Proton, Lotus look to return to profit in 2016 – report

2014_Top_Five_Proton_Iriz_MT_ 005

It seems like there’s light at the end of the tunnel for Proton and Lotus, as they are both looking at a return to profitability as early as the 2016 financial year ending March 31, 2016.

According to The Edge Financial Daily, Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah said that the company’s sales could reach 130,000 units this year (up 12.28% from 2014’s 115,783 units), buoyed by sales of the Iriz and Saga (chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed has hinted that a new Saga would be launched this year), as well as price drops stemming from the implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST) on April 1.

“We recorded dismal sales last year, perhaps the worst performance ever,” he said. “But sales last month [March] has surpassed 10,000 units. If we keep the momentum going, we should be able to reach 130,000 units this year.”

He added that Proton has sold some 30,000 cars in the first quarter of this year, with sales in January and February reaching 8,900 units and 8,254 units respectively. He also said that the company is working on building more brand awareness abroad in order to expand its exports to at least 10% of its total revenue, from what is currently a “small” percentage.

Proton_Iriz_Review_ 003

Separately, Abdul Harith told Bernama that 11,000 units of the Iriz have found homes since its launch in September, with sales expected to pick up as the Raya season approaches.

“Almost 30% of the sales were done in the southern region while the balance came from the Klang Valley and other regions,” he said. “The Iriz is very saleable as it has technological characteristics only available in European cars, but consumers only pay half of what they would pay for a European car.”

With regards to Proton’s collaboration with Indonesia’s PT Adiperkasa Citra Lestari (with which it signed an MoU to build an ASEAN car last February), Abdul Harith said that the deal will be finalised within the next six months, pending the conclusion of a feasibility study as well as confirmation of equity structure and investment commitment.

Meanwhile, Lotus is said to be on a turnaround propelled by improved sales and after-sales service, cost optimisation as well as a “long-range product plan” designed to deliver a whole range of models up to 2019. Its CEO Jean-Marc Gales previously said that it has opened up new dealerships in major cities such as Paris, Berlin, Monaco and Abu Dhabi, implemented a customer database, improved the timing of new car launches, shortened build times and cut costs.

Lotus-Evora-400-Geneva-5

“I have to admit that we recorded our lowest [sales] performance last year,” said Abdul Harith. “But that did not deter us from moving forward. Based on our plan, I am optimistic that the road to recovery will materialise by the 2016 financial year.”

Norfolk expects to sell 3,000 units this year, up from the 2,000 units it sold last year, driven by demand of the significantly revamped Evora 400 unveiled in Geneva last month.

“I am positive on the performance of Lotus,” Abdul Harith added. “We are seeing demand grow for the new Evora, which has reached some 400 bookings to date.”

Proton’s performance in the 2013 financial year was poor – it registered a RM821.4 million loss, an increase from the RM606.3 million it lost in 2012, cutting parent company DRB Hicom’s automotive division profit by 57.8% to RM64.28 million. Lotus, however, considerably narrowed its loss from £867 million (RM4.7 billion) in 2013 to £71 million (RM386 million) last year.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Niner on Apr 06, 2015 at 12:52 pm

Iriz that I purchased last month is really great car. No japs car on same model match Iriz safeties specs and features. Feeling great on high speed and jimat minyak on traffic jam. My model 1.3 cvt.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 34
    • Wow look at those Proton big loss millions and billions!

DRB must be crazy keep on cash charity for Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 51
      • The same way Japs USA etc gave charity to their respective companies

So?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
        • Gargantia on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:03 pm

True Proton best motive

Return profit from ASKING Govt for billions again and again !!!

Govt will always use Rakyat taxes to feed Proton loses… Rakyat keep paying high taxes for the whole life !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 35
          • Sam Sii on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Who told u Proton use Rakyat taxes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
          • George Abdul on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:16 pm

Proton CEO asking Govt for R&D, R&D billions still from Govt = Rakyat taxes !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
        • Low Budget on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:58 pm

The difference is those foreign gomen are rescuing their car industry by paying the troubled car makers one off, but in Proton case, the boleh gomen is bailing them permanently until now so to speak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
      • Albert on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:52 pm

RUGI,PROTONG exceeded my expectations…..in recording RECORD LOSSES OF RM 821 JUTA.
        I forcasted only rm 500 juta.
        I think secretly they are taking taxpayers money,if not ,tell me,who can continue to bleed non stop for close to a Billion Ringgit?
        You can have syiok sendiri therapy,but for how long?
        Protong….the only way forward is DOWNSIZING THE DEADWOOD at Shah Alam.Move all the staff to tanjong malim…..and cut your workforce by 30-40 percent.
        Stop talking,daydreaming…Mr.MD…..you wont return to Black ink,by continuing your current business model.You may have to go the direction of MAS……mass redundancy exercise.
        congrats protong….for declaring your results early and being very transparent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • spybeck on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:07 pm

But the engine technology is super outdate, the campro engine start use in gen2 since year 2001. high fuel consumption compare to same class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
      • Lol 205Nm CFE where got that high in Altis, Sylphy, Civic?

• NO NAME on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:37 pm

just came out from cave bro..??

• thedarkside on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:52 pm

Wow..bro..care to share which hutan you actually live in cause i could use some peace from the outside world. but just to let u know, although the current updated engine is still not that great…but it’s miles away from the campro used in GEN 2. maybe if your hutan got good internet connection u might be aware earlier but i dont blame u..

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:11 pm

Toyota uses even older engines. And the Campro was constantly updated. Other brands also use engines that date back 30 years, 50 years, …

Though yes, Proton needs better engines. And gearboxes. Not sure why they keep insisting on CVT… just source a 6 speed Aisin unit as Peugeot, VW etc. are doing it. Maybe not quite as frugal, but reliable and good enough. And they can say they use Toyota gearboxes, but more modern versions than Toyota itself uses.

• Low Budget on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Congratulation! Hope you can tell us your user experience 3 year down the road. My experience with Proton in the past is nothing great but Puiii!
      Hopefully they have righted the wrong, but I am still a bit doubtful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
  • Being optimistic is good.
    But that stupid CVT gearbox will hold you back, incik Proton. tak tau lagi ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Only their top management with old school mentality will think their Punch CVT is good.

Just give us Jatco, Aisin or Honda torque converter CVT already. Much more efficient and drivable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • squall_shinoda on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Torque-converter CVTs are actually less efficient than multiple-plate wet clutch CVTs. The only reason why torque-converter CVTs make more sense in Malaysian perspective is because of the way Malaysians drive – they tend not to put in neutral while stopping at the traffic light. That’s why the heat from slippage and friction builds up, which may cause CVT overheating.

The old Honda CVT gearboxes had been proven to be reliable overseas but not here in Malaysia, that’s why the new Earth Dreams CVT adopts the torque-converter design. Itis the most efficient tourque-converter CVT due to the thicker CVTF being used.

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:41 pm

When a torque converter locks up, it essentially has the same 1:1 power transfer as a clutch plate coupling. The torque converter used by Mazda, for example, can lock up from as low a speed as 8km/h, so it’s operating as if it’s a clutch almost all the time unless you spend almost all of your time stuck in traffic.

At low traffic creep speeds, it provides the refinement of having creep of various levels because of the constantly engaged powertrain unlike in an electronically controlled clutch where frequent disengagements and re-engagements would be required in stop and go situations, which would also cause quite a bit of wearing and tearing. In addition, from a standstill, a torque converter multiplies the torque coming from the engine, which obviously helps with moving off.

It’s not just the CVTs bound for Malaysia that are moving back to having torque converters. Almost all automakers (those who still employ CVTs, at any rate) are going back to torque converters after having tried an e-clutch with their CVTs first in an experimental dash for efficiency. Nowadays, torque converters, with their lock-up function, can be just as efficient as clutches at cruising speeds while providing more refinement, less complexity and some other benefits compared to e-clutches. Heck, Acura (Honda’s luxury arm) was reported to be trying to couple a DCT to an engine using a torque converter instead of directly.
          Now, ask yourself why that is the case.

• tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Sadly, my gut feelings tell me next Saga will still come with stupid Punch CVT.

If they really changed to quality, reputable supplier of torque converter CVT, I will lari bogel in front of their Glenmarie factory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
      • Obviously (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:23 pm

We’ll remember your words, tok.

That’ll be some sight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Low Budget on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Agree with you, new Saga probably is Iriz with a new boot. If it is cheap enough, people will buy even if the engine is crap.

• MyviKiller on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:16 pm

I heard you dude…

• Annoynimouse on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:01 pm

All seems well with the IRIZ and then the stupid CVT came along and spoils the occasion. I prefer the manual but the missus wants an auto. Now what to do?

• As Abdul Harith mentioned, if Iriz is the so called “European” bench mark for Proton cars, then they should concentrate on providing the same to other models. Bring in new models, the current models are all boring by design and standards. Proton badly needs a Perdana replacement.

come 2016 and if they are still on lose its better to close shop and write off rather than suffer embarrassing publicity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Proton is taken private company by DRB but still need govt minister to speak on behalf. The minister can talk big but never tell Dewan Rakyat about Proton’s huge losses just because it is no longer owned by govt.

Such a one-sided treatment for Proton. Pathetic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:27 pm

I think Proton needs a HRV rival more than a Perdana replacement.

Time to bring in that Lotus Youngman we saw last time. It was quite good looking compact SUV.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:23 pm

SUVs are there to show off. Why would Proton want to compete in a market where the badge matters so much? What’s the point?

However I also don’t think Proton needs a Perdana replacement. Next thing should be new Saga, followed by an Exora successor. If they want to expand to Europe, create an Iriz and Preve wagon and equip them with engines and gearboxes sourced from a European manufacturer like Renault… (petrol and diesel variants are needed).

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:22 am

New Saga in the work is well known happening.

Hmm, new Exora may just be more necessary, but if Proton needs to venture a new segment, compact SUVs like HRV, Mazda CX3, Nissan Juke could prove handy.

It’s a segment that’s gaining momentum. Even like Volvo, their worldwide best seller now is XC60, not the cheaper, smaller V40 hatch.

I can see the practicality of it, and if Proton can get a good powertrain source, it can be quite a success. Proton was said wanted to MOU with Geely, if only they can get Volvo’s Drive-E heheheheh

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:16 pm

The Preve and Suprima are already quite modern… though the Iriz is better. Hopefully a facelift will fix that, raise the quality a bit, maybe redesign the interior…

The Saga will be replaced (this year?) by a new Saga based on the Iriz. The Exora was updated a bit, has better safety now. That car still has a few years of life left.

The Gen-2 and Persona have been superceeded by Preve and Suprima, but no one told them yet. Proton should stop producing them. But right now Proton has got B segment hatchback, C segment hatchback and C segment sedan covered. And soon B segment sedan. For Malaysia that’s quite reasonable, the MPV will have to do for a bit longer, but at least they updated it again and again.

Developing new cars costs time and money.

• Nope! Proton is in dire need of suv models, small and mid. That’s where the market is. Coming up with another sedan/hatchback just shows Proton is structurally failed!

• gearbox1 on Apr 06, 2015 at 1:06 pm

p1 bashing to reveal bashers stupidity in 3…..2……..1

in kambing!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
    • Low Budget on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Its still too early to call Proton bashers stupid, publicity talk by Proton is too cheap, they need follow up action on their talk to show the bashers they mean business. Another couple of year down the road, the Proron bashers might have the last laugh.

• Hafiz on Apr 06, 2015 at 1:07 pm

hahaha……….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • superman on Apr 06, 2015 at 1:09 pm

WILL NEVER HAPPEN. THIS IS ONE OF THOSE DREAMS THAT WILL NEVER COME TRUE. KEEP DREAMING….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 20
    • kzm fanboy on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:56 pm

If Iriz can sell 1 million units I’ll run wearing only tiger-stripes seluar dalam from Shah Alam to Tanjung Malim.

Wanna bet? Any takers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Maybe around 3 years can achieve that target, are u ready?

• Low Budget on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:10 pm

My prediction is Proton Shah Alam plant will be closed within the next 3 years. May be a new investment company name 2MDB taking over the land for commercial development.

• Yes, is almost same with ur wishes never come true

• as long as Proton is run by incompetent arrogant illiterate DRB so called super managers. it will be worse and worse. we all saw what that Dato Lukman and his team of boot lickers did to company. spending millions on their own cronies.

• e-tique on Apr 06, 2015 at 1:10 pm

citt..pooooddahhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Fly me to the moon on Apr 06, 2015 at 1:11 pm

“But sales last month [March] has surpassed 10,000 units”

Uh…. that was because of your 8 – 12k Ringgit discounts. Not because the rakyat suddenly decided that Proton was better……

The logic is…. well…. meh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 17
    • Huh? Isn’t discounting is to get more sales?
      Vios got more sales but safety wise worse than Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 13
  • Return to profit? what is new? We have been hearing this since the last decade.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • mamatwhyla on Apr 06, 2015 at 1:30 pm

mass production car pun tak tentu arah, mau buat sports car … peeerghhh … moto bolehland ‘kalau tak boleh buat mesti nampak boleh buat’ …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • you tak boleh on Apr 06, 2015 at 1:58 pm

If it’s bolehland’s moto then I believe it’s yours too
      Haha!

• mamatwhyla on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Biasa la, dunhill mutu keunggulan. Gaya mesti ada dulu. Tengok car manufacturers lain, mana ada own sport car brand tapi jual macam pisang goreng panas.

• Very optimistic….good luck proton. I support proton but it does not mean i will bought one at the moment. Already set my eye to buy Jazz ;).

• Proton only good at RECYCLE story, again & again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Just recently, I saw more and more unit of Iriz on the road. The feeling is like when the numbers of axia is going up on the road. Good things for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • I also had the same feeling last week, saw so many Iriz on the road. Later only realise I was nearby Proton factory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
      • jellyioma on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:27 pm

I also had the similar feeling last week, saw so many Axia dan Myvi on the road. Later only realise I was nearby p2 factory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • Nak tiru pun buatla sikit perubahan. Ini tiru bulat-bulat tapi biasa lah, what do you expect from tiga suku staff from Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • jellyioma on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:10 pm

That cannot beat bumper engineering from p2, yang lain copy je

• Oh… they have beaten you and beat you hard. They don’t have resort to use MITI or ex-ministers to tell their product is good and yet they are selling.
            BMW konon. BMW … hahah

• jellyioma on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:56 pm

They answered the question asked, what’s wrong with that?

You jelly?

• Super on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:36 pm

Hallo jellyioma – do you know that Axia currently having back log orders. Meaning, people still waiting to have that cars despite 8k-10k prodn a month of Axia alone.

• I also saw many Myvi park at roadside around 30m and realize I was nearby Perodua SC, unluckily all total lost.

• tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:24 pm

The Iriz is getting popular in Subang Jaya too.

As I expected, their sales will only pick up when production of cheapest 1.3 and 1.6 CVT kicks in. Most I notice are CVT, very few manual.

A bit sad really, cuz CVT is crap, manual is nice. But too many people too spoilt to drive manual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Yes right, its getting more popular now! Maybe it’s really true that at the beginning peoples trying to wait and see first. And now the waiting period is already passed, and then can get comment from iriz’s owner like in the car base review website. Really hard to change peoples perception.. hehe

• Spoon on Apr 06, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Looking forward to new Saga. Expecting a larger size, comparable to Honda City with decent spec, safety and improve fit and finish. And hope its not a booted Iriz, change a bit the design so it doesnt look out of proportion.

• tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Quality weed they got there.

• Arell on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:15 pm

LPPL – Lotus Proton Proton Lotus…

• I recalled Proton has done quite a number of things to stay afloat but the impact was minimal. Maybe Proton should think out of the box and restart the whole thing all over again. It may sound costly to change their manufacturing process and all those activities but maybe that’s better for its future.

• Are you crazy? You are giving them crazy idea. Their think out of the box idea is to ask for more money from the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • yaa…just like Toyota n Perodua give less but ask more money from people.

• The problem is they are selling and people are willing to give them money. Eat your heard out.

• Sorry guys, I have had of these kind of comments.
        You can say whatever you want but’s my opinion. You can say the same to me too.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:00 am

How? It doesn’t matter how good the product is, Malaysians don’t want to buy because of the name. They need to sell it under the Toyota brand name, or Perodua, then can sell.

• MrDDR on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:03 pm

11k unit Iriz Sold up until now claimed by Hariz. Strangely my newly purchase Iriz 1.6 Premium Manual have chassis number 18K. Lot of differences there.

• 7K unit already being scrap..next try and error using customer ..

• damn. i was too slow for in be4 proton go die

• sepul on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:24 pm

I don’t think their CVT is that bad as claimed, just that the software calibration for the box is not refined, or most of us are not very familiar with an automatic gearbox with computer controlled clutch inside them.

I believe the same criticism applied to VW’s DSG and Ford’s Powershift as both are dual clutch gearboxes, while Proton’s Punch CVT (or Protronic as they call it) also has a clutch.

The issue here is familiarity. We all know how a torque converter auto works and feel. They provide instant kick upon acceleration because the torque converter is basically a shaft in the gearbox connecting the gears and the engine’s flywheel, a direct connection.

A dual clutch auto has a clutch in place of the shaft. The clutch is computer controlled, by default they operate in a gentle manner similar to a person who just got their driving license driving a manual car.

Problems with dual clutch or clutched CVT gearboxes are due to the clutches slipping or not engaged properly, same as someone driving a manual but forgot to step the clutch pedal properly.

Jerking, engine stall, cannot reverse, etc. are traits of a clutched gearboxes with improper clutch operation. In manual cars, it’s the driver’s error. For a dual clutch or clutched CVT, it can be the TCU misinterpreting the driver’s throttle input. In perspective, it also became a driver’s error for not allowing the gearbox’s clutch to engage/disengage properly before accelerating/decelerating.

My point is, driving a car with a clutched CVT or a dual clutch gearboxes requires some patience and a good knowledge on how they work inside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • And the best part is, unlike manual boxes (which you fix the driver), you can’t immediately fix this problem because it’s controlled by the god damn chipmunk.

• Low Budget on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Are you asking ordinary car drivers driving cars with CVT gearbox to be patient and knowing what CVT gearbox is all about?

• nabill (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:24 pm

I think most of their sales is from iriz, saga… So they have to get the next saga right, although the curent one is not bad for the price, ofcourse its gonna be an iriz with a boot, best way to cut ur cost, everyone is doing a similar job… City/jazz is da perfect example, perhaps with abit of a face lift to da front end…
    I dont think the cvt is a drawback in itself, they jus need to get the right one… They have to force Punch to get sting which is competitive… Since they order so much stock from them, they have the leverage to do that..
    The thing abt cvt is, it takes a loooong time to get used to it… Bt once ur on da same wave length, its smooth n predictable n makes an auto box feel laborious… But to be fair, the cvt from punch might be a generation behind, bt its very solid in operation n very reliable… Im using one for 3yrs…havent skipped a hearbeat!

• CVT in entry level cars are shit. Comparing the jazz cvt vs the old city 5 speeder, so much punch/torque/power is lost in the cvt. Yes, fc might be better but that power surge feel is just so lacking.

• Ciyu jazz city jazz…. different standard la. Just becoz parent company sells honda doesnt make this junk a honda.
        You should compare it with savvy & tiara.

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:51 pm

That’s the whole point of the CVT! And that’s what nabill is trying to say. It takes a long time to get used to the CVT. You don’t feel the surge but when you’re looking down on the speedo, you will see that it builds up speed at about the same pace as the rest of the cars around you, even faster even. But the lack sharp thumps give people the illusion that it’s slow even when it isn’t. It’s more cultured, more refined. A CVT is like an easy, cheap way to get a smooth ride.

I’ve tried the 5-speed auto in the previous gen Jazz. I didn’t like it at all because of how unrefined the lower gears are. Gears 1-3 are very tiresome as the power loss when they swapped gears is too jarring for me.

• hmmm.. all i can say is… all the best Proton..

• If still fail bankrap, better sell factory to Naza or Perodua.

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Sell to Bermaz (Mazda) better. I think they’re still trying to fulfill the order on the CX-5.

• iriz is proton’s best car to date, improve the suprima’s dash quality i think it a good car.

• Albert on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:59 pm

DRB still made rm 64 Juta from auto division inspite of RM 821 juta losses from protong.
    In other words Honda and other marques are money spinners.
    Why the hell are they hanging on to proton? From 2013 to 2014 ,they lost rm1.5 Billion Ringgit.That is very loyal national service….maybe pittance compared to billions raked in from Double Tracking projects.Continue national service…DRB..if not proton fanboys marah.

• CyberPatrol on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Proton need 12% increase of sales volume (incl all models) to return profit position. First Qtr sold 30,000 cars balance (130,000 – 30,000) 100,000 units left for 3 Qtr (9mth left) on avg 11,000 units / mth.

News of new Saga and GST prices drop inclusive of protection maintained. Plus more price discounts during festival seasons.
    Proton may just reach the final touch line.

But why talk so much of local market, when you have a global car, not even an increase sales volume of export market even mention. Lotus making losses get all the limelight of international market expansion of dealer network instead of Proton. Lastly P2, do you have surprises for before Proton Saga (aka Saga 3) launch and ringgit continue to be weak.

DRB maintaining two losses car brands, is a big challenge for DRB-HICOM finances, I suggest you pick one and drop it.

• Pasar Malam on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:04 pm

Either sell Proton factory to UMW Toyota or NAZA Kia, or better sell it off to VW for 1 Euro.

• Good move on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:08 pm

Few solutions:
      A. Sell Proton factory to UMW Toyota or NAZA Kia,

B. Sell it off to VW for 1 Euro.

Choose one only I please, thank you.

• old dog on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:10 pm

11,000 since september launch..
    have not see a single Iriz in my apartment or outside road side parking..

Common Protong supporters! buy more man!!

• barkingdog on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:59 pm

You must be in remote areas probably in jungle, pity you

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:19 pm

Of course you haven’t seen any Iriz in your apartment. All Iriz have stability control, so the drivers don’t crash into your apartment. That’s why you only see Myvis, Vioses etc., no stability control, the drivers lose control and crash into your apartment.

• Teksi Kangkung on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:46 pm

Say whatever la proton….

I imagine nothing but crap from Proton anyway….

• Launch in sept chairman said got 17k order. 6 months later only delivered 11k? Talking about efficiency…
    then give 8k discount.. . Talk about lying.
    Proton memang pakar kelentong.

• OOo Akai on Apr 07, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Has anyone tried the Iriz 1.6 MT? Can’t find any review for that.

• lol,can see lot of rubbish comment around…

I’ve been using Preve for the past 4 years and so far there is no issue occur,not even one problem…instead I’ve feel awesome and confident on the road…it’s equip with a lot safety features,the handling,the grip and the speed is what i like the most…have tried the top speed meter reach 210..let the user judge,not the criticism..

• durian gugur on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:09 am

Proton, the (infamous and shameless) business company in malaysia that make loss year in year out, in many countless years….still doing business as usual??? Charity ka??

A business that making loss ISN’T BUSINESS, so please close it down, unless it is biz in Malaysia. hahahahah