Alfa Romeo Giulia unveiled – RWD with up to 510 hp

150624_Alfa-romeo_Giulia-Reveal_01

It’s been a long, long, long time coming, but the moment every Alfisti has been waiting for is finally upon us – the new Alfa Romeo Giulia has been officially unveiled. The latest Italian challenger in the compact exec stakes is the first new mainstream offering from Milan since the Giulietta was launched five years ago.

What’s more, the Giulia marks Alfa’s return to the rear-wheel drive layout, last seen when the 75 was discontinued in 1992; it’s said to harken back to the most authentic roots of the company’s history and offer “high performance and astounding enjoyment”. Fitting, then, that the car was revealed to the world on Alfa’s 105th anniversary yesterday at its rejuvenated museum, located in its spiritual home of Arese.

The striking looks are bound to polarise – particularly at the front, where broad, thrusting headlights and shield grille dominate proceedings. The proportions, teardrop-shaped side windows and some of the detailing (particularly the deep strakes along the flanks) also bring to mind the F30 BMW 3 Series, but it’s none the worse for it; and hey, at least it gives the sort of sporty look past front-drive Alfas could only dream about.

Alfa has yet to show the interior of the car – said to convey “the impression of a tailor-made suit” – but an earlier leaked rendering showed a horizontally-aligned dashboard with a curved upper layer, a large central display and classic deep-set instrument gauges.

150624_Alfa_Romeo_Giulia_HP3

The DNA drive mode selector returns, but now as a knob rather than the previous toggle switch; it also adds new fuel-sipping Advanced Efficient and sportier Racing (on high-performance models) modes to complement the existing Dynamic and Natural settings.

To showcase the Giulia’s sporting side at its most extreme, Alfa chose to reveal the car solely in M3-baiting Quadrifoglio trim, marked out by an extendable front Active Aero Splitter, the iconic triangular four-leaf clover emblem on the wings, vents aft of the front wheels, large black telephone-dial wheels and an enormous rear diffuser replete with quad tailpipes.

Under the bonnet, there’s an aluminium six-cylinder turbo engine (possibly Maserati’s 3.0 litre biturbo V6 as seen in the Ghibli) developed by ex-Ferrari engineers. The mill – reportedly based on the unit destined for the rumoured Ferrari Dino – sends a massive 510 hp through the (hurrah!) good ol’ six-speed manual, enough to propel the Quadrifoglio from 0-100 km/h in just 3.9 seconds.

Other engines – including diesels and, reportedly, a 2.0 litre turbo four-pot petrol generating up to 298 hp in its highest production tune – are set to follow. Elsewhere, there’s dual-clutch torque vectoring, optional four-wheel drive, Chassis Domain Control and an Integrated Brake System that ropes in stability control to improve response and shorten braking distances.

Under the skin, the Giulia utilises a significant amount of lightweight components, including a carbon fibre propeller shaft, bonnet, roof and seat structure, aluminium suspension, doors and wings, a rear crossmember made from aluminium composite and plastic, as well as carbon ceramic brake discs. All in all, Alfa claims a power-to-weight ratio of under 3 kg per hp, which on the Quadrifoglio would mean a weight of under 1,530 kg.

Claimed to have a perfect 50/50 weight distribution, the Giulia features Alfa’s own double wishbone front suspension (with semi-virtual steering axis for better filtering effect and quicker, more accurate steering), as well as a multi-link rear suspension. So, fellow Alfisti, what do you guys think – is this the sort of return to form for Alfa Romeo that you were hoping for? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• looks a bit like 3series.

wow 510hp that would be excellent

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • ss427 on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:15 am

I see Kia Optima taillights and rear end styling and Forte K3 side profile! LOL Woohoo the day has come that the Italians actually copied styling elements from the Koreans!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 56
    • Well, Kia’s Peter Schreyer is a German anyway – besides, the way I see it, it’s more of evolution of Italian design cue from recent Maseratis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • olio benzina on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:45 am

Peter Schreyer is a Korean?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • OPTIMA on Jun 25, 2015 at 10:16 am

That’s what I thought too, I wonder why there are so many butthurt thumb downs? No offence intended for the Korean car fans, but this is a fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
      • Are you actually ss427 with another name? Trying to back yourself up. lol

• uglydesign on Jun 25, 2015 at 1:01 pm

So what, you are trying to say the designs are nice? Nope, it’s ugly. Look like skeleton head that loses nose.

• Optima, your butt hurt?
        One more thumb down 4 u.

• Jonn Dol on Jun 25, 2015 at 11:03 am

The end result could have been better. The front headlights is big let down and simply fguly in terms of design. Reminds me of BMW 1 series headlights. And I was expecting the rearlights design to at least have some of the Alfa’s DNA e.g horizontal straight line -type design (Alfa 156 & 159 or circular-type design(Alfa 8C & 4C), which means instantly recognizable as Alfa. This one sadly no, more like a recent Kia or Mazda car. The side profile also have some traces of BMW 3 series. The quintessential Italian style is a bit missing here (save for the Alfa grille) – that’s the problem with this car. I mean Alfa can inject styling lines found in other Italian car models (e.g Ferrari & Maserati) into this model, but when even the casual observers start saying it looks like a Kia or a BMW in some angles, that’s a big problem. Because all these while , Alfa and most of Italian car makes have been groundbreaking & original in design. Mr Sergio Marchionne must have been very bold & brave to approve this design..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • wiwiwiwiw on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:17 am

Finally a hot slice of Italian Pizza is here! Suddenly the German sausages is so yesterday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • kampungEGGpower! on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:32 am

if u r a gal, u won’t say that…hav u tried german sausage for gal? back to the car, i think alfa design is awful..weirdo design..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
  • jaqcar on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:18 am

This is Amazing!!

• A Bavarian: ‘Romeo Romeo.. where art thou?’
    Romeo: ‘Right in front of ya..’

• Alfisti on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:28 am

Shed my tears on this…Alfa finally makes a return!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • ganni on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:30 am

oh i’m in love..i want my julia..

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:41 am

If the 510hp model come here, what would be the price? RM700k maybe, on par with M3?

• ABTguy (Member) on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:44 am

Wow, good looking car !! Hopefully the reliability is up and the part price will be more user friendly.

• sammy on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:45 am

Abit like the Alfa SZ “Zagato” of the 90s.
    And I always enjoy the Alfa “5 circles” rims.

• This is simply gorgeous.

• Jonn Dol on Jun 25, 2015 at 11:04 am

The end result could have been better. The front headlights is big let down and simply fguly in terms of design. Reminds me of BMW 1 series headlights. And I was expecting the rearlights design to at least have some of the Alfa’s DNA e.g horizontal straight line -type design (Alfa 156 & 159 or circular-type design(Alfa 8C & 4C), which means instantly recognizable as Alfa. This one sadly no, more like a recent Kia or Mazda car. The side profile also have some traces of BMW 3 series. The quintessential Italian style is a bit missing here (save for the Alfa grille) – that’s the problem with this car. I mean Alfa can inject styling lines found in other Italian car models (e.g Ferrari & Maserati) into this model, but when even the casual observers start saying it looks like a Kia or a BMW in some angles, that’s a big problem. Because all these while , Alfa and most of Italian car makes have been stunning & original in design. Mr Sergio Marchionne must have been very bold & brave to approve this design..

• springan on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:48 am

Copy or not the design is amazing. Sexy yet masculine looking car. Love it!

• This car somehow resembles some other car… hmmm.. you know which la…

• nameless on Jun 25, 2015 at 11:52 am

The front resembles a mutant camry es sport, while the rear is exactly maserati granturismo..

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 25, 2015 at 10:36 am

Not bad, but sadly nowhere near as sexy and stunning looking as the 159… then again which car is? I can’t think of anything. They should have just updated that cars internals and interior, you can’t improve on perfection.

• Jonn Dol on Jun 25, 2015 at 11:06 am

The end result could have been better. The front headlights is big let down and simply fguly in terms of design. Reminds me of BMW 1 series headlights. And I was expecting the rearlights design to at least have some of the Alfa’s DNA e.g horizontal straight line -type design (Alfa 156 & 159 or circular-type design(Alfa 8C & 4C), which means instantly recognizable as Alfa. This one sadly no, more like a recent Kia or Mazda car. The side profile also have some traces of BMW 3 series. The quintessential Italian style is a bit missing here (save for the Alfa grille) – that’s the problem with this car. I mean Alfa can inject styling lines found in other Italian car models (e.g Ferrari & Maserati) into this model, but when even the casual observers start saying it looks like a Kia or a BMW in some angles, that’s a big problem. Because all these while , Alfa and most of Italian car makes have been stunning & original in design. Mr Sergio Marchionne must have been very bold & brave to approve this design..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Jon Dolmat on Jun 25, 2015 at 12:30 pm

The end result could have been better if you had repeated your comment three times already..

• Niceeee…. Now all we need is a reliable local Alfa distributor…

• potato on Jun 25, 2015 at 10:58 am

Front looks like Jaguar/Infiniti, Rear looks like Kia/Ford Mondeo.

• The video is very impressive. The sound of the V6 is just sick. How the h3ll does Alfa make a V6 sound like that… it’s almost V8 sounding. The last time the world of automotive had anything near as nice was the V6 on the 156. For whatever reason, no other car makers seemed to be able to make their 6-cylinder engines (Vs, straights or boxers) sound as intoxicating as the Alfa V6s. That alone is enough reason to buy this car IMO :)

• olio benzina on Jun 25, 2015 at 11:10 am

I’m afraid the Giulia’s form is just not good enough to detract buyers from the German makes. Marchionne should have sent them back again to the drawing board or get the guys who did the 8C.

Its just an assemblage of familiar shapes. Hardly any original line and
    where are the individualistic design details? The 156 had lovely front door handles while its rear door handle placement has today been resurrected by Honda albeit on the fugly HR-V. I don’t see any original details on the new Giulia which will be copied twenty years later.

• ganni on Jun 25, 2015 at 12:45 pm

i did thought about it too..now the unique rear handle has gone..quite frustrated about it…anyway, let’s wait for the interior images and the most importantly the giulia basic/normal form during the frankfurt motorshow on september 2015..

• donno on Jun 25, 2015 at 11:25 am

It is stunning yes.

But it looks too derivative, like a mashup of a kia optima and a bmw 3series.

It would be better if the side profile and rear to retain the beautiful 159 shape.

Hopefully this will be the catalyst for the resurgence of the brand.

• The car is very promising, on paper. I hope it delivers the hype. All the best, Alfa!

• ss427 on Jun 25, 2015 at 11:40 am

Sam Loo, this Alfa have no RV again right?

Can I buy this at RM$30k from you after 1 yr of usage?

Your Avanza and Innova the bestest car in the world

• hazamiey on Jun 25, 2015 at 12:21 pm

No DCT? I’ll stick with M4.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 25, 2015 at 1:01 pm

Awesome looking and if this has the same handling at the 4C it’ll be even better. So which company wants to bring back the Alfa brand to Bolehland?

• Vyndicated on Jun 25, 2015 at 2:05 pm

Design fail? to much power? pfffffttt. Who cares~

Alfa is back baby~ Real petrolheads will want to own one~ Me for sure~

• i think all the time alfa romeo front designs are not car number plate- friendly.

• KontiKinte on Jun 25, 2015 at 8:12 pm

Wow. Beauty and the Beast in one form. Hopefully the price right def mark this one

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 25, 2015 at 8:17 pm

finally an alfa that would make a credible competitor to bmw dynamically. welcome back alfa.

• albag on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:59 pm

wow… it’s a very nice sedan… elegant yet beastfully

• ahmadjohnson97 on Jun 26, 2015 at 1:51 am

I’ts good to hear that manual transmission is not dead yet.

• exidus on Jun 28, 2015 at 5:08 pm

I thought no one is selling alfa in Malaysia….

• mygawd on Nov 05, 2015 at 11:43 pm

That thing has 10/10 street cred straight out of the factory, sexy.