-cycle VVTi four-cylinder petrol engine that develops 160 hp and 213 Nm of torque. The 2AR-FXE joins forces with a 143 PS/270 Nm electric motor and an eCVT gearbox for a total output of 205 PS.” can someone help me out with the math here?

• I wonder why there are so much wood in a car. I just wonder Kayu=Luxury???

• wee ru yi on Mar 26, 2015 at 8:41 pm

how much monthly salary can get camry?
    if i pay 10% deposit.

• Flyguy70 on Mar 26, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Come-on lah, a Panasonic rice cooker MADE IN JAPAN where got SAME QUALITY as a Panasonic rice cooker MADE IN CHINA one?!?

Engine spare parts suppliers and workers’ mentality in CHINA was completely different to in JAPAN!

No wonder my wife’s new Vios that purchased about 6 months ago was on poorer quality as compared to the previous version Vios where % of spare parts that MADE IN MALAYSIA for new Vios had increased more than 50% now! My wife’s new Vios installed Roof top insulation due to noisy sound during raining and changed Engine mount due to defect recently. ‘Thanks’ to our Malaysian UMW again!!

So, personally I believe that this new 6AR-FSE Engine MADE IN CHINA will NOT reliable as before than those MADE IN JAPAN!

• CarzyMobilo on Mar 28, 2015 at 1:32 pm

I drive a 2012 Prius Hybrid CBU..
    Thought of upgrading to the New 2015 Camry Hybrid CKD.. I even placed my booking money on a unit but after doing a little bit more research and internet searching, I found out Camry Hybrid has the most problems …
    I m reconsidering on buying this car now…
    So Same Loo…. Im sorry but Toyota is busted

• boyboy on Jul 11, 2015 at 1:52 am

Perfect for use as Malaysian Taxi,concurrent with Taxi fares