Lotus Malaysia prices revised – Elise S now RM280k

s4-7754-CIMG5863

Lotus Cars Malaysia have announced new pricing for its range of cars in Malaysia. The new pricing represents some significant drops, which should make Lotus cars a lot more accessible for Malaysians.

Here are the new prices.

• Lotus Elise S – RM279,888 (previously RM332,200)
  • Lotus Exige S Coupe – RM405,777 (previously RM467,230)
  • Lotus Exige S Roadster – RM410,777
  • Lotus Evora S – RM475,999 (previously RM567,250)

Lotus cars also now come with a three-year manufacturer’s warranty and a two year free maintenance and service package. Each car also comes with a complimentary one time Lotus Driving Academy entry, where Lotus owners will be taught to explore the capabilities of their Lotus in a safe and controlled environment.

elise s 03

The Lotus Elise S has become a particularly interesting proposition – a buyer who typically goes for a manual Toyota 86 or a Renault Megane RS for weekend track fun could opt for an Elise S instead, since the pricing has come down to below RM300k. The Elise S does 100 km/h in just 4.6 seconds thanks to its 217 hp, 250 Nm supercharged 1.8 litre Dual VVT-i Toyota engine mated to a six-speed manual.

Just to note that the previous RM332,200 price tag for the Elise S included the Touring Pack. Under the new pricing structure, the RM279,888 price tag is without the Touring Pack, but adding it pumps up the price to RM291,888, which is still well under the RM300k mark. The Touring Pack adds stuff like a leather interior (upgraded from black cloth), cupholders, additional noise insulation, cruise control, and additional audio inputs, among other small amenities.

For more information, visit the Lotus Cars Malaysia 3S Centre at Kampung Sungai Penchala along the LDP, or call 03-77250182 for enquiries and test drive booking. All prices mentioned above are nett selling prices before OTR costs.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mohsin on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:23 am

Good RV
    toyota engine mah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:37 am

Even Lotus use Toyota engine, why can’t Proton to be wise and follow Lotus, save billions from the noisy yet no power Campro development?

True Lotus sport car? Toyota engine
      Lotus tuned Proton wannabe? Campro engine

For those syok sendiri Proton fanboys keep on high on the “awesome” campro turbo, do you have 217 hp and 250 Nm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 62
      • Dead Chicken Kick Pot on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:51 am

You seriously need to get a job and a friend.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 9
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:14 am

Some facts on his statement, Lotus handling and Proton Lotus handling is same.

So why buy Lotus? Even with toyota engine.

Proton No1 brand in the world, read and don’t be brain waste by cronies.
          Proton fanboys love high selling car price, because love Proton and Tun so much.
          Proton fanboys NEVER been brain waste by Tun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
          • trololo on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:46 am

you are paying 280k for this kind of interior ? no thanks man seriously. i rather pay lesser to buy a track car with this interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:09 am

When it comes to handling, Lotus still no match with Toyota’s. Try out the Evora and new 86 you will know.

That’s reason why 86 is elected by Top Gear Car of the Year in 2012.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 29
          • To trololo,
            You have to be seriously mentally disturbed to complain about the interior of this car.
            Nobody who buys a lotus is going to worry about interior refinement, PERIOD. They are in it for the driving experience, same goes to a cayman R.
            People who buy these cars know what they are getting into, and people who have these car will obviously be driving it only on the weekends.
            Do you go to a pharmacy and ask for Char koay teow?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
          • To Same L0rrr,
            you must be out of your mind if you think a car that takes nearly 8 seconds to hit 100kph is a better handling car than a mid engine stripped out track car with barely over 1000kg.
            The ONLY reason the 86 won that was because it was a better all rounder. NOT because it was a better handling or better track car.
            The base elise would absolutely CRUSH the 86 in a 0-100 sprint LEAVE ALONE the exige. And also don’t get me started on track times.
            You must be 12 years old if you refer car facts from the least informative car show on the planet.
            LOL GTFO

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:29 am

It actually might be more cost-effective (in the long run) to develop and use your own components as you have to pay royalties for using someone else’s components. If Toyota engines were being used in Proton, I think there would be more whining about prices.

Lotus using Toyota engines does say something about where Lotus’ strength lies. I might get flamed for this but in my observation, Lotus’ only considerable strength is in what pertains to good handling: chassis engineering and fine-tuning. Besides that, they don’t have any other outstanding advantages. I do like the look of the Exige, though.

For Lotus, it’s probably more worth it for them to use Toyota engines since their cars already have a high base price and the royalties for the engine would not add as much (percentage-wise) to the final cost of the car. People who buy these cars probably won’t care as long as the car drives well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:25 am

You are right, Obviously. But not all Toyota engine is expensive, Alza using same engine as Avanza, so do other Peroduas. People keep on buy Perodua, partly due to Toyota engine.

Since Proton doesn’t sell enough cars to survive in the market, why not source Toyota engine and save billions ringgit Campro development fund?

Cheap and Reliability, establish and expand the market, then only come to think of self developed, isn’t it would be more sensible?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • Obviously (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:06 pm

With Proton’s current issues, having a Toyota engine isn’t enough to sway buyers to them, in my opinion. Currently, Perodua cars have less complaints and build quality problems than Proton cars (I’m not talking about power windows). P2 cars aren’t entirely problem-free, but from what we can hear, they have less problems.

Then there’s perceived quality:

The Saga and MyVi are indirect competitors but those shopping for their first cars usually compare those two. I did too and I saw that the MyVi’s interior is a whole lot better and more modern than the Saga’s interior. More desirable, even.

The instrument cluster is superb for the price and having the gear selector lever on the dashboard is actually a very good feature that saves space. The only thing I truly didn’t like is the way they implemented the center 3-point seat belt. I didn’t drive it so I have no comments about how it drives.

In comparison, the Saga’s interior feels rather dated and low-quality as well as a little bit cramped, though the space is ok to me. Proton has to prove their commitment to improving their quality as a whole. The driving experience of the Saga is adequate.

• fazron on Mar 28, 2015 at 8:17 pm

Considering now proton has iriz? How do u think they compare? I agree on saga being outdated. For me the exterior is ok. But interior is in dire need of a total upgrade. It’s like a 90’s car.

• Naim Hasbullah on Sep 28, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Tak tau la bila nak beli. Haiz best nya kalau ada sports car. Lotus is not bad sebenarnya.

• Poppy on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:24 am

My pop corns is ready for comments.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:31 am

Can’t afford these real sport cars? Get a Iriz then…

Like many mod Proton on the road, change a noisy exhaust pipe, put fancy skirting/paint/rims/tyres. You will high sendiri in the Proton thinking you are in Lotus.

Proton cars are the best imitating sport car, that’s why they have Satria the sport car wannabe keep on selling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 35
    • Mozilla Chrome on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:46 am

Get a life shame loo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:33 am

When my comment hit the point straight, Proton fanboys want me to get a life. lol

I would instead like to say this to those sport-car-proton-wannabe with noisy exhaust pipe, blinding HID yet crawling on the fast lane…

Get a Lotus! Or Get a Life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
        • VTI-L on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:22 am

What straight? If the engine is too good why not plonk it in Altis?
          lol

• najib on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:08 pm

Thats malaysian typical, not only for proton owner. just look at vios. infact, most of them will put bodykit and after market sport rim.

Satria is a good car. already won a few championship. u didnt read?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Obviously (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Proton Gen2, Saga, BMW Wira…

Toyota Vios…Toyota Lowlux (I’ve seen a Hilux lowered down to the ground with skirting sweeping the roads)…

Honda City (Type R Mugen mod!)…Honda Civic (full ah beng style with blinding HID and Decepticon silhouette in the flashlights)…

P2 Kancil-Romeo, P2 MINI-Kelisa (these two actually quite well done), Kenari…

• Colin chapman on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:11 pm

What is wrong with you
      People modified their car use your money a
      No
      So why bother
      Let them be la…..aiyoo

• Hmm, nope still not accessible :p

• GT3 (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Yeah when I read the title I was like “c’mon c’mon make it under 100k” and then after reading the entire article, “meh.. still can’t afford it..”

• Painter on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:07 am

Why does Lotus keep on changing their pricing regularly for the same models that lasted more than half a decade???

• Carbabe on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:52 am

Because you don’t fix the thing that has no problem. Even in today’s technology, lotus might still emerge as one of the champion in terms of speed, comfortability and fuel economy. Its perfectly what a passionate driver needs. Not some 7 inch touch screen on the dashboard which normally looks stupid.

• proud lotus owner on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:06 pm

FYI.. new boss in town. need to prove to the management that he is a good sales man. proposed for price reduction so reduce price to sell old stock cars. heard there’s more than 30 cars in stocks. does that answer your question?

• harga turun on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:14 am

Terimakasi Kerajaan BN Janji Dicapati!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • Price drop? still nobody will buy it. unless RM150K. hehehee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • drMpower on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:20 am

thank you lotus. and najib razak

this is another testimonial that he walked the talk. its 10-15% reduction of new car selling price. the fact that matter is, car prices being reduced no matter how u look at the situation.

the best deal now is stick with him and his government. for us to get them do what we want. the rest talked big but menstruate when things got rough and real. erectile dysfunctional.

thats why u need to be with the devil u know. rather than the angel u dont.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 20
    • anwarpoyo on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:26 am

i have to agree with you. just look at what those clowns are doing in selangor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
      • trololo on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:49 am

scarp the AP and we will talk again, we will see how much reduction can it go.

• mmaker on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:24 am

At 300k-rm400k price range there are so many great cars to choose and most of us forget to put lotus in the check list. A significant 5 years free service should boost sales

• proud lotus owner on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:08 pm

ya… just hope and PRAY that ur lotus dont spend 5 years more in the workshop compare to your home garage..

• Lotus paste with single yolk on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:27 am

Lowtus… Nothing gained from it for ordinary Malaysian joe on the street ….

• The trend that I’m seeing among my 30-35 y/o generation:
    1) One sports/hothatch car: 20% the VWs.20% coopers.20% Beemer/Merc coupes.20% CRZs and Velosters.10% europeans’ Megane/DSs.10% the supercars.
    2) One city car:80%Myvi.10% vios/city.10% others.
    3) One family car:80% estima/wish.20% mix.

I would say at this price for a Lotus is quite ok.But personally Im still hunting for a well kept MRS.:E

• Nissan on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:12 am

The true faith once in Tun’s hands.

• Berann on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:15 am

Impressive for a car with 217hp 250nm to achieve 0-100km/h in 4.6 seconds..same performance with A45 AMG. Mainly due to the lightweight 924kg body. Wish toyota use this 1.8 supercharged engine for Altis and Camry :)

• mmmmm on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:24 am

affordable? can be cheaper. proton owns it but we see it as a seperate entity.

• kalam on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:28 am

What is ‘S’ variant?

• superman on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:31 am

DRB struggling already with very slow and low sales of Proton now want to make people to buy Lotus but even in lower price. for many people who have the money is more wise to buy a used AP Porsche Cayman or a used GT-R with much more room, more power and better or same price. Lotus has its own stable of people who will buy them. these are now for day to day drive anyway.

• Hmm, does Lotus manage to revise its’ tax structure or just wanna boost sales?

• Majeed on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:54 am

Sam Lorr, can I buy and use you for a year then sell you back(if someone want to buy further). Let see whether you have good resale value like Toyota or not?

• cendol (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:05 am

Tun Ma’s mistake is buying Lotus in the first place.
    Lotus is making loss year in year out, and Potong bought it for jack sheet.

• lotus_s on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:05 am

WHAT!!!!!! JUST BOUGHT 1 ELISE S LAST YEAR… NOW ONLY ANNOUNCED… SAVING AROUND RM60K LORRR!!!!

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Really is it?

Anyway. . Congratulations. . You just spent 60k for nothing.

It’s ok right?? Byk duit kan?

I respect people throw money on cars.. help the industry. . Gov can earn some money on duties too..

Well done!

• Is the price of the Evora S with the auto gearbox?

• This car have got a pathetic interior for the price.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:44 am

good rv? car price gone down so much…ppl who buy last year…habis la…told u buy SLK u don want…want buy Elise…see la…ur RV go down longkang

• Erm, the interior dashboard and steering look like proton saga and doesn’t look sporty neither luxury for a 200-300k car..

• stranger on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:19 pm

You know why there is promotion?
    Bcoz today is Mid-Autumn Festival

Mooncake with:
    LOTUS paste only (Lotus Elise S)•
    LOTUS paste with single yolk (Lotus Exige S Coupe)
    LOTUS paste with double yolks (Lotus Exige S Roadster)
    LOTUS paste with 4 yolks (Lotus Evora S)

• Sam loo elder brother on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:51 pm

I guess Najib has fulfill his ge13 promise to lower down 30% of car price for the rakyat

Crony is a part of rakyat to :LoL:

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 08, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Wow… Im truly surprised that there are people harping on its minimalist interior. People seem to forget the original series 1 weighs in less than the Viva. The weight has to come off from somewhere.

I think there should be a new entry level elise. Bring in the base 1.6 NA and sticker it around 220-230K. Its plenty quick enough, doubt many will find it wanting for speed.

I have only driven the Series 1 and it has to be said, that someone who claims to be an automotive enthusiast should drive one at least once to understand what weight is all about. Take it off and everything becomes super sharp. The Elise is one of Lotus’ first road cars that epitomizes Chapmans’ “Simplify, then add lightness” philosophy.

• proud lotus owner on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:19 pm

are you living in 1956 bro? talking like u r chapman’s neighbor. surprised u lived so long to stand up for him…

its 2014 now YO! u want to continue with the spirit of less means more… u go and get a stripper. they can keep losing their heavy lingerie for you while u drool ur saliva.

this new age, people dont spend 300k and get shit in the car. and all they can shout is a damn cup holder. u buy a car and water sip thru as treacherous rain pours.. WHY? simply because its BRITISH. WTF!

its over with that rubbish “its all about the weight and feel up your ass on the road”

Sports car is a sports car. but enough of being cheated by those pirate British people.

LOTUS – LOTS OF TROUBLE USUALLY SERIOUS

• Jimmy on Sep 08, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Real price reduction.
    Hope to see more of this exercise in lower-end vehicles for the rakyats.

• truely malaysian on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:58 pm

price drop your head, must be unsold car made in 2011 or 2012, wake up man

• Drive for life on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:43 pm

I quoted this “a buyer who typically goes for a manual Toyota 86 or a Renault Megane RS for weekend track fun could opt for an Elise S instead” Actually is very stupid because Toyota GT86 is petrolhead perfection/gearhead because it is Rear wheel drive,Boxer N/A engine,86 name,also its easy for average guy to fit in than Lotus.

• mmmmm on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:46 pm

lol. lotus not petrolhead perfection/gearhead ka?. drive one laaaaa then u know. it is one light machine with rawness. Test drive dulu baru cerita.

• Lotus wat? on Sep 09, 2014 at 4:43 pm

So can you fit into a Lotus? I bet you can’t and you finally turn into GT86

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Ahh.. Toyota’s engines. . Jap milo tin they say…

Kenapa x guna camproh ptuiihh?

My myvi & vios Toyota’s engines also what??..

My Altis too….

Mana beruq2 protong?

• Price reduction for a relatively old car. A sign that lotus gona release a new car soon finally?

• Johnny on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:45 pm

The interior of this car is just shameful. Can’t they at least make it look better? They’ve taken the dashboard right out of a Saga..

• Kkkkk on Nov 13, 2014 at 8:56 pm

I rally dun understand wat ur all comment about dashboard etc. this is spotrt lightweight car. Every inch of material they use they will calculate how it effect the car weight. It is lotus!! Sport car not a heavy luxurious car. U wan luxury go for Bentley. This is sport car. Big engine gv u advantage in straight line, but lightweight car , it gv u advantage in corner. Just go see old topgear comparing 1.8 old elise with true muscle car mustang v8. U see how the mustang got tapau on the track even stig was drive the mustang. Please accept that even proton is malaysia company it can buy a lotus. That fact. U must accept it. Don dengki or whatever bashing blindly.

• Hoooooooo on Jun 27, 2016 at 4:04 pm

Lotus car is different breed driving feel like you driving a go-kart