Proton Iriz R3 wins on Malaysian Touring Car debut

Proton Iriz R3 MTC debut-04

It was a dream debut for the Proton Iriz R3 race car and Proton Motorsports. The new race machine won the Malaysia Touring Car (MTC) category at Round 4 of the Malaysia Championship Series (MCS) at Sepang over the weekend.

Piloted by R3 head and Malaysia’s “Drift King” Tengku Djan Ley Tengku Mahaleel, the Iriz R3 – which started from pole after Djan clocked 2 minutes 35.172 seconds in qualifying on Saturday – finished ahead of championship leaders and Proton teammates James Veerapen and Fariqe Hairuman. Indonesian Fitra Eri was third.

Djan completed 22 laps in one hour, two minutes and 57.675 seconds, and was the only MTC runner to finish 22 laps in the combined endurance race with the higher-powered Touring Production cars.

Proton Iriz R3 MTC debut-05

James and Fariqe, driving the Proton Suprima S, may have been beaten by the Iriz, but their podium finish enabled them to extend the championship lead over closest rival Syafiq Ali, who failed to score points this round. Preve driver Shafiq, the overall champion in 2012 and 2013, retired after 13 laps. He has 55 points against James and Fariqe’s 84.

Fitra Eri, who won the MTC title with Mark Darwin last year, collected 10 championship points to move ahead of Syafiq on 56 points.

In the premier Touring Production class, Darwin – now driving a Honda Civic FD2R for Sakura Tedco Racing Team – continued his superb form to score a fourth consecutive win. He now leads the standings with 60 points over Alan Wong and Chris Tan of Pentagon Racing with 48.

The Iriz R3 race car is powered by a 1.6 litre engine based on the Campro CFE, but without the turbocharger for natural aspiration. It pushes around 190 hp, sent out through a five-speed race-spec manual transmission with dog engagement. Watch the videos below to hear how it sounds.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• superman on Sep 01, 2015 at 11:57 am

iriz racing against all other proton cars on the track to win is a 100% set up by proton to show even in racing they do under table winning work. if they are real let them race against other brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 68
    • rally_fan (Member) on Sep 01, 2015 at 1:01 pm

maybe you need to use some of your superpowers to do a little bit of research to see what other cars are racing in the MTC category of the race.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
    • Please do some research before comment. Yes they race with other brands in MTC.. Lol

• Alson P on Sep 02, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Hahaha… LMAO

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 01, 2015 at 11:58 am

K20A also cannot tapau Campro?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Same L0rrrr on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:55 pm

When the car is stripped off till chasis, engine and wheels left, it really can fly. Don’t worry, you can tapau his Iriz easily with any kapchai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 34
    • K20a slow la. Hehe

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 01, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Congrats to Proton – Iriz beats the Suprima, hehe.

Nice to see Fitra Eri there. He’s been missing from Auto Bild Indonesia for quite some time now.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Sep 01, 2015 at 12:51 pm

If not for the protection that proton have, proton would have been swollen by the free market instead.

who wants to buy this junk if we malaysians could afford cars the likes of fiat abarth 500 or jcw mini cooper to name a few.

thumbs me down all you like but the fact is there is nothing to be proud of this iriz r3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 61
    • Albert on Sep 01, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Protong again……so predictable.
      Racing promotions,sportivos,price cuts,jom heboh carnivals…what else?Rebadging,collaboration with Suzuki….its too late,baby.Its like Usain BOLT ( Perodua)crossing the finishing line while the other runner is not even halfway.Proton is a sad kura kura,engulfed in syiok sendiri politics.Shambolic.

Perodua is selling 200,000 cars this year.Proton can only sigh if it can hit 100,000 units by Christmas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 37
    • dicky on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Both cars are tow truck close friends, nobody won’t buy unless got spare car in stable.
      Butthurt p1 basher, sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • armandd on Sep 02, 2015 at 9:39 am

Why are you so butthurt?

• taboogen on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:05 pm

a but then still reads about proton iriz…

• Godcar on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Syok sendiri jaguh kampong. Ptui….My vios have better resale value than this proton junks. Only rempit drive proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 37
    • My Iriz is a winner. I can beat everyone on the highway. The next will be racing against Porsche Carrera 911

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Vios, built for developing countries and built for the people under development. Nak pakai kereta berjenama tapi x ada duit, pakai jela Vios. Janji berjenama.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
  • C.P. MOHAN on Sep 01, 2015 at 3:13 pm

It is not World, Olympics, European, Asian, Commonwealth or SEA games but our SUKMA games where the winner is ………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Norman on Sep 01, 2015 at 3:37 pm

dont be a sourgrape la,Proton win only red eyes,butthurt..You think this is Proton championship race ah?Then those Hondas,Toyotas,Suzukis,Fords and BMW all Campro engine is it?The butthurt sure work as a salesman for other companies

• Twothirties on Sep 01, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Can join 2:30s gang…

• Becareful dude. Otherwise these people will come Bersih your comment.

• This is what we called as a 3rd class minded people. They know nothing about engineering, but talking like they knew everything. Milo tin, power window, bla bla bla..

• FireAce on Sep 01, 2015 at 5:46 pm

If the whole car is only meant to be driven for few hours and cost is not really in equation, any car manufacturer can “Assemble” race car with neck breaking speed and high power.

To average joe like you and me, we need something reliable with reasonable cost. This the the formula Proton has yet to find after being protected for few decades and continue to burden the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Teksi Kangkung on Sep 01, 2015 at 7:55 pm

What is worst that jaguh kampung??

Jaguh kampung that syoik sendiri…..Proton la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • kerce on Sep 01, 2015 at 8:33 pm

What kampung? The participant cars not only p1 wor. If you say thats still kampung then you have to check your brain

• ex tiara on Sep 01, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Iris is another flop la. Proton is like mas. You need an ang moh to come and kick those Makan kuih workers and fat mgmt off the company. Then maybe we can see some light for proton. As for now, no more proton for me. Like Sam loo says, better to work hard and buy any car other than proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Kupang Boy on Sep 01, 2015 at 10:44 pm

Don’t blame Proton when your Toyotas and Myvis lose. The Iriz is just the better car around the track. You need to add more stickers to make your cars go faster. I see many people do them and they go very fast on the motorway. Cucuk so rapat one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Bulldog on Sep 02, 2015 at 2:56 pm

Better car on the track, bullshit car on the road

• kapu kapu on Sep 07, 2015 at 12:33 pm

honda power can up to 1000 horse power..and proton campro cannot power up to 1000 horse power baser on drag racer….

do u agreed with my common..brother!!!!!!!!!!