Volkswagen GTI Supersport: 2nd Vision GT car teased

Volkswagen may have already produced a Vision Gran Turismo concept for Gran Turismo 6 – last year’s stunning GTI Roadster – but clearly its work there is not yet done. This year, it is adding a second car to the PlayStation 3 racing game, dubbed the Volkswagen GTI Supersport Vision Gran Turismo.

It would be easy to dismiss the Supersport as just the Roadster with a tin-top, but judging from the teasers VW has released, there might be more to this concept than it first appears. The already enormous front air intake of the previous car has been made wider still, and the vertical driving lights have been pushed further outboard. There’s also a far more aggressive front splitter.

Other cues that differentiate the Supersport include larger bonnet vents, a rear end that more closely resembles 2013’s Design Vision GTI concept, a huge carbon fibre wing and deep air inlets cutting into the roof, the latter hinting that this concept could be mid-engined (the Roadster had a front-mounted 503 hp/666 Nm 3.0 twin-turbo TSI VR6 with 4Motion all-wheel drive and a seven-speed DSG).

With the annual GTI Treffen at Wörthersee fast approaching (May 13-16), it looks like the Volkswagen GTI Supersport Vision Gran Turismo will also make a real-world debut at the show, in addition to appearing on Gran Turismo 6 in the near future as part of an update.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Same L0rrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 12:26 pm

Buy Toyota better. Good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
    • Please la! My 10 years Toyota Avanza 1.3 going to sell 10K very low RV la. You think is good RV?

• Wow! 503hp+DSG=0

• Same L0rrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 1:02 pm

Hello VW, repair your DSG la. All your DSG breaking down in Malaysia and still want to talk about GTi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • GrayImports on Apr 10, 2015 at 2:29 pm

T – Tentu
      O – Orang
      Y – Yang
      O – Otak
      T – Tiada
      A – Angkat

So think twenty times before buying sub-standard no safety TRASHYOTA coffin the RV is only if you are alive to enjoy it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Same L0rrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 6:13 pm

We offer good safety features as long as you are willing to top up with more money. You bash here and there like a cry baby because you can’t afford to buy a 175k Camry, which is already very cheap.

Time to upgrade your Perodua MyVi, work hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Diva AA on Apr 13, 2015 at 2:28 pm

seem like u not open paultan for long time.. haha. vw already repaired their dsg.. already fixed and no more issue about it anymore..

• Kimberly on Apr 10, 2015 at 7:04 pm

I saw many Camry’s on the road, and majority of the owners looked very proud. These are the ones that thought Toyota is the greatest car around and will always show their neighbours, or brag about the high cc.

A typical Chinaman style, high RV, bigger cc mean better and more powerful. and some goes to the certain extend to add bodykit and change rims, making it very Ah Beng. No offence to Toyota owners but take a look on the road.

Looked at Ford, VW, Audi, excellent cars and cater for genuine car lovers. Power, matted with excellent handling.

P/S: Looked very awful when Toyota owners stick those Euro sticker on their car plate…..sore loosers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • Audi Owner on Apr 11, 2015 at 10:35 am

I saw not many Audi and VW on the road, and majority of the owners looked very lansi, thinking they are genuine car lovers. But when they want to sell their car, after found out the RV is so low until they can not imagine, their face suddenly look like HAILAT.

• Tommy on Apr 13, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Hey Kimberly, I totally agree with you. It’s true majority Toyota Camry owner looked proud lansi. I myself own a BMW 3 series (recond) and an Audi A4 2.0 2014 (NEW). European car is low resale but quality is not same. I buy car is not about to impress people. It’s about satisfaction.