Petronas Primax 97 with Advanced Energy Formula launched – first Euro 4M RON 97 in M’sia, RM2.45/litre

Petronas Primax 97 Euro 4M 003

The new Euro 4M Petronas Primax 97 with improved Advanced Energy Formula has officially been launched in Malaysia, and is now available nationwide. More than 500 Petronas stations will carry the upgraded premium fuel, Sabah and Sarawak included.

Best yet, the new formulation effectively replaces the previous Euro 2M-grade Primax 97, and carries the same price tag of RM2.45 per litre, inclusive of GST.

Petronas is the first company to offer Euro 4M RON 97 petrol in Malaysia, ahead of the government gazetted implementation date of September 1. The new blend has already been available in Peninsular Malaysia stations from a few weeks earlier, ahead of today’s launch. Sabah and Sarawak stations will offer the new fuel from now onwards.

The latest Euro 4M Primax 97 fuel has been engineered to offer superior acceleration and enhanced driving experience, according to Petronas.

It’s claimed to improve a vehicle’s drivability, with the use of new chemistry – a world’s first, apparently. The new ingredient is said to ensure better friction reduction at the cylinder wall, while enhancing the engine oil’s function, resulting in smoother acceleration.

The low-sulphur RON 97 fuel is also said to give better engine protection (prevents deposits, protects high-pressure fuel injectors) and improved combustion. The latter claims to offer longer, smoother drives, with the use of high quality base fuel and optimised formulation developed through its active partnership with the Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team.

“Petronas Primax has fuelled our team to victory. As Petronas Primax’s Technical Performance Consultant, I am extremely honoured to be able to share this winning formula with Malaysian drivers today,” said Lewis Hamilton, the reigning F1 world champion.

Other than performance benefits, the Euro 4M fuel also comes with lower benzene, sulphur content and Reid Vapour Pressure (RVP) levels, making it a cleaner/greener fuel as it produces less emissions and pollutants as compared to the previous Euro 2M fuel. Refer to our previous story for more details on the significance of Euro 4M fuel.

As announced by MITI in 2014, Euro 4M RON 95 fuel will be introduced in Malaysia in October 2018, Euro 5 diesel in September 2020 and Euro 5 RON 95 and RON 97 in September 2025.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• BNaik on Aug 19, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 129
    • Were you being sarcastic or were you BN’s employed cyber trooper? (After all Najib publicly admitted in bankrolling some of them)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
      • BNaik on Aug 19, 2015 at 6:59 pm

I was never a hired cyber troopers… just a normal Rakyat because BN helping Rakyat we all should thanks and vote BN.

BN give us Car, Petrol and House Rakyat must be thankful to PM and not criticism him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 78
        • Hadi75 on Aug 20, 2015 at 12:34 am

Since when BN give the rakyat cars, petrol and houses???
          What’s your cgpa? Same as ahmad maslan is it?

• Curi Curi Malaysia on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:34 am

Price is so high compared to world prices of oil without subsidy. But even if there was subsidy…..

Malaysia is a super rich country to begin with. In the world, Malaysia is the most resource rich country in the entire world. We have everything, oil, gas, tin, iron, gold, palm, kuprum, coconut, nenas and even some very rare materials that are super high in price.

There is abundance and enough to maintain the subsidy for a long long time IF there no NO SONGLAP.

One man can songlap 2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor

what about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

Subsidy does not even come that close. It is small money compared to what is stolen on a daily basis

• Bobby (Member) on Aug 19, 2015 at 4:48 pm

If this 97 oil not going to invalidate what PaulTan.org had found recently between the difference of Ron97 and Ron95, then this oil is a waste of money and time. But then, we have big heads in Malaysia, largely found in between their legs!

• Euro 4M vs Euro 5 on Aug 19, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Is there a comparison of Euro4m vs Euro 5? and what are the reason/reasons for adopting euro 4M instead of euro 5?

• kzm (Member) on Aug 19, 2015 at 5:31 pm

maybe sulfur content in petrol not much different..50ppm for euro4 n 10ppm for euro5…as reference euro2 is 500ppm.. but euro5 petrol is better for direct injection engine

• Gargantia on Aug 19, 2015 at 7:04 pm

So why Govt don’t choose to use Euro 5 now? Instead wait until 2025?

But using world standard rate price… Oh Rakyat please wakeup !

• If u wan E5, there’s always BHP.

• macha on Aug 20, 2015 at 2:39 pm

hey macha, EURO 5 diesel at BHP, not RON97 and 95! Unless ur car can drink diesel.

• shawal on Aug 19, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Quick!, get a golf gti and do some test runs!
    you know you want to~!

• USDfan on Aug 19, 2015 at 5:33 pm

Im using now…smooth engine run…feel great..honest

• kapchai on Aug 19, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Euro 4M Ron95 in 2018 and Euro 5 in 2025? I am not sure if I will live to see that day. In any case, the standard could well be Euro 15 by the year 2025

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Aero (Member) on Aug 19, 2015 at 10:19 pm

Hmm, I have a question; what if we use this Euro 4M fuel in a car which DOES NOT have a Euro 4 compliant engine (cars from the 90s or earlier) ? Will the exhaust emissions reduce ? I’m guessing not… but either way, I won’t be ‘experimenting’ with it anytime soon, my 2007 Saga with its carburetted engine probably didn’t even pass Euro I ! -__- The Sagas that Proton made for the U.K. and some other export markets did get fuel injection, but we never did (aside from the limited edition Proton CARES).

Anyway, back to the topic, I congratulate Petronas for (finally) offering Euro 4 RON97 petrol, and I hope in time they will extend it to RON95 as well.

• tokmoh. on Aug 20, 2015 at 1:07 am

Plenty of old cars still running around in Europe, they seem to be fine with euro 6.

Don’t think old engines get damaged, just probably cannot benefit the cleaner fuel vs newer engines.

• Hadi75 on Aug 20, 2015 at 12:41 am

2025??you kidding me…2025 by that time others will probably already use hidrogen or full electric or other kind of alternative energy to run their cars….
    But hey like people always said…better late then never

• Josh Ling on Aug 20, 2015 at 2:08 am

it’s great news, but not so big news for sarawakians, as we have very limited number of petronas that is selling ron97 petrol nowadays! some rural areas here you can’t even find one petronas station that is selling ron97!!

• xoxox on Aug 20, 2015 at 8:51 am

even with Euro I compliant engine, I think the reduction in sulphur in fuel will also reduce the emission of SO2. btw…i think the fuel price should be around 1.8 for 95, 2.20 for 97…crude oil price drop a lot since last month and this month…

• prabowi on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:37 am

Shame on u oil tycoons. Why must saving the environment cost u a premium?

• mosar on Aug 20, 2015 at 10:39 am

well, no more excuses for those manufactures who kept on saying “we’re not offering the direct injection / turbo engines on our cars due to the low quality of petrol in the country”..which is a BS, as others does offer it (albeit premium brands)..