Alfa Romeo Giulietta QV gets 4C’s 240 hp powertrain

211/ , EUROPA; SCHWEIZ, GENF, Datum: 04.03.2014 12:00:00: 84 INTERNATIONALER AUTO SALON in Genf 2014 84e Salon International de l'Auto et accessoires, PALEXPO - Stefan Baldauf / SB-Medien

Celebrating 60 years of Giulietta is the 2014 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Quadrifoglio Verde, which turned up at the ongoing Geneva show. The highlight of the car is its direct-injected 1750 Turbo Petrol motor, inherited from the Alfa Romeo 4C.

The aluminium-block four-cylinder engine is good for 240 hp at 6,000 rpm and 340 Nm of torque between 2,100 and 4,000 rpm (80% torque available at 1,800 rpm).

Drive goes to the front wheels through a six-speed Alfa TCT twin-dry clutch ‘box, allowing it to do the century sprint in 6.6 seconds before topping out at 240 km/h – two-tenths of a second faster than the previous manual gearbox version.

211/ , EUROPA; SCHWEIZ, GENF, Datum: 04.03.2014 12:00:00: 84 INTERNATIONALER AUTO SALON in Genf 2014 84e Salon International de l'Auto et accessoires, PALEXPO - Stefan Baldauf / SB-Medien

Outside, you’ll find a front grille, mirror caps, door handles and fog lamp housings finished in glossy anthracite. A QV emblem sits on the front wings, and there are tinted headlamps, a sports exhaust, 17- or 18-inch alloys, plus red four-piston Brembo brakes with bigger discs.

Inside, you’re greeted by a black interior that contains sport seats trimmed in leather and Alcantara. You face a moulded steering wheel with leather trim and white stitching.

The gear boot and handbrake are also covered in leather; they sport white and green stitching. Also there are aluminium pedals, a black roof, special mats and QV logos in the instrument panel.

There’s also a QV Line pack for the standard Giulietta, specifiable on certain engine-trim pairings. This gives you pretty much all the aesthetic exterior and interior bits. So if your Giulietta doesn’t quite go, stop or sound like a QV, at least it can be made to look like one.

To mark the launch, Alfa Romeo has announced a Giulietta QV Launch Edition. Limited to 500 units, these cars will have carbon spoilers and mirror caps, front and rear sports dams, side skirts and 18-inch five-hole telephone-dial alloys.

The Launch Edition can be had in Alfa Red or Competizione Red, in addition to the exclusive matt Magnesio Grey livery. Also on Alfa’s Geneva stand is the 2014 MiTo QV (story updated with live pix, including interior) and the 4C Spider Design Preview.

Live pix by Stefan Baldauf / Robert Kah

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• mr jem on Mar 11, 2014 at 3:22 pm

wonder why proton didnt make suprima ass like dat!

• Maseratti on Mar 11, 2014 at 9:49 pm

THis car is like kimchi, no RV. You will make my boss SamLoo to add one more million into his bank account. He is now a billionaire by trading no RV kimchi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • Sam Loo on Mar 13, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Oi, has I hired u before meh? Maseratti also no RV, I dont hire people with no RV.

• the body builder ( i have a 3 series and a ferrari f430 ) on Mar 11, 2014 at 11:00 pm

Because they are dumbass people who dont know style other than their own shits.

• Great car but too afraid to own by a lot of Malaysian. Price it right and slam with great offers may sell well

• Viztuuti on Mar 11, 2014 at 8:23 pm

on sale for RM 150K end of last year…quiet cheap tho but RV….

• Drive goes to the front wheels through a six-speed Alfa TCT twin-dry clutch ‘box,…

erk..another dry twin-clutch disaster waiting to happen!..wont be suitable for Msia’s hot, humid & massive traffic jam ; )

• GTR36 on Mar 11, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Another dry clutch Euro model…more headaches.

• Albert lee on Mar 11, 2014 at 8:16 pm

PROTONG…..your GREATEST AND LAST CHANCE for SURVIVAL is here!
    Just kao tau to the ITALIAN CAR GIANT and rebadge.
    Wah Liao Eh. 240Horse Power !!!!!
    AH LIAN from the MGeg commercial says”TAKUT APA? SINI BOLEH “REBADGE ,ma…”
    Honda already allowed 3000 units of Accord to be rebadged by Proton.
    The other car distributors unlikely to let Proton rebadge cos they are here to stay.
    GRAB your chance of a lifetime for SURVIVAL before DOOM arrives.

• Unforgiven on Mar 11, 2014 at 8:36 pm

You’ll need to drive a German and Italian, and the dual clutch, you need to feel the quick shift of DSG too, it’s amazing fun, especially if you like fast car

• The Alfista on Mar 12, 2014 at 5:50 pm

The 4C inherited it’s 1750 engine from the Giulietta. Not vice versa.

• dearpixel on Aug 20, 2014 at 2:38 pm

The 240 hp is a dream. The reality is my 170 hp Giulietta is touching on 2 years old. Zero issues so far. The dry twin-clutch is fabulous. But as so many non-owners are predicting, when the clutch eventually goes, I’ll already have the satisfaction of having ripped up every Ah Beng car I’ve met on the road so far, including a 380 hp Nissan. In the wet he didn’t have the takraws to sepak me, but we had a good laugh about it at the next Shell station.