RFID gateless gantry toll system ahead of schedule

Plus-gateless-gantry-02

We’ve reported on PLUS’ plans to introduce a gateless gantry toll system (we’ve even shown you pics of what appears to be the system being tested), but works minister Datuk Fadillah Yusof has revealed to The Sun some new details regarding how we will pay toll in the near future.

Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) will be part of the system, which is in its final stage of implementation. It’s expected to be operational by the second quarter next year at highway tolls and border entry points, ahead of its 2018 schedule.

“Firstly, we will introduce it as a pilot phase at several highway toll plazas and border entry points which will record the foreign vehicle registrations from Singapore, Thailand and Brunei. We are going to implement it in stages in 2017,” Fadillah told The Sun.

etc-plus-m-b 243

He added that the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) is working closely with the Road Transport Department (JPJ), the police, the Immigration Department and other government agencies to ensure smooth integration during the pilot phase.

“We have finalised the RFID system with JPJ and we need to work out with other authorities and agencies. They have to work with us, for example on the vehicle entry permit at Johor. We have to integrate the system and apply only one system,” he said.

RFID works in a manner similar to barcode scanning. A sticker on the vehicle’s windscreen (can even be embedded into the road tax sticker) is ‘read’ by an overhead scanner through electromagnetic waves with a frequency of between 850 and 950 MHz. Scanning can reach ranges of over 27 metres, with a 10 millisecond response time.

TnG SmartTag

The charge will then be debited from the motorist’s pre-load, just like SmartTAG and Touch ‘n Go. However, The Sun understands that direct-debit is among the proposals for implementation – that is, automatically debiting from the motorist’s bank account.

“LLM is also finalising the details with Touch ‘n Go as there will be no more SmartTAGs for express payment. The system is to be used by all highway concessionaires,” the works minister said.

The Sun reports that RFID has been undergoing testing at the Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway (AKLEH), Elite Expressway and New Klang Valley Expressway (NKVE) for the past 24 months.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ss427 on May 25, 2015 at 10:26 am

Guys this thing is your version of our most hated thing in SG… the ERP gantries. Their modus operandi are the same…

• Areyousure on May 25, 2015 at 10:29 am

No to “Malaysia way” this time.
    “Good initiative, bad execution”

• Gargantia on May 25, 2015 at 10:30 am

Implanting new system to rape money from Rakyat “Putrajaya/ JPJ” all go ahead on schedule.

Helping Rakyat improve salary “Putrajaya days” wait wait wait and no rush in this…

Rakyat and kampung people thanks for supporting BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
  • dodgeviper88 on May 25, 2015 at 10:35 am

LLM is also finalising the details with Touch ‘n Go as there will be no more SmartTAGs for express payment. The system is to be used by all highway concessionaires,” the works minister said

Does that mean the SmartTAG that I just bought could would be rendered useless in 2 3 years time? Had I known I wouldn’t buy something RM100+ knowing that it’ll be and expensive paperweight 2 3 years down the road.

Also they shouldn’t have a direct debit from bank account knowing how it is susceptible to personal info hacking. That was one of the reasons why TnG has stopped credit card auto reload years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • 4G63T DSM on May 25, 2015 at 12:47 pm

Don’t worry, your smart tag will likely fail before then.

I’m on my 3rd Smart Tag in 4 years.

…and I am extremly wary about the direct debit. Prefer to debit into my TnG. At least I have a centralized account.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Funny, my SmartTag is 4 years old. There must be something wrong in the way you use them.

• Same here! 6 years minimum! There must be something very wrong in the way he use them. ahaha!

• areuok? on Sep 01, 2017 at 3:27 am

We are talking about the latest model of Smart TAG. It works but the display will no longer able to display the remaining balance on card.

• I had mine for years and it is still working perfectly! 5 year minimum! What did you do to yours bro?

• My smart tag is now in it’s 8th years. No issue. How do you use yours?

• spongebob on May 25, 2015 at 5:55 pm

11 years and still going strong. Can’t have the new system too soon as far as I am concerned. Free flowing highways is what we need. Cash jokers should be banned from blocking highways. If you can afford a car, you can afford an efficient way to pay for the tolls.

• whatssuup on May 25, 2015 at 4:35 pm

Bro.. bro.. You know ah. SmartTag…. secret…i tell you a secret… SmartTag ah…
        Smart Tag got….
        Smart tag got… battery. Can change battery one. Every year change the battery, not change the SmartTag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • benghee on May 25, 2015 at 5:55 pm

You bring your SMART TAG to Redang diving, isit?

• kwan Kee Chiat on May 25, 2015 at 10:37 am

I hope with this system, everybody who uses the hiway must share the burden and pay… including ministers, motorbikes, police/army vehicles, etc. Then, the toll rate can be reduced not increased.

• Direct debit? on May 25, 2015 at 11:01 am

Pre-load value will inevitably cause lots of negative-balance account by people using the gantry with not enough balance. Heavy penalties and late fees to counter this?

Direct debit, while convenient, runs the risk of misuse and abuse. I’m not keen to have PLUS/TnG keeping information on my banking account. How about when people have zero balance in account? More fines and fees?

I’m for a billing system though. Treat the gantry as a utility that you pay-as-you-use. Even the current TnG, which burns your balance if you don’t use the card for more than 6 months, really sucks.

• kampungEGGpower! on May 25, 2015 at 11:24 am

Billing system +1 ! yeah just send the bill to users like any utilities bill, if users refused to pay the bill, suspect license then issue arrest warrant.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 25, 2015 at 11:23 am

Our current Smartag is exactly the same as the one used in Taiwan since 1995.

Taiwan has the sticker type passive identifier since 2011.

We are roughly 5-6 years behind.

This system is better than the one in SG coz its passive, so don’t need the ugly In-Vehicle unit that needs to be powered up

• amfin on May 25, 2015 at 11:30 am

Just wondering, wasn’t all this Highway Concessionaire given certain years of concession and agreed to give back to the Rakyat free from any encumbrances once those concession expires? Then what happens to all those investments of toll gantries? Will these toll gantry then run by so called GLC till the end of time. Singapore is totally a different country. They put these gantries to reduce traffic in already congested small island. So please Rakyat think before you pangkah.

• komarad on May 25, 2015 at 12:40 pm

well… you can view jln kuching and metramac highway that concession already ended few years ago…

• 4G63T DSM on May 25, 2015 at 12:52 pm

What makes you think they will surrender the concession? Thats an absolute cash cow ready for the milking…..

They are making “investments” like this so they can justify keeping it longer.

• seancorr (Member) on May 25, 2015 at 11:45 am

I wonder how they will be getting everyone to use this system. Are the people from the kampung areas going to know about this? If so are they willing to go and get this system installed before driving pass these gantries? I think they will take it as there is no more toll and just drive pass it lol

• NikkiS on May 26, 2015 at 10:19 am

it will probably work like Melbourne’s smartag where if you don’t have a tag in your car when you pass by the sensor, the system will register your car plate number and send you a bill in the mail.

• areos on May 25, 2015 at 12:49 pm

normal lah guys..tats wat u call modern day robbery…..u introduced new technology someone else pocket becoming fatter and the others like us poorer…the consolation is tat u dont have long q at toll plaza while your card still safe in the wallet…..what ever parties emerged and won the election…its hard for them not to implement such things …unless u migrate to Siberia..ha ha ha

• BigBalls on May 25, 2015 at 1:23 pm

The Sun understands that direct-debit is among the proposals for implementation – that is, automatically debiting from the motorist’s bank account.

This sentence puts me off. I’m not a fan of having someone with details of my bank account. Stick to non banking account infringing medium, like TnG.. why fix something which is not broken?

-BigBalls-

• Toll rates should decrease? no more toll operators. considering maintenance remains similar..

• cOMMANDER on May 25, 2015 at 4:11 pm

If the govt. (or relevant concessionaires) will refund the purchase price of the SmartTags and T&Gs, I wouldn’t mind.
    Otherwise, I’ve just donated RM120 + RM10 for faks sake !

• If don’t change, no chance to make money, smart tag in Singapore selling at sg$15.00 only not like here RM120.00

• Fikri on May 25, 2015 at 7:41 pm

GOOD!
    no jam, no queue, no battery fault, no topup issue.

• What a brilliant way to suck money from the rakyat. All hail BN!

• smart tag machine, smart tag/touchNgo gantry also didnt do properly, want to do rfid? anytime to fail…