Last unit of limited Lotus Exige LF1 sold to Malaysian

lotus-exige-lf1-last-unit-malaysia 997

Earlier today, Lotus Cars Malaysia held a hand-over ceremony for the very last unit of the Lotus Exige LF1 – of which only 81 have been made – in Pavilion KL. The event saw Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah and Lotus Cars Malaysia head (also Proton R3 boss) Tengku Djan Ley present the keys to owner Datuk Nik Hamdan and his daughter.

Why 81? Well, Lotus has had 81 Grand Prix wins, and each of the numbered Exige LF1s celebrate the victories in chronological order – for example, car #1 commemorates the first victory at Monaco in 1960, while #81 marks Kimi Raikkonen’s 2013 Australian GP win. Nik’s is car #52, which represents the 1973 Austrian GP win by Ronnie Peterson. Nik is in fact one of two Malaysian buyers of the car, we’re told.

Lotus Exige LF1 owners are treated to factory tours for two at Lotus Cars’ Hethel, Norfolk, UK facility and the Lotus F1 Team‘s Enstone headquarters. Also thrown in is a Collector’s Edition Owner’s Pack which includes an Exige LF1 Membership Card that entitles bearers to discounts on Lotus merchandise. Finally, owners get a half-scale replica of Romain Grosjean‘s helmet, a Lotus F1 key fob and a Lotus F1 USB stick.

The F1-inspired black and gold paint scheme with red accents do make it look good. Peeking through those gold alloys (17s front, 18s rear), wrapped with Pirelli P-Zero Trofeo R tyres, are AP Racing four-piston callipers and two-piece ventilated and cross-drilled 332 mm discs.

Other features include an aero package comprising an unmissable front splitter, rear diffuser and rear spoiler, a free-flowing exhaust system with bypass valve, Lotus Dynamic Performance Management (Touring, Sport and DPM off modes) and track-tuned four-channel ABS.

Inside, the trim is in leather and “technical fabric” with plenty of gold contrast piping and stitching. ‘LF1’ logos are embroidered on the headrests; ‘Lotus F1 Team’ logos on the seat backs. Completing the package are an individually-numbered carbon fibre build plate and CF engine plate.

The limited-edition is based on the Exige S, so a 3.5 litre DOHC VVT-i V6, fortified with a Harrop HTV 1320 supercharger utilising Eaton TVS technology (how exciting does that sound?), feeds 350 PS at 7,000 rpm and 400 Nm of torque at 4,500 rpm to the rear wheels via a six-speed manual ‘box. The car reaches 100 km/h from rest in four seconds before maxing out at 274 km/h.

Of course, for Malaysia, the Lotus Exige LF1 was offered on a special-order basis. We’re told the starting price was RM438,777, before taxes. In comparison, the regular Exige S Coupe, which is officially part of Lotus Cars Malaysia’s range, will set you back RM405,777, nett before OTR costs.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• FIST (Member) on Mar 28, 2015 at 8:11 pm

Let’s hope she’s a good driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rrrr on Mar 28, 2015 at 11:15 pm

As long as it’s using Toyota engine, she will not face any problem and yet she has full confidence with it thanks to the Toyota engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 35
    • And if you able to date her… then can test drive BOTH (I mean her sport car and her normal car).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • ahbeng1 on Mar 28, 2015 at 8:50 pm

RM400k+ but inside looks like satria neo???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 13
    • The other way round, tt’s neo’s dash design derived from Lotus car

• powershot (Member) on Mar 29, 2015 at 7:06 am

interior looks even worse than neo. even worse than saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Obviously you’re not aware of Lotus design and styling principle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • heybadigol (Member) on Mar 30, 2015 at 12:58 pm

Lotus has always prided itself in awesomeness through light weight. Hence, the bare chasis bottom – to trim away the useless fat. But I think it looks great. Plus, you could put a small bag or a handbag between the driver & passenger (underneath the dash).

• bestbuy on Mar 28, 2015 at 9:36 pm

What a waste of money buy this car, better buy nissan gtr ada uuummmph. Lotus lousy car not excited to have this car . Sam looo no resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 31
    • sambalbabi on Mar 29, 2015 at 12:58 am

because they can.

by the way gtr35 is so common nowadays. and it’s bulky.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
    • youarenotrich on Mar 29, 2015 at 6:33 am

He has money he can buy any car, unlike you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • rigid on Mar 30, 2015 at 8:11 am

i think they already have GTR. so, maybe just wanna buy other car that what she/he wanna try.

• Did Proton begged the Datuk to buy their car since Proton has low sale. Even the Datuk also doesn’t want the car so gave to her daughter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
    • Yes, you’re right…..Proton must be busy globe trotting to beg the other 80 buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Ruslan nordin on Mar 28, 2015 at 11:21 pm

What a show off!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Sam Loo's Bapak on Mar 28, 2015 at 11:52 pm

better use the 400K and buy other cars that are better in performance, handling and style….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • Finally…can start plan 2 close down from Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • car-fans on Mar 29, 2015 at 12:02 am

Better use that amount for other better car! Inside design outdated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Mar 29, 2015 at 12:06 am

That chick is hot..Hnnnghhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Diesel Power!!! on Mar 29, 2015 at 12:31 am

With such an interior, now i know y lotus dun make much money….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • fuyofuyo on Mar 29, 2015 at 7:54 am

power window ada warrenty ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • sick&tired on Mar 29, 2015 at 9:40 am

Datuk Nik Hamdan is the Company Director of Weststar Group of Companies. One of its main customers is the malaysia’n army. so now you know how this fellow can afford to buy a lotus for his daughter. with GST coming, the army will have more money to buy vehicles from Weststar. Malaysia Boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
  • mamatwhyla on Mar 29, 2015 at 9:44 am

Still on normal disc brake, c’mon lotus? Where is carbon ceramic?

• fooi yo…datuk’s toy car

• Felix cortez on Mar 29, 2015 at 12:00 pm

the buyer owns the most advance helicopter fleet in southeast asia. His chopper count is more than what the army, air force and civilian owns.. He buys helicoptes like it is a candy….

• cendol (Member) on Mar 29, 2015 at 12:03 pm

THe interior is hideous .

What’s with the 2-tone and silver color at the bottom.

It seems like just ‘bare metal’

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 29, 2015 at 7:11 pm

I have to agree. The exterior of the car looks beautiful. You walk around it, take in all the curves and creases, then when you’re satisfied, you open the door.

“What the heck is this? Did I open the door of another car by mistake?” you might find yourself asking.

Perceived quality (which is already quite important in the B-segment car market, by the way) is extremely disappointing here in a RM439k sports car. They really need a serious discussion and revamp of their interior if they intend to attract new buyers to their brand. I get that their intention is to have a minimalist cabin but an interior can still be spartan, minimalist, without looking so much like an afterthought. Having the floor sides looking like bare metal is like they neglected to put the cladding in. And…yeah…they should really ditch all that silver paint and accents in the cabin, including the one around the steering wheel, handbrake lever and shift knob.

The only thing aesthetically redeeming about this car has got to be the exterior, which is quite handsome for me.

I know Lotus’ ethos around building their minimalist, lightweight cars but, come on, you have to be honest about that cabin. It’s not the most inviting now, is it?

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 30, 2015 at 9:18 am

Obviously, if the customer is looking for a bit more creature confort, there is always the Evora and if one can wait, the new Esprit.

The Elise and Exige has always been minimilist in design right from the get go.

In malaysia, these will be exclusively rich mens play toys. If they want creature conforts, there is always thier fleet of luxobarges to choose from.

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 30, 2015 at 3:31 pm

Oh, I’m not talking about creature comforts. Just a better product impression. Minimalism doesn’t have to look unappealing to the masses. Could be as simple as choosing a different color for parts or changing the shape of something. More attention to detail, etc.

• Buy before gst. :D

• Arell on Mar 29, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Ha, he bought product of a sinking ship!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • thebosssedangbercakap on Mar 29, 2015 at 3:26 pm

at first when I saw the interior, I thought i was in the year 2000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Hai Datuk NIk on Mar 29, 2015 at 4:08 pm

Lucky daughter, do you bother if me driving you around? :D

• It’s performance not bad, 0-100 km/h only 4 seconds can fight gtr35 ..

• lol…u gonna be serious bro, this car performance is average for what it can do , it only special that it is a limited edition lotus pride’s road car…that is, and it will be track performance more than on road performance , Gtr35 is on another level to compete with this one here

• All the money proton made in malaysia selling their cars to the poor and marginalised ended up in norwich propping up lotus and their high pay and first world economy.
    If Porsche had continued building cars according to tradition i.e. rear drive rear engined cars, they would be bankrupt. it took a guy with great foresight to build SUV’s and front engined sports cars for porsche and it became the most profitable manufacturer in the world.
    When will lotus follow suit? or are they still napping.

• jason6767 on Mar 29, 2015 at 10:00 pm

i spot a Hublot watch on his wrist.

• greatsong on Mar 29, 2015 at 10:53 pm

Why would a gurl want this kind of car??? Why datuk want to buy this for his daughter?? A coupe bmw or merz or audi???

• rigid on Mar 30, 2015 at 8:16 am

because he already have bmws, mercs and audis parked somewhere around malaysia.

• Leonardo on Mar 30, 2015 at 9:05 am

Obviously if her father can buy this Lotus, she would also have a BMW, Audi, Mini, Porsche,etc, in their family garage.

• random on Mar 30, 2015 at 2:31 am

barakah petroleum’s boss. also has a chrome gold aventador

this car is spare change for him

• I would really love to own a Lotus!!!

• frossonice on Mar 30, 2015 at 10:01 am

It’s a limited edition car. Most likely will be kept in storage and price will increase. They will not care whether the dashboard looks dated or not.

• blackbox on Mar 30, 2015 at 10:18 am

When you driving this car, it’s time for you to feel the steering, the throttle, the handling…. Why you so concern about the dashboard?

• TROLOLOL on Mar 30, 2015 at 11:18 am

Female driver + Manual Car = ???

• Random on Mar 30, 2015 at 10:44 pm

Yerp, founder of Barakah Offshore.. Other then Aventador, he got 911 Porsche, BMW 5 Series, BMW 7 Series, Merc S Class Hybrid, Lotus Elise and Alphard too..

• to random guy on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Mate, how do u know he owns all those cars? you’re such a creepy person, mate.